RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Kings of War Rulebook
Publisher: Mantic Games
by Christopher L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/03/2012 14:10:46
The Kings of War rulebook is a wonderful MASS fantasy set of rules. While there are innumerable sets of fantasy skirmish games, Kings of War scratches the itch of those who want a quick to learn, tactical set of rules for MASS fighting in a fantasy world.

The book contains army lists for eight different races/armies which are well balanced and provide some unique options to choose from.

The rules themselves are roughly 25 pages in length are again are easy to read, comprehend, and find again if needed.

This book comes with extra rules on how to run sieges and campaigns in your fantasy games.

Lastly, there is plenty of "fluff" of the Mantica world if you are interested in playing your wargames in their setting.

Overall, this is exactly the rulebook that I was looking for and I bet that this is also true for numerous others. Kings of War is a fast paced, easy to learn set of rules for MASSIVE fantasy games. Get it and enjoy!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kings of War Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vikings
Publisher: Design Mechanism
by Christopher L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/28/2012 08:38:02
Awesome overview of the historical scourge known as the Vikings! Real life timelines abound, cultural information at every turn, and most importantly, whenever you play a Viking character you will find that there is no reason to create a backstory that makes your character want to kill and explore as this describes essentially every Viking that ever lived!

I cannot speak to the system itself as I have not used this download in a RuneQuest II game, however, the information contained within this book/download was well laid out, easy to use, and I found it easy to convert to the system that my group uses.

Highly recommended as both a RPG tool and as a amateur historian, a pretty accurate source of Viking context and information.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vikings
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hellfrost Region Guide #4: Orcmark
Publisher: Triple Ace Games
by Christopher L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/28/2012 08:33:45
Pros -

Expanded information for the region of Orcmark.
More personal info on the nasty Orc leader Nagrat
More locations / story threads and ideas
Army compositions of the four massive Orc armies
and my personal favorite - is the why come here information. I think this addition to the entire Hellfrost setting is what is so appealing to these products. Not only do the region guides give additional info but they give you and your adventurers a legitimate reason to want to travel to these places.

Cons -
only that I wish there was more!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hellfrost Region Guide #4: Orcmark
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

36 NPC Secrets
Publisher: Scavenger Studios
by Christopher L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/24/2010 19:39:54
Very cool ideas to really make your NPCs lifelike and memorable. I would highly recommend this to any GM/DM who is looking for something to spice up his characters!

As the other reviewer mentioned, there are some pretty perverse secrets contained within this PDF. But, to be honest, that's what typically makes a secret. Having a secret fantasy of coloring pictures of donkey's isn't interesting, however, having an attraction to corpses or to having a drug addiction, now that's interesting!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
36 NPC Secrets
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

14 Traps
Publisher: Scavenger Studios
by Christopher L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/24/2010 19:32:51
Cool traps with some gruesome 'side effects'...

My only complaint, and this is really my fault for not assuming this, is that these traps are all for fantasy games. Whether its magic scrolls or hidden traps inside of treasure chests, these traps are certainly not universal. But again, I should probably have assumed this.

Otherwise these 14 traps are well explained and drawn wonderfully!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
14 Traps
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Operation Hydra by Bedrock Games
Publisher: Avalon Game Company
by Christopher L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/24/2010 17:15:21
When the module Operation Hydra (from here on referenced as OH) first came out I immediately purchased it, read it, and promptly laid it down for future use. My group has been playing Terror Network since this past January (2010) and have been having a blast! Until this last session I had created all of the scenarios, NPCs, villains, locations, etc. However, I felt that we had reached a good point in our ongoing campaign to begin another investigation and one where the stakes of success and failure ran rather high.

I was at a bit of a loss of where to go when I pulled out my copy of OH and re-read it. I realized that this would be a perfect scenario to challenge my players and for them to utilize their skills that they had learned/honed/perfected since we started playing Terror Network (note: two of my three players had never role-played before this campaign.)

The product itself is laid out in four distinct sections: 1. Being the background and history of the story about to unfold 2. Was a list and description of all of the locations as well as all of the NPCs and valuable bits of information that could be found there and 3. In depth descriptions of the NPCs; their motivations, beliefs, information possessed, and when and if they would share it with my players. 4. the module concludes with (not too surprising) how the story could end. I was thrilled by the fact that there could be varying degrees of success and failures.

One of the pages that I found most helpful was page 38 where there is a chart of the terrorists and their position within their cell and their specialties. This helped me to understand the inner workings of the story and when and where the terrorists would play a part in our adventure.

However, this brings me to my only complaint about OH: the lack of a chart for the locations. Understandably there is a certain element of a sandbox nature that I appreciate and really enjoyed, however, being able to actually see a possible flow chart of the story from one location to another would have been extremely helpful in putting all of the places in order and connectedness, and by extension, the NPCs as well.

So, how did OH fare? Well, it produced a rather unusual result with a great journey getting there. My group, ended up the module by stopping 70% of the terrorists' plots, which will do wonders next time we meet to play the follow up module Operation Hydra Den.

I don't want to give anything away about the story in the hope that you will find this review both inspiring and useful. I would highly recommend the module Operation Hydra for anyone who plays Terror Network, Crime Network (think how awesome this module would be if the F.B.I. came to your Mafia family asking for help in stopping a terrorist attack!) or any other role-playing game in a contemporary setting. And for only a few bucks you should be more than pleased.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Operation Hydra by Bedrock Games
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Terror Network: A Counter Terrorism RPG by Bedrock Games
Publisher: Avalon Game Company
by Christopher L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/24/2010 17:12:19
A while back I was looking for a role-playing game for my wife and brother-in-law whom have never role-played before AND for a good friend of mine who would be playing with us who has been gaming for almost a decade. Likewise, since I have never game mastered before I wanted a game that I could utilize (what I feel is) my broad knowledge about contemporary events. Lastly, and probably most importantly for the new gamers, I was looking for a game that we would all be able to pick up and understand without having to play three sessions to learn.

I went through drivethrurpg.net and looked for a game that had an interesting topic and streamlined gameplay. I am personally interested in hyper-realistic games that I can intertwine with real-world events. It is this guy's opinions that the today's/tomorrows headlines, the world of spies, double-agents, special forces and presidential cabinets are the way to create a compelling story / campaign / scenario.

I looked for quite some time for the perfect game until I stumbled across Bedrock Games' Terror Network. The game was perfect for our group. It has a realistic setting with stories that can all too easily be taken from the headlines, it has a LETHAL combat system (or you can use their Hollywood version that is also included), the rulebook really only has about forty pages of easily understandable (and most importantly REALISTIC) rules, and lastly the game plays QUICKLY because of the rules.

The remainder of the pages in the rulebook help explain the groups and the different types of people that inhabit, well, our current world. There are suggestions and information that cover both foreign and homegrown terrorists as well as many of the different American governmental agencies. Terror Network uses the D10 as its main tool and the personalized character creation is what really sets this game apart.

My gaming group has now played six missions - three of which were tabletop battles using miniatures and three of them were pen and paper investigations in an attempt to track down a Somali terrorist cell in Minneapolis and searching for anti-ship missiles in Venezuela. In all cases the game (read the rules) held up well and at no point was there any finger pointing saying that "the rules don't say that!" Weather it was the lead investigator needing to use an unauthorized wiretap or if it was the blast radius of a fragmentation grenade the rules were there in an easy to read and comprehend manner.

I would highly recommend this game to anyone who wants to try something new or who wants to play in "a world" where essentially every possible scenario, location, and weapon can be found in the click of a finger on the internet. Hopefully this review was helpful and I hope that you give Terror Network a try. For the price, it cannot be rivaled or beat.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Terror Network: A Counter Terrorism RPG by Bedrock Games
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Terror Network: A Counter Terrorism RPG
Publisher: Avalon Game Company
by Christopher L.
Date Added: 02/16/2010 17:37:55
My group and I played this game for the first time last night and had a blast. Half of the group had never role-played before and two characters were created for each player, so character creation took around an hour (however, dinner was also being eaten at that time)

The two-pronged story for the session was that of a covert assassination mission inside of North Waziristan within Pakistan by a Delta Force team and an FBI taskforce who was / is required to take down a Somali-American terror plot in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

The game played well and the rules were easily comprehended by both novice and veteran players. The speed of play was wonderful and the rules blended into the background easily when needed.

The D10 roll against system worked well and the skills (as opposed to attribute based score) was used to great effect. Also, the "contacts" in this game are a great concept and were used at a neat juncture last night. I believe that this game mechanic will be following me from game to game for quite some time.

My only complaint about this product is the lack of detail about the investigative process. Since most of the game is the investigation of terror networks I felt that more space could have been devoted to detailing the process that GMs should follow. Chapter 8: Operation Dirty Water shows a broad template of what a campaign / mission could look like; however for a relatively new GM such as myself, a greater amount of clarity would have been helpful.

Overall this game is a great product and at the listing price here it is a MUST HAVE! I would highly recommend this game to anyone interested in running any type of military/investigative/espionage role-playing game in the near future. Even if you don't use the exact rules, the background information and meticulous research is well worth the price.

Thanks Bedrock, this one is certainly a winner for me and my group!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Terror Network:  A Counter Terrorism RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG