RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
Mapping Cards - BUGS!
Mapping Cards - BUGS!
Pay What You Want









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
The Sanctuary of the Sorcerer -T&T Edition
Publisher: Rarr! I'm A Monster Publishing
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/25/2014 02:24:21
Loved it when it was QADD. Now it's even better (and faster!) as a TnT adventure.

Remind me to tell you how half the party killed itself before ever reaching the Sanctuary!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sanctuary of the Sorcerer -T&T Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ghosts of Dragonspear Castle (D&D Next)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/15/2013 21:54:40
(This is where I should have posted my review. To TPTB, please feel free to delete my review in the Discussion thread. Yes, Grandpa is an idiot.)

One of the things which bugged me when Advanced D&D took over from Original D&D, is that suddenly there was this concern about "balance." None of the new players wanted to play in a game where they didn't have advantages over the NPCs (or as the new guys called all NPCs, "monsters"). This alone made the game less of role-playing and living a character IN the story as well as CREATING the story with the GM and other players.

Conan stories were much more thrilling when he was hopelessly outclassed and/or outnumbered, and fought (or cheated or lucked) his way through anyway. Those were the types of characters our groups played - and you could almost see the wood chips from all the pulp.

So the concerns that this adventure was not "balanced" and that the odds were stacked against the PCs? That made me buy it.

And it is deliciously, horribly, unbalanced. We used to call this "danger" and our PCs lived for danger.

....except for that one cowardly human/deep one hybrid in my wife's campaign....

This series plays and reads like an old-fashioned serial, complete with impossible situations that would make my parents HAVE to pay another dime to see the next chapter "Next week, in this theater!"

Me? I got to watch those serials (one chapter a day) on television. From 1976 onward, I got to roleplay them.

Kudos, Mr &/or Ms "et al" -- this is a thinking man's adventure!

*jeep! & God Bless!
---Grandpa Tzhett

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ghosts of Dragonspear Castle (D&D Next)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Saving Fang
Publisher: Flying Buffalo
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/16/2013 20:50:04
Ken St Andre has never made a secret of his type of reading, and it shows: Exciting things happen in his adventures, and it's no insult to say they are as plot driven as the stories of Gardner Fox, Edgar Rice Burroughs, or Robert E. Howard.

This solo can be played as pure action, if you wish -- but there are moments when doing the unlikely or thinking like a crazy man might accomplish something equally crazy. This adds a bit more intrigue, and there are real surprises hidden in this solo.

Ken wrote this to be compatible or based on first edition Tunnels & Trolls, but it's as compatible with the latest edition as with any other.

Simon Tranter's art (especially the cover!) sets the mood eloquently! I might quibble about the supporting (?) character of Cherry, who really should have enough sense to wear at LEAST chainmail for protection, but that would be my only quibble. (Or I might have given Cherry the line from Bus Stop that Marilyn Monroe made famous: "It's not Cherry - it's Sha-REE!")

All in all, an exciting and enjoyable romp, wherein we may (or may not) meet and successfully rescue Fang, whom we haven't seen since 5th edition Tunnels & Trolls. He seems to have just as bad luck as he did in 1976!

(abridged only slightly from http://grandparpg.blogspot.com/2013/10/fang-returns-unless-y-
ou-dont-save-him.html )

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Saving Fang
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Freefall The Role-Playing Game
Publisher: Friz Games
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2013 23:00:36
Now THIS is more like it!

For some reason, DTRpgNow wouldn't permit this to be downloaded previously. But now - ah, now I can experience the joy and the chaos that is Sam Starfall and the fight for order and liberty that is Florence Ambrose. Well, yes, I could experience these things in the comic strip, samples of which you'll find right in this game. But to CREATE such chaos? To save the world from planetary explosions? Oh, there's nothing like hands-on!

If you're looking for many, many crunchy rules and have no sense of humor, you're out of your depth here. There are enough rules to play and to let the gamesmaster make the players crazy, and then Mr Frisbee gets out of the way so we can play.

Let me repeat this, for it should be the first law of rolegame design: GET OUT OF OUR WAY AND LET US PLAY!

Combat, skill success/failure, etc - will seem a bit familiar to players of Hero Kids and Fudge. Or something else. The idea is to show us how to simulate lots of technical gizmos and to blow things up. And pie fights. We need to know how to run pie fights.

Did I mention that Sam is a squid-like alien in a body containment suit, to make him look sort of humanoid? Imagine stuffing Cthulhu in a small environment suit. Then have him read one of his books and go insane. Sam's species (of which he is the only example, because the humans went mad when they saw his world and cut off any flights to that area ever) are scavengers. Translate that to a newly-formed almost-hospitable planet with hundreds of humans and millions of robots, and the Flim-Flam Man is running loose, grabbing whatever he can.

Florence is a wolf. No, really. Bio-doubletalked into being a humanoid wolf, with the brains of a technical genius, the conscience of Jiminy Cricket, and the instincts of a wolf. Who is dating her veterinarian.

Sure, you could play one of these characters (you poor soul!) but you could also play robots of all types, the mayor, a baker, or any number of other types and shapes. And every one of them, except for Florence and usually Helix (Sam's robot, he thinks) want to kill Sam. This includes Sam's ship.

Pull two bucks out of your wallet now and send them to Mark and Matt now. You know you want to. But hold onto your wallet. Sam is still running loose.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Freefall The Role-Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Playing at the World
Publisher: Unreason Press
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/30/2013 18:23:53
Jon seems to be angry with Ken St Andre, for he bad-mouths him frequently in this volume. Otherwise, the research seems pretty objective - a nearly impossible task considering the meager documentation and vague memories of the principles involved.

It seems so long ago, and yet I was around and occasionally involved with some of the principles and innocent bystanders. (No big feat. If you live long enough and travel enough, you eventually meet everybody.) I doubt any would remember me, but I do remember much of what they said - but only because I journaled it at the time.

Jon captures the freewheeling feelings of anything being possible, of the "can do" attitudes of so many of the principles, and almost - but not quite - captures some of the feuds which inevitably occur in creative endeavors. Business sense and creative sense do not usually reside in the same brain (and when it does, we see self-made zillionaires who stepped on no one - these are historically rare) so there are a lot of stories of creative people who got cheated or fell along the way or just couldn't explain what they could do instinctively.

It probably raises as many questions as it answers, and this is what makes it a good history. People are complex, contradictory, and fascinating. Creative people are doubly so. Gamers and game creators are more off the wall. Combine all these, and you have Jon's very satisfying, very fascinating history book -- which is screaming for a sequel as soon as possible!

(review originally printed at http://grandparpg.blogspot.com/ )

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Playing at the World
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fleabitten: Neither Here Nor There
Publisher: Khaghbboommm
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/21/2013 18:49:26
This is one of the reasons why I recommend Tunnels & Trolls to any person who has or hasn't experienced rolegaming: Because the most nonconformist and, perhaps, dangerous ideas seem to run through TnT (the preferred acronym, which does imply its danger) first.

Yes, there have been humorous scenarios before, going all the way back to Blackmoor. Yes, there have been humorous solos, going at least as far back as Deathtrap Equalizer Dungeon.

Despite the precedents, there has been nothing quite like Fleabitten, and I don't know how to categorize it.

It's humorous - a lot! And it has the sort of absurdist logic of Lewis Carroll. It's deadly, but only if you treat this adventure as you would most RPG adventures. And it's a solo, which can be adapted for GM use, especially if the GM is just a little bit cracked.

The main track (which you may choose to not take) concerns an underwater adventure of discovery and deduction. You will discover a new type of dwarf and a LOT of things about undersea life that you never suspected. And you would, if this were a Call of Cthulhu adventure (and it could be), lose a lot of Sanity Points.

As always, Mark provides options to options and options OF options. Almost every action has a consequence, and the characters (though absolutely ridiculous at times) usually come off as 3-dimensional - save for those who are not intended to seem realistic at all.

You'll interact with some of your favorite fictional characters from comics and elsewhere...though they may seem a bit more eccentric than usual. They may even carry different names and forms. It's always a toss up whether Mark is seriously challenging your sense of humor, your sense of honor, or your gaming skills. Few people can pull off a comedy which is equally an adventure, or vice versa. There is a difference.

Steve Jackson, decades ago, gave one of my favorite sayings when he stated that there's just not enough silly in games right now. Of course "now" was THEN, but I hope you get my meaning.

And if you understood that last paragraph, much less the previous ones. "Fleabitten" is for YOU.

You'll find it in the usual downloadable places, such as DriveThruRPG/RpgNow, and nowhere else of which I know. But you can always write Mark and annoy him to death. It would serve him right!

(This review originally appeared in 'The Play's the Thing' aka http://GrandpaRPG.blogspot.com/)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fleabitten: Neither Here Nor There
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deathbed
Publisher: Khaghbboommm
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/14/2013 21:37:33
WESLYNN IS REVENGED!!!

Mark has a talent for creating solo adventures which are NOTHING like the plots which came before. When he has options, he has options for the options; and the results may or may not be to your liking - but you probably won't know until you hit that Hitchcock twist in the plot!

I was overjoyed to play this adventure, and even emerge in a - um - better (?) status than my PC started. If nothing else, he now is wiser and has some facts in hand that will help in the future.

Yes, your "Deathbed" character has a future of adventure and intrigue. If Mark doesn't create sequels for this, an obvious prologue to a long epic story, then you should immediately prepare a long epic campaign and draw in more players.

At one pivotal point, you may choose to be quested, in any number of ways, in any number of forms (literally) and I was lucky enough to have a chance to AVENGE the epic murder of one of the better characters I've seen. No, it was not one of mine - let's just say that "Deathbed" ranks high in honor for cleverly and effectively sequeling from perhaps the best campaign in which I've played.

Mark, you actually lived up to a legend. Go forth and write more chapters!

(originally published at http://grandparpg.blogspot.com/ )

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deathbed
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Baloonka: Rescue From the Fungus Planet [Tunnels & Trolls]
Publisher: Peryton Publishing
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/03/2013 21:31:56
Without a doubt, Roy Cram turns out adventures which are, at once, tense AND funny. Take 'Balloonka,' for instance. The names of the places and creatures of this world invite chuckles and groans. And yet this is one of the deadliest adventures a player character could experience! If you doubt it's that serious, examine the challenging cover by the always perfect Jeff Freels. If ever a couple of spacemen (women?) thought they were in control of a situation....

It's an old-fashioned party killer, with a thin veil of science fiction to trick us into thinking we know what's going on. As far as the characters are concerned, a formerly-wealthy employer (Roy calls him Victor...I dunno about that.) had to abandon his colony and trade with a world that was literally dripping with riches. Less than eleven years ago, Victor was about to become the most wealthy individual in known space. And then something went wrong.

His fortune dissapated, cut off from his prize (by a "local" war in that sector), he's either hocked everything or else has found backers. Victor wants his world back. But he needs a band of adventurers, bold and tough. In short, he needs YOU and your friends. What? You thought the old fat guy was gonna pilot a ship AND fight the planet's --- um, he would go quiet at that point, and wild horses can't drag further information from him.

But you and your companions are just bold enough and dumb enough - as well as broke - to take on this Herculean task. Thank goodness you had all believed in the ancient legends, which state that the richest adventures will walk up to you, if you hang around in a tavern long enough.

Can't be too tough. You and your fellow adventurers smile at the recordings of the first colony's distress calls, complaining that the local plants grew fast - very fast. They must have been cowards, to fear plants that grow extra fast. The famine worlds could certainly pay well for samples of such vegetation.

And as the spaceship comes into orbit near your destination, your group dons body armor and twelve different kinds of guns. With a smirk, you each enter the shuttle, and think how easy it will be to remove gold and gems from an uninhabited planet.

I was that smirking character, and within 24 hours, my entire party was dead.

Stay away from Balloonka. It's hungry.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Baloonka: Rescue From the Fungus Planet [Tunnels & Trolls]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Stock Art Collection 3: Alchemist Shop
Publisher: Fabled Worlds
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/25/2013 15:29:59
You should know by now that, having been a fan of Jeff's amazing and weird art, I was fortunate enough for the World's Greatest Blind Artist and me to become friends. So take this with a grain of salt, since I am his friend.

BUY THIS COLLECTION!

It's really that good and the illustrations are really that useful. I find myself using them in correspondence, on player handouts, on mailing packages, and probably more than I can think of. They do not have to illustrate only an alchemist shop; as I said, they work in many different settings and projects.

My only complaint (and I should downgrade this and hold my breath 'til I turn blue) is that there aren't ENOUGH illustrations. Thirteen is plenty for what we pay, but I'd pay much more for many more drawings. Literally, I cannot get enough of Jeff's work.

You may not become as big a fan as I, but I have the feeling you'll be very, very happy with this package.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art Collection 3: Alchemist Shop
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Renegade ~ Corruption
Publisher: Thistle Games
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/19/2013 17:10:26
All right, I'll admit it. I'm the person who can't keep all the versions of Renegade straight. Is Corruption the expanded ruleset or is it the Advanced version? All I know is that it has more pages than one of the Renegades and not as many as another. Or is it the other way around?

What you have here is Original something-and-something with better editing (even self-editing beats no editing) and a "voice" in the text which speaks to someone who is not familiar with miniatures rules and jargon. Yes, when I read that Original game, I was utterly lost and made almost everything up on the fly. In a way, I liked that. Yet I also wanted to know what the actual nuts & bolts were, what made things tie together into a cohesive system. In short, I wanted to know what the script was that I was ad-libbing to.

So it helps - a lot - that I can understand what Renegade is saying to me, and demonstrating to me how to play and run it. I really like the fact that it still allows me to ad-lib and house rule to my heart's content. There's almost a console-type of structure to it, where I can pull one unit out, replace it with a house rule, and the odds are that they'll all work together.

Renegade ~ Corruption adds a sense of dirt and sweat to basic Renegade. Imagine a "good" junky Steve Reeves Hercules movie of 1959 or 1960. Now add a good episode of Baretta and the smell of a high school gym's locker room. And - something - or someone - which is in the gameworld just to get you, personally.

So imagine Original x&x with a touch of Call of Cthulhu - not the Old Ones coming to get you (usually) but the claustrophobic, paranoid sense of things. Or compare a 1950s "the Gorilla Boss of Gotham" to "the Dark Knight Returns." Each are entertaining (and the former is my favorite Batman story of that era) but one is just - dirtier - than the other. Heroes aren't just flawed here. Sometimes, it seems everyone carries a bit of corruption in them.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Renegade ~ Corruption
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Spinechillers and Silent Killers
Publisher: Thistle Games
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/19/2013 16:48:07
Megan may be correct. Perhaps David could use an editor. A good editor can make a good book great and a great book fantastic, and there's not a one of us who is our own best editor.

On the other hand, that would undoubtedly increase the price - and I'd rather see more copies of this book get in gamesmasters' hands than have it become a bit too much professional. There's a part of me which really likes the unstructured "fannish" style of writing.

And the information - the raw data - is what the book is about. Is it easy to understand? Yes! Is it data you will use? Yes! Will you have a hard time using it because you'll be laughing so much? Probably! I didn't NEED to make my PCs feel even more uneasy, but I saw the most delightful thing for them to be served. Y'see, I just happen to have a photo of baked sheep's head.

It's more than just traps, scary things, and PC killers. It's also a means to discomfort your heroes, to make things a little off-center. Just when they think they have your world and its natural laws figured out, you can pull out a LOGICAL shock which makes sense. This is not a traps manual or a TPK manual. It's made (and priced) for fun and for using again and again.

David does have a diabolical sense of humor. An editor might have tried to talk him out of some of this.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spinechillers and Silent Killers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deep Where the Liche-Lord Lies - A Descent into Horror
Publisher: Tavernmaster Games
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/20/2013 18:31:53
And we thought Tomb of Horrors was scary...

That was a long time ago, when we learned, after several attempts, to cheat egregiously. It could never get that bad again, because we were smarter - and we started using systems which not only made more sense, but which enabled us to learn from our failures as well as our successes.

Welcome to a new place, one which is not Tomb of Horrors, nor even an emulation of it. For one thing, you're going to walk into it expecting, at worst, a band of brigands and raiders under the direction of some dim-witted ogre. Dangerous, yes, but less so for you and your hardy band of highly-seasoned warriors, specialists, and wizards. Human and non-human you be, and you've never tasted defeat nor fear.

That was before you discovered the secret of the Forest of Maugaral and the mausoleum it hid. And that's just the beginning of your trouble --- no, this is not "Tomb of Horrors for Tunnels & Trolls." This is its own nightmare -- and yours.

"Deep Where the Liche-Lord Lies" is Andy Holmes again proving that he can send a shiver or two up your spine. Disguised as a simple hack-and-raid mission, this adventure holds secrets and puzzles to keep your group occupied for at least three sessions, if not more. And they WILL keep coming back, because Andy has the knack of throwing JUST enough at the PCs where they think they have a good chance to press their luck just One More Time.

Plus, of course, your players' characters realize that they're in it all the way now, and that backing out is worse than suicide. The various monsters and traps aren't the real challenge; that real challenge is to the players...What will they decide at different moments, different places?

The only thing to fear is fear itself.....they say.

Inviting your presence is Vasarax himself, on the cover by Simon Lee Tranter. The liche looks almost neighborly, having decomposed comparatively little. He seems cordial and friendly. Chilling!

Inside, illustrator Jeff Freels strips the facade away. Your more pleasant foes have a look of greed and vice to them which is truly disturbing as you study their features - for some reason, it's what Jeff DOESN'T include in the portraits and settings which is unsettling. Don't dwell too long on the frontpiece for Level 6. If you thought Jeff's humorous cartoons were "cute," don't be surprised that he turns that impression against you.

Tavernmaster Games continues its impressive output with this high-level adventure that is designed for Tunnels & Trolls - but suitable for anyone you want to feel the crush of despair.

(This review first appeared at http://GrandpaRPG.blogspot.com/ on 4/20/13)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deep Where the Liche-Lord Lies - A Descent into Horror
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Return of the Monsters: Black Bat vs Dracula
Publisher: Moonstone
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/18/2013 00:45:47
Well - uh -

Boy, do I hate to say it. Maybe I can make this a little kinder.

It could have been better.

The writer starts from the assumption that every reader knows who these characters are. An incorrect assumption, as this is an issue that most people will pick up even if they don't know any character but Dracula. Let's face it: Hardly anything with "Dracula" in the title is going to lose money.

But how many people know who the Black Bat is/was? And who's this Rachel dressed as an even-more badly designed Azrael-Batman? Why is Dracula in this particular city at this time, and why is Rachel hunting him? What's her relation, if any, to Black Bat? (They seem to know each other.) The story seems to be chase, chase, chase, fight, chase some more, fight, stop the story before it ends.

It's really hard to tell what's going on sometimes. The art is very pretty, and filled with lots of extra lines which aren't needed. (Alex Toth would have a fit!) But the artist seems to want to fill up space and show off his/her art - not tell a story.

SPOILER WARNINGS!!!

The plot is: Dracula is killing prostitutes. Rachel hunts Dracula. He almost successfully seduces her but Black Bat saves her. (Surprised?) Dracula is driven away by a Really Badly Drawn Schtick. (The items used to drive him away are not the items which would drive him away, nor do they look like them.)

We don't get to know the Bat. We don't get to know Dracula. (We just assume he's like the most cliched movie version.) And we don't get to know Rachel, other than - like a stereotyped woman hero, she comes from an abusive background. Look, it worked well enough with Red Sonja, but does EVERY abused person put on a costume and go hunting bad guys and monsters? In far too many comics, they do -- and that's all we ever see into their character.

Every person seeing this title, especially if they know who Black Bat was, really wants to read this book and hungrily wants to like it. We were ready to forgive a lot, and we have to if we want to finish the story. (Which doesn't finish, using the stereotyped "The End?" blurb.) We have come to expect so much from Moonstone.

It could've been a contender. The best I can say is "It's not as bad as it could have been."

I really - REALLY - wanted to like this.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Monsters: Black Bat vs Dracula
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Gunslingers: Wild West Action!
Publisher: Gold Rush Games
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/18/2013 00:08:25
This may be one of the best uses of the (late?) Action system that I've seen. It gives a very 3-dimensional feel to tactics and movement, and actions really do have consequences.

Action has taken some hits in the past for not emphasizing role play itself. The templates and the chapter on Individualizing Your Character takes care of much of that, but the player IS going to have to do their share of the work. It is all too easy to bring the hack attitude into the Wild West mythos. Here is where many of the tools for the gamesmaster come in. The system does reward the player for playing "in character," and does it pretty well. Shucks, ma'am, it's even fun to create characters in Gunslingers. Haven't had this much fun creating a character since Traveller!

Yep, there are some amusing spelling errors. I'm fairly sure that when Mark says "Each player should select a cultural decent from where his character’s forefathers originated," that he really meant "Each player should select a cultural descent from where" etc. (Even then, I'd have made him rewrite the line for clarity.) So yeah, it's not 100% perfect - nothing is.

But it's a good fit for a great western adventure. I think you'll enjoy it. It's worth at least twice this price, and you'll rarely get this much adventure for this price.

Highly recommended.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gunslingers: Wild West Action!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ranger Than Fiction
Publisher: Khaghbboommm
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/03/2013 21:29:24
It may be a bit self-serving to review this, but no one else has - so here goes!

It's short in pages, but long in play -- if you make some very good saving rolls. Or if the NPCs do.

What you have is an archery contest. Which starts out fair, and keeps going until even the Flynn Robin Hood would throw up his hands and surrender his sanity! At one point, the champion archers must aim and HIT invisible moving targets.

Hopefully, you'll succeed well before this - or fail, which seems more likely. But it's totally fair -- the NPCs have just as much a chance to fail as do you -- probably even more chances!

The reward is fulfilling for your character and for yourself. Because you, as a winner (HUZZAH!!) are invited by the Khaghy one to enter into Trollhalla itself. He may or may not have such authority, but it's easier to ask forgiveness than permission.

And it's MUCH better to be lucky than skillful.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ranger Than Fiction
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 75 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG