RPGNow.com
Narrow Results
 Publisher Info













Back
101 City & Place Names $0.00
Average Rating:3.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
13 1
11 1
12 6
4 1
1 0
101 City & Place Names
Click to view
101 City & Place Names
Publisher: Polgarus Games
by Darryl J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/01/2015 18:27:03

You get what you pay for - and in this case not much. This is just 1 page of words that could be used for locations. There's a note above the list suggesting a way to increase the number of names available is to add extra descriptors like falls, canyon, ridge, city, etc to the end. Another option is to change the end of the name by adding a suffix like ton, ville, etc.

This isn't a bad list, but also one that does not have any additional depth of usage beyond it's listed one.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
101 City & Place Names
Publisher: Polgarus Games
by Claudia C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2014 12:28:08

Meh. Could be a lot more useful if you classify the names by themes (ice, desert, jungle, megalopolis, ape planet/city, underwater etc.) and add a short etymology explanation. Like that you may as well google keyboard strokes and find inspiration. Sorry but I don't think any GM needs that.

But hey, keep up the good work ! Cheers,

Grumpf.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
101 City & Place Names
Publisher: Polgarus Games
by Matthew M. T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/31/2013 16:18:26

This is a one-page PDF document with some shading offered free of charge. To begin, I have difficulty conjuring place names for use in my adventures and stories. This offering will definitely help me use my own creativity. One caveat, there is shading as each name is in a what I'd call a "spreadsheet" format and might print-out in either blue (on a color printer) or maybe too dark (on a black & white printer), so see if you can adjust the setting in a "preview" before printing. Provided free of charge and on one page, this is an offering that can't be refused and is a true bonus. I don't hand out "Five Star"/"Exceeds Expectations" with regularity, but this document deserves it hands down. Highly recommended; high marks.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
101 City & Place Names
Publisher: Polgarus Games
by Robert M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/14/2011 04:24:40

A good, quick list of different place names. It has a few suggestions for modifying the names to produce more variety. For free, it's definitely worth downloading and tucking into your GM notebook for times when you need a place name fast and just don't have any ideas.

Some things that might have made it better are more variety, fewer names that look like a draw from the tiles in a word game, and numbering to make it easy to use the list as a table. These things are easy enough to add if you print out the list, though.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
101 City & Place Names
Publisher: Polgarus Games
by Sean J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/06/2010 15:37:17

It's free and the intent is a quick glance guide in case the party catched the gamemaster by surprise, it's not for use while planning a thought out adventure. It's for those little mishaps when the party asks where someone is from and it happens to be completely irrevelant to the story line. If your mind is focused on the game, one of those questions can really make things more trouble than it's worth.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
101 City & Place Names
Publisher: Polgarus Games
by Danny J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/16/2010 15:52:35

So my gaming group likes to hop around and cover a lot of places; you know planets, star systems, space stations, countries, cities, villages . . . whatever, what have you.Its hard to keep up with them without lagging. You know, the second they see you look up and have to think about a response to a question like "what is the nearest moon?" They figure you're not taking it serious or IT is not important. Anyhow, this product helps to slow lag and keep players guessing. It offers what it promises . . . but you'll mine it of its usefulness pretty quick so I would suggest pad this product with a bunch of ideas of your own.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
101 City & Place Names
Publisher: Polgarus Games
by Cedric C. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/14/2010 13:22:27

As the title says, this download is a one-page list of 101 City and Place Names: Hilmar, Orosi, etc.. I would have liked to see the names presented in a percentile dice table, but, otherwise, this GM aid is worth printing out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
101 City & Place Names
Publisher: Polgarus Games
by Michael G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/07/2010 22:28:10

It's just right for the price. The listing is good, but looking at it, i probably wouldnt invest heavily in these since i could have come up with my own names just as well.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
101 City & Place Names
Publisher: Polgarus Games
by Jeremy G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/22/2010 15:32:07

It is 101 random names, no more, no less. Whether these names can be associated with cities or places is more a matter of reading the first two sentences on the sheet than a matter of the names themselves. You could just as easily take the first and last parts of two random pharmaceuticals and stick "Falls" on the end to have the same quality.

While you shouldn't look a gift horse in the mouth (it's free, after all), there's nothing spectacular about this item.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back