RPGNow.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info













Back
The Waking Dead $0.00
Average Rating:3.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
3 4
0 2
4 1
1 0
0 1
The Waking Dead
Click to view
The Waking Dead
Publisher: Eden Studios
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 07/19/2017 10:04:02

This contains all you need to have a go at All Flesh Must Be Eaten apart from a few polyhedral dice and some ready-meals for your zombies... er, I mean players. It starts of by explain what is one of the main selling points of this game line: it has no setting! That sounds a bit odd, but what it means is that if you want to play a game about zombies, you can set it anywhere - past, present, future, fantasy, whatever - using these simple rules and maybe one of the array of setting books that are available. The adventure here is set in contemporary America, and it's suggested that for best effect the GM (or Zombie Master as he is known in this game) does not let on that the group is about to play a game about zombies, just hand out the Archetypes provided!

Next comes an outline of the rules - a version of the Eden Studios Unisystem - beginning with the concept of Archetypes, the way in which player-characters are described in the game. There are brief notes on what the character sheet means, then a collection of six - a doctor, an FBI agent, a gang banger, a good ol' boy, a marine and a soccer mom - are provided. A motley lot, perhaps, but the idea is that they are thrown together by circumstance and have to work together to survive. They are followed by some more rules stuff: task resolution, luck, getting scared, and of course combat.

Then comes the adventure itself, 'The Waking Dead'. It starts with our motley crew waking up in hospital after a mysterious disaster of which they seem to be the only survivors... and things go downhill from there. It's well constructed to both provide a thorough introduction to the workings of the game and be quite exciting in its own right! Neatly, it starts off pretty linear and becomes more freeform as it goes on, allowing the Zombie Master to take it in any direction - and use it, if desired, as a campaign starter rather than merely an introduction to the game.

The party awakens without equipment or indeed clothes apart from hospital gowns (the sort that leave your rear end hanging out!), so they will have to scavenge as they explore. There's an added twist that they are having strange dreams which may lead them to safety, but there are decisions to be made here, which sets this above many introductory adventures with a real feeling of accomplishing something, of getting somewhere.

If you are new to All Flesh Must Be Eaten this makes an excellent introduction. Likewise, if you want to kick off a contemporary zombie game in great style, this will serve very well - just add in whatever you need to steer the action in the right direction!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Waking Dead
Publisher: Eden Studios
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/20/2012 13:58:35

An Excellent game kit for AFMBE--double specially for the price.

The only problem I had with it was the graphics. The graphics were good but printing it out will cost a lot of black ink (it was in B/W).

I would have preferred a more printable version.

But, still, I'd hghly recommend it. It'll read well on a Kindle or Nook or whatever else you might have (I don't have one).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Waking Dead
Publisher: Eden Studios
by Charles L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/24/2012 12:56:25

It is very insiteful on the world of living and undead. The fact of two supernatural entities using us to get to thier goals is almost spooky.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Waking Dead
Publisher: Eden Studios
by Robert B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/10/2012 14:17:15

How do you do a review? I guess you should start with an introduction. My name is Robert Burt. I have been playing Paper and pen game since I was in high school. I graduated in 1978. I believe I have played most of the games out there at one time or another. But enough about me let’s talked about the Walking dead supplement from All Flesh Must Be Eaten.

AFMBE as the call themselves is brought to us by Eden Studios. It is a free RPG Day supplement. Yes I said supplement, this is not some 5 page scenarios, catalog, tidbit of a hook to get you to buy more, ECT freebie that most companies put out. This is a full introductory kit for free. This is 34 pages of well thought out, well published free material. It is an introduction to both the AFMBE game and the “Unisystem” rules that govern this game. The first 16 pages I like to call AFMBE lite, a fully playable set of rules for the game including six complete what they call archetypes. What we use to call pre generated player caricatures. They range from the marine down to the street thug. The templates are wonderful and add a 3D likeness to the player that they can draw from. If you like these check out their Archetype books for the game.

The game is about the same has Savage Worlds, D20, in complexity. Not too complex just enough to be fun without being to rules heavy. This lite version is even less complex than the full game.

Now we come the introductory adventure. Did I mention this is a free download? Most of the time with a free download adventure you get 5 pages maybe less of a plot with a lot of fluff, a couple of lines of adventure with a do what you would like attitude. So I usually just borrow ideas from them and go on.

This adventure starts just like the AMC show or the graphic novels. You are in a Hospital (Rick), and you must leave. Note there is no floor plan. AFMBE believes adding a floor plan would make this adventure to much like a “fantasy dungeon-crawl”. Maybe, maybe not you could always make up your own map or buy a map. After the entire down load is Free. If the adventure ended here I would say you got your monies worth, however now comes scene two: outside the hospital and in to “the real world”. The adventure takes on a Steve King’s The Stand type of adventure. Now you have to decide between good or evil. Then we have scene three and four: the climatic battle. They have enough material in the two pages devoted to this to make a full night of adventure itself.

So in conclusion dose this download give you value? I believe I mention that it is a FREE download. I myself have spent 5 to10 bucks just for a down load like this from other companies. Yes it gives you value even if you are not into Zombies. So give it a try I can honestly say this was one of the best spent zero dollars I have ever spent. OH and did I mention IT’S FREE.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Waking Dead
Publisher: Eden Studios
by David J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/30/2011 19:47:00

This unholy offspring of Romero's zombies and Stephen King's The Stand, is an adequate introduction to All Flesh Must Be Eaten (and Unisystem). I don't particularly like the brute force character introduction, but I do kind of like the random hospital navigation table. There are no floorplans or anything that can really be used for anything except the intended purpose, introducing players and GMs to All Flesh Must Eaten. That being said, the whole business of drawing people aside to give them dreams is actually extremely awkward in play even though it works OK in a novel.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Waking Dead
Publisher: Eden Studios
by Hunter F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/30/2011 13:22:34

I could not open the file. So my review is negitive.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Waking Dead
Publisher: Eden Studios
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/30/2011 07:17:29

originally posted at http://diehardgamefan.com/2011/12/30/tabletop-review-the-waking-dead-all-flesh-must-be-eaten/

Even though I feel the whole zombie craze has been played out for several years now, All Flesh Must Be Eaten holds a special place in my heart as it’s the first system I ever wrote (and sold!) pure fiction for. Man, that was well over a decade ago. Now I feel old. Honestly, I thought Eden had put the system to rest, primarily concentrating on new Conspiracy X stuff. However when “Free RPG Day 2011″ (June 18th) came around, Eden releases this free All Flesh Must be Eaten introductory kit to the public. Now six months later, they’ve released it again – still free, but in .pdf form.

Since the kit is free, there’s honestly no reason not to pick this up. Free is always awesome and AFMBE not only has a great system but character creation is highly versatile and a lot of fun. Unfortunately the character creation rules aren’t provided here, but that’s understandable due to the length and the fact you’re getting this for free. What you ARE getting are quick start rules for the game though. You’re told how Attributes, Qualities, Drawbacks, and Skills all work, along with a streamlined version of the rules so that you can get right into things. You’re also given six pre-generated characters so that you can just grab one and start playing the adventure that comes in this kit.

Only about six pages are spent on the rules, but it covers everything you need to play along with nearly all the special rules for the game. Tables included are Base Modifiers, Outcome and Fear. The Waking Dead also devotes a full three pages explaining how combat works, which is quite long for a free starter kit. This means, however, you’re getting an in-depth look at how to play the most crucial part of the game: slaughtering zombies.

The adventure itself, The Waking Dead is where the entire kit pulls its name from. It’s eleven pages long and to be perfect honest, I really didn’t like it. It unabashedly rips off The Stand and The Walking Dead in nearly every way. I’ve never really been a fan of adventures that are so close to the source material that you can’t help but notice and all I could think about while reading this was, “Where’s the originality?” There’s a tiny bit of deviation where the Randall Flagg knock-off has zombies instead of evil people on her (another slight change) side, but other than that, it’s too close for comfort for my linking. The adventure also isn’t linear enough for something that is supposed to be for newcomers to the system. The adventure itself states that this is to make the adventure appealing to veterans and newcomers. Well, newcomers GMs are going to want/need that linearity for a first adventure, especially if they are running it on the fly. So I can’t especially recommend the adventure as something for a newcomer running All Flesh Must Be Eaten, but it’s a solid enough piece that I can recommend it for those who know someone familiar with the rules and can run it for friends.

The starter kit concludes with a page of close combat weapons, a page of ranged combat weapons, a two page promo for the system and finally, an ammo record form (which is far more useful than one might think when they first start playing this game…) All in all, The Waking Dead is a really well done starter kit. It contains everything a person might need to just jump in to All Flesh Must be Eaten. It gives all the important rules for playing and half a dozen pregens for the adventure. Again, I didn’t care for the adventure at all, but the writing and mechanics behind it are solid and so as long as you don’t mind playing a story similar to something you’ve probably already experienced in some way, you just might have fun with it. The key thing here is that The Waking Dead is free and the fact Eden Studios has included nearly all the rules you need to play the game is impressive indeed. With that in mind, anyone reading this should be clicking the link at the top of the review and downloading the pdf as soon as they are done reading this. If you’re the type of gamer that still finds Resident Evil, Dead Rising or Dead Island fun instead of “yet another zombie game,” or someone who enjoys a “zombie pub crawl,” then you’ll definitely want to pick up The Waking Dead. Who knows? After flipping through this kit, you just might decide to spend the fifteen dollars on the core rulebook and start playing AFMBE for real.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Waking Dead
Publisher: Eden Studios
by Chris W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/22/2011 15:32:49

Looks like more of the same from Eden, which in this case is extremely good. I honestly had thought that this product line was extinct. I own just about all the books in the line and have to say for a free adventure this one looks fairly solid. I like the overall amount of NPC stats given in the module. I am highly likely to run this adventure using the line books as it is one of the better zombie series out there for RPGs. If you've never played All Flesh Must Be Eaten, you owe it to yourself to play it. At the very least, try this adventure for yourself. The depth of character creation this system offers makes it one of the best ones out there, and it is overly simplified to make character creation fast and get you gaming fast. I am pleased to see another product from this company and hope to see more in the future.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG