RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Gladiator
Publisher: Barrel Rider Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/03/2013 16:33:54
The Gladiator is a professional show fighter. There are a lot neat tricks for this kind of fighter say over the regular fighter. You could of course do some of this with clever role-playing. Though the rules here are pretty nice and well thought out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gladiator
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dragon Slayer
Publisher: Barrel Rider Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/03/2013 16:33:37
This one I have avoided reviewing since I have my own Dragon Slayer. Well technically "mine" was written by my oldest son. The Dragon Slayer has a lot of nice features which actually make the class more useful than some "Single Purpose" classes. In fact it could be re-tweaked and be any sort of monster hunting class.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Slayer
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dark Elf
Publisher: Barrel Rider Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/03/2013 16:33:16
Another older one. The Dark Elf is exactly that, the Chaotic, underground dwelling, cousin of the the Light Elves. They have some innate thief like abilities and some magic. On paper they most resemble a thief/magic-user multi-classed character. All-in-all a pretty satisfying class.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Elf
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Burglar
Publisher: Barrel Rider Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/03/2013 16:32:55
This might one of the signature classes of BRG. The Burglar brings one of the most iconic figures of fantasy to Labyrinth Lord; the Halfling Burglar. Simply put the Burglar is a thief option for a halfling. Since Labyrinth Lord is Race-as-a-class then this is required. Otherwise this is a really fun class if you enjoy playing a halfling.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Burglar
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Barbarian
Publisher: Barrel Rider Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/03/2013 16:32:23
Another fairly self-obvious class. Your typical barbarian features are here; survival, calling a hoard, and savage strikes. No beserker like abilities though. I would have liked to seen more details on the Wilderness Survival skill. Does failure mean they don't find food for example. This is one of the earliest classes from BRG so I am sure an update would clear these up. Five pages, 1 for cover and 2 for the OGL.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Barbarian
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Bandit
Publisher: Barrel Rider Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/03/2013 16:31:39
This class is something of a cross between a fighter and a thief. Think along the lines of Robin Hood or a Highwayman. He has some thief skills, but some new ones like ambush and disguise. Honestly it would make a good compliment to the thief.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bandit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Archer
Publisher: Barrel Rider Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/03/2013 16:31:08
This is an older class compared with some of the others here. Five pages, 1 for cover, 2 for the OGL. The archer is exactly what is says. It is a bow and arrow focused fighter. This one doesn't have the utility for me as the other BRG classes, but my youngest son loved it. Still I think something like an extra attack per round before level 15 would have been nice.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Archer
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Acrobat
Publisher: Barrel Rider Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/03/2013 16:30:45
Six pages, 1 for the cover and 2 for OGL. This is more ore less an update of the Theif Acrobat class found in the Unearthed Arcana for 1st ed. This is a full class, not one that starts at 6th level. It is also redesigned with the LL/Basic rules in mind. The results are good. It feels different enough from the Thief (and Buglar and Bandit) to justify being it's own thing.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Acrobat
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

B4 The Lost City (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/01/2013 16:27:20
Another great Moldvay module. This one is so strange, but so much fun. I remember playing this one in 8th grade and honestly I had a blast. It wasn't though till many years later while running it for my own kids did I see it's Pulp fiction roots. Plenty of great influences can be seen in this from Robert E. Howard to Lovecraft to Clark Ashton Smith.

To me this one was always on the edge of that B/X divide. Sure it was a B series module, but it could have easily been one of the X series.
Unlike some adventures I played or ran in the 80s I went back to this one appreciated it more now then I did then.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B4 The Lost City (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

X2 Castle Amber (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/01/2013 16:20:57
This adventure had always been something of a Holy Grail for me. I was a huge fan of Tom Moldvay, I had heard this adventure took place in Glantri and it was full of horror elements. As time went on and I still never found a copy I began to hear more; that it was a crazy dungeon full of crazier NPCs. That it is was more of a thinking module and not a hack and slash one and finally it was heavily influenced by Clark Ashton Smith, whom I always felt was superior to Lovecraft in many respects.

I did finally get a copy, paid a lot for it and I also got a copy here.
The module lives up to the hype. It is not a particularly easy module to run and you better spend a lot of time with it. But for me at that time (the mid 90s when I finally got a copy) it became a great addition to my growing Ravenloft collection. It was not officially part of Ravenloft mind you, but so much of it feels the same that is would have been a crime not to bring them together.

This is one of the last of the truly classic modules.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
X2 Castle Amber (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/01/2013 14:36:45
This is my "go to" adventure anytime I want to start up a new group or game. It's a ritual for me, roll up characters and run them through the halls of the lost Castle of Quasqueton. I still have my copy that I bought all those years ago and it was also one of the first PDFs I purchased from WotC. I never really expanded on Roghan the Fearless or Zelligar the Unknown save that they were long dead and their Castle was now overrun with monsters.
It is one of those adventures I can run with zero prep time and each time I learn something new or remember something I forgot.
This module is simple, easy to use and can adapted to any campaign world and even any game.
It is a perfect module for the Basic game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

X1 The Isle of Dread (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/01/2013 14:23:23
Maybe second only to B2 and B1 in terms of numbers of players, but The Ilse of Dread lasts as one of the best Basic-era adventures out there. In today's frame of mind the adventure is equal parts Pirates of the Caribean, King Kong and Jurassic Park. It is a heady cauldron of tropes, ideas and just plain crazy fun. It was included in the original Expert set and it still had expanded maps and more creatures. I never understood why the creatures where not just in the main book, but it did make the module special.
What was so nice about X1 over B2 is you had the feel it was more integrated into the Expert rules; it felt like a logical extension.
I ran it again recently with 20+ years between the last time I had ran it and it felt like a very different adventure. There is a lot of untapped potential here. Enough for several adventures.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
X1 The Isle of Dread (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

B2 The Keep on the Borderlands (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/01/2013 13:49:04
I once read that more people have played through the Keep on the Borderlands more than any other adventure. Of that I am sure. I have run scores of new players through it myself including a new generation of gamers.

The module hardly needs an introduction and it really is almost immune to review. Who cares that the Caves of Chaos look like some sort of Monster Condo where all these different creatures live together until those meddling humans show up from the Keep.

Going to the Caves is rite of passage. It is the hallmark of a real honest to Pelor adventurer.
If you don't have it you can't really call yourself a D&D player.

Just remember, "Bree-Yark" means "I surrender" in goblin. Yell it out really loud.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B2 The Keep on the Borderlands (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

B3 Palace of the Silver Princess (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/01/2013 13:41:21
Another classic. B3 has had a storied history, but the module we all actually played has a special place in many gamer's hearts.
For starters it is a Basic module, and lot of material in it is aimed at new DMs working on their craft. While the programmed text of rooms 1 to 6 might look quaint by today's standards, there is a lot of good things here.
For starters the basic premise of the module is a fun one. An Evil artifact, an innocent princess, a dashing rogue on a white dragon. Lots of the cliches of fantasy gaming, but all are played earnestly and not a hint of irony is here.

The module itself is not without issues as mentioned. The map of the castle is enough to drive a sane mapper crazy and some of the NPCs (like the green elf "Protectors") are annoying. But all that fades when you discover the Eye of Arik and destroy it.
I recently re-ran this one for my kids using the D&D 3.5 edition rules. Worked great.
http://timbrannan.blogspot.com/2010/07/return-to-palace--
of-silver-princess.html

If you are new to the Basic D&D game (B/X flavor) then this is a great adventure to get.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
B3 Palace of the Silver Princess (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CM2 Death's Ride (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/01/2013 12:54:10
Death's Ride is one of a few adventures I have had the privilege to both play and to run. While overtly for the D&D Basic rules, Companion set, it can be run (and we did) under AD&D. Though some of the special features were lost I think.

The Barony of Two Lakes Vale gave us ample room to move about and try different things, but the it was the NPCs that captured my attentions the most. Ulslime, Wazor and Korbundar lived on in my games for many more years with both Ulsime and Korbundar even threatening my players in the 3rd Ed. game. One, and I am not sure if he was an NPC in the game or one my DM made up, went on to torture my characters for many more adventures after this.

The Death Portal was an interesting bit of necromantic trickery to get the players something to focus on and the new monsters were a lot of fun (the Death Leech nearly took out my characters back in the 80s.)

Calling it a "High level dungeon crawl" is fair, but it leaves out a lot of what made this particular adventure so much fun.
I still have my original copy of this and it holds up well.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CM2 Death's Ride (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 76 to 90 (of 685 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG