RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
 
$0.00
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
93 47
36 10
14 4
3 1
3 0
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Click to view
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Alex F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/09/2016 15:53:52

Nice flavour, but overall a sloppy and unfinished looking product. It had good ideas but combined them with an iniability to artciulate them well and make them flow.

Plus it had agod-awful system that was trying to be 'retro' and instead felt cruede and unfinished. The Psionics system was particualrily clunky and felt poorly implmented, like it was bolted on at a later stage.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by jimi r. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/25/2016 22:33:59

It had some readability issues and could have used another pass or two by an editor but once I got the hang of it the system itself is very good.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Hugh A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/29/2016 07:34:34

An "old school" space opera game with an intriguing mechanism for generating a campaign background. Stars without number is an ideal light to medium weight RPG not least as the price is right so that every player can have a copy of the rules to refer to which can also spark story ideas from other players. On the downside there is no real explanation of how much experience points to reward characters with in a given situation, leaving it to the referees discretion. A good solution could be to encourage PCs to define their goals and reward them for meeting these.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by mark b. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/24/2016 08:15:20

Amazingly well done. Written well enough to start quickly but with the required depth of material to maintain your interest. Even better there is a significant amount of additional material that adds depth to the game in key areas. Of interest this game has been noted to be one of the best solo/solitary RPG's and is played extensively in that community (myself included!). I believe SWN is both so well designed and such an open sandbox universe that any play style is facilitated. Oh, and if your still not sure, give it a read through, its free.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Alex L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/04/2016 16:19:14

Excellent product. I have had no issues with the scan quality or file download. It was a quick and painless acquisition. I've been through it dozens of times already and have seen no issues. It is also a huge help as I just started playing in a campaign of Stars Without Number and we only had one book between all 6 of us. Thank you for the time and care spent making sure we get the best product possible.

- Alex

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by RP F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/04/2016 13:19:47

I absolutely love this one! It's easy to learn and brings a lot of freedom. It's a sandbox rpg so you can make whatever you want. And it's populair so there are a lot of generatots and automated excel sheets and all on the internet.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Carl O. N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/23/2015 02:19:18

Pretty good, most of it is explained well and you honestly get more info than you expect from a 'free edition'. There are a couple of minor issues, for example psychics have their info all over the place, so could be a bit more organized.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Dave R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/25/2015 13:17:46

Great fun in the classic RPG style.

This is what SF RPGs should have been from the beginning.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Tom D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/02/2015 20:50:30

I love the sandbox nature and the easy to utilize rules, however the classes and some of the equipment lists are terribly short or have few choices. The game plays well and again, I love the way the game plays just that it seems too bare bones.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Rusty N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/22/2015 16:23:35

Worth getting if for nothing else than the random-generator ideas for sandboxes. Oh and it's free, so definitely worth a try. Most of the SRD 3.5e from D&D (also free) can be adopted for anything this book is lacking system-wise without any problems as well.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Cal R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/10/2015 23:43:41

I love this system and its take on sci-fi and a d20 system



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by James C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/27/2015 04:17:15

I have not been Space Master in this game system yet however being a player I find this game really intuitive. It is a great group game that gives everyone a chance to catch the spotlight (as opposed to having the ranger and rogue fighting over who gets to do the stealth mission etc etc). The combat and non combat rules are cinematic and fun along with the backstory and random background set up.

All this from a free game makes it an incredible rules set. Go download it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Christopher C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/22/2015 16:33:18

A very helpful supplement. I much prefer having a printed copy for gaming, and will likely buy one in the future, but the PDF is great for looking up random ideas I have while out and about. And it was free! Very nice.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Killian K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/22/2015 12:04:43

Excellent sandbox game that works well with very proactive players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Jeremy H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/19/2015 22:43:41

A whole lot of awesome here. And it is a wonderful service to the community that this edition is FREE. Wow. Definitely worth having.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 62 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG