RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 
     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!

 What's New?
Mythic Mastery - Pharaonic Heritage
Mythic Mastery - Pharaonic Heritage
$1.49









Back
The Mutant Epoch
 
$12.99
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
9 9
1 0
0 0
1 1
1 0
The Mutant Epoch
Click to view
The Mutant Epoch
Publisher: Outland Arts
by Dylan M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/09/2013 21:14:37
The scans were great the download quick and easy and the game is fun an enjoyable. Gives you enough rules to play in their world or one of your own and is very adaptable to any number of post apocalyptic worlds.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mutant Epoch
Publisher: Outland Arts
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/12/2012 18:56:50
WHAT WORKS: Random tables for EVERYTHING just shy of an adventure generator (which seems like an odd oversight, given the amount of random rolling). Mutations for all the monsters, flexibility in the setting, tons of support.

WHAT DOESN’T WORK: If you hate random rolls and feel like you need a lot of game balance, I’m not sure this game is for you. The setting, as presented in the Hub rules, is nothing you haven’t seen before.

CONCLUSION: My advice? Roll up a bunch of characters and have fun. Don’t worry about game balance, don’t worry about stuff making sense…for pure gonzo PostApoc fun, Mutant Epoch is one of the better options I’ve read. It doesn’t have the heavy metaplot/back story of Reclamation or Hell on Earth, but it has a lot of cool, old school stylings without being tied to a D&D base. If you know what you wanna do with a PostApoc game, but not HOW you want to do it, get this and go nuts.

For my full review, please visit http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2012/08/tommys-take-o-
n-mutant-epoch.html

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mutant Epoch
Publisher: Outland Arts
by [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/23/2012 07:50:32
One of my first rpg's was Gamma World by TSR back in the early 80's. I thought to myself "Why hasn't anyone tried to recreate this old school experience?" A good friend of mine told me about Mutant Epoch and I decided to check it out. I can safely say without a doubt this product does not disappoint as it will allow you to play as pretty much anything in a wasted land. I have been reading the book for around 40 minutes (and just downloaded it around a hour ago) and cannot put it down. If you want to play a game that's reminiscent of the old school style of gaming you'd be a hard pressed to find a product better than Mutant Epoch.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mutant Epoch
Publisher: Outland Arts
by william w. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/05/2012 13:36:06
A truly top notch product. One of the most heavily illustrated RPG Products in my collection. As a long time P.A. Gamer this is what I have been looking for! Play Mutants! Cyborgs, Transhumans, Beastial Humans, Ghost Mutants, Clones...whew and more! If your at all interested in P.A. RPG's you gotta check this product out. Even if you have another system of choice this product is certain to inspire your Campaigns to greater heights!!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mutant Epoch
Publisher: Outland Arts
by David B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/06/2012 01:39:46
This is probably the most complete simple to use post-apocalyptic mutant RPG currently on the market. The mutations, powers, and cyborg implants were fun to read and each one useful in their own way. I actually like the random character generation because it will challenge players with mutations or character backgrounds they probably wouldn't choose otherwise. I imagine most would just try to create the biggest and the baddest without giving anything else much thought. I never knew their could be so many different types of mutants. I think that the most subtle mutants can be just as deadly as the horrible monsters. The rules-system is a fluid D100 percentile system which is one of my personal favorite dice mechanics. It does use a chart for hazard checks and I think it would be a good idea for players to each have a copy of the chart themselves to speed the process up. Overall I like it though. The writing and art are all excellent and this has given me so many ideas. I also really enjoyed reading the creatures section. I can tell that Mr. William McAusland had a lot of making this game and it will be a lot of fun to play as well. If you like sci-fi I highly recommend this game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mutant Epoch
Publisher: Outland Arts
by Ronald W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/21/2011 16:09:53
This game has a real "old school" feel to it. The charts, tables and illustrations bring back good memories. The simple percentile based action resolution system keeps the action flowing. This will be my post apoc. game of choice.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mutant Epoch
Publisher: Outland Arts
by Marius B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/18/2011 13:36:44
Non-voluntary sex labour plays a much, much bigger role in this post-apocalypse than I would have expected.

The system is very nicely old-school in flavour. However, one thing is much too old-school for my liking: Armour makes it harder to hit you rather than reducing damage. There's no excuse for this in any game that isn't D&D or a direct D&D derivative. For creatures, it's not clear how much of their Defense score is from natural armour and how much is from actually being good at not being hit so it can't be easily remedied by the end user. This frankly needs to be fixed in order for the combat system to be usable and, let's face it, this is the kind of game where you expect to use the combat system a lot.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Mutant Epoch
Publisher: Outland Arts
by Giulio I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/15/2011 08:49:34
The TME Hub Rules are fast, easy to read and pretty straightforward to learn. The game system's flexibility make this product easily adaptable for any PA campaign/setting.

This book is complete in terms of game material. Here you'll find all it is necessary to create archetypes with equipment, implants, mutations and skills; rules to cover and handle the most of game situations, hazards and the bestiary.

The characteristic I like the most from TME is the overall mood, atmosphere and Old School feelings wich transpire forceful from the book. The TME World is an harsh, violent and hard-hedged one, and the descriptives parts will pull you deeper and deeper into this mercyless setting.

For a good price you get a thick book filled with game material and (tons of, evocative) old-school arts wich enriches the product further. In addition, purchashing this product let the buyer access to a TME web site section with exclusive free contents, which makes an invaluable further support for the game.

TME- Hub Rulebook is a fresh wind gust in the PA tradition, joining innovation in game design terms and preserving play immediacy on the game table.

Worth every penny and looking forward for future TME products, one of the 2011's products to look for!


Two thumbs up!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mutant Epoch
Publisher: Outland Arts
by Chris M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/01/2011 13:41:58
An excellent RPG that perfectly captures the feel and energy of old school gaming (but with a brand new rule system) Fun, Furious and Fantastical, this game was a joy to read.

The best thing for me about the game is the fluff/setting and the Artwork. I loved Will McAuslands work in the Dungeon Crawl Classics line of moduals from Goodman Games. And as this book is also written by Will we get a ton of his art work. The book is litterally overflowing with his evocative post apoc fantasy illustrations

I can't say enough good things about the presentation of this product. If you are at all a fan of Post-Apocalypse gamming or even Post-Apoc fiction, then treat yourself to this book. All in alll an absolutly fantastic product. I bought the PDF from DriveThru and the Dead Tree version from Lulu (which is rare that I buy both versions of any RPG)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mutant Epoch
Publisher: Outland Arts
by Erathoniel W. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 04/20/2011 21:47:23
The Mutant Epoch at first was daunting and over-detailed, but as I read through the entire thing, I found it to be actually much less confusing than I first believed.

First, let's go over what the Mutant Epoch isn't. It's not a kid's game, with light adult content scattered throughout and heavy adult themes. It's not something you can just take bits and pieces of and understand (unless you're better than me, which is entirely possible, but also not guaranteed).

Now, let's go over what it is. It's a post-apocalyptic sci-fi romp through wilderness and ruins, with lots of action and suspense.

It's got a good "Society of Excavators" thingie, where you can send in a code from the book and get access to a club. It's really actually quite cool, with loads of stuff in it. Certainly in terms of raw content, TME's pretty over-burdened, so to speak.

Now, the last term of that last sentence seemed pretty negative, but actually TME manages to avoid bloating. Admittedly, I could have lived a long and happy life without knowing anything about post-apocalyptic STD's, but other than that and the fact that there's a lot of random obscure percentiles for stuff to happen (86% chance the battery is run down) there's not that much bloating.

The character creation is iffyish. It's roll based if you use the "newbie" method, though alternate systems are available, with the downside being that you can get characters you don't really wanna play pretty easily. I mean, sure you could just re-roll, and if you were big on the roleplaying it'd be a fun experience, but min-maxers will hate it with a vengeance, and mainstream gamers may just find it to keep them from playing the character they wanted to make.

The percentile systems used are pretty nice, and there's a lot of rolling but it's all pretty straightforward (if you read the whole thing, skipping passages or chapters can easily result in confusion), even if some more examples would be helpful.

All-in-all, if you need a post-apocalyptic game, The Mutant Epoch has a lot of content for much less than the competitors cost.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
 Cart
0 items
 Publisher Info
Outland Arts
Outland Arts
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews
Publisher Homepage
Other products (34)
 Gift Certificates
Get Your Favorite Gamers What They REALLY Want...
$10 Gift Certificate
Powered by DrivethruRPG