RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Generic Floorplans - Starship
Publisher: Forever People
by Dale M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/13/2014 12:45:34
Image itself: This floor plan is nice and worthy of 4 stars. The level of detail is high. I'm not excited about the font used for the "Airlock," "Caution," and "Restricted" labels but it is good enough and I won't hold it against the overall product. I'm knocking off a star because the interior layout is a little goofy and kinda maze-like. There's lots of space wasted on hallways. In general, ships should have a simple design, the simpler the better. Interesting note: man there are alot of bathrooms.

License: While the license itself is not the simplest I've seen, it is workable enough that I won't say anything negative against it.

Overall: This piece of artwork would be great for a future publication if it were not for a single detail: I don't think I can find an exterior ship image that will work with this floor plan. I'm not sure I can find one that I can say is "close enough." The overall shape can best be described as a shoe box. While not bad, there is much too it that is going to be difficult to work with. For example, 2-1/2 sides of the bottom deck exterior is covered with escape pods (9 in total) that only hold 2 people. Escape pods are good and all, but if there were 2 pods that held 10 people, and/or if they were built to be part of the ship's outer hull instead of bolted on, that would be easier to find an exterior ship image that worked with it. The two weapons mounts are in odd locations. Not bad, just peculiar and will, again, make it difficult to find an exterior image for the ship. So overall, I'm giving it 3 stars. I'd bump it up to 4 without a second thought if the artist sold an image of what the ship's exterior. Heck, I'd probably ignore the nitpicking at the beginning of this review and bump this up to 5 stars if the artist included an image of the ship's exterior.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Generic Floorplans - Starship
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Hi, thanks for taking the time to write a review and feedback Interesting (and fair) comment about the exterior image. As soon as current projects are complete I will endeavour to update this with a picture for publishers to use. Toilets: one per bunk, but I figured you can\'t just wander into someone\'s bunk if you\'re a visitor, so some WCs for guests too. Probably too many though and noted for the next floorplan ;-) The labyrinth style is probably influenced more by things like Star Trek than more straight forward designs (Serenity, for example) and I personally felt the complicated layout allows for lots of possibilities and scenarios where a simpler design might only come in handy as a basic centrepiece. I do have a product showing a ship with a simpler layout (http://rpg.drivethrustuff.com/product/98762/Generic-Floorplans--Steampunk-Battle-Cruiser) but the feel of that one is more steampunk and may not fit the bill. Please do watch this space as I have more of these planned and feedback really does help me to design the next batch so they deliver what publishers and gamers need. Thanks again.
Soldiers of deep space
Publisher: Black Hand Source
by Dale M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/16/2014 13:13:03
Exceptional Art. What you see in the preview is exactly what you get + a second of the corpse floating in space. All are large images in high res. Couldn't ask for more.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Soldiers of deep space
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Template Pack #1 Graveyard
Publisher: Lord Zsezse Works
by Dale M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/24/2013 07:33:26
BEAUTIFUL COVERS AND INTERIORS!!! And I mean BEAUTIFUL! Not only that, they come nativly in both A4 and 8-1/2" x 11". This includes 4 covers and 4 interiors. You won't be sorry you bought this.

Best of all, commercial license is quality. Worth all 5 of its stars.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Template Pack #1 Graveyard
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Gauntlet
Publisher: Alderac Entertainment Group
by Dale M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/07/2012 13:26:48
The adventure is good and it would be worth a 4 Star rating. However, the presentation is IMPOSSIBLE. It is a staples removed scanned in product the size of a piece of paper folded in half from top to bottom. That would be fine except they did not arrange the pages into a readable fashion. So page 1 is on the right side while page 16 is on the same sheet. Page 2, switching sides from page 1, is on the left and page 15 is on the right. So to read this, you have to start at the front, read half pages to the end and then go BACKWARDS to read the second half of the adventure. Utter madness.

The adventure is pretty decent and is the only thing that saved this adventure from a 1 star rating. It really isn't even worth the 80 cents it is currently priced at. My apologizes to the authors who put time into this.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Gauntlet
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Twisted Terror
Publisher: MDA art
by Dale M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/19/2012 11:32:54
Image is good. It includes tif, jpg and background-less png files and the $3 price tag is worth it. The licenses needs an editor, but it is a quality license nonetheless. I look forward to what this artist produces in the future.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Twisted Terror
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Forgotten Foes Clip Art 9
Publisher: Headless Hydra Games
by Dale M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/11/2012 10:20:09
The artwork is ok greyscale artwork. This pack is one of my least favorite of the Forgotten Foes line. However, the License is quality and you get ALOT of artwork for the price. So I would call it worth it.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Forgotten Foes Clip Art 9
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Forgotten Foes Clip Art 1
Publisher: Headless Hydra Games
by Dale M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/11/2012 10:17:11
The artwork is great B/W inked images with greyscale shading. The License is quality. You get ALOT of artwork for the price. A definite buy, in my opinion.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forgotten Foes Clip Art 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Forgotten Foes Clip Art 8
Publisher: Headless Hydra Games
by Dale M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/11/2012 10:15:16
The artwork is good (not great) B/W pencil sketched artwork. If you hoping to colorize it, that is not really going to be possible (or easily doable) with this. The License is quality. You get ALOT of artwork for the price. It is worth it.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Forgotten Foes Clip Art 8
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Cave Keeper 01
Publisher: Fishwife Games
by Dale M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/27/2012 21:39:54
This is a solid map of a cave. The license is very publisher friendly and is right on the page description. The only thing keeping it from being 5 stars is the resolution. 300dpi, _800 pixels wide translates to about 2-1/2" inches. Dropping it to 150dpi makes it 5". Still usable, but not print quality. If this same map was 6-8" wide at 300dpi. It would be 5 stars easily.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cave Keeper 01
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Dale, Thank you for the very insightful comments. I can definitely make these maps larger... which as a boon will allow greater sized caves to explore. I'll definitely be keeping this in mind when creating Cave Keeper 02. Thanks again, Dave Woodrum Fishwife Games
Character Gallery II: Elves 1
Publisher: Vonschlick Productions
by Dale M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/15/2012 23:48:20
The art is good but not great. Plus the images are in a PDF instead of a TIFF or jpg format. I'd give it 3 stars, but the low price gives it an extra star.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Character Gallery II: Elves 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Arcane Freebie 2
Publisher: V Shane
by Dale M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/04/2011 21:22:52
Included in this set is 4 pieces. 2 are b/w of female humanoids (human or elf), one a caster (cover image) one a masked archer. Also there are 2 images of landscape. Well done and publisher grade dpi. Best part is that it is free. If you are not familiar with V Shane's artwork. you can't go wrong with downloading this set.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arcane Freebie 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG