RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
CT-ST-Starter Traveller $19.99 $13.40
Average Rating:4.3 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
17 10
14 5
7 0
1 0
0 1
CT-ST-Starter Traveller
Click to view
CT-ST-Starter Traveller
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by Pierre S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/13/2015 11:23:55
A great game, and no game has yet touched its fame for science fiction tabletop RPGs. Traveller covered all the "space" things in a detailed setting called the Third Imperium, a unified star community ruled by an Emperor. Traveller spawned an extensive series of supplements, which you can take or leave as needed for the emphasis of your particular game, whether star merchants or space mercenaries or explorer scouts.

Star sector maps are laid down in hexagons, each is a parsec (3.26 light-years), and starships have Jump Drives which can Jump anywhere from 1 to 6 of those parsecs but each Jump takes a week. There is no faster way to get news or goods across the stars, so the political feel resembles 18th-century sailing. The Imperium is held together but its size is causing strain. The Imperium also borders on alien empires which range from coldly neutral to hostile.

The Traveller Starter edition (1982) did some reorganization of the original LBBs (Little Black Books) of 1977 and presents all the tables of the game in a separate booklet, cross-referenced to the pages of the rulebook.

Traveller is "old school" and the best way to learn it is to take its systems one at a time. Randomly generating star-maps is particularly fun, with the main world in each system defined as to size, atmosphere, population, and government with rolls of six-sided dice (only). Nowadays the fans offer web-based computer utilities to instantly generate vast tracts of space, or use the defined Imperium maps already available online. The personal combat system, in basic Traveller, is NOT on a grid-map but more abstractly defined with "bands" similar to a football field! There are also rules for trade (buy low, sell high of course), which is easy to do as you note the characteristics of the world you're going to (Trade Codes like INdustrial or Non-Industrial, Agricultural, etc.) which give bonuses or penalties to the negotiated price of cargo. Nothing is a sure thing, however! The starship combat, in the original version, is not gridded either, but takes note of what you have for weapon turrets and rolls the damage to the other ship and what sub-system was damaged.

Definitely a solid science fiction experience.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CT-ST-Starter Traveller
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by Mark S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/06/2013 12:21:44
Got my son started on Traveller with these - the same I played with when I was a kid! Sometime later we'll trade up to a more recent version.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CT-ST-Starter Traveller
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by Anthony H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/22/2013 12:22:04
Wow way cool this brings me back to my early days of gaming. everything I hope for and more.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CT-ST-Starter Traveller
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by Roy L. C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/13/2013 22:15:50
star ship construction tonnage & cost classic5/5.see space opera7/10
.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CT-ST-Starter Traveller
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by Eric M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/23/2013 12:17:26
This is an excellent publication, both now and when I first bought it back in the eighties. Fairly much everything from the first three LBBs and a bit more with the adventures. Worth the download to see what a great game this is from the efficient rule set to the understated yet elegant layout.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CT-ST-Starter Traveller
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by John M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2012 12:44:07
Of the three books, only the Adventure book has been OCR'd. The others are just scanned images, so you can't search them. :(

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
CT-ST-Starter Traveller
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by Daniel H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2011 10:23:22
I started playing Traveller with the "Little Black Books", but picked up "The Traveller Book" when my old LBB's started to fall apart.

Starter Traveller is almost exactly the same contents as The Traveller Book, minus the (admittedly confusing) vector-based space combat system and one or two other minor rule sections. What it DOES have is the seeds for countless hours of fun.

The product is organized into multiple books, but unlike the classic "Little Black Books", the breakdown is functional, not by topic. The first book contains all of the written rules of basic Traveller. The text of this book is extremely close to the wording in The Traveller Book with no inconsistencies that I could find on a cursory side-by-side comparison.

The second book contains all of the tables and charts that the first book refers to, and is my favorite part of this package. This book serves as a GM's screen and play reference, and the layout of the information makes it easy to open the book (or print out a pair of pages) that will cover one particular topic completely. This is a really fantastic way to collect the important parts of the rules for easy access, and I wish more RPGs would do something like this.

The last book contains two adventures, Mission on Mithril (an overland exploration adventure) and Shadows (a dungeon crawl). The version of "Mission on Mithril" is reworked a bit from the one in Double Adventure 2, but seems substantially the same. Shadows appears to be the same version found in The Traveller Book. Both adventures can give a new play group a few evenings of entertainment, and give the GM tools to use in future adventures.

All in all, if you already have one or more Classic Traveller rule sets, Starter Traveller may not give you anything new (except the charts book - that's pretty useful in its own right), but for someone looking to get into Classic Traveller, or who just wants to get a feel for what the original Traveller game was all about, at $6us, you can't beat this package.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CT-ST-Starter Traveller
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by Arkham D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/01/2011 17:25:46
I may have been introduced to D&D first, but Traveller's always been my favorite system - SciFi wins out over Fantasy for me... Traveller is an awesome game, and a PDF copy of the base rules rocks - I keep it on my smartphone for a quick "fix" when I need one... Great stuff...

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CT-ST-Starter Traveller
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by colin t. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/19/2010 13:11:01
I heartily recommend picking this up.
Most of the info is good enough to be used with later versions (with some alteration depending on "which" type of traveller you're using) but it makes a very useful introduction to the Traveller universe.
This is a three part download, one makes a good option for players with the second a more in depth explanation of the traveller system even if its classic inclined (2d6) and the third deals with some adventures always a good option if you're running the game for others or would like an example of how a scenario can be developed.
All in all a good buy.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CT-ST-Starter Traveller
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by Timothy B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/07/2010 12:24:57
Get introduced to THE SciFi game. This is one of the classic books of this classic sci-fi game. Find out why Mark Millar's Traveller is so popular. Everything you need to play is here.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CT-ST-Starter Traveller
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by Billiam B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/17/2010 11:04:12
A wonderful nostalgia purchase. I got mine for free as a promotional offer but I heartily recommend this to anyone interested in the history of role-playing and has a few credits to spare.

Playing this version of Traveller today:

In fact the 2d6 system is delightfully simple. The planet generation and trading tables are will remind retro-gamers of the Elite computer game (which may have or may not have been influenced by Traveller). The two books are easy to play with, but can be awkward to navigate in PDF form since the charts and tables are in a different book to the rules book - which is only a problem when learning, but once the basics are learnt the tables and charts book enables very rapid access to the right matrices. At least print out the tables book!

(Good quality PDF and illustrations reproduction, by the way)

Traveller has a strange flavour to it which may baffle newcomers. Spaceship computers are massive, with clunky "programs", most people are armed with rifles and blades. Humans prevail in Starter Traveller, but other races are described in supplements. In a way, it’s hard sci-fi, but the laser guns with back packs seemed dated even in the 80s. For more advance tech weaponry supplements must be sought (Mercenary), but the system is very adaptable for an inventive Referee.

Archivist, collector, gamer or just curious – this is a fascinating game – all you need to play is here, but you may find yourself will craving ship plans supplements, scenarios – loads of which are free on the web, not to mention later versions of Traveller.

It’s the late 70’s, it’s the far future! Pile into that Type-S Scout ship and power up the Jump Drive…

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CT-ST-Starter Traveller
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by Christopher G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/30/2010 12:10:09
This book contains more informations about the game as three Starter Sets from other RPG's combined.
It does not only cover the rules necessary to play the demo adventures, but enough to play the main game for quite some time. At least till you lose interest or want the core-material - most like the last.
The only downside are the relative complex formulas for character-generation and ship generation, but thats nothing that would stop me from playing it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CT-ST-Starter Traveller
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by Ronald W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/08/2010 16:45:38
This is the edition of Traveller that I remember playing in the '80s. The download is of very good quality.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CT-ST-Starter Traveller
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by James J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/08/2010 12:33:06
A great download of value to anyone interested in classic Traveller. It's enough of the game for tons of adventure. One to pick up classic traveller supplements that strike their fancy to play along with this version of the rules.

Of the two adventures "Shadows" is a great way to get your dungeon adventuring players into a game of Traveller.

The charts being separated from the rules can be a little annoying while simply reading the rules but they are a great boon to use while playing the game at the table (when printed out of course).

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CT-ST-Starter Traveller
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by Joseph B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/06/2010 20:45:57
To those looking for the "missing" parts of this download, go to "My Account" in the upper right corner of the screen, and then select this particular free order.

You'll see the other two downloads there, waiting for your pleasure.

For myself, man, this really brings me back.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG