RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
 
$9.00
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
19 15
3 2
3 2
0 0
1 3
Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
Click to view
Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by Bartek E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/03/2016 23:11:14

One of my all-time favourite RPG books. I play Savage Worlds rather than LotFP, but I still often read this book because of its awesome flavour and excellent advice for running city campaigns. Vornheim is definitely the most compelling fantasy city I've ever seen in an RPG.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2015 00:38:45

In this book is a strange city. It's not like a standard city source book as it contains tables for generating much of the city on the fly. Only a few locations are actually mapped. It generally gives advice for running this city but the ideas are good enough that you might want to use similar ideas for other cities in your campaign. The locations and tables contain enough weird and intriguing stuff to entertain and puzzle your players for a good while. A very good book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by Ahimsa K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/05/2015 12:56:14

Probably few people will use or appreciate everything in this book (neither the library nor the zoo quest struck me as easy to run), but almost every GM will find lots of worth in here. Unquestionably belongs in the RPG sourcebook canon.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by ASH L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/01/2015 18:25:03

This book has a ton of good ideas, but the presentation of those ideas was not in a style that I enjoyed reading.
The artwork was also a let-down, it has a very raw 'punk' aesthetic that just didn't appeal to me.
It just wasn't to my taste. I felt like it was trying a bit too hard to be 'edgy' and 'adult'.


It is a pity that the writing and artwork let down the ideas propelling the work; with a little more effort this could have been something truly great.


Still, if you are a fan of random tables and like the particular style of art in the book then the ideas here make it worth the price of admission.
Any one of the pages in this book has enough ideas to become the seed of a memorable session, and it would have been nice to see those ideas expanded upon.


If you are a fan of the anarchic tongue-in-cheek style of books like 'HOL' or 'The Munchkin's Guide to Power Gaming' then you might like this book too, though a lot of the humor is darker.
If you are looking for a similar work but presented in a more readable and enjoyable way I'd suggest 'Your Whispering Homunculus' by Richard Pett (published by Open Design / Kobold Publishing).


In short: fantastic ideas, but the very unpolished raw style of the writing and art doesn't fit my personal tastes.


I didn't enjoy this book, but you might. This one is very much a matter of taste.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by David M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2015 11:57:45

I like this a lot and find that it's full of interesting ideas that I can use. I don't think $9 is expensive considering the amount of usable ideas in it. I liked "A Red and Pleasant Land" very much, so this author seems to be creating product that I enjoy. It'll be interesting to start creating various cities (or even just one!) using "Vornheim". It works for me, that's all I can say. I also think the artwork is cool.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by Sven F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/25/2015 02:39:52

Great resource! And I don't need to study the book before using it - as long as I've flicked through it before a session, I have plenty of tables and inspiration for any city adventure. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by Troy V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/20/2015 06:18:23

Okay, but I don't consider it worth $9. While it contained some good tables and encounter generator guides, it was haphazardly composed and the art was lackluster.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by Chris M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/09/2014 16:20:47

I bought this product for 2 reasons.


1) I've heard so many good things about Vornheim from a bevy of blogs I follow and whom opinions I respect, I figured it was about time I purchase the pdf. I'm glad I did as I was not disappointed by the content. The book is chock full of inspirational ideas and story nuggets perfect for any fantasy campaign.


2) I wanted to show my financial and moral support for "Zack Smith" who authored this work. To let him know he's not alone in the gaming community in his disdain towards the SJW's (Social Justice Warriors) and Cultural Marxist who constantly attack him and seek to control discourse in the on-line RPG community. Keep on fighting the good fight Zak.


First they came for the Simulationist Gamers, and I did not speak out—
Because I was not a Simulationist Gamer.
Then they came for the Tactical Combat Gamers, and I did not speak out—
Because I was not a Tactical Combat Gamer.
Then they came for the Old-School Gamers, and I did not speak out—
Because I was not a Old-School Gamer.
Then they came for me—and there was no one left to speak for me.


~ Gwarh



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by Anders N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/08/2014 03:37:14

It's rare to find a product this evocative; I've only done so a few times before. It combines inspiration and a touch of odd with soo much utility. It'll be one of your best friends at the table. It's sad that it's out of print right now, because I would really love a physical copy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/08/2014 03:07:27

If you search the words "city guide" on drivethrurpg.com you can find everything in this guide that is even remotely useful from other people who can write in a coherent style.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by Jeremy F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/07/2014 21:37:15

Vornheim is a fantastic toolkit for building a decadent fantasy urban sprawl campaign. This short book packs a mighty wallup!


You should not expect this to be Encyclopedia Vornheim. It instead provides a skeletal framework and palette on which you can layer, via the tools in the book, your version of Vornheim. Its a bit of a Frankenstein's monster, tethered to the wire table, storm brewing, waiting for the bolt of lightning to ignite the life within.


Having already had a physical copy of this book, I wanted a PDF copy as well. The physical book is amongst my most treasured RPG books. It is a reliable source for inspiration, not because it is a complete setting, but because it evokes a richness of setting that could never be fully explored.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by Eltup E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/07/2014 17:29:50

the only remotely useful parts are already free blogposts on the dude's website


I guess I'm not a table junky, and I find the content mostly unimaginative tween's first black metal style garbage. Tried using it in play but it's more cumbersome and less interesting than anything I made up on the spot, especially with the trite and juvenile assumed setting and terrible art.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by Noah S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/02/2013 00:07:05

A buddy of mine on G+ recommended Vornheim, solely for the clever rules about buying up objects and pricing things on the fly. Well, suffice it to say that there is a wealth of interesting and useful tidbits scattered liberally throughout this work. The setting is wonky and novel, with very little Tolkien and plenty of Hunter S. Thompson. I don't frequent Zak's pages, but I do get occasional updates on his particularly useful house rules, and almost all of them I incorporate into my game (MY DIRTY LITTLE HEART OF LIES SAYS THAT I MADE THESE THINGS UP AND I COULD HAVE THOUGHT THESE NICIES UP MYSEL) Ahem. The fact of the matter is, Zak doesn't think like you do, and you could never have thought these interesting things up. Snakes as spellbooks? Pssh. That's as cool and as novel as the backside of a pillow, with a Poppy Z. Brite book underneath, with interesting and suspicious stains on the special pages.


The "house generation" rules are great guidelines and a good skill to foment in your braincase, the random NPC and hook charts are delightful, and the art is nice, too. Hey, you could spend that 9 bucks on tasteful porn, but spend it on this instead and get your brain thinking in a different and more fun direction! Or whatever! I don't judge.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by Rob M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/17/2013 15:42:17

I purchased Vornheim after hearing about how great it is at helping GMs create a sprawling metropolis for their fantasy game. Little did I know that it would become the basis of my next campaign.


Zak S. has put together some of the most imaginative and interesting adventure hooks and tables I've ever seen. Everything in this book will cause a GM's mind to race with possibilities. I based four adventures on Vornheim and barely scratched the surface.


I highly recommend Vornheim as an essential sourcebook for any OSR gamemaster.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by todd l. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/03/2012 09:19:47

This is a very clever tool box for adding an aura of size and menace to an urban campaign. My players prefer Legend of Anglerre for their dungeon crawls. So, the systemless approach was much appreciated. The art is entertainingly different from the usual rpg style and gives a "Judge's Guild" feel to the book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 22 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG