RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Narrow Results
 Publisher Info









Back
Interface Zero 1.0 $32.00 $8.00
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
5 8
3 1
1 0
0 0
0 0
Interface Zero 1.0
Click to view
Interface Zero 1.0
Publisher: Gun Metal Games
by Keith (. T. A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/16/2013 15:58:46
Interface Zero is the goto book for cyberpunk savagery. It has detailed history, equipment, characters, and setting information for this dystopian future. The authors do an excellent job of drawing you into the setting with a writing style that's engaging and informative. The system does a great job of shoehorning cyber into Savage Worlds via a method that is clean and elegant.

The only negative I have is the amount of history presented up front. It's great stuff but it took a while to get through.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Interface Zero 1.0
Publisher: Gun Metal Games
by Will L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/13/2013 10:01:36
I really love the Savage Worlds system and I've been really wanting to get into a cyberpunk setting. It's also really nice that you have two options to run and play with this book. You can either just stick to the Savage Worlds rules or you can use the Interface Zero rules. Note, Interface Zero rules, death especially, REALLY HARD. The GM section is also really very helpful. I've personally never GM'd before but this book lays everything out for vets and n00bs alike. Have fun runners ;)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Interface Zero 1.0
Publisher: Gun Metal Games
by Joshua M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/01/2012 11:57:58
Interface Zero is the go to book for Cyberpunk. The Savage Worlds edition holds nicely to the Fast Furious Fun aspect, and the book itself has been made to a nice standard. The art inside is inspiring, however the black and white aspect seems a little out of date by modern standards. I can however say that all the pretty pictures in the world are useless without content. If content is king then this book is the Supreme Emperor of all. It contains many examples gear, people, places, things, and ways to create all of the above if you want to tailor something specific in mind.

The Interface Zero book has a good setting that you can CHOOSE to use. However, the book has been designed to allow you to run any kind of Cyberpunk setting. Want Ghost in the Shell, Shadowrun, Repo Men, AI, Terminator, Bubblegum Crisis, etc., etc. it has the rules to cover it.

There really is only 2 minor downpoints to this book, The lack Zeeks which are Psychics, and the Hacking System seems a little flat (but functional). Neither drawback is major, and both have additional content to address it.

Final thoughts: This is the new Hyperchrome standard for Cyberpunk games.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Interface Zero 1.0
Publisher: Gun Metal Games
by Michael W. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 04/11/2011 06:23:58
Savage Worlds is among my favorite roleplaying game systems and I was quite happy when I heard that Gun Metal Games was going to release their excellent Interface Zero setting for it. Interface Zero is a modern cyberpunk setting which takes the technological advances of the last decades into account. The problem of most available cyberpunk setting is that they are based on an early 1980s understanding of computer technology. When William Gibson wrote Neuromancer he probably couldn’t imagine the wireless computing we have today. But I digress.

The 301-paged book not only contains a highly detailed cyberpunk world set into the year 2088 but also adds several subsystems to the Savage World rules. So even if you’re not going to use the implied setting, you still can make use of the cyberpunk rules for example. Alas these new rules add an additional layer of complexity to the Savage Worlds rules which may not be to everyone’s liking.

The book itself has a full-color cover but the interior is black-and-white only. The layout is clean and the artwork is quite nice and has a consistent style.

In Interface Zero the characters can not only be plain old humans but also androids, genetically improved humans called Humans 2.0, hybrids (which share some traits with animals), or simulacra (which are basically biological constructs unaware of being vat-grown). The addition of these various player “species” adds a bit of transhumanism to the mix, which fits the modern interpretation of the cyberpunk genre nicely.

Aside from a couple new skills and skill uses, Interface Zero adds quite a few new Edges and Hindrances like Gun-Fu Disciple or Advanced Programming. And no cyberpunk game would be complete without an extensive list of gear for your characters to purchase. In the extensive equipment catalog in Chapter Four you can find everything from a simple boot knife to power armor and experimental energy weapons.

Interface Zero doesn’t contain a plot point campaign but Chapter Seven of the book contains enough short adventures to keep a group of adventurer’s busy for months if not longer. The last and eight chapter of the book consists of an extensive bestiary. The book’s appendix contains not only a very detailed 6-paged index but also a plethora of sheets including a very stylish character sheet.

If you are a fan of the cyberpunk genre and Savage Worlds you definitely should check Interface Zero out. Even if you don’t want to use the included setting, the new rules and the extensive equipment lists may be worth it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Interface Zero 1.0
Publisher: Gun Metal Games
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 04/10/2011 19:30:05
Wanna play Shadowrun? Know the Savage Worlds system? Don't wanna learn a new system? Get Interface Zero. This book is every bit as detailed and immersing as Shadowrun, but runs under the Savage Worlds ruleset. That means it is fast, furious, and easy to get into. Don't think that means it's light on worldbuilding. There is a TON of history of the world and information on how things got to be they way they are.

Similar stuff is going to appear in this book as in the above mentioned game, minus trolls I guess. You can be crazy hackers, futuristic weapons gurus, and smarmy face-men looking for the next job. Oh, you can also get mechs. Yeah, mechs. So yeah, I can't wait to run this and see how my players like it. Overall, it takes some time to get through the book at 300 pages, but not hard to get through the mechanics if you've played Savage World before. This is an impressive setting book.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Interface Zero 1.0
Publisher: Gun Metal Games
by Thomas S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/11/2010 09:13:19
Excellent setting. Rules cover all you need to run a Cyberpunk style game using the Savage Worlds. Excellent details on hot spots around the global, a sufficient list of foes to throw at the PCs, and a workable cyberware system that gives the GM and players control on how the way to do it.

Indexed and Layered PDF, saves the old printer on printing but lets you see the excellent layout on the screen.

The artwork is great and conveys the feeling of th world, but felt that some of it could have been tightened up a bit.

Overall I would recommend it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Interface Zero 1.0
Publisher: Gun Metal Games
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/16/2010 17:13:01
Impressively comprehensive.

If you like Savage Worlds and cyberpunk, there is no reason not to buy this. There is plenty of information here that you can use to get a game going, and the setting is broad enough that you have a LOT of options to play around with for your campaigns. On top of it, there is plenty of room for expansion in future releases.

For a full review, please visit: http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2010/10/tommys-take-o-
n-interface-zero-savage.html

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Interface Zero 1.0
Publisher: Gun Metal Games
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/02/2010 16:08:22
This is one of the most thorough of settings for SW out there. IZ is definitely in good company there.

There are issues with typos. There are issues with placement of material in the book; it isn't always easy to find what you are looking for.

Having said all that. I can say I wholeheartedly endorse this product. I have called it the sin qua non of Cyberpunk SW products and it is, but it could use a bit of work. I endorse it because the authors are willing to do the work needed to fix it. They have done a beta, a first issue and a patch. This all in a very short period of time. They respond to queries and are open to suggestion.

As a writer I know how hard it is to take criticism and respond graciously. These guys are definitely pros.

Now on to the good stuff. The design system for cyberware is FFF (fast, fun, furious) captures the feel of cyberpunk. It is very open to GM/PC modification with enough examples to make the job easy. The same can be said of the program creation system.

There are random generators in there for harried and time crunched GMs. Random generators for Domains (in Virtual Reality) for Bounties (for your Bounty Hunters) and even a Random Generator for Adventures.

With the present price of 15.99 this is a great choice for a SW setting.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Interface Zero 1.0
Publisher: Gun Metal Games
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2010 12:28:23
I've followed Interface Zero through several editions, and the SW version is the most thorough. The book contains just about everything most people would want to run a cyberpunk genre game reflecting the seeds of the future in today's headlines, except of course the Explorer's Edition itself. My only complaint is that I like a bit more Bubblegum Crisis with my cyberpunk. I would have liked to have seen rules for creating golem mechs,

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG