RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Cascade Failure $0.00
Average Rating:4.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
8 7
3 3
2 1
2 1
1 1
Cascade Failure
Click to view
Cascade Failure
Publisher: Chubby Funster
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/23/2013 03:58:37
1. Political dedications, seriously? Stephen Colbert, and John Stewart "speak truth to power" really they seem to speak agreement to power as long as it's somebody they like.
2. Rolling low is good now. Huh? Why did decide to reverse one of the basic tenets of 3rd edition?
3. A single new weapon system which is basically just the space version of a submarine wipes out interstellar civilization. Sure because remember how U-boats wiped out human civilization in Europe during the first World War.
4. Science Check needed. The revolutionary new fuel source requires the elements platinum and osmium for all the full tanks and fuel lines. That's pricey stuff, imagine if your car's gas tank, fuel lines and engine needed to be made out of gold or else they would explode, ya that'll make it affordable right.
5. Rules that make you go "huh?". Any damage to a person using a flamethrower has a chance to cause it to explode. So if I kick them in the shin...KABOOM!
6. Feats had to be renamed because...?
7. Sure the pictures are pretty but anybody can cut and paste stuff from the internet.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Cascade Failure
Publisher: Chubby Funster
by J. M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/19/2013 17:29:03
The production value, from idea to execution, is incredible—and most certainly not just in the “pretty cool for an indie” department. Could need some proof-reading and a one-shot adventure to get started but hey! it’s still in beta. Also, it’s free. Actually, as I downloaded Cascade Failure a good while ago and didn’t get around to checking it out until today, I came back to see if there’s more stuff related to the game I could purchase! (Seems, at this point in time, there isn’t.) Embarrassingly hypocritical comments notwithstanding, I very much dig the embedded links to the respective artists’ pages, who donated all their artwork for this game—they get exposure, and we get to see more cool stuff. Keep up the good work!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cascade Failure
Publisher: Chubby Funster
by Adam H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/13/2012 18:45:34
This game is a great example of why independent developers are such a critical piece of the RPG ecosystem. The rule system is simple, easy to use and modify if desired. The setting is unique and extremely well tied together, providing both depth and breadth to play in. Characters can span concepts from jedi-style to small town gunslinger sheriff to a Taoist wardroid. Their campaign spanned events that call on stories ranging from Nausicaa to Serenity to Mad Max.

Best post-apoc sci-fi setting I've played, bar none. So good you'll feel guilty getting it for free.

Why is there not more of this?

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cascade Failure
Publisher: Chubby Funster
by andrew b. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/08/2012 08:55:49
This is an incredible product. Image the best made core and world rulebook made by the industry giants... you know the two of them. Now, imagine its been simplified down to a flexible system.... and it is FREEEEEE. Beautiful artwork, wonderful mechanics, lots of background covered. I have to say, I downloaded both of Chubby Funster's free books... and was thoroughly impressed. For free products, these are very high quality and have lots of wonderfully evocative multicolor art from multiple artists. If this is any indication of the quality of Chubby Funster's work, I cant wait to see the other 5 products he has to offer that might actually cost a few dollars.

Just so you know, if this sounds too friendly, Ive never met or heard of Chubby Funster before today. I came across his free products, downloaded them, and became an instant fan. Please, give these products a chance, you will be glad that you did. I was in the middle of a MMORPG, when I got sucked up on this from my laptop. My character literally stood in the corner while I read this stuff... like some insolent child. Not since I downloaded C.J. whatshisnames Witchcraft have I been so entranced by a product.. and that was gritty black and white.

This review covers both of his free works, which I just downloaded and perused, Cascade Failure and Novarium. Ones an alternative to a good medival setting with a nice, simplistic system. The other is kind of a d20 post apocalyptic space opera... I know, just sounds intriguing. Check out both of them, did you notice they are both FREEEEE, and then give Chuggy Funster's products a try. I know thats where Im going after posting these two reviews up.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cascade Failure
Publisher: Chubby Funster
by Jacob B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/18/2011 18:20:26
The system seems very familiar.

The most interesting thing is that you to earn tech points. A like i instead of a leveling system. It makes the phrase knowledge is power so true. That being said it demands quite a lot of the GM since he proberly will be getting the workload of keeping track of it all. (but it is still nice the players can keep track of the know-how on the . Still I knew one mechanic, and that is jumping (I may have missed it).

Nice idea for a campaign in the future wasteland, but I am not seeing the one-shot scenario in it.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cascade Failure
Publisher: Chubby Funster
by Frederick N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/17/2011 10:26:20
Fantastic product, with great depth and a very interesting setting and character creation system.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cascade Failure
Publisher: Chubby Funster
by Nick S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/16/2011 12:08:07
The embedded links in the pictures and such killed it, sadly. Other than that, not bad.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Cascade Failure
Publisher: Chubby Funster
by Alex A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/10/2011 10:19:07
The game Cascade Failure has a very well written PDF manual along with beautiful images. Although I still haven't had the time to study it thoroughly, as much as I have read it has persuaded me to consider reading the rest of it as my first priority.

If you are looking for a worth playing game, I definitely recommend Cascade Failure to you. Last but not least, I am in contact with the creator of this game, Mr. Greg Christopher, on Google+ and find him a very good man apart from a brilliant game designer. In case you are interested, you can find him at https://plus.google.com/105771712753508502148/about.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cascade Failure
Publisher: Chubby Funster
by erik f. t. t. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/03/2011 22:17:53
(review originally posted at tenkarstavern.com)

I love it when Greg - I mean the Chubby Funster Guy, puts out a new game, or releases an update to a new one. They are always well put together and full of amazingly evocative art. The RPG systems he designs are no slouches either.

Cascade Failure is his first RPG system to be distributed via RPGNow. It's a post apocalyptic sic fi setting build upon the OGL. If you are familiar with any of the OSR games out there, the basic similarities should ground you pretty well.

It's a 95 page PDF optimized for tablet and on screen reading. It is extensively bookmarked. There isn't an included adventure and the setting could use some fleshing out. Hmm, maybe the Funster can put out a setting book for this... hint hint ;)

You really can't go wrong by grabbing yourself a copy. It's free, yet better produced then most of the gaming products that put major dents in your wallet.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cascade Failure
Publisher: Chubby Funster
by David W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2011 23:27:44
I'll put my own comments in brackets. There are a lot of pretty graphics, but it ends up being a mash of ideas that don't follow through. For example, there are Mechs! And that's about it. They count as a generic vehicle you strap into and fire weapons using Dexterity. Presumably it's the same for a tramp freighter or a starfighter or anything else.

p.2 Dedication: "Julian Assange... Stephen Colbert, Bill Maher, and John Stewart for speaking truth to power at a time when it is needed most." [For a first time author, what possessed you to throw politics into a dedication??]

p.2 Dedication: "Victor David Hanson" is supposed to be Victor DaviS Hanson. [If I read this *Dedication* typo in a store, I'd put the book down and assume it was an unedited mess.]

p.14 Liperato race: "They are extremely violent and self-interested... Even now, the young are still abandoned by individuals and cared for by the state." [This is in the same paragraph.] "Corruption is minimal due to high vigilance on the part of all public officials to ensure that nobody else is doing better than they are." [This is in the next paragraph. So these guys are an incredibly violent, self-interested species that would never cheat to get ahead? Besides the contradiction, I have no plot hooks here.]

p.34 This product seemingly is based on d20, but then it makes this change of direction where you have to roll UNDER a target number for success. In the Example, "Kuchit is trying to jump across a chasm... he makes a Strength test at a +2 bonus for sprinting. He has a Strength of 10, so with the +2 bonus he needs to roll a 12 or less to make the jump. He rolls a d20 and gets a 19. Rather than fall, he lowers his luck from 9 to 8 and adds 9 points to his 12 bringing his total up to 21. The 19 rolled is now beneath his total. He barely makes the jump and escapes a tragic death."

[In Combat, your opponent's AC is subtracted from your Attribute that's being used to attack them. We're bringing THAC0 back.]

p. 36 Crippled and Severed Limbs: "A wound that deals more than 5 points of temporary attribute damage to a limb will cripple that limb. A wound that deals more than 7 points of temporary attribute damage to a limb will sever it completely... Since this only applies to limbs, any amount of Constitution damage [e.g. against the torso] is never crippling or severing." [So I can't eviscerate anyone if I score a Chest/Stomach/Back hit?] "However, if this occurs with Intelligence, Wisdom, or Charisma [e.g. Head/Ears/Face] damage, then crippling results in a coma (until restored) and severing will result in decapitation." [No eviscerations, but I can cut faces off?]

p. 45 Flame Throwers: If the operator of this weapon is damaged in *any* way, there is a 1-in-6 chance that the stored fuel will ignite and explode. [My fist is an ignition source? Or stepping on a bear trap in these low-tech, post anarchy times?]

p. 45 Stun Grenade: Anyone within the full damage radius [10 meter RADIUS?] is completely deafened and blinded, *with no chance for a save*, for 5 minutes. [So during the Great War, everyone must have been throwing these around versus Frag grenades. It's also $75 versus a High Explosive Rocket for $40. Why are high explosives so cheap?]

p. 50 Encumbrance: The most weight that any character can carry and still move is equal to three times their Strength in kilograms... Therefore an average person can carry about 10 kg without getting tired and a maximum of 30 kg (66 lbs) before they *cannot move*.

p. 51 Time: "In the wake of the collapse, exact timekeeping can be extraordinarily difficult... You might tell a friend that you will meet them on planet Lumbe next Thursday at noon. If they even show up on the right day, you might consider yourself lucky." [This may be a fluff paragraph, but you don't perform any sort of stellar navigation without a good grasp of time.]

p. 53 Drugs: "The likelihood that the user will become addicted to the drug is represented by an addiction factor. This is a dice that is rolled per dose of the drug consumed with the user becoming addicted if they roll a 1." [In the Example, Lirapto Pale Ale is 1d10. So I have a 10% of being *addicted* to pale ale on my first drink? Why would any group ever go into a bar?]

p. 73 Vehicle Combat: It's the same as melee combat. Roll under your attribute number then apply damage. But you get to say "I'm in a Mech" on occasion... except I don't see a price list for vehicles. CAN I almost buy a ship for $10,000?

p. 83 The Lost Fleet: This is a Faction, described as an abandoned fleet of warships that nobody is claiming except for a small group of survivalists. And that's it. It's a Faction that doesn't do anything except keep to itself... with enough firepower to level a planet.

p. 86 Gifts: Also known as "Feats." Why bother renaming it?

p. 94 Starmap: There is no scale.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Cascade Failure
Publisher: Chubby Funster
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2011 03:57:46
An exceedingly nice-looking preview and thought-provoking development of the consequences of technological collapse. I suspect some of the rules might prove a little rubbery in play for my over-literal style.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cascade Failure
Publisher: Chubby Funster
by Christopher S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/15/2011 06:51:12
For a free product, the production values of this item cannot be faulted. The text is clear and concise and the art of very high quality. While the reader will require the D20 rules to use this product fully, the section on Factions could probably be adapted into any setting or ruleset. The inclusion of character sheets (including a stylized one) as well as a star map indicates an attention to detail many other producers of free pdfs should take note of.

The only slight criticism of Cascade Failure that I have is that there is little material about the current geo-political situation of the setting. Perhaps a map or timeline could be included in later versions.

A damn fine offering which can be used as presented or cannibalized into any near-future or science fiction setting.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cascade Failure
Publisher: Chubby Funster
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/14/2011 13:54:56
This is one of those products about which I find myself thinking, "I can't believe this is free." The art is top-notch; the writing appears clear, and the system draws as much from the osr as from the future srd. This PDF even has mechs! My one complaint, and it really isn't a complaint so much as a difference in personal preference, is that the Saving Throw mechanic used to resolve non-combat actions is roll-under.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG