RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Adventurers Journal 1: Stone Orcs (Legend)
Publisher: Solace Games
by Samuel B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/01/2014 15:20:21
For the price this is a nice little rpg item, which was made better after I made some initial comments to Anthony. He rectified a few problems and made some descriptions clearer immediately after I told him about them.

There are a few things however that I feel could still have been improved on. The picture does not 100% tally to the descriptive text. I would rather get more pages - between 6 and 8 maybe - in order to gain more information. The 1$ price is great but some backgrounds, professions, racial magical spells and family life details would be good.

I'd also recommend the use of sub-headings within the massive block of text on the first main page, it's a bit daunting as it currently is.

Having said all of that I think this is a very worthy effort, but one which can probably be enhanced with very little effort!

I give the item a 6/10, in part due to the great response from Anthony with regards making changes to the item.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurers Journal 1: Stone Orcs (Legend)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Maelstrom Domesday-The Beast of Ledsham
Publisher: Arion Games
by Samuel B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/01/2014 15:27:14
A lovely introductory scenario for Maelstrom Domesday.

Your investigators are sent by a Baron to discover the truth behind the stories of a beast in Ledsham. Is there really a beast or are the locals simply using it as a story and excuse for poaching the Lords animals? Only some good investigating will unearth the truth!

This book is well laid out with the introductory plot followed by the stories background for the Referee. Each household is then documented with each person's probable responses to the investigations of your players. The men of the village also have stats to give you a good idea of what they are capable of.

The end of the book provides advice in case your investigators are taking too long (they should take a maximum of three days to solve this mystery!) in their research, and also a couple of ways the investigation may end.

This is a very nice, medium complexity scenario that provides a great introduction to Maelstrom Domesday and shows Referees how they might go about making their own stories up afterwards.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Maelstrom Domesday-The Beast of Ledsham
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Maelstrom Domesday-Map Book
Publisher: Arion Games
by Samuel B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/01/2014 15:03:17
A lovely addition to the Maelstrom: Domesday series, this map book includes a number of maps and plans to use in your game.

The book includes:
A map of England in 1086 with the major towns plotted;
A map of the Yorkshire district showing boundaries, districts, main roads and major streams;
Typical Abbey, Castle, Town, Church and Townhouse layout plans;
A cross-section of a typical village house;
A typical Manor Estate's layout;
Example Barrows;
A number of village examples with or without churches and the like.

If you buy the Cartography Symbol pack you can then lay out your own village as you see fit (these are well worth getting!)

Overall this is a very simple but nice rpg item and well worth a couple of pounds.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Maelstrom Domesday-Map Book
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Maelstrom Domesday Investigators Guide
Publisher: Arion Games
by Samuel B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/29/2014 09:59:10
I had the pleasure of Proofreading this Investigators Guide, which is the book to hand to your Domesday players to read.

Chapter One provides them with information regarding character generation, explaining the benefits and drawbacks of each trait and career. It then moves on to explaining the basics of the rules system (without all the heavy information the Gm requires) and also handling social situations in game. The armour and weapons of the era are then described, followed by magick and the Maelstrom and religion.

Chapter Two concerns itself with Life in 1086, which is 20 years after the Norman conquest of England. It provides a brief history of England, then talks about its governance and law (but not the laws themselves). Nice details regarding the villages, towns and houses are given including some nice drawings of places such as York. Each of the main crafts is then described, as well as clothing, entertainment, family and education. It explains about travel and trade and gives a great list of average prices for food, drink and wares.

Each of the races of Englishmen are briefly described (the Welsh etc) and finally the guide talks about medicine, the supernatural (a big part of Maelstrom Domesday) and the church and religion. There's also a very good glossary of terms at the back.


This book is a superb addition to the Core Rulebook and means the players can look up information without grabbing the GM book and learning things they maybe shouldn't.

The drawings are simple line art, but this suits the genre quite well I feel. It is written in a very "friendly" and logical way. The guide does not assume knowledge of the era but doesn't dumb things down either.

This is well worth purchasing alongside the core rulebook.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Maelstrom Domesday Investigators Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Monsters of Legend
Publisher: Mongoose
by Samuel B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/29/2014 08:56:57
A great add-on book for Legend. I would have liked to have seen some more mundane animals in here but this is a good start to the monster lore world.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of Legend
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Arms of Legend
Publisher: Mongoose
by Samuel B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/29/2014 08:50:59
A great little book with additional information on adventuring gear and armour, weaponry, transport including animals. There's also extra information on enchantments and alchemy. This makes a handy resource book to add to the core rulebook.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Arms of Legend
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Maelstrom Domesday
Publisher: Arion Games
by Samuel B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/12/2013 17:06:41
Maelstrom Domesday is a great RPG set 20 years after the Norman Conquest of England. Your characters have all witnessed a supernatural event and have therefore become shunned by the society they once knew. Forced on to the road or into exile, they have then been given a task by a wealthy Norman patron to uncover the secrets behind certain goings on within their holdings.

Domesday uses a Lifepath Character Generation system which is very involved but very satisfying. You start at age 13 in a random career and progress from there until Career End when a Supernatural Event happens that causes your character to go on the road and be hired by the Patron.

Mechanically it uses percentile (d100) dice for most things, and then dice such as d3 or d6 for damage etc. The system is pretty simple but very effective and easy enough to pick up and learn.

One thing that I really like about Domesday is the section on the villages and hamlets in the York area. Each entry has a description of the village, its notable buildings or areas (Abbey and 300 acres of woodland etc) but also a small passage on local gossip/tales and also a 'Plot Hook'. I think this is awesome as you have a wealth of game ideas right there and with at least two ideas per village that's a good 60 plot ideas at your fingertips! Most RPGs have plot hooks but they are hidden within a mass of text, whereas these are right there and very easy to find and read.

Well worth buying and playing!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Maelstrom Domesday
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fiasco- Hard Time Blues
Publisher: completelyrandom publishing
by Samuel B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2013 08:25:24
So many great (and poor) films revolve around jail breaks that I thought this would be the perfect scenario for my group to play with Fiasco! And while it did go down well and we enjoyed ourselves I think it could be better.

There seems to me to be too many items in the set up lists that try to hard to be funny. Like the "plastic toy soldier" or the "corridor to nothing". Some much more serious and prison-related items would have served much better I feel, but would have provided an equally hilarious Fiasco.

After all, it's not so much the items that make Fiasco fun, it's the trouble the players get into trying to get them, or the people that get in their way as they do things.

I give this a solid 3 out 5 score - it's good, but can improve a fair amount.

Sam / Bifford

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fiasco- Hard Time Blues
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Legend: The Spider God's Bride
Publisher: Mongoose
by Samuel B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/05/2013 11:44:48
The version now available is the updated SGB, with all of the conversion problems sorted out.

"The Wolf" (Darren Pearce) made sure the following was done:

Fixed: NPCs, this includes restoring description, tactics and possessions.
Fixed: Monsters in adventures.
Fixed: Monster appendix.
Fixed: Chapter on gods, cults and demons with Legend style Sorcery as the basis for the cults themselves.
Fixed: Adventures (minor text) with additions and clarifications.
New: Magic items.
New: Magic chapter.
New: Poison appendix

Brilliant set of scenarios set in the World of Xoth.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend: The Spider God's Bride
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Legend
Publisher: Mongoose
by Samuel B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/25/2012 03:17:31
I had played RQ somewhere along the line but no so I'd remember it.

I am fairly new to GMing so am on the lookout for decent games to sink my teeth into. For only 66 pence ($1) I bought Legend and read it through. I have now set up a game, two of my three players have generated characters and soon we will be ready to go.

The rules need a certain amount of house-rules, but the book even says this is acceptable as Legend is rules only without setting so it can be bent and warped to your own needs.

I have the dead-tree version being delivered sometime soon too.

This is totally worth buying, and a great system to play with. Buy!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legend
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Toys for the Sandbox 00: Wizard's Tower
Publisher: Occult Moon
by Samuel B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/08/2012 15:44:39
A nice, simple, seven page document giving a few drawings of a wizard's tower and the basement and sub-basement along with a description. It then provides a number of plot scenarios and plot twist possibilities. It also provides details of the main characters mentioned therein as well as a couple of tables for random choice of the above.

For what it is, it's nice. Well presented and written but nice and basic.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Toys for the Sandbox 00: Wizard's Tower
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG