RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Ogres and Underworlds
Publisher: New Realms Publishing
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2014 14:24:41
Ogres & Underworlds is 64 pages (62 pages, not including the front pages and contents list).
The contents list has the page numbers linked, which is good. Gets you to the page faster.
The system (page 41-47), informs you on how to resolve an action:
1: Determine Difficulty. 2: Determine Skill. 3: Determine Ability (6 of them).
4: Determine Action Level. 5: Modify Action Level. 6: Determine the Difficulty level.
7: Determine the Action Number. 8: Determine Target Number. 9: Determine success.

The solo adventure on pages 4-8, does actually help you become familiar with the system.
The monster section (pages 50-57), does not give any monster examples (a pity).
The only slight example, is in the solo adventure (giant rat).
The monster section gives you the 'framework' to make your own.

There is a small character sheet on the last page.
I've submitted a character sheet at the New Realms Publishing forum: (jsplace.freeforms.net), in the Ogres & Underworlds section.
Magic is done through the elements (fire, air, water, earth), enchantment, essence, thought, etc.

The system is certainly different to other RPGs.
Try it; see what you think.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ogres and Underworlds
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Into the City: Map 0
Publisher: Crooked Staff Publishing
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/17/2014 13:16:13
I agree with the previous 2 reviewers; good maps.
I look forward to the 'full set' that comes out.
These can be used for practically any genre, as stated earlier.

I've enjoyed the previous map sets (zombie, sci-fi, dungeon maps, etc).
Really good maps made with so called 'antiquated software', as I was informed.

A good preview; worth downloading.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Into the City: Map 0
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Basic Dungeon Tiles : Expansion Set 3
Publisher: Crooked Staff Publishing
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/08/2014 11:20:37
24 out of 26 pages are tiles.
They are very nicely done.
I like the water effect, and the gravel effect in the background.

I submitted a scenario for Age of Shadows on the Age of shadow wiki recently, which was based in a sewer system.
This was then stated on Google Plus, which Mr Richards is also on.
Half hour later, I see him put a sewer tile sample on Goggle+ for me to look at and get an opinion.
I and one or two others agreed on the other samples he made for me for the AoS sewer scenario.

And now; this Expansion set 3 looks just great for the AoS sewer scenario.
All I can say is, well done. Very nicely done indeed.
A page of 'tokens' for sewer rubbish would have been nice.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Basic Dungeon Tiles : Expansion Set 3
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

D&D Basic Set - DM's Rulebook (BECMI ed.) (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/30/2014 13:17:59
The scan of the DM book is pretty good.
Prints out well.
Quite clear; and cheap at £2.94.

I tried finding the error that was mentioned, but couldn't seem to find it ( I might be reading it wrong).

Wizards: PDFs of the Expert, Companion, master, etc WOULD BE A GOOD IDEA.
You've done a good scan of the basic set; get the others done (or is it too much to ask for?).

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Basic Set - DM's Rulebook (BECMI ed.) (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

D&D Basic Set - Player's Manual (BECMI ed.) (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/30/2014 13:01:16
A pretty good scan of the Player's Manual.
And very good at £2.94.

I just wish Wizards would make PDFs of the Expert, Companion, Master, etc.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Basic Set - Player's Manual (BECMI ed.) (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Basic Dungeon Tiles : Expansion Set 2
Publisher: Crooked Staff Publishing
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/29/2014 12:40:00
20 out of 22 pages of rather nice dungeon tiles.
This set has narrow corridors with some rooms and some extra doors.
And under £1 as well.

Nice mosaic paving stones.

Once again, the option to change the dark stone background would be nice to save ink.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Basic Dungeon Tiles : Expansion Set 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Basic Dungeon Tiles : Expansion Set 1
Publisher: Crooked Staff Publishing
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/29/2014 12:29:33
12 out of 14 pages of some very nice dungeon tiles.
Graphically fantastic.

The only slight downside is the stone background (which does look good) on each page, which would drain a lot of ink.
Make sure you have many cartridges (much ink).

Very good for the price (88 pence).
The choice of altering the stone background would be good.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Basic Dungeon Tiles : Expansion Set 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Basic Dungeon Tiles
Publisher: Crooked Staff Publishing
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/29/2014 12:20:23
22 pages of some very nice dungeon tiles, with added alcoves, dead ends, etc.

well worth obtaining the 2 expansion sets as well.

You'd be daft not to get them, since all 3 are cheap, and good quality.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Basic Dungeon Tiles
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Some Corner of a Foreign Field
Publisher: Morningstar Productions
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/29/2014 07:23:28
£1.20 seemed too good to be true for a set of rules; so I gave them a try.
The rules are only 2 pages (yes, 2 pages); and the army list is 9 pages.
There is also a faq/walkthrough for players to get an idea of how the game plays.

It uses a D20 (no, it's not D&D type/rules), so to speak.
There are rules for spotting your target(s), Hand-to-Hand combat, morale, etc.
The army list has a squad sheet for filling in.
The only thing missing is vehicles.
There is some off table support (snipers, artillery, helicopter, etc).

It's actually quite good; and the price is very good; much better priced than Skirmish Sangin (Radio Dishdash: £7.50 PDF, £25 book).
Some light vehicles might be interesting to see (jeeps, technicals, etc).
Well worth a look.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Some Corner of a Foreign Field
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fireteam to Fireforce
Publisher: Simon Yang
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/29/2014 07:01:59
£7.77 for 32 pages: front cover & introduction, 6 pages of scenarios.
That leaves about 24 pages for rules (Suppression, splitting fire, overwatch, etc).

There are 2 versions, which include a printer friendly version.

The price of £7.77 seems too much for 30-31 pages. Perhaps £3; £4 at the very most.
The mechanics seem quite good (using d4, d6, d8, d10 & d12).
The weapons/equipment is mostly USA/USSR; no British, European, etc.
There could have been more pages (British, European vehicles, weapons, etc).

4-5 stars would have been given for a 'fuller' product.

Fairly good rules, too pricey.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fireteam to Fireforce
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

OpenQuest 2 Deluxe
Publisher: D101 Games
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/26/2014 13:51:58
OpenQuest 2 (OQ2) seems rather familiar to me.
It reminds me of the Age of Shadow (AoS) RPG.

They both use the OpenQuest system, so OP2 shouldn't be too difficult to get into (for me anyway).

Charts in OQ2 are the same as AoS (combat modifiers, etc).

ArtworK: ok; not too bad.
Seems ok for the price since it's now below the £10 price.

Worth a try. Give it a look.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
OpenQuest 2 Deluxe
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Breachworld RPG Kickstarter Preview
Publisher: Jason Richards Publishing
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/29/2014 07:47:59
77 pages, of which 71 (approximately) are the main PDF.
Page 39-43 give you the 'story/theme' of the RPG, which seem rather good.

I've not fully read the Mini Six rules (Xena & Hercules, Star Wars, Azamar, Westward, etc) are the D6 RPGs I've mostly got into.

The Breachworld theme, mostly reminds me of 'Stargate' in reverse (instead of travelling out, species are travelling in & out so to speak).
I may be wrong, but just my observation.
Mysterious gate technology being planted all over the world; then everything goes haywire, making gateways to other worlds.

Artwork: some of it is good.
As a 'rough draught', it's not bad.
Well worth a look at.

Any D6 fans out there, I'd recommend it.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Breachworld RPG Kickstarter Preview
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Silhouette CORE RPG Rules Deluxe Edition
Publisher: Dream Pod 9
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/13/2014 08:48:15
At 258 pages, 252 are the content.
A pretty good scan, much better than Heavy Gear 3rd Player's Handbook.

A lot is covered in the PDF: Character & Mechanical Design, Advanced Rules, Open Gaming Rules Conversion, Appendixes, Game-mastering, etc.

Al looks pretty good., wish I had more time to look through section.
I like it.
All artwork is b&w (a fair bit of it from Heavy Gear - my favourite).

Not bad for £5.05.
Well worth a look.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Silhouette CORE RPG Rules Deluxe Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Heavy Gear RPG 3rd Edition Player's Handbook
Publisher: Dream Pod 9
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/13/2014 08:28:59
I bought the Silhouette Core Deluxe edition some time ago, which wasn't too bad, scan wise.
This PDF, unfortunately, not so good.
The pages slant to the side, the scan quality is low.
Not a good scan at all.
I can see why they reduced the price.

Don't get me wrong, I like the Heavy Gear RPG & other products); I have the 1st & 2nd edition books with supplements, miniatures, etc; all good.
So this download (PDF) was a disappointment.

I'm hoping for an updated/improved version.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Heavy Gear RPG 3rd Edition Player's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Cogs,Cakes & Swordsticks RPG & Setting [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Modiphius
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/27/2014 13:11:24
CCS is an extremely rules-lite D6 RPG.
There are no lists for equipment, weapons, or armour, vehicles, etc.
Artwork is black and white, and not too bad.

The CCS system has 3 attributes (Cakes, Cogs & Swordsticks), basically a tri-stat system like BESM or the Warrior, Rogue Mage RPG.

I feel that both PDFs could have been cheaper (maybe £2-£3 each) considering CCS is only 55 pages, and Atlantis is 43 pages.
Yes, there is quite a bit of background material, etc to get the players in the mood for the time period; but CCS just seems too 'lite' for the £7.99 price.

Steamcraft (Perilous Journeys Publishing) is £8.99 and 216 pages, and appears a more 'fuller' RPG for the price; although not meant to be played anywhere like CCS.

Don't get me wrong, CCS is a good 'lite' RPG; just not a lot of 'content' for the price.

CCS is £7.99, and Atlantis is £5.99 (£13.98), down to £11.99 - not a bad saving.
£4-£5 for both wouldn't be too bad a price.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cogs,Cakes & Swordsticks RPG & Setting [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 78 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG