RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
T5 Traveller5 Core Rules Book (759 pages)
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2016 22:40:11

Rats! Accidentally deleted my original review, which went back to a week or three after publication. Let's just say that T5 does Traveller proud and it's once again what it was best: a toolbox filled with tools to create MY favorite sf rolegame.

I still bet Marc wishes he had the support group he had in 1977. It's hard to believe almost all of this came from one mind.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
T5 Traveller5 Core Rules Book (759 pages)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

BLUEHOLME Prentice Rules
Publisher: Dreamscape Design
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2016 11:51:38

Updated, upgraded, and this is still the "basic" version - can hardly wait for the completerish rules. If we can still call them "rules," after the excellent introductory essay "THERE ARE NO RULES."

inspiration to count as a new game, and actually much easier for a non-gamer to understand. It deserves six stars out of five. Like all retro clones, it can't really be D&D without beholders - which is why I don't buy printed versions of retclones. (I add a copy of the Greyhawk beholder description and illo to my own printed copies of retclones - and to my copie of Tunnels & Trollsas well as Runequet. I recommend you do the same.

*jeep!

-Grandpa Chet



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BLUEHOLME Prentice Rules
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you for the kind review! FYI the \"Journeymanne Rules\" - which cover levels 1-20 for the basic four classes, plus additional spells, monsters, magic items, and the like - are pretty much ready for art, so keep an eye out for a crowdfunder within the year. Pity about the old beholder, but then Holmes never mentions it in his works so it doesn\'t really qualify for BLUEHOLME™. Carrion crawlers and displacement beasts are more of an issue, as they are not only in the Holmes rules but Chris Holmes (Dr J. Eric Holmes\'s son) drew some great illustrations of them in the original Holmes Basic manuscript. Thus they will show up, in the grand OGL tradition, under pseudonyms. ;-)
The House of Wish and Wonder
Publisher: Khaghbboommm
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/01/2016 19:50:16

Caveat: Mark is a friend and I am a fan of his gamesmastering and his solos. Do remember that reviewers always hurt the ones they love.

Not that I intend to be meaner to Mark than usual, unless it would be funny. You might want to know that when Mark tells you this is set in the same castle (and practically nation unto itself) as his masterful "Poisoned Chalice" solo mystery, it means you will enjoy this much more if you have played (and survived) Poisoned Chalice first. Since this adventure is a GM run adventure, it's even more fun to see your players squirm as did you. It also provides you with more background than you'll find here, making the experience better than a deathtrap run.

The plot is fairly skimpy, really an excuse to delve into the old timey dungeon of a sadistic noble or wizard (or GM) who just wants to see PCs scream. Successfully foil his (your) viciousness, and they should pick up a few bucks and points, as well as the fun of the game itself.

A unique feature is the introduction of a jinx type of character "class," remembering that "classes" in Tunnels and Trolls are considerably more complex than most games'. It's fairly simple to use this new class type to complicate player characters' lives. Have fun!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The House of Wish and Wonder
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Agent of Death
Publisher: Flying Buffalo
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/24/2016 15:58:02

If you have not yet played this solo, then run - do not walk - to click ADD TO CART right now. This is one of the more REplayable adventures that I've yet had, though I doubt you'll be replaying with the same character. It really is that deadly - and a good deal of the character deaths are actually caused by your choices, though there are a couple of BOOM-You're-Dead occurances. For the most part, the clues are there and staying the noble and straight path (i.e. - Keep your eye on your ultimate goal) and you stand a much better chance. Luck certainly can play a factor.

One way or another, you're going to enjoy this. I enjoyed it so much, I paid for the hard copy of this solo AND for the PDF....despite the fact that I was one of the blindtesters!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Agent of Death
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadow & Blade: A Guide to Assassins in Tunnels & Trolls
Publisher: Trollish Delver Games
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/24/2016 15:52:16
I hope I remembered to pay for this, because it's worth it. One should never, never, NEVER permit players to play an assassin (unless you truly want your campaign to self-destruct) but there are assassins (even if they don't call themselves that) in most rolegaming worlds - and a gamesmaster needs to be ready to portray such NPCs.

With this little volume, you are prepared to endanger your PCs with a 3-dimensional assassin who is not a cliche, who has depth and reason and might even be of use to your PCs. And if one is running a TnT campaign in a modern world - well, James Bond is definitely an assassin character. (See Mercenaries, Spies, & Private Eyes for TnT in a modern world.)

There's a marvelous and short solo adventure included, in which you can really let yourself go. After all, in a solo, you're the Player and the GM....and the GM can play assassins very wickedly.

I would drop one half of a star and rate this 4.5, ONLY because I firmly believe that players should not be allowed to ever play such characters. (GMs can and should. Even in solos. TnT players can easily have multiple personalities.)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadow & Blade: A Guide to Assassins in Tunnels & Trolls
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Thrilling Tales 2nd Edition (Savage Worlds)
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/02/2016 14:08:27

I didn't review this book back when I purchased it when it first appeared - both the D20 version and this SW version?? Shame on me! I know I did contact the author-designer, because this is (I need large fonts for this.)

MUCH BETTER THAN THE D20 VERSION!!

It's not that the first version wasn't well done, it's that the D20 system didn't lend itself to a rollicking, knock-down drag 'em out the door type of session that the pulp genre needs. Great example in fiction: Archie Goodwin gets fed up with an obnoxious visitor to Wolfe's office, and literally knocks him down and drags him out the door by his heels. That could take up to a half hour with D20; with SW it's over almost before it starts - leaving other PCs and players wondering "Wha' happened??"

The supporting material for Thrilling Tales is just as exciting as that scene, and the "rules" (Be prepared for a set of rules which tell you that the adventure is MUCH more important than looking up rules.) can keep your players hanging on by their fingernails. It adapts well to every pulp genre I tried (even westerns, but especially Cousins of Cthulhu) and deserves wider use.

For a time, Adamant was able to include chapters of ollllld serial cliffhangers, to really get your players in the mood. Most of the old classics are available in the public domain -- I recommend you put them to use. And steal from them most boldly!

At less than $10, it's a ridiculously cheap bargain.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Thrilling Tales 2nd Edition (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Castle of the Mad Archmage Adventure Book
Publisher: BRW Games
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/27/2015 23:48:29

Been a long time since I ran this, and I had to go back and skim through it again. You'd be surprised how much you can forget after a year or so -- especially when one has a castle & dungeon THIS large.

It's safe to say that you get a LOT of replay value! It's also safe to say that you'll get a good strong feeling of everything which worked in 1975 - without much of the ambiguity of Those Original Rules. In short, there is both meaning and madness in this setting, and each player will be rewarded for playing in character AND using player strategy. GMs will be rewarded if they study the background and extrapolate further developments - and plant many rumors.

PCs should learn of the rumors, especially, of the creator of this place. This can give them the advantage of guessing (it'll be no more than an educated guess) the meanings and motivations of the designer: the Mad Archmage. PCs should realize that madmen have reasons for what they do - even if the reasons make no sense to sane characters.

For instance, in a nod to That First Dungeon, the dungeon (and maybe the castle?) is still under construction. Signs of the construction crew's work - and maybe the crew themselves - may well hinder the players' characters.

Read the background, take plenty of light sources, and find places to sleep every night (or day) and your PCs may well finally meet that Mad Archmage. And if he makes any sense at all, I would like to hear about it.

This is a good solid adventure or series of adventures, which would easily get 5 stars. One star is deducted for not having the maps included withing the book. I have no problem with purchasing the maps separately (though I have, at other times, run games without using maps...let the PCs deal with the confusion and get lost) but it does annoy some young GMs. But they didn't live in 1975, when the gaming worlds in which we played were more dangerous and, frequently, unknown to even the gamesmaster.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Castle of the Mad Archmage Adventure Book
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
In regards to the maps, they were originally included in the back of the book, but in playtesting, it was found that having to flip back and forth between the maps and the text just didn\'t work, on a practical level.
Darkshade Chronicles: A Day in Baru-Kesh
Publisher: Darkshade Publishing
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/23/2015 17:07:10

Way back in May 2015 ("Before you were born! Remember, kids?) I posted a really short review of Jerry Teleha's Darkshade Chronicles: a Day in Baru-Kesh. Here's what that little review looked like:

"One of the more entertaining solo adventures I've played, which then turns around and (in the second part of the book) presents the same adventure as a gamesmaster module! You AND your players will be able to enjoy this new city, and you'll find and create portions and adventures that Jerry hadn't imagined!

"You'll love the illustrations too, and they're handy for the GM who runs this for his gamers!

"One of the best bargains to be found on Amazon!"

That was then. This is now. How does DC:DB-K look now that Deluxe Tunnels and Trolls has come out?

Better than ever, and isn't that cool?

COOL that it's completely compatible with Deluxe Tunnels and Trolls (Hereafter and forever referred to as "dTnT.") and at least 95% compatible with even the oldest edition of Tunnels and Trolls. (Forever and hereafter referred to as "TnT.")

COOL is that the solo offers opportunity to practice any skill, trait, etc that you might think of. Most likely that you'll fail if you think the world revolves around your character ("I immediately jump forward and lop off the head of Odin with my penknife.") but you can certainly attempt anything - and there's almost always a reaction or consequence programmed right into the adventure.

COOL is that the solo also allows and encourages (and this is a HUGE strength) you to make gamesmaster calls and choices as well as character choices.

and VERY COOL is that it works even better as a regular GM sourcebook/city for your players. I've run this nicely, and I can tell you that once you have Other People running characters, your options and scope is multiplied by a factor of (some algebraic symbol which references the combination of all players' imagination and paranoia) - the adventure will run several sessions, becoming a campaign city if you but let it.

This is a ridiculously low price and a deceptively small page count for what is weeks and weeks of game play.

(Originally from http://grandparpg.blogspot.com/)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Darkshade Chronicles: A Day in Baru-Kesh
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Spiritual Warfare the RPG 4th Edition
Publisher: Golgotha Games
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/26/2014 23:43:48

Considerably stronger, better than the previous editions. Folks involved in its creation are still rather anti-Catholic and anti-Latter-day Saints, but their design still works, and it's not hard to adapt.

The one thing that it seems everyone else hates and I love is the magic system, which requires scripture quoting. Ideally, the GM could and should require the quotes be contextual and give a much greater success rate (perhaps critical successes) if quoted from memory alone.

It's a system and background that begs for tweaks. The creators might disagree with me, but I'd recommend buying this and tinkering madly with it. Especially the western campaign setting!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spiritual Warfare the RPG 4th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Spiritual Warfare the RPG
Publisher: Golgotha Games
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/26/2014 23:35:11

Pretty well designed, with realistic magic. Probably would have rated it higher -- but for the fact that the second edition is much better. Usually, the only reviewers who trash it, speak of their hate for Christ.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Spiritual Warfare the RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Zyrian Atrocities
Publisher: Khaghbboommm
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/04/2014 11:45:59

In funnier news, I have now played Zyrian Atrocities three times in seven minutes and can safely say I have never laughed so much nor had so much fun in any solo adventure. What a wonderful way to start the day! Political offense guaranteed, no matter what your beliefs! Kudos and Trollish Laughter Points to Mark Thornton writer and StanLee/Ditko cartoonist. This is not your father's TnT.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Zyrian Atrocities
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Sanctuary of the Sorcerer -T&T Edition
Publisher: Rarr! I'm A Monster Publishing
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/25/2014 02:24:21

Loved it when it was QADD. Now it's even better (and faster!) as a TnT adventure.

Remind me to tell you how half the party killed itself before ever reaching the Sanctuary!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sanctuary of the Sorcerer -T&T Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ghosts of Dragonspear Castle (D&D Next)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/15/2013 21:54:40

(This is where I should have posted my review. To TPTB, please feel free to delete my review in the Discussion thread. Yes, Grandpa is an idiot.)

One of the things which bugged me when Advanced D&D took over from Original D&D, is that suddenly there was this concern about "balance." None of the new players wanted to play in a game where they didn't have advantages over the NPCs (or as the new guys called all NPCs, "monsters"). This alone made the game less of role-playing and living a character IN the story as well as CREATING the story with the GM and other players.

Conan stories were much more thrilling when he was hopelessly outclassed and/or outnumbered, and fought (or cheated or lucked) his way through anyway. Those were the types of characters our groups played - and you could almost see the wood chips from all the pulp.

So the concerns that this adventure was not "balanced" and that the odds were stacked against the PCs? That made me buy it.

And it is deliciously, horribly, unbalanced. We used to call this "danger" and our PCs lived for danger.

....except for that one cowardly human/deep one hybrid in my wife's campaign....

This series plays and reads like an old-fashioned serial, complete with impossible situations that would make my parents HAVE to pay another dime to see the next chapter "Next week, in this theater!"

Me? I got to watch those serials (one chapter a day) on television. From 1976 onward, I got to roleplay them.

Kudos, Mr &/or Ms "et al" -- this is a thinking man's adventure!

*jeep! & God Bless! ---Grandpa Tzhett



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ghosts of Dragonspear Castle (D&D Next)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Saving Fang
Publisher: Flying Buffalo
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/16/2013 20:50:04

Ken St Andre has never made a secret of his type of reading, and it shows: Exciting things happen in his adventures, and it's no insult to say they are as plot driven as the stories of Gardner Fox, Edgar Rice Burroughs, or Robert E. Howard.

This solo can be played as pure action, if you wish -- but there are moments when doing the unlikely or thinking like a crazy man might accomplish something equally crazy. This adds a bit more intrigue, and there are real surprises hidden in this solo.

Ken wrote this to be compatible or based on first edition Tunnels & Trolls, but it's as compatible with the latest edition as with any other.

Simon Tranter's art (especially the cover!) sets the mood eloquently! I might quibble about the supporting (?) character of Cherry, who really should have enough sense to wear at LEAST chainmail for protection, but that would be my only quibble. (Or I might have given Cherry the line from Bus Stop that Marilyn Monroe made famous: "It's not Cherry - it's Sha-REE!")

All in all, an exciting and enjoyable romp, wherein we may (or may not) meet and successfully rescue Fang, whom we haven't seen since 5th edition Tunnels & Trolls. He seems to have just as bad luck as he did in 1976!

(abridged only slightly from http://grandparpg.blogspot.com/2013/10/fang-returns-unless-you-dont-save-him.html )



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Saving Fang
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Freefall The Role-Playing Game
Publisher: Friz Games
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2013 23:00:36

Now THIS is more like it!

For some reason, DTRpgNow wouldn't permit this to be downloaded previously. But now - ah, now I can experience the joy and the chaos that is Sam Starfall and the fight for order and liberty that is Florence Ambrose. Well, yes, I could experience these things in the comic strip, samples of which you'll find right in this game. But to CREATE such chaos? To save the world from planetary explosions? Oh, there's nothing like hands-on!

If you're looking for many, many crunchy rules and have no sense of humor, you're out of your depth here. There are enough rules to play and to let the gamesmaster make the players crazy, and then Mr Frisbee gets out of the way so we can play.

Let me repeat this, for it should be the first law of rolegame design: GET OUT OF OUR WAY AND LET US PLAY!

Combat, skill success/failure, etc - will seem a bit familiar to players of Hero Kids and Fudge. Or something else. The idea is to show us how to simulate lots of technical gizmos and to blow things up. And pie fights. We need to know how to run pie fights.

Did I mention that Sam is a squid-like alien in a body containment suit, to make him look sort of humanoid? Imagine stuffing Cthulhu in a small environment suit. Then have him read one of his books and go insane. Sam's species (of which he is the only example, because the humans went mad when they saw his world and cut off any flights to that area ever) are scavengers. Translate that to a newly-formed almost-hospitable planet with hundreds of humans and millions of robots, and the Flim-Flam Man is running loose, grabbing whatever he can.

Florence is a wolf. No, really. Bio-doubletalked into being a humanoid wolf, with the brains of a technical genius, the conscience of Jiminy Cricket, and the instincts of a wolf. Who is dating her veterinarian.

Sure, you could play one of these characters (you poor soul!) but you could also play robots of all types, the mayor, a baker, or any number of other types and shapes. And every one of them, except for Florence and usually Helix (Sam's robot, he thinks) want to kill Sam. This includes Sam's ship.

Pull two bucks out of your wallet now and send them to Mark and Matt now. You know you want to. But hold onto your wallet. Sam is still running loose.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Freefall The Role-Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 86 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG