RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Stay Alive!: Lite Edition
Publisher: Darkshade Publishing
by Dan P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2014 20:48:33
I like it. Simple easy rules to update 7.5 T&T to a more modern world. Less of a head ache then Mercenaries Spies and Private Eyes was (if anyone remembers that game). Every thing here seems to work. Includes a Guts ability that works kind of like Sanity used in other systems. Guts also replaces Wizardry, since the focus here is not on powerful magic. You can keep Wizardry in if you want, but if there are spells to be used, I think they should be based on Strength to show that magic is more taxing in a modern world.

The author promises future world books, but this book seems most geared towards survival horror type of play (I already have some ideas brewing). The art is sparse, but then it is a "lite edition", but there is some art work that breaks up the words. My favorite is the design of the character sheet. It also features a nice Jeff Freels cover and additional interior artwork of his.

I recommend this for those wanting to update T&T to modern times, but not taking the game into outer space. Besides that, the price is right.

I hope this rules variation gets a lot more support.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stay Alive!: Lite Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Damned Are The Living
Publisher: Friz Games
by Dan P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/22/2013 11:41:30
Another great game using the FUGLI game system. The first three chapters concern character creation and game play. This pretty much repeats the FUGLI system which I find nice since newcomers won't need to purchase these rules separately. Chapter 4 covers the world of Damned Are The Living. The author covers such things as different zombie types, background info concerning the plague and provides a sample scenario among other things. Though its only 80+ pages long, the game feels very complete.

Though the zombie genre has been covered by other game systems, I think the FUGLI system presents it in a fast and easy to play format, yet still provides enough crunch for us old gaming grognards.

I must say, FRIZ GAMES is fast becoming one of my favorite independent game publishers/creators.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Damned Are The Living
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Against the Dead character sheet
Publisher: Vorpal Press
by Dan P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/19/2013 20:30:58
A great d20 sheet. Wish more were like this. Everything you need is on one sheet and on one side.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Against the Dead character sheet
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

1st Ed Advanced Character Sheet
Publisher: Gold Piece Publications
by Dan P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/09/2013 19:41:06
Didn't really care for this. Ommited a few things that I felt were important.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
1st Ed Advanced Character Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

BareBones Fantasy Role Playing Game
Publisher: DwD Studios
by Dan P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/14/2012 20:38:25
A great little game in a small package. This is the way AD&D 1e should have been done in the first place. For those that can remember, this game uses game mechanics similar in many ways to the old TSR game "Star Frontiers. I can't recomend this game enough. A lot of potential here. Hope to see more support for this great game.

LIkes: The elimination of classes.

Dislikes: Would have beennice to see a better monster section, though it does have everything needed.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BareBones Fantasy Role Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Survivors of the Fire
Publisher: Friz Games
by Dan P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/23/2012 17:58:10
Nice concept without the over the top gonzo mutations. In fact there are no mutations (A big +). The d6 system is easy to use, and it actually makes for some exciting highway battles for those that enjoy the "Mad Max" type of game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Survivors of the Fire
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Aftermath! Survival Guide
Publisher: Fantasy Games Unlimited
by Dan P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/08/2012 04:50:00
First of all let me say that this pdf is of outstanding quality. Easy to read and with both photos and illustrations. That being said, it wasn't quite what I expected. Though things such as zombies and alien invasions are covered, the book, for the most part, is an actual quide explaining how to prepare and survive through various types of real world disasters. The pdf contains 100+ pages but the only actual game information is found in the appendices. And even with that not much new material has been added.

Not a bad product, just not what I expected. Thats the reason I'm only giving this a score of 3 stars.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Aftermath! Survival Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Gruntz 15mm SCI-FI
Publisher: Rottenlead Publishing
by Dan P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/08/2012 15:57:21
Just reading the rules I know I will love this game. It has enough information for those that like pre-made army lists, but is generic enough to design ones own armys. Though it is written to a sci-fi or near future setting, it can be easily adapted to any genere where firearms are used. Game play is simple, though the game can be made more complex with the addition of more units and vehicles. As an added bonus the rules provide all the information to create scenarios based on B-Movies. If you want a Bug hunt, its there. You want zombies? The rules provide. You can even recreate such classics as an army vs. Giant monster scenarios. I also play games from Two Hour Wargames, but I think this game will become my goto rules for military action.

I must mention though that the rules did have a number of typos, but that is often normal and its still not as bad as other games I've read. The rules themselves seem to be put together rather nicely. Full color graphics throughout with plenty of diagrams to explain combat and movement. There is also a lot of support for the game. There is a blog and a yahoo group devoted to the game. Both offer numerous playing aids and army lists. There is also a unit building program in the works. The game is also support by a number of 15mm miniature companies both in the UK and the USA.

If your looking for quality 15mm scifi game rules and ease of play, you can't do much better then Gruntz 15mm.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gruntz 15mm SCI-FI
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Flying Lead
Publisher: Ganesha Games
by Dan P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/08/2012 15:43:49
Simple rules for a fun game. Adds a little more complexity to the SoSH rules but not too much. Like the added vehicle rules. I see a lot of potential for this game. Even though designing ones own scenarios is fairly simple I can't wait to see what else they have in store for these rules.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Flying Lead
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

New World Disorder: Zombie Apocalypse! PDF
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by Dan P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/08/2012 15:41:12
Nice little add on. Wish there was more support for NWD.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
New World Disorder: Zombie Apocalypse! PDF
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Gangsters!
Publisher: Two Hour Wargames
by Dan P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/01/2012 17:11:49
Nice introduction scenario for the Chain Reaction rules. Requires the Chain Reaction 3.0 rules which are free from this site. Also introduces simple vehicle rules.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gangsters!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Day of The Scourge
Publisher: Rebel Minis
by Dan P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/01/2012 17:09:19
Great Little scenario. Runs well with the basic Chain Reaction 3.0 rules from THW. 5150 is not needed.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Day of The Scourge
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mutants and Death Ray Guns
Publisher: Ganesha Games
by Dan P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/29/2012 19:56:42
First off I'd like to say that this is a fun, fast playing game. Fans of TSR's Gamma World should enjoy this. That being said, I do have a few dislikes about it.
1. No point system. Not everyone likes them, but I lke having a point system allowing me to build unique armies. Though a point cost table can be found on Ganesha's yahoo group.
2. No vehicle rules. Though there is mention of a future expansion adding these rules.
3. Using sticks for measurments. Not a big problem. I still enjhoy using a ruler and the rules do provide the actual mesurements in millimeters.

Though I rated this only at three stars, it is still worth the price and makes for some fast, exciting games.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants and Death Ray Guns
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Red Ops 5
Publisher: Rebel Minis
by Dan P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/06/2012 14:15:40
The game is fun and fast playing. It is based on an older version of the Chain Reaction Rules from Two Hour Wargaming, but that dosn't distract from the play. Plus those rules can be found for free here at Drivethrurpg. Some of the rules seem disjointed, and not fully explained, but with the CR 3.0 rules, this shouldn't be a problem.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Red Ops 5
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

BEAN! The D2 RPG Second Edition
Publisher: Fabled Worlds
by Dan P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/11/2011 15:20:04
Wow. Great game. I see now what all the hype was about. Very simple but complete system useing a dice (bean?) pool. Who'd a thought d2 could be so interesting. The game presumes a Bean World were the fantasy tkes place among a world populated by sentient bean people, but it dosen't have to be. This game system can easily be made to fit any genre. The artwork is clever and the cover is great. The game is so simple to learn that ths game makes a great gateway to gaming for younger players. Whats realy nice is that its getting constant support. SOmething you don't usually fine in small, independent rpgs.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BEAN! The D2 RPG Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 23 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG