RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Atomic Highway - Post Apocalyptic Roleplaying
 
$29.99 $0.00
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
46 14
17 3
4 0
0 0
0 0
Atomic Highway - Post Apocalyptic Roleplaying
Click to view
Atomic Highway - Post Apocalyptic Roleplaying
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Jonah B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/16/2018 15:22:56

Probably the best post apocalyptic RPG system ive found so far. The world it sets up is reminiscent of things like Mad Max and A Boy And His Dog however the system and provided game assets it uses is extremely flexible and good for creating your own settings and stories. It doesnt try too hard to be dark or edgy like some other post apocalyptic RPGs and lets you make your game as light hearted or gritty as you like. It only uses d6s so make sure you have plenty of them before starting the game. Well made and definitely worth checking out in my opinion.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Atomic Highway - Post Apocalyptic Roleplaying
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Paxton K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/11/2015 11:40:02

Mad Max meets Auto duel. The emphasis seems more on the vehicles than the players; but the player mechanics are good enough to "drive" it.

This could be a valuable tool for parts of other games "after the bomb" that neglect the topic.

It does stand alone and is playable from a character point of view.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Atomic Highway - Post Apocalyptic Roleplaying
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Joshua B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/29/2013 14:11:37

First off, this RPG is amazing as long as you and your players are trying to have fun. It's rules are simple and the gameplay isn't really bogged down by a million rules that everyone is trying to remember. The game engine also leaves everything up to your groups imagination, and willingness to create there own Post-Apocalytic world, it took me and the other GM's a few brainstorming sessions to come up with a few maps of buildings and towns in order for the game to continue without have to make it up on the spot and hope everyones imagination is seeing what we wanted. I did have a few questions, I was just wondering what the "Concept" area on the character sheet was for, and I don't remember seeing a section describing how much Exp. is needed to advance a level. So my group and I have just come up with a very rough outline of leveling as according to Number of times you have played with the character equals your progress to the next level. So you have to play the character three different times to advance from 1-5 and then the number of sessions-to-level up increase. with it increasing every 5th level so 1-5, 6-10 etc. Next, theres no cigarettes, theres whiskey but no cigarettes so we just randomly find them...it's a huge bartering item for our characters. Now, I find that my group of 6-8 have more fun than our 4-5 group. Even though the time may be extended for a group of the greater number, it is absolutely doable. The group has come a long way and has already found a suitable "Home Base" and fixed it up, Complete with Garage for our Greaser, and the Animal Handler has his little farm, while the scavenging team is out doing there thing with the Road Warriors and Drivers earning extra supplies by have a small "mom and pop" style supply distributing company. But, like I said, the amount of fun is directly reflected on your groups willingness to have fun. Whether your group is more walk around a Bartertown and Roll-play, or drive through a Metropolitan Wasteland area looking to fight Raiders or the Hostile Muties that have been harassing the supply lines; Your insured to have a good time. I hope you have as much fun with Atomic Highway as we have, and I'm sorry for the run on paragraph, I couldn't make it format into separate paragraphs. Thank You.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Atomic Highway - Post Apocalyptic Roleplaying
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by william w. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/20/2013 19:51:55

I love this game I can not remember where I got my book copy from but had it a while. A friend borrowed it and well he really like it too. Needless to say I don't have my book. He's a good friend so I don't mind he still has it. Any ways I saw that I could now get a free pdf and so down loaded it. I can read it on a computer but it won't load on my droid phone I've tried this with three different droid phones to no success. I hope one day to read it in my phone. Thanks r.a.d. for one heck of a engine.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Atomic Highway - Post Apocalyptic Roleplaying
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Aaron R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/28/2013 19:46:40

Love this! I have been telling my kids and their friends about Car Wars, but I can't find my old books. This has them (and me) entertained just as much as I remember from olden times. I would recommend this game to anyone who was looking for a new RPG to try, whether they've played old-school Car Wars or not!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Atomic Highway - Post Apocalyptic Roleplaying
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by ashley t. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/31/2012 02:30:29

Possibly the best money I never spent. A good solid simple system with great adaptability. Combat is a bit lethal, but easily tweaked for those who prefer more forgiving combat rules. . Recommend it to any gamer who wants a fun game that can be set up in an hour.

I look forward to future supplements.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Atomic Highway - Post Apocalyptic Roleplaying
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 07/19/2012 01:01:42

WHAT WORKS: It's free and well-written. What more do you want? For a change of pace, it's lower powered and less "out there" than most post apocalyptic settings, though there is a supplement that can help you change that if you like. The vehicle emphasis makes for a nice change of pace as opposed to other post-apocalyptic RPGs. Oh...and random tables. I love random tables.

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: Again, it's free and well-written. What more do you want? I'm really not a fan of the Health system, personally, and some folks disliked the lack of gonzo, though that's what Irradiated Freaks is for. All those random tables and no adventure generator?

CONCLUSION: It's free and well-written. What more do you want? For a more "grounded" post-apocalypse setting, this gets you there without having to any dialing down of elements, as that's the default. There's one supplement out, and another still supposed to on the way, adding in zombie apocalypses, alien apocalypses and machine apocalypses. It's worth at least the download, though, because it's free.

For my full review, please visit http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2012/07/tommys-take-on-atomic-highway.html



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Atomic Highway - Post Apocalyptic Roleplaying
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Dannie R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/16/2012 21:16:10

I have read the book from cover to cover. I can't wait to play this game! Very well written, and set up for an RPG!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Atomic Highway - Post Apocalyptic Roleplaying
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by David B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/02/2012 14:55:08

If you looking for a Mad Max meets Fallout, freeways of doom RPG then this is your game. The rules are simple, character gen is quick, and the game doesn't bog you down with minutia.

This game is excellent for all kinds of world gone splat game settings, and the rules system has so much potential for a multi genre game system.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Atomic Highway - Post Apocalyptic Roleplaying
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Hans H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/01/2012 04:52:29

For once the best things in life are free. This is THE game of post apocalyptic mayhem capturing the feel of the old movies 100%. The V6 game system is simple to learn and versatile enough to use in other settings as well if you wish and also lends itself to easily house rule although for those who wish to go for a Gamma World-esque high sci-fi, very wierd mutant world this might not be the thing. Good work and a pleasure to play.

P.S I wonder how it will work with zombies.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Atomic Highway - Post Apocalyptic Roleplaying
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Nathan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/29/2011 15:12:43

Atomic Highway was meant to be a Mad Max type of post apocalyptic RPG, but it has proven to be much more versatile than its early concept. Not to be pigeonholed into a single stereotype Atomic Highway is capable of being tailored to run just about any kind of post apocalyptic game imaginable. The freebies and new books from the publisher as well as the games community make tailoring even easier. The game has an easy learning curve and sets up extremely fast as well making getting started a snap even on short notice. The game is easily tweaked for everything from hard science type apocalypses like in The Morrow Project or I Am Legend or as far out there as Aliens, Zombies, or Fallout 3. A game to be added to any serious post apocalyptic RPG collection. I myself am a game master of many games from many genres including sci-fi and post apocalyptic and I play with a veteran group of players who have strong opinions about what games they enjoyed or didn't. Based on our group experience with Atomic Highway it gets a rating of awesome!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Atomic Highway - Post Apocalyptic Roleplaying
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Terry B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/28/2011 02:11:02

First, I want to say, Thank You, to the Guys at Radioactive Ape Designs, for creating a game that feels lovingly crafted by Post-Apoc movie fans. Gamers around the world have been waiting for this since The Road Warrior hit theaters in the 1980s.

The ruleset is easy, and quick to learn, without 500 charts to check each turn, or after every roll. The vehicular combat rules are very cinematic in scope, and feel, as well as intuitive. The only time a chart should be checked is during scavenging.

The games setting is really a large sandbox full of Post Apocalyptic toys. Anything you feel plausible, or implausible in your game can either be added or taken out. You want mutations, they're in there. If you don't, just ignore them.

I look forward to future supplements to this game. So keep it coming guys.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Atomic Highway - Post Apocalyptic Roleplaying
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Sebastian B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/23/2011 11:44:47

I´m one of Peter Holthauses Victims aka players and from the other side of the Gamemastersscreen this game can be popcorn RPG or deep as hell. And yea in Atomic Highway is a deadly game; the 'cover is your best friend and you qill never pity some body with a knife!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Atomic Highway - Post Apocalyptic Roleplaying
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Peter H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/24/2010 08:04:41

This is either a perfect game to fill some time between adventures in another systems biiig campaign or the gate to a well worked post-apocalyptic universe. The rules are dead simple to learn and if you've ever seen a post-apocalypse-movie you know what kind of adventure fits. A big plus -in my eyes- is the mortality. Your players won't stand in bullet rain to tie their boots. Guns are DEADLY and a street thug becomes a danger when you aren't careful. Setting and rules allow short adventures to lighten the mood as well as long campaigns that fill several evenings of playing time.

So, grab your gun, make sure there's enough tape to hold the clip in and go out adventure!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Atomic Highway - Post Apocalyptic Roleplaying
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/02/2010 11:43:33

I'm not a fan of games that work from d6 rolls because the +1 modifier is so huge and without a bunch of dice, the luck factor overpowers skill and strategy. This ruleset is different. The stat determines #d6 and the skill is the # of die offsets. Simple but very effective.

Can't be the post apocalyptic setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 17 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG