RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
Publisher: Eden Studios
by Jan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/17/2012 03:04:41
This game introduced me to the whole Unisystem series of which I now own quite a few products. I was never happy playing WOD games, I considered them too much like superhero games instead of gritty, dark urban fantasy. For me Witchcraft was what I was looking for. I liked the fact that I did not have to roll handfulls of dice, its a personal preference. I liked the dark grim setting, with a slight hint of Cthulhu esque horror. The fluff pieces in the book give a really nice feel for the setting.

If you are not a fan of WOD, but want something in the line of urban fantasy, you will probably be happy with Witchcraft.

After getting Witchcraft for free, I went on to buy all the expansions (starting with Mystery codex), which I consider useful additions to the main rules.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ICONS Character Folio
Publisher: Ad Infinitum Adventures
by Jan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/18/2012 09:04:42
At first I wrote a review with 1 star, then I found what the issue was and now I give it 3 stars, because of bad documentation. Everything was working fine until I tried to save a character. The save failed. The reason for the failure is not obvious. The reason for the failure is that I did not specify a character name. The program uses the character name as the save file name. This is not stated in the documentation and there is no obvious way to know that this is a required field for your character. If this "feature" is fixed, I will give the program a higher rating.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS Character Folio
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Battlement & Keep System VOL 1
Publisher: Michael The Haggard
by Jan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/14/2009 08:07:57
The issues with this product has been fixed. I am happy to say that I am now the proud 'owner' of two towers, two bunkers and several sections of wall. These will be used in my next tabletop game. The assembly was reasonably easy thanks to the instructions and the end result is more than acceptable in my opinion. I will happily give it a new rating.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Battlement & Keep System VOL 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Battlement & Keep System VOL 1
Publisher: Michael The Haggard
by Jan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/29/2009 10:06:04
I have an issue with this product. When opening in Adobe there is a message that there is a script error on the page. The file still opens and displays in what seems to be a normal fashion. However, on some computers it refused to print. Also, I noticed (only after printing) that some of the images on some pages are incomplete. On page 11 the central cutout is missing some of its pattern and colour. More importantly, on page 14 there should be 2 similar images, but there is only one and its patterns are incomplete. This necessitates additional printing to make up for the problem images.

Having said all of that I will be using this product, so it is not all bad. I built the tower, bunker and battlements and will be using them in my games

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
I am sorry you are having issues like this. Are you using the latest Adobe Reader? I am not finding the issues you are speaking of on any of my copies of the product. If you cannot get the product to display properly, I will be glad to reconfigure the PDF and try to get this sorted out for you. Just let me know.
I have downloaded the store's version and indeed there are mistakes! This happened in the upload or in the watermarking. I will upload a new version now... and give copies to all who have purchased. Sorry for the trouble.
Found the problem. RPGnow is not handling the compressed PDF well. I have now updated the file with the uncompressed PDF and it is working flawlessly. Sorry for the trouble. You should find the updated file in your account.
Fractal Mapper v8.0
Publisher: NBOS Software
by Jan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/21/2008 09:14:40
Not sure what the previous reviewer was reviewing, but I cannot see that it was this product.

I also bought this along with AstroSynthesis2 and I simply love them both. A quick 15min walk through of the tutorial and I was off creating continents, rivers, buildings - whatever I might need for my game. The interface is easy to use, and if you get stuck a quick look at the help file will probably answer your question - it did all mine. I love the fact that you can export your map to an html page with the notes you added, also you can do a version with just player notes. Some people might complain that there should be more symbols included, but if you need more than the fantasy (and sf) symbols included, it is really easy to make your own using this tool - I did and I am no artist.

I am VERY satisfied with this purchase

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fractal Mapper v8.0
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Spellbound: A Game of Folk Magic & Faustian Bargains
Publisher: Bayn.org
by Jan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/03/2004 00:00:00
I think this game is excellent for first time roleplayers who are intimidated by the rules and character sheets of most other games. Many times I have seen the faces of people interested in roleplaying fall when they see the character sheets with all the names and terms or when it takes them more than 30 min to create a character. Not even to mention when they are totally lost amongst all the terminology during their first session of play. Spellbound is easy on all those aspects. As far as the rules go - IMHO they are as simple as possible to give you the roleplaying (vs rollplaying) experience that you want. I think it was Einstein who said that "Everything should be as simple as possible and no simpler". The setting is also easy - what is easier than the modern day world which you are already familiar with. Of course it is spiced up with the addition of magic. Of course I also found that Spellbound is good for those days when no one prepared for the weekly roleplaying session and you are stuck for something to do. This does not mean that it cannot be used for extended games though. One last point: IMHO the talent and flaw system which balances during play instead of during character creation is nothing short of divinely inspired. All in all I really like this game.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Spellbound: A Game of Folk Magic & Faustian Bargains
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Lightspeed: Planets of the Interstellar Era
Publisher: Avalon Game Company
by Jan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2003 00:00:00
This is a handy addition to the lightspeed rules. It covers several planets for the lightspeed universe and gives information which game masters can use to quickly give the pcs an idea of what they might encounter on a planet. Having said that it can also be used for scenario hooks and seeds. I found it quite usefull.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lightspeed: Planets of the Interstellar Era
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Lightspeed
Publisher: Avalon Game Company
by Jan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2003 00:00:00
I have played lightspeed with my group of players several times now and it has been a blast. If you have a favourite sf movie, tv series, series of books etc. you will probably find a way to present it to your players with lightspeed. The rules are easy and usable. I recommend it to anyone looking for a nice generic type of sf game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lightspeed
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Construct Mechanus
Publisher: Ronin Arts
by Jan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/11/2003 00:00:00
A well finished product. This item is especially useful for DM's who want to spring a surprise on their regular players. Some people might also like the idea of trying out mechanus pcs. I also found it useful when you want to try some sf fantasy crossover games.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Construct Mechanus
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Runic Weapons
Publisher: Alternate Realities Publications
by Jan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/11/2003 00:00:00
This is for someone who wants to try osmetbing different with magic item creation and powers. It can be used as a base on which you can expand with only a little bit of your own imagination. I found it useful for magic in settings which are not your straight forward d20 settings.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Runic Weapons
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mythic Role Playing
Publisher: Word Mill
by Jan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/06/2003 00:00:00
Although I have not yet used Mythic as a full RPG yet, my group has started using it to generate adventures for our Ars Magica game. So far we have been delighted with the results. In my opinion Mythic works very well with systems like Ars Magica where the players have more opportunity to influence the story line. Everyone loves the fact that they can all play for a change. We also found it useful for deciding questions and creating rules for situations which might not be covered by the Ars Magica rules themselves. As per the Mythic suggestions/guidelines, these then become part of our game and we record them on the sheets provided with Mythic.

All in all i would suggest Mythic to GMs who are tired of GMing or just want a system for generating plots on the fly (or beforehand). This was just my 2 cents, it might not be to everyone's liking.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Role Playing
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG