RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
The Strange (corebook)
Publisher: Monte Cook Games
by Lee L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/22/2014 00:11:54
I was a fan of Numenera and when I saw there was another game using the system I had to take a look at it. I have to say, not only is the book itself visually stunning and well laid out, but the setting is completely brilliant. I can honestly say that the setting it the one complaint I had about Numenera. The system and character creation fascinated me, but the setting was a little too off putting and difficult to grasp. The Strange will completely replace Numenera for me and my group. I can not wait to get more information and material for this game. It will be one I run at local Cons every time from now on.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Strange (corebook)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

AMP: Year One
Publisher: Third Eye Games
by Lee L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/24/2014 22:19:18
First, I have to disclose that this review may be a touch biased, as I am in the book under playtesters.

That said, this is one of my favorite Superhero systems. I have played Champions, V&V, Marvel [TSR and Cortex], Mutants and Masterminds [all versions], Savage Worlds Supers, Icons, Capes and MANY others. You could say Supers game are my favorite genre. I am also a fan of Third Eye Games products. I own most of them and am in Part-time Gods [pg 196]. Everytime they come out with a new rules set the system gets refined a little and this is one of their best. The system plays smooth and has a feel of Season One of "Heroes" or "Misfits". It is gritty and flexible. it is also a great start [it is called Year One after all] to what I hope becomes one of their best lines. I have run several sessions of the system and find my players coming up with some amazing combos that they think breaks tha game, only to find that they are still on par with all the other players and NPC's. Great timeline style background and some wonderful NPC's in the book to get the juices flowing on character ideas. I cannot wait to see where this system and setting end up going in the "Years" to come!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
AMP: Year One
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dust Warfare: Core Rulebook
Publisher: Fantasy Flight Games
by Lee L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/25/2012 13:04:54
Dust Warfare is a full on miniature wargame, set in the world of Paolo Parente's world of Dust. Designed by Andy Chambers and Mack Martin, this alternate World War II game adds in a touch of the science fiction element. With various sized walkers that replace traditional tanks, Laser Grenadiers, Zombies and phaser weapons, this game steps froward from the Dust Tactics board game in so many ways!

While some were never upset with the idea of it being a miniatures board game, I know many who were waiting for this version of the game, as they didn't have the satisfaction brought about from the hobby elements of a true wargame. The cards used in games of Tactics are not used in Warfare. Instead, each unit has an entry in the book that has all its relevant information at your finger tips. The stats are also slightly different for some weapons, but that is out of a need to make them more playable in this new system. The addition of ranges to the weapons and movement for units enhances the game play in many ways. It allows for more tactical play and also allows for creative and stunning terrain elements to be added to your table. The terrain rules are quite unique in the fact that one piece of terrain may cause issues for a walker, but still be cause a troop to have no restrictions at all and vice-versa. It also means that scenarios can be flexible and story driven without sacrificing fun or smooth game play. These new rules were designed with organized play in mind as well. The tournament and campaign systems are set up to help organizers and players make each event a unique and rewarding series of games for the players involved. The Battle Builder for tournament play is a great addition to the system and something that as a playtester for Dust, I did not get to see until the rules came out. It is an awesome way for you to be able to look at your opponents list and them bid Scenario points towards the upcoming game to try and give themselves some advantage in terrain, objectives, or battlefield conditions. Each player has without sacrificing fun or smooth game play. These new rules were designed with organized play in mind as well. The tournament and campaign systems are set up to help organizers and players make each event a unique and rewarding series of games for the players involved. The Battle Builder for tournament play is a great addition to the system and something that as a playtester for Dust, I did not get to see until the rules came out. It is an awesome way for you to be able to look at your opponents list and them bid Scenario points towards the upcoming game to try and give themselves some advantage in terrain, objectives, or battlefield conditions. Each player has a limited amount of Scenario Points [2] to spend on these and a roll of 5 dice determines who has to start allocating their points first. These will be used in tournaments and can be used for pick up games as well.

Dust Warfare uses the same core mechanics for "hitting" and "damage", as well as actions, but that is about where they similarities end. Cover, saves, and reaction all work very different in this game. It is all a smooth transition and after a game or 2 you will not notice the changes that much [to be honest, I like these rules much better]. The rules are simple and easier to use and make the play move faster than in Tactics. Reaction, for example, you do not have to roll to try and react, you just get a reaction marker that removes an action from the unit. So, you can not react if you have already received a reaction marker this turn. They have also added rules for Suppression, this can affect your units actions as well as being a way of keeping track of if a unit is in retreat or not.

Each unit is worth a set number of AP and players agree upon a number of AP to play before selection their forces. The game has three different point ranges; Small [200 AP or less], Medium, also called a Tournament Engagement [between 201-400 AP] and Large [401 AP or more]. Players must choose at least one platoon, but may opt to add an additional platoon structure for each 150 AP [or part there of]. So in a 200 point game a player may opt to make one platoon or can have 2, keeping in mind that each platoon mush have at least a Command section and a mandatory 1st Section choice for each one. Each platoon may also take up to 1 Hero for each 150 AP [or part there of] allowed. Some Heroes also have a Special ability called Leadership that allows them to be the Command Section of your platoon. If you use them in this manner, they count as the Command Section, but also count toward the number of Heroes you can take.

The dynamic way you build a force and the scenarios you can play with these rules make the system and exciting and fresh new game. I for one can not wait to face an opponent with an all Zombie and Axis Ape army just to see what they can do!!!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dust Warfare: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Modern Floorplans: Airship
Publisher: Fabled Environments
by Lee L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/28/2011 12:13:11
As with all their maps, this is a great looking and well designed map set that will see a lot of use for my games. I love Fabled Environments and will pretty much buy almost anything they decided to make.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Floorplans: Airship
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Agents of Oblivion
Publisher: Reality Blurs
by Lee L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/20/2011 08:43:14
AOO has replaced all my other Savage Worlds settings as my current favorite. The combination of über spy tech, horror and espionage has really grabbed me. The setting allows for any kind of setting from 007 style games, too "xXx" style action spys, to X-files and even modern horror with psychic investigators! The book has one of the best covers ever in my opinion. There are several items on the cover that are an om-age to James Bond and Ian Fleming. The book has a very solid and clean look to it, with minimal [but amazing!] art by Cheyenne Wright [always a favorite] and no back texture to it. This not only makes for an easy read, but also makes it easy to print with out having to invest in new color cartridges for my printer. The "Powers" section is what has intrigued me the most, as it has removed power points from the setting and made it so characters can get powers that are above their Rank, with out making it impossible to play or deal with as a GM. It has inspired me to run an "Alphas" [Based on the Sci-Fi channel series] campaign. Reality Blurs and Sean Preston continue to impress me and I can not help buy purchase their games now as every one has inspired me to new ideas for my players.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Agents of Oblivion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Wu Xing: The Ninja Crusade
Publisher: Third Eye Games
by Lee L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/27/2011 11:15:36
Wu Xing takes all the things I love about Ninja based anime and rolls it into an elegant, fast and east to play system set in a world of intrigue and contradictions. An Emperor who want the Ninja dead, yet has ninja power himself, and one of his major allies is one of the ninja clan he is fighting against.

A fantastic game with a lot of rich background and fantastic online support! I have to say, I now need to pick up other products by Third Eye Games. If they are half as good as this book, I will be a very happy gamer!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wu Xing: The Ninja Crusade
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

True20 Adventure Roleplaying
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Lee L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/07/2007 00:00:00
This is the best RPG system that has come out of the OGL.


LIKED: Simplified d20!

DISLIKED: Wealth system is a little out of my preferance.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
True20 Adventure Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Castle Falkenstein
Publisher: R. Talsorian Games Inc.
by Lee L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/07/2007 00:00:00
Great game. Had lost my copy a while ago. Glad to have it back!


LIKED: The rich detail and victorian age steam-punk.

DISLIKED: moslty full color and so hard to print.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Castle Falkenstein
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Cartoon Action Hour
Publisher: Spectrum Games
by Lee L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/09/2004 00:00:00
Great game! brings back so many waster hours in front of the TV on Saturdays!

Must have if nothing else for nastalgia.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cartoon Action Hour
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vigilance
Publisher: Vigilance Press
by Lee L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/09/2004 00:00:00
This is possably the worst d20 superhero game I have bought to date. Do not bother!

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Vigilance
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fool's Errand
Publisher: Privateer Press
by Lee L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/09/2004 00:00:00
Good Module. Can not wait to see more about the Iron Kingdoms!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fool's Errand
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG