RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
ICONS Character Folio

This product is no longer available from RPGNow.com

Average Rating:4.2 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
18 2
3 5
5 3
0 0
0 2
ICONS Character Folio
Click to view
ICONS Character Folio
Publisher: Ad Infinitum Adventures
by Daniel O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/08/2014 08:45:43
A nice program for generating characters but I was disappointed that it is not updated with the rules in the Great Powers supplement.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS Character Folio
Publisher: Ad Infinitum Adventures
by Andrew G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/15/2013 06:53:36
I gave this one star. On a mac running OSX 10.8.5 it just reports that the app file is damaged and suggests I move it to the trash.
Also looking around (after the purchase) it seems that its not being worked on and may have Java incompatibilities.
The blurb has a selling point of full support but no-where in the documentation or on RPGNow is any indication on how to get that support.
It may have been a great idea at the time but I'd suggest this puppy be pulled from sale.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS Character Folio
Publisher: Ad Infinitum Adventures
by Thierry H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/13/2013 17:50:53
Sorry, I will give one star because it is just impossible to install it. I have read the ICF-manual.pdf (you have to search for it under Mac "file", which is not obvious when you are working on a pc), I work under windows 7, and this is supposed to be the V1.1.1 of Icons Character Folio. Unfortunately when you unzip the file ICF-v1.1.1 you don't really get the Icons_charcater_folio_installer.jar, or if you get it, when you double click on it opens one more zip file ?!? I don't know if it is normal, but the lack of information doesn't help at all. Personally this product is just a total waste of money, I am very disappointed. If I can give people a piece of advice, avoid this product by all means.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS Character Folio
Publisher: Ad Infinitum Adventures
by Dale M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/25/2013 12:45:06
An excellent tool for rapid character generation, or creating slick and handsome character sheets for existing characters! The ability to import pictures and print them with the character sheet is a welcome one!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS Character Folio
Publisher: Ad Infinitum Adventures
by Sean A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/05/2012 17:06:23
Hope for some updates to the product. I would like to see the progress made to create this as an Ipad App. I wish the formus worked and were not a place for spam advertising.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS Character Folio
Publisher: Ad Infinitum Adventures
by Jan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/18/2012 09:04:42
At first I wrote a review with 1 star, then I found what the issue was and now I give it 3 stars, because of bad documentation. Everything was working fine until I tried to save a character. The save failed. The reason for the failure is not obvious. The reason for the failure is that I did not specify a character name. The program uses the character name as the save file name. This is not stated in the documentation and there is no obvious way to know that this is a required field for your character. If this "feature" is fixed, I will give the program a higher rating.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS Character Folio
Publisher: Ad Infinitum Adventures
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 07/01/2011 16:21:07
Daniel Gallant has done ICONS players a remarkable service with this lightweight and (mostly) easy-to-use character generator for ICONS. ICONS is rules-light enough as it is that you don't really need software support, but using the Character Folio has several advantages over paper-and-pencil, not least being the speed of randomly generating characters and the attractive character sheet options. I'm very glad to have this program as part of my ICONS toolkit. Cleaning up a few aesthetic issues while running on the Macintosh (for example, the window must be resized upon launch in order to see everything) would boost this product to 5 stars; I would give it 4.5 stars if the reviewing system supported half-stars. [NOTE: This review is based on version 1.1, noticeably improved and expanded over 1.0. Version 1.1 only includes material from the original rulebook; I'm eagerly awaiting version 1.1.1, which will include new powers and such from the Villainomicon.]

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS Character Folio
Publisher: Ad Infinitum Adventures
by Matthew H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/07/2010 15:36:58
Useful product, does exactly what it was advertised to do. The creator of the Character Folio was quick to address my issues with initial releases and responded to my concerns here & on their forums.

My apologies for leaving my less positive review up for as long as I did. Although my notifications were on, I did not receive any emails letting me know of the newest edition.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS Character Folio
Publisher: Ad Infinitum Adventures
by antoine h. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/07/2010 23:08:23
;kkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk-
kkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS Character Folio
Publisher: Ad Infinitum Adventures
by Ian F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/13/2010 10:53:37
A great supplemental product. I said I'd give it a four if it had better fonts and sure enough, the devs have improved it so top marks.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS Character Folio
Publisher: Ad Infinitum Adventures
by Jason C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/12/2010 11:37:25
This is a fine program for quickly creating character sheets for the ICONS roleplaying game. I'm reviewing the 1.01 release which recently updated many of the problems mentioned in previous reviews. Please note that the readme in this download indicates that there are a few known bugs that are still being ironed out, but to be fair, I've not run into too many of them in my use of the program. The road map which details the direction the programmer wants to take the program has me excited with the possibilities of the character sheets which will be possible by year's end.

As for the program in its current state - I can't think of an easier character builder to use. Part of this is due to the fact that ICONS isn't an overly difficult game with which to create characters. Much credit must also go to the programmer who kept the process clean and simple. If you want to create a random character, there's a button labeled "create new random character", and have at it. Of course, the options are there to tweak and customize aspects of your character. I especially like the running point count total that is tabulated whether the character is random or not - I foresee this as a great way to prevent players feeling cheated if their characters come out a bit on the weak side...simply add a specialty here or a power there. Good stuff.

One issue that remains in this build is that it doesn't support custom specializations, and should you add a Specialty, then delete it to select another - it doesn't 'refund' the original specialty cost. A minor 'bug', but one that I hope is addressed in the next release.

The printed character sheet is clean and uncluttered, with a good font choice and size. The picture size and location is very good, being about a quarter to a third of the page and in the upper right hand side of the page. The option to place your own art into this frame is accomplished by double-clicking the box. Couldn't be easier.

Overall I very much like this product, and imagine it will go from good to great if the designer is able to accomplish all he sets out in his roadmap.

Still a few bugs, but the good stuff far outweighs the minor issues here and there. The addition of LOTS of future potential makes this $9.95 well spent.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS Character Folio
Publisher: Ad Infinitum Adventures
by Todd M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/24/2010 08:13:01
Kudos for the new rating/review system.

Context: I am, regrettably, a MAC user. Please bear this in mind, as many of my improves are based upon this, and perhaps there are ways to accomplish these things (not intuitive for these areas)

1. Fixed screen size, near as I can tell. Normally I can use two fingers to zoom. Multiple screens not very functional.
2. I haven't really seen a way to fine tune specific ability entries in a clean way. The product seems set to exactly what is in the book.

Good points.

1. Install and open very easy.
2. It is very easy to customize characters from either the random or designated mode. The lines are usefully 'blurry' here.
3. Name generator: A bit too four color for my taste, but hey, that is the base product. You will likely have to click a few times to get something a little more bleak. Also any name generator, and random character generator is also (suitably) a crayon and finger paint idea/scenario generator.
4. Finally, I see this platform being very easy to mod/improve so, providing Adamant isn't slack, or with user support, I could see this becoming a five star product very quickly.

Honestly, unless the game is buck simple, I won't even consider using it without basic software support. (Always check out the character sheet. Too complex = skip it. Ahem, certain d10 games I could mention)

I don't regret the purchase.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Thank you for your suggestions -- we are constantly updating the application in order to make it better. If you'd like to make suggestions directly to the programer, he's set up dedicated forums here: http://gallantknightenterprises.com/forum/index.php
Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG