RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Narrow Results









Back
Abney Park's Airship Pirates
 
$24.99
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
3 6
6 4
0 0
0 0
0 0
Abney Park\'s Airship Pirates
Click to view
Abney Park's Airship Pirates
Publisher: Cakebread & Walton
by Amy N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/28/2014 21:01:44
With an interesting twist on the Steampunk genre, setting it in the far future after a slow apocalypse, Airship Pirates is a fun light weight system, good for those who enjoy telling grand stories. It's doubley fun if you're a fan of Abney Park, as the game's universe bases itself upon the lyrics from their songs.

I do find the combat system a little clunky at times, especially with the need to roll initiative each combat round, but if players and game master agree, this can easily be streamlined with a house rule to only roll once for a combat encounter... though this change can be particularly crippling, as winning initiative does also convey a dice bonus. The use of dice pools and exploding dice will make this sytem feel familiar to those who played a lot of White Wolf.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Abney Park's Airship Pirates
Publisher: Cakebread & Walton
by William W. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 02/16/2012 09:42:01
If the idea of playing a time-travelling/steampunk/airship pirate RPG set in the retro-future post-apocalyptic world of 2150 and based on the music and lyrics of a steampunk rock band from Seattle doesn't appeal to you by the time you've gotten this far into this sentence, then you probably shouldn't bother with the rest of this review.

Airship Pirates uses the Heresy Engine from Cubicle 7's Victoriana RPG. It's a simple dice pool system - skill checks consist of rolling a number of d6s equal to the character's appropriate Attribute + Skill combination, and counting the number of successes (1s and 6s - 6s "explode," or are rerolled and checked for additional successes.) "Black dice" (d6s of any other color) can be issued as penalty dice by the gamemaster, and rolled against the character's roll, with 1s and 6s canceling out the character's successes.

The Dramatic Systems section contains a great system for adjudicating dangerous situations, or "Perils," and the use of Fate points to increase the amount of successes, and "Scripting Dice" to alter the aspects of the story.

The Time Travel section is a great read, which advises against meddling with the flow of time, then proceeds to explain how it is done (since we all know it's going to happen anyway). There are tips for allowing the characters to meet themselves, change their own history (or someone else's), and dealing with minor and major screwups in the timeline.

Airship Pirates clocks in at just over 300 pages, with extensive sections on the history and culture of the ruined future, a GM advice section, a short bestiary, an introductory adventure, character sheet, pirate airship deck plan, and two maps. The entire full-color book is lavishly illustrated - the art is evocative and beautiful. I particularly enjoy the "photographs" of airships. The PDF is extensively bookmarked and is completely searchable.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Abney Park's Airship Pirates
Publisher: Cakebread & Walton
by Tracy M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/13/2012 07:05:53
It's fun, easy to read, and overall seems like a solid system.

My only complaint, and not worth docking on the rating, is that the PDF has a "textured" background, which prevented me from being able to read it on my black and white e-reader. If the background were clear, it would have been a little easier to read. Not a big deal, though.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Abney Park's Airship Pirates
Publisher: Cakebread & Walton
by Donovan R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/21/2011 12:43:58
Well laid out. Appears to be a solid system and a great idea. Going to be running a campaign for this soon.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Abney Park's Airship Pirates
Publisher: Cakebread & Walton
by Peter H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/14/2011 18:27:13
An excellent product that builds on the simple but creative Victoriana system. It has a wealth of source and atmosphere material and presents a well-rounded world that really engages gamers. Thoroughly worth while!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Abney Park's Airship Pirates
Publisher: Cakebread & Walton
by todd l. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/10/2011 19:46:03
The Basics: Excellent construction, very good interior art, quick and simple system gets you started right away without a lot of pain.
The Setting: Well thought out and interesting. The setting is clearly designed to leave room for a series of supplements/chapbooks. Some essential questions are left unanswered, such as "What really happens to someone who is thrown into a Change Cage?" Or, what happened to drop a functioning time machine into a steampunk band's naughty , naughty little hands?
Overall: This game is an enjoyable read and should be fun to play. (I haven't yet, but will soon.) There is a very interesting set of creation tables for airships and sky cities that looks to be exactly what I was personally looking for in this system. The section on how to get into trouble with a time machine was well thought out and clever, though it is optional if your table isn't into the time travel aspects of the game.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Abney Park's Airship Pirates
Publisher: Cakebread & Walton
by William R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/09/2011 15:15:36
This is a fantastic setting of a future-past steampunk world. It allows time travel although a seperate book will be produced to handle it thouroughly. By itself, however, it is a journey into a world of villians,heroes and pirates--who may be either or both!

It uses what I call the bucket'o dice gaming system where you are rolling multiple dice looking for successes. If also has a method for altering outcomes, sometimes dramatically! This is best used by game groups who are very mature and ready to accept outcomes that are hard to predict. Game Masters be warned - thinking on your feet will be an absolute must if you use all the aspects of the game!

It has an interesting mass combat system where entire crews are treated as a single NPC with the quality of the crew impacting the results. Used with the system it looks very workable. As with any game system, you should probably try a few games, preferably with someone who has grasped the intracacies, and then decide what you can live with.

It rounds out with some creatures and villians, explaining what is going on. The adventure is reasonable with a decent amount of dering do and political manuevering before the big clash. As these are supposed to be novice characters many of the options may need to be explained to the players if they are unfamiliar with expectations.

Overall a great setting with a good foundation but rules that will need a good read through and testing to ensure they work for your group. Of coures the music that it is based off of would be a plus in any steampunk setting!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Abney Park's Airship Pirates
Publisher: Cakebread & Walton
by Sam H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/07/2011 15:19:25
Dirigibles. Cannons. Rum _and_ gin. Steam guitars. Clockwork police and prostitutes. Chrononautilii. Awesome, full-color artwork. Gutter punks and hob-nobbing elite. Flying cities and roaming tribes. Abney Park.
As would be expected of Captain Robert and crew, there is an amazing story, stringing together the works of Abney Park into an amazing game.
The rules are simple enough to encourage role playing rather than roll playing, even when involved in mass combat between ships.
The time travel rules are excellent, and cover many of the typical paradoxes (often by stating that those time traveling are protected from said paradoxes as they create a new timeline). Even more fun is the fact that, in the long run, players are encouraged to mess with the timeline, to see how the gamemaster will determine things have changed.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Abney Park's Airship Pirates
Publisher: Cakebread & Walton
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 09/26/2011 07:13:02
Originally posted at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2011/09/26/tabletop-review-abney-p-
arks-airship-pirates/

With a crew of drunken pilots,
We’re the only airship pirates,
We’re full of hot air and we’re starting to rise,
We’re the terror of the skies but a danger to ourselves.
-Abney Park “Airship Pirate”

I used to start all of my ‘A Thumb to the Eye’ columns and some of my video game reviews with song lyrics. Music is a great way to set a mood and the best lyrics read almost as musically as they sound when sung. This is a habit I picked up from the White Wolf World of Darkness books, particularly Mage: the Ascension. Looking back at my old writings, this habit seems a bit silly, a folly my youth and inexperience allowed me to make. In the case of Abney Park’s Airship Pirates, I can think of no better way for the proceeding to be commenced. Using song lyrics to open chapters and even specific entries does a paramount job of getting across the feel of Abney Park’s Airship Pirates, a mischievous, puckish soul wrapped in a steampunk aesthetic.

For the uninitiated, as I was before my preview of this very game, Abney Park is a steampunk influenced rock band. I am not a music critic, but I find their sea chantey meets early 80s Goth musical aesthetic to be quite endearing. Thanks to the wonders of the internet, you can check them out on iTunes or Spotify to see if you like their brand of steampunk tomfoolery. That said, I feel like Airship Pirates stands up even when divorced from its source of inspiration.

The concept is simple: Abney Park’s airplane crashed into a zeppelin, some wibbley wobbley timey wimey stuff happened, and now the future is a steampunk dystopia. Upon hearing this high concept, I imagined a mash-up of Kidd Video and Final Fantasy VI. If you are going to make me fall in love with a role playing game, there are worse places to start.

When the book arrived, the first thing that struck me was the size of the thing. Next to my Ambush Alley Games hardcovers, which I thought were fairly huge, Abney Park’s Airship Pirates is simply gigantic. Like Necronomicon big. The cover is thick and weighty, and the whole book has a heft to it. Cracked open, the pages lie flat, a sure sign of quality construction. The cover is glossy and the dark brown with gold lettering makes it look classic. The paper is thick and matte, with a tasteful border. While this is not the first Cubicle 7 product I have reviewed, it is the first physical copy I have held in hand and I must say it is an impressive thing to behold.


Opening a book with flavor text is a gambit. When done poorly, there is nothing more likely to make readers lose interest in a game. Done correctly, and Airship Pirates does it correctly, flavor text is the best way to draw a reader into the game world. The Trials of Admiral Villiers does a capitol job of introducing the world and giving an example of what sort of trouble the players will likely be causing. That Airship Pirates wants to put the “punk” back into “steampunk” is very apparent from this first chapter.

With one potential bomb diffused, Airship Pirates merrily juggles a second with the Introduction chapter. These sorts of things are, by definition, a bore for anyone who is not playing an RPG for the first time. I was prepared to give Airship Pirates a pass on having a pedantic Introduction chapter, since the connection to Abney Park could conceivably bring in new readers who are completely new to the concept of RPGs. Then I read it. What Cakebread and Walton, who have the perfect names for mad scientists, have done with the Introduction, is quite an accomplishment. The sidebar introducing the concept of a role playing game to non-believers is the best I have yet encountered and does a great job spelling out the design philosophy behind the game. Another sidebar introduces the band, to those who have wandered in from the other direction, and points them in the right direction. A third sidebar answers a couple of questions I had about the compatibility of Airship Pirates with Victoriana and Dark Harvest. Short answer: they are completely compatible, which adds extra value to all three.

Character Creation is where the majority of players will spend their time with a book. Airship Pirates, being a very modern RPG, starts at the top of the character sheet and works its way down. Instead of starting with die rolls, the players are encouraged to come up with a concept for their character and, in a twist, the concept for the crew as a whole. This is the second time, the first being in the introduction, that the idea of Airship Pirates being run like a weekly TV show is floated. Giving the party a reason to be, well, a party from the very beginning is both a novel and completely obvious idea. For the sake of honesty, I have to admit that I will be stealing this from now on.

As Matt detailed some of this in his Victoriana review, which was a big help as I tried to get a grasp on the Heresy Engine rules these games share. Character creation is a delight. Airship Pirates has fewer character races, err Cultures, than Victoriana, though compatibility means you can always move things from one game to the other. The Cultures in Airship Pirates are more evocative than most RPGs. The Neobedouins are, as you would imagine, nomads and vagabonds who wander the wilderness. Neovictorians inhabit the land cities of a mad emperor. Automatons are humanoid robots built by the Neovictorians. The Misbegotten are the unfortunates who are mutated by the spill-off from Neovictorian factories. The Skyfolk live in massive floating cities that drift across America.

Culture in hand, the next step is determining character statistics. The six attributes, Strength, Dexterity, Fortitude, Presence, Wits, and Resolve are largely self-explanatory. The range is -3 to 9, with 0 being average. Characters start with 1 in each, modified by their Culture. The player gets 3 points to distribute as they will, with the limitation being that they cannot add all 3 to one attribute. As well, up to two points may be subtracted from attributes, either 1 point from 2 attributes or 2 points from 1 attribute, and added to others. This is a pretty elegant way to generate attributes and it makes balancing a party fairly easy.


Picking a Background comes next. Backgrounds are as close as Airship Pirates comes to character classes, though they are much less restrictive. A Background represents what a character did before being a Pirate. These past lives range from decidedly violent and adventurous careers like being a Mercenary to intriguingly non-martial vocations like Musician to the hilariously inept Dilettante. When coupled with the character’s culture, Background spells out where a character comes from. When you say your character was an Automaton Factory Worker or a Misbegotten Prostitute, I am instantly transported to the world of Airship Pirates and I can picture your character vividly. Beyond adding character to the player characters, Backgrounds provide the Skills for each character. This leads to Character Points.

Character Points are the currency of Skill and Talent acquisition. The recommendation is that each character start with 30 and spend 20 of those on Skills, though it is explicitly stated that these numbers are at the Game Master’s discretion. Additional Character Points can be acquired by taking Complications, which are a boon for GMs since Complications make great story hooks. Since characters are expected to be functional members of an airship crew, being Airship Pirates and all, it is suggested that they take three Airship Skills. Once again, fun character quirks are easily added from this little suggestion. A character who is useless when aboard the ship makes for great comic relief. A character who is otherwise a putz but has deadeye aim with the deck guns can become a hero in a boarding attempt.

Just as much personality is present in the Shticks. Each pirate crew is encouraged to have a shtick, a cover persona for when they come to port or encounter the authorities. This ties into the Crew Concept and is a pretty fun way to create esprit de corps amongst the crew. A ship full of pirates is one thing, a ship full of pirates who pretend to be traveling mummers is another. Between Background, Airship, and Shtick Skills, characters should be pretty much fully formed by this point.

The remaining Character Points can be spent on Talents. Skills are like basic football plays and Talents are more like gadget plays. Less useful in general, Talents are valuable in very specific circumstances. The last major element of character creation is selecting Complications, which are largely optional. Complications are one of my favorite parts of character creation, as it makes characters much more interesting. I do appreciate the dedication to the game’s piratical theme, as many Complications are of a decidedly pirate bent.

There is a full crew of pre-generated Airship Pirates, which is fantastic. This kills a couple of birds with one big stone. Pre-created characters provide players with a solid template to work from, and these characters are good enough to inspire new characters. Additionally, they make it easier for the GM to tweak the power levels of early adventures, since this crew is a good example of what a starting party might look like. I guess you could even use them as player characters if you are in a rush to get right to it.


Combat is the first of three chapters which spell out the rules that Airship Pirates runs on. Battles are intended to play in a very wild, swashbuckling manner and the rules provide for it. I am a big fan of dice pool systems, being raised on a steady diet of Shadowrun and World of Darkness games. The basic mechanic is an opposed die roll. The player and GM both roll a number of d6s equal to the characters’ Dexterity combined with their weapon skill. 1s and 6s are successes, and 6s can be rerolled for additional successes. The winning side lands their blow. The margin of successes over the losing character determines the damage dealt. It is as easy as that.

The second chapter in the trilogy covers Dramatic Systems, aka the stuff besides swinging a sword and shooting a gun. Rules covering things as diverse as Drinking and Feats of Strength cover all the bases and leave the GM with a go to chapter. That these rules are as logical as they are, while still being thrilling and fun in practice, is a small feat. Not as much of a feat as not wrecking your liver in Tortuga, but a notable one nonetheless.

The final chapter of the core rules section is the Airships, Vehicles, and Beasts chapter. The rules for customizing airships are quite spectacular. Creating custom airships means that parties never have to run into the same dirigible twice. I was so taken with it that I took it for a test drive and made a Final Fantasy IV style airship. It took about five minutes and the ship was exactly what I wanted. Ship to ship combat works enough like person to person combat that it is easy to pick up and run with.

The Equipment chapter is pretty self-explanatory, but thoroughly enjoyable. Any equipment list that includes Heliotropes and Difference Engines is a winner in my book. There is a certain verve to the items included that I find quite charming. Just make sure you don’t use the Heat Ray and Wheel-Skates at the same time.

The setting is laid out in the next three chapters. Chapters on the History, Geography, and Cultures of Airship Pirates are a real boon. Rare is the licensed game that doesn’t have any other book sources for the setting, so it was essential that this book included enough of the world to enable play with a minimum of GM work. While the scope is limited to North America, the breadth and depth of the content here is enormous. While it is not labeled as GM only, I am of the mind that the players should know as little as possible. I can count on one hand the settings that are as evocative as this.

Then there is the GM section. The same thoughtfulness and care that has gone into the rest of the book carries on here. Twenty or so pre-generated NPCs, stats only, are the sort of thing a GM wants but is seldom given by RPG authors. The GM material here is top-notch. Even better, it feels like the designers are taking you aside and telling how to recreate their vision on the tabletop. This sort of material being as good as it is does the setting of Airship Pirates quite a service. For a setting pieced together from songs and bits and pieces of lore, Airship Pirates feels quite rich.

Time Travel is the next chapter and it is a doozy. I have covered games with Time Travel before (I’m looking at you Doctor Who), but this is the best system for traversing time and space I have ever seen. With six Golden Rules (Time Travel is Uncommon, Time Travel is Difficult, Time Travel is Infrequent, Screwing Up the Timeline is Difficult, There’s Only One Timeline So Look After It, and a Time Traveller’s Personal Past Cannot Be Changed), Time Travel in Airship Pirates is equal parts mysterious and exhilarating, which suits the setting quite well. I love the idea of taking Pirates in a blimp and sending them to some random point in time. I might be strange, though.

A Bestiary follows. At first glance, there is not much to look at. I mean, there is an entry for Alligators and an entry for Giant Alligators. A little scrutiny reveals that mammoths and sabre-toothed cats have returned and there are strange giant condors called teratorns. While it might not be the Monster Manual, I suspect that was never the intention. Airship Pirates, being a bit grittier than most steampunk, doesn’t have room for goofy beasts, though there are some solid critters here.

The Tribulations of Scabby Jack is the included adventure for beginning parties and I think it serves its purpose quite well. The hardest part of a first adventure is getting a party together without the stereotypical, “Everyone meets at a bar” scene. Since the character creation system eschews that, things can kick off with a bang. It is nice to see so much care given to an introductory adventure.

The two page Artists of Airship Pirates spread is a nice touch, one I would love to see other RPG books adapt. Under each artist’s name is a list of pages on which their art appears and an email address at which to contact them. Giving the artists who make this book so gorgeous to flip through in such a manner is quite nice. The remainder of the appendixes are equally keen, providing character sheets, though those are better printed from the Internet than scanned from here, maps, and a one page discography for Abney Park. Once again, the authors have gone out of their way to make Airship Pirates a complete experience.

Abney Park’s Airship Pirates is a couple of things. It is a big, impressive, beautiful book. It is a vivid, fun, solid role playing game. It is also a challenge. If you are a fan of the band Abney Park, you have likely already purchased this. For those on the fence, I can only say that, as an outsider to their milieu, I cannot imagine this book being a more perfect representation of their world. If you are a steampunk fan looking for an RPG to run, this is a pretty good one. If you are a fan of Victoriana or Dark Harvest, this is a fantastic alternative setting and sourcebook. More than anything, though, Airship Pirates is a labor of love. “Captain” Robert Brown, lead singer of Abney Park, provided art for the book, including the cover, and is credited with the layout, design, and typography of the book. Such passion is evident throughout Abney Park’s Airship Pirates. Yes, $50 is a lot of money, but I honestly feel like Abney Park’s Airship Pirates is worth it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Abney Park's Airship Pirates
Publisher: Cakebread & Walton
by Michael W. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 09/22/2011 16:41:07
You can read my full review here: http://www.stargazersworld.com/2011/09/21/review-abney-parks-
-airship-pirates/

Abney Park’s Airship Pirates is not your regular Steampunk game. The setting is original and full of fun ideas. And even if you don’t want to use the post-apocalyptic world of 2150 you will still get your money’s worth out of that game. Especially the time travel rules set the game apart from the majority of its competition. The Heresy Engine – especially in the streamlined version – used in Airship Pirates is easy to learn and the compatibility with Victoriana 2nd Edition and Dark Harvest opens up a lot of additional possibilities. You can easily use material from those games in Airship Pirates or vice versa.
If you are even remotely interested in the genre and if you want to pick up just one steampunk game, make sure it’s Abney Park’s Airship Pirates.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG