RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Woodmuir
Publisher: Owlbear Maps
by Ralf K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/08/2013 06:50:33
I really like this Map. It doesnt look high medieval like many maps, the wooden palisade, the straw thatching and the style looks more like a early time period. Could work for a Hellfrost game, or Asterix the Gaul. :-)

The content is he map, splitted in two parts and and the map, splitted in six parts. I would liked the map not splitted, maybe even in a larger paperformat.

A other critic would be that not the whole palisade is visible, so it looks like only half of the village is walled, the other half seems bordered by wood.

There is a short Legend with one or two sentence for each important building, but not much more.

For the low price I like it.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Woodmuir
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

City-States of Mars: Korium
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by Ralf K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/14/2012 07:40:58
I really like the MARS setting.
Korium is a good place to center a campaign. The City is well described, has colorfull NPC's that suit a planetary romances / word and scientist setting.
The inhabitants of the city are not arrogant old Martians but former nomads. So you have proud, honorfull citizens that your players have to like. ;-)

The City sounds very good to center a campaign around it. Its possible to play as corsairs, palace guards and nobles, adventurer and explorer. There are many targets for expeditions, enemys and shemes.

There are many, many adventure hooks. Many of them are clever hooks, weaving the enemys of the city in the hooks. But most of the time they are still only hooks, so the GM need to put a lot of work in such hook to get a adventure out of it. I would have prefered fewer "hooks" but more details-More like the Savage tales that are part of many savage worlds campaigns, but other surely prefer many hooks instead some savage tales.

The bad:
There are many typos in the text. Normaly I didnt see them, but at this text they really stand out. Sometimes I get the feeling I read a old scan that get OCR'ed.

The stats: I get the feeling that most NPC's have way to high parry. For example, Itaana-Intense Scholar have fighting d4, but Parry 7. Even with the 1 for her Rapier she should have Parry 5. And a Rapier should have a damage of Str+d4, not d6. And that was only one example.

The rules for the races are nice but some notations sounds more like d20-rules(for example TEST AGIL) and the whole text about races seems structureless.

To sum up: A nice, likeable city. many hooks, many typos. As I write this its reduced to barely 4$. For this price you couldnt do wrong!
I could imagine using it for something like space 1889, too.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
City-States of Mars:  Korium
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadows over Ekul
Publisher: GRAmel
by Ralf K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/10/2012 08:04:00
Shadows over Ekul is a good sword and sorcery adventure, with a very epic feel in the last part.
I really enjoyed reading it. It has a twist that is often used in book and movies, like in "The Prince and the Pauper".

There are a Jademen monk that is a important NPC that escort them deep into the enemy area. Some players really dislike such NPC's, but Savage Worlds could help the GM against a pet-NPC with giving a player control over him in combat. And he isnt important enough for the story that he couldnt be allowed to die. One of the playercharacters is more important for the story.

There are no maps in the avdenture (except a picture of a village/monastery that could work as map) but the description of the battle areals are good(but wordy).

The apendix book of lore:ekul is very nice, with a lot of cool adventure hints and hooks.

In summary it is a good adventure, if you liked the other B&B adventure your need to buy this, too.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadows over Ekul
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Citadel of the Winged Gods
Publisher: GRAmel
by Ralf K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/03/2012 02:43:23
Citadel of the winged Gods is the second adventure of B&B (for all that ask himself why Skinner of.... isnt the second adventure-Skinner is only a savage tale, no adventure).
It has a large battle in the beginning, a encounter with a strange human that ask for help finding home, great enemys, deep jungle, poisonous snakes and so on. It has the Sword and sorcery feeling all over it.
I havnt plaed it yet, but it sounds like a lot of fun.
Like most buyable adventure there are some rails visible. Especially the large battles in the beginning are well executed but somewhat meianingless, and the second battle is destinied to fail, so the heroes
have to flee.
The mysterious human is fatigued, but a mighty NPC. Something that is hard to do without overshadowing the PC, but in the two main fights he has some "magic" to do so he could stay in the background. In a sword and sorcery setting with rare magic this could work really fine. And he has some memorable scenes in the finale.

This avdenture is really fun, if you like sword and sorcery you should buy it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Citadel of the Winged Gods
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

WorldWorksGames / CastleWorks Ultimate
Publisher: WorldWorks Games
by Ralf T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/27/2005 00:00:00
A Great set. You could build a mighty castle or a single tower.
You cuold play inside all buildings.
The texturs get better with each new release from Worldworks.
Some parts (the gate) are a little bit complex (the drawbridge works really!) but you could build the simple version.
There are only on (6x6 inch) building type (with different textures), that you could stack and arrange to build larger buildings. Maybe on or two different sizes would be a good bonus. But you could Kitbash without Problems. I think about a doubled building (6x12 inch) and a smaller building(4x4 or 4x6).
A other problem for me is that it is designed for 1.5 inch. There are
1-inch ground tiles but for example the buidlings are 3 inch high, while other sets (Castle&Keeps, Pubs&Inns) have 2 inch high walls, so this walls are not really compatible.
But all this are minor problems. Its a great product and if you liked the old (retired) Castleworks you must have this!



LIKED: The buildings interior!
The Drawbridge.

DISLIKED: designed with 1,5 inch scale.
Kitbashing needs some works(but thats part of the fun), with different building wall lenght it would be simpler.


QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WorldWorksGames / CastleWorks Ultimate
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

WorldWorksGames / SeaWorks: SkullCove
Publisher: WorldWorks Games
by Ralf T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/23/2004 00:00:00
Buy this set. Its incredible!!!
There are many, many things that you could use. Even if you never ever think about using boats in your games you could use the cliffs. Or the Fort. The instructions show us little tricks and bits, like modifying the cliff-parts to a sort of large mesa.
I think 20$ isnt enough for this set, even if it is the expensievst of the worldwork sets.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WorldWorksGames / SeaWorks: SkullCove
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

WorldWorksGames / CaveWorks
Publisher: WorldWorks Games
by Ralf T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/23/2004 00:00:00
This set is really cool, it has many tiles, nice texured walls, a rope bridge, lava tiles, waterfalls, all you need.
Its compatible with mot other worldworks sets.
I like the floating walls and the risers, that could give a organic feel, its a cave, not a room!


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WorldWorksGames / CaveWorks
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Tales #6: Zombie Run
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Ralf T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/13/2004 00:00:00
This is a really resourcefull adventure. more like a Mini-campaign.
The first half is a overland treck that could stretch to the GMs taste, there are vew encounters described, but ou could add other encounters (Zombie cows!?). After the Zombiebashing get boring the players reach a large survivorcamp and the things start to get interesting. In this second part could be a lot of social interaction and moral problems, but this is a little sketchy because the autor couldnt know what the players do. But all information you needed are there.
There are "good" and "bad" survivors and the adventure guess that the players help the good group, but there are hints how it could played from the other side.

Overall it makes me to run the adventure, and the goodies like the scavenging deck, the fuel rules and the zombie cutouts are very nice.
If I start nitpicking I could say that the zombies are a little tough and the deadly infectious Attack of the Zombies are a little bit harsh. But this arent things you could change in a second, or maybe after a few test combat.





Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Tales #6: Zombie Run
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

WorldWorksGames / InteriorWorks: Castles & Keeps
Publisher: WorldWorks Games
by Ralf T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/27/2004 00:00:00
A nice set of Interior parts.
I like the stair.
And the church windows.
And many other details.
Some of the pages are not full used, for example the magic desk. But paper isnt expensive, ink is, so it is OK.
The Clip It System is really cool and hold your tiles together. Only small things like the stools get hurled over if you sneeze. :-)

Its a ver good product.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WorldWorksGames / InteriorWorks: Castles & Keeps
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG