RPGNow.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Print & Paste Dungeon textures: Pillars
Publisher: Crooked Staff Publishing
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/22/2018 13:58:15

Simple, basic, can be used for multiple purposes. Work best if printed on full-sheet labels: print, cut to size, peel and stick! Couldn't be easier. This product is worthwhile, but I highly recommend the artist's videos which show additional, intereting ways to employ his products. Visit his YouTube channel for his videos. The link can be found on his homepage. Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Print & Paste Dungeon textures: Pillars
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Draconomicon: The Book of Dragons (3.5)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/05/2018 16:27:09

I play 2e AD&D, not 3.X, but after reading reviews of the different versions of this title, the 3.5e version sounded the best. I purchased the standard heavyweight POD version: superb print quality! This book is one inch thick! The quality is superb. For me, the POD is worth every penny -- much less than I could get a used copy for, on e-Bay, or Amazon. POD is fantastic quality, and the price is often much cheaper than a used copy, as discussed already.

Now for the contents... It covers the major D&D Dragons: both chromatic, and metallic. It gives examples of each Dragon type, in each of their growth, or maturity classes. It gives examples of a typical lair for each type, as well. There is great artwork for each type of Dragon, in each listing. There is a large amount of 3.Xe classes, feats, etc. None of that is of interest to me, since I play 2e, and none of this material is trasferable. They changed up the wing designs on several types of Dragons. There are glaring similiarities for some, with wings stretching to the tail, running nearly the entire length of the body. They tried to illustrate how these body-length wings would work, in flight. I give them props for trying.

They give CR ratings on each Dragon type, and age group. This is where it becomes like a video/PC game. A Hatchling, for example has 34 HP! The Hatchling is all of 2-feet tall! The Ancient Worm, or whatever they call the largest age/size group of Red Dragons, tend to have 500+ HP!... Even the deities, back in the DDG book, from 1e, did not have that many HP, typically. This seems ridiculous, to me. The CR rating for this monster, is 36, by the way. The highest CR is the ancient Gold Dragon: 37. To me, this really is over the top for size, HP, etc. Still, it is easy for the individual DM to massage the statistics to more acceptable levels.

One of the most interesting things I noticed, is that some Black Dragons can change their breath weapon from a narrow stream, into a a cone, one-half the normal length. Neat option, which makes great sense. They also name every example printed, so you get around five names for every true Dragon type, listed. They also cover lesser Dragons, but in much less detail (more than the Monster Manual, typically, but less than the space alloted to the true Dragons.

There is a section dealing with generating a Dragon's hoard of treasue, as well as other crunch on Dragons, their larirs, and minions who serve, or even worthip them.Just about every aspect of Dragons is covered.

They list magical items for use by Dragons, such as a magical mouthpiece, which increases their bite damage. They cover uses for Dragon body parts, making armor out of their hides, and such. As stated, there are a lot of pages in this book! It is packed with fun-to-read information on the most iconic monster in the game. This book is just fun to read, whether I use the material in my games, or not.

I would highly recommend this book to any DM. There is, however, a Pleyer's Section, as well, for would-be dragon slayers. I skipped that section. I feel my players need to research that on their own.

Anyway, I highly recommend this book, regardless of what rules set you play. It is a fun romp through all things Dragon. I feel it was worth the price of hard-copy admission. Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Draconomicon: The Book of Dragons (3.5)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Trolls of Mistwood
Publisher: Shinobi 27 Games
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2018 15:46:39

This adventure is very well written: it consists of investigative work for the players, red herrings to mislead them, and multiple enemies to both deceive, and confuse them, at a most critical point in the adventure! There is a cast of numerous, interesting, and potentially misleading characters to encounter, and interact with. The plot is not overly complex, but the fact that they are facing two enemy factions, using them as a tool to defeat their opponents, makes for some interesting challenges for the players.

Without giving too much away, things are not what they seem. The players may imagine they have solved the numerous mysteries, but more likely, they have not. This is a story with depth, complexity, and challenges which are not particulary common. It involves far more than trute force, or horrendously powerful magic, to overcome the machinations of the powerful adversaries in this adventure.

If you are planning to run this adventure, a quick read-through will give you the whole, twisted, story. After that, strap yourself in for a wild ride, because you will not know how the players will choose to navigate this maze of decisions, until they voice their choices at the table... Then watch the chips fall as they may. It get a little crazy. Enjoy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Trolls of Mistwood
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the kind review, Bruce.
Infinite Dungeons: Core Set
Publisher: Paper Realms
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/02/2018 15:08:21

I purchased this set for use in a non-standard way... Bear this in mind as you read my review. I have added my version of how I will be employing this set, below a review of the standard, designed approach for this product. Now for the review of the product, as it is intended to be used:

This set has nice wall sections, with/without torches ensconced in the walls, doorways, and openings. The wall sections are designed to interlock with posts, at the corners. It comes with its own floor system, which is designed to be pasted to foamcore boards. As designed, the system will work quite well. However, there is an issue with square posts being required in each corner, for the wall sections to interlock with. This is a minor quibble, but one I thought worth mentioning. Tabs on the wall sections will interlock in a slot on the corner sections, hence the need for the square posts, to create room for the wall tabs to interlock with something in the corners -- cuts are made in the corners of the square posts to allow the tabs on the wall sections to slide into the posts, hooking the two pieces together. This approach could be adapted to allow the wall sections to be pasted to 2mm-thick cardboard, as discussed below, but it would also increae the construction time, and effort, dramatically. The finished product would be far stronger, and also much heavier. I will leave you to experiment with this approach, on your own.

The system, as designed, will allow you to stack layers/levels vertically. It is a decent system, as designed, and I would highly recommend it, as such. However, expect to produce many, many pieces, to make a truly versatile, and useful, dungeon setup. You will need to wash-rinse-repeat, numerous times, ad nauseum, really, to get a useful set. This is true with ANY dungeon model system, including 3D printing of any type. Even if you went with a 2D product, you will have to make typically 100+ pieces for your chosen set, in order to have enough to make a typical dungeon. Just a word to the wise.

Now for how I will be using this product:

I will be using full-sheet label paper to print these out. I will then cut, peel, and apply them to 2mm-thick cardboard from the local picture framing shop. I will then be inserting these double-sided, cardboard wall sections, into a slot cut into foam floor pads, such as are used on the floor, in front of a work bench in a garage. I cut 1/4"-deep (6-7 mm deep) grooves into the foam pad sections, forming a 1-inch grid pattern (done using a Table Saw with an 120-tooth blade, with a narrow kerf). This allows me to make completely modular dungeon layouts using these wall sections inserted into the slots in the foam, end-to-end, forming rooms, hallways, etc.

Before cutting the grid pattern into the foam floor mats, I paint them with various shades of gray, white, and even some yellow and brown colors of craft paint, using a natural sea sponge applicator, to achieve a mottled paint pattern (painting technique borrowed from DM Scotty's YouTube video series of crafting dungeon tiles). The foam floor mats are naturally gray in color, they have interlocking edges which allow them to be connected to one another, which allows me to make any configuration needed. The mottled paint patterns create a varied floor surface, broken up by the upright wall sections, and doorways.

It is a great deal of work to create the wall sections, but once completed, I will have a completely modular system, infinitely adaptable, and re-useable for my lifetime, and my childrens'! It will be 2.75D, easy to store, and easy to transport.

My intended use will be for both miniatures gaming of dungeon crawls (using 2e's BattleSystem Skirmish rules, published by TSR, formerly available here, for PDF download), and occasional use for RPG's. I am planning to run G3 Hall of the Fire Giant King (1e), as a convention game, using miniatures, and these dungeon pieces, mapping out the entire first level, and possibly the second dungeon level, as well. These dungeon pieces will make that possible, along with the foam floor mats. It will be faster to insert the wall sections, into the mats, than it would be to interlock the wall sections, and mount them into foamcore floors. Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Infinite Dungeons: Core Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

City State of the Invincible Overlord, Color Map
Publisher: Bat in the Attic Games
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/21/2017 08:23:11

I have the original hardcopy of this product. Picked it up in the mid-80's, NOS. What a difference color makes!!! This map is gorgeous! I bought the printed poster copy. It is amazing. Looking forward to mounting it on some 3mm cardboard, and then mounting that to some 1/4" plywood.

The details on the maps are superb. It is clear, sharp, and amazing in color... Would love to see Judges Guild produce their other magnificent city maps in full color... I'd buy every one.

This poster map comes in pieces, which is fine. They come folded, not in a tube. You will get a smaller version, on a single page, which is nice. I am tempted to take my other maps into a shop with a large format photocopier, so I can get busy with colored pencils, as I seriously doubt JG will produce the other maps in full color (Tarantis... Hint! Hint!)

The color really brings this map alive. It was inspiring on the brown paper maps, but in color, it takes on new life. Amazing difference. Looking forward to more!... Would love to see the Castle Books, Villages Books, Island Books, and the Temples Book, all done up in color. A lot of work, but I bet they would sell plenty of copies! Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
City State of the Invincible Overlord, Color Map
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Siege Engines
Publisher: Fat Dragon Games
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/19/2016 10:05:49

I took this set to the next level: I mounted it to 2mm thick cardboard, for the tower and the battering ram, to make them durable. While this meant I had to alter the construction techniques slightly, it still came together quite well. I used some plastic MK base discs to create the wheels, but using the printed paper wheels, mounted to the same cardboard, would also work. I edged the thick cardboard with gray craft paint, and the finished model turned out incredibly durable, much heavier, and extremely strong for holding mini's, and resisting flexing, and damage, from handling. I am applying the same 2mm thick cardboard construction technique to the FD Castle set I purchased. My wall sections, gates, and towers, are quite sturdy, durable, and heavy, compared to 110# cardstock versions of the same constructs!

I print my pieces on regular, 20# paper, then I use a permanent glue stick to adhere them to the 2mm cardboard, burnishing them to ensure proper adherence to the cardboard. Once assembled, using White PVA Glue, they are quite strong, secure, and ready to put on the gaming table. I also mount the mobile pieces on textured bases, which helps finish their looks, as well as making them easier to pick up, and move on the tabletop, as needed. Perfect for fantasy, and medieval miniature gaming. Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Siege Engines
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

D3 Vault of the Drow (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/11/2016 16:57:30

Classic module which truly explained, and demonstrated, the legendary Drow Elves. This module maps out a large Drow city, in the Underdark realm. It is classic, old-school, in every way. Much of the city is left blank, for description, to allow the DM to develop it as they see fit. Key encounter areas are detailed, of course. It is not a place for the blundering warrior to waltz through, smashing every evil creature he sees... That would be suicidal. It is quite daunting to look at the city map, and realize just how much of it is a blank canvas for the DM to paint in their vision of the city. While the DM could fill in all of the blank areas, it is also possible to just gloss over the blank areas of the city, and only play those areas detailed by Gygax.

With regards to quallity of the scan, it is quite readable. The maps are clear. It is fully complete. The price is a bargain compared to rare copies which occasionally appear on sites like e-Bay, Amazon, and other online vendors of OOP books, and gaming materials. If you want a copy, buy it now. There is no guarantee it will be around in the future. Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D3 Vault of the Drow (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Book of Encounters & Lairs
Publisher: Mongoose
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/11/2016 16:46:15

Wow!!! This book lists 46 separate encounters, two of each monster type, one, "On the road," so to speak, and the other of the monster type in their lair. Note that the two encounters may feature a different type of the same creature from the, "On the road, encounter." The monsters featured are varied: Aboleth, Behir, Bugbear, Derro, Black, and White Dragons, to name just a few!

The encounters are labelled for "Encounter Level" (EL) which helps the DM make a decision, at a glance, whether a selected encounter is of the correct level. There are also guidelines for scaling the encounters to a different EL. The encounters offer tactics, maps for each encounter area, with descriptions on how the monsters will approach the PC's. Each encounter consists of two, or more, pages of description. The second, Lair encounter, features the same family of monster, though not always the same monster in particular. For example the wilderness encounter, for the two Dragon entries, concerns a (named) Black Dragon, while the Dragon Lair encounter, concerns a mated pair of White Dragons. The lair encounters are given the same level of details regading the monsters habits, how they will react, etc. The White Dragons' lair, for example, features a frozen larder, complete with subtle clues as to what the PC's will encounter when they penetrate deeper into the Pair's lair!

At the end of the book, there are Encounter Charts: "These charts will provide a Games Master with all the information needed to determine just exactly what it is the party encounter, how many of them there are and scale it all according to the level of experience the group represents." Now this, is fantastically useful to the DM!

The final chapter, "Help for the Games Masters," is quite useful, It offers direct instructions for the DM. Here is a line which captures the sense of this final chapter, "The gaming gloves are off here; this is just you and me, talking about encounters and gaming from the perspective of how to run a better, more believable game." It consists of seven tips, with lengthy discussions, on how to improve your game -- both for you, and your players. Overall, this book is quite well done, in all aspects. I look forward to using it in my own games! Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Encounters & Lairs
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Puertas Set 2 - Doors set 2(carta)
Publisher: EnPapelArte
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/11/2016 15:09:06

This set consists of four different, 3-dimensional doors, which are actually rather thick, compared to most of their kind. The door graphics are simple, but effective. At arm's length, the simpler graphics will work fine (minus one pip). They are affordable, and 'heavy', compared to their competitors. For their intended purposes, they will work just fine. If you want them to be quite sturdy, print on regular paper, then glue them to backboard (1-2 mm thick solid cardboard), and assemble. This will not only give then tremendous strength, but also heft. Cheers!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Puertas Set 2 - Doors set 2(carta)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dungeon Tiles - D01 - Altars
Publisher: RPG Ink
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/08/2016 14:03:13

Numerous types of altars, of many different types, and sizes, are included in this product. The only altar design I did not care for, were the multi-colored star types, but this is a very minor nit-pick. The altars are 2-D, but with a 3-D perspective. They are also overlaid with a light-gray square grid. I printed mine on a color laser printer, using copy paper. I then applied them to the glue side of some inexpensive, peel-n-stick, vinyl floor tiles. I then cut them out, to size. The vinyl floor tiles give them heft, and make them very durable. They are easy to throw down onto my tiles which I draw my dungeons out on, as well as my printed, 2-D dungeon tiles from Fat Dragon Games.

The variety of altars provided in the set allow for many options, as well as offering many different sizes of many of the altar types. There are altars which are suitable for many different fantasy gods' temples, as well as altars you might find in a wizard's laboratory, for summoning demons. There are also different sets of water fonts, as well as incense burners. Great set, lots of variety, and sizes. Highly recommended set for 2-D usage. Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Tiles - D01 - Altars
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Infinite Tomes
Publisher: Inkwell Ideas
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/08/2016 13:23:47

Nice set of tables for randomly creating book titles, not only for Wizards' magical research book titles, but you can also create book titles for religious books to be found in temples, as well as historical book titles, which you might find in a sage's library, or the library of an aristocrat, as well. I discovered very quickly, that I preferred to peruse the table lists, to create my own titles. I also discovered that the making of book titles provided inspiration for possible adventures, based on the book titles, as well as the author names I created.

Overall, this product was worth every penny I paid for it. It will serve me very well in creating library book titles for a wizard's spell research library (I have created 100+ titles, thus far, and I am still going...), but it will also allow me to make up interesting book titles for other things (noblemen libraries, as well as temple libraries), which will inspire me, and my players, I hope, with adventure ideas.

I highly recommend this product if you want a fun way to populate library book titles for your RPG's. Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Infinite Tomes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Darkfast Dungeons: Advanced Set_3D Walls
Publisher: Okumarts Games
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2015 23:09:29

I did not purchase this product for its intended purpose... Bear this in mind for my 3-star rating, please.

I needed a 2.5D cardstock dungeon set, to fashion walls, and doorways, attached to backboard (2.5mm thick cardboard), to be inserted into slots, cut into foam mats. I searched, but there were few options for my purposes -- I needed wrap-around wall sections, and doorways, to wrap around the backboard pieces. The variety of pieces in this set is very limited. I believe this set is designed for a slightly different game, with a different purpose from what I needed.

Still, how much variation in your dungeon walls do you really need? In my case, very little. If the dungeon wall sections had too much variation, I believe they would be a distraction, so the limited design variations in the wall section textures, will work for my purposes: a decent representation of the dungeon walls, and doorways, but not busy enough to distract from the layout of the dungeon, itself. There are very limited pieces in this set -- again, I can't say this is an issue for its intended purpose, but it is a very simple set of pieces, hence the 3-star rating. Cheers!.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Darkfast Dungeons: Advanced Set_3D Walls
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

E-Z TILES: Rivers & Streams
Publisher: Fat Dragon Games
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/21/2013 21:49:56

This is a terrific product. I have used blue felt, strips of yarn, strips of blue construction paper, and other crude markers for rivers and streams, on my gaming tables... They all looked pathetic.

Rubber rivers and streams look nice, but they are terribly expensive -- beyond my meager gaming budget. I considered making my own, using clear caulking, and inexpensive materials as a base, but that would take a tremendous amount of time, and effort -- little money, but my time is valuable to me, so that never happened either.

Enter the "E-Z Tiles: River & Streams"! They look fantastic, they only require the time and effort to print them out, cut them to size, and, for me, to mount them to vinyl floor tile backing, with clear Contact Paper over the printed side, to protect them for years to come. I printed off 24 tiles, mounted them to vinyl floor tile backing, covered them in clear Contact Paper, and then I cut them to size, all in one afternoon! Those 24 tiles, when placed in proper formation, yielded a 9 foot 7 inch stream!

Easy, durable (when mounted, and protected with Contact Paper), easy to build, easy to use, and affordable, both in cash, and my time! Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
E-Z TILES: Rivers & Streams
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

B6 The Veiled Society (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/25/2013 14:58:36

Written for Basic D&D, but easily adaptable to nearly any version of D&D (used it with 2nd Ed. AD&D). It features a murder mystery, which leads into a lot of role-playing with some political intrigue. It can easily be adapted to any city the GM cares to plant it in. I really enjoyed it, but as usual, the players took it in a direction not really scripted in the module -- not a complaint, just a note that this is not a particularly linear adventure. Make sure you understand the groups involved, before you start running it, as well as their intrigues. Fun adventure, glad I purchased it, really enjoyed playing it with my group. Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B6 The Veiled Society (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

COPPER DRAGON: Dungeon Perils 1
Publisher: Fat Dragon Games
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/24/2013 16:41:16

These pieces are made to be placed on top of the other Copper Dragon sets, primarily the Dungeons Sets, rather than the Cavern Sets. The traps featured are nice, and primarily the standard types. To spring them on your hapless PC"s, just pull out the appropriate trap (fire jets, lightning bolts, slime fountains, pit traps, or...), and place them over the appropriate floor/hallway section, beneath the PC figures. A fantastic addition to the other Copper Dragon sets. Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
COPPER DRAGON: Dungeon Perils 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 75 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG