RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Masters of Jade
Publisher: White Wolf
by Richard J. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/22/2012 16:18:32
I really like the vinettes about, and the emphasis on "ground level" stuff in Creation, while still having cool supernatural things about to chew on and spur some ideas. I also think there was some great story hook stuff, especially in the West and South parts of the directions, and the stuff on the Guild's interaction with mortals. I also really liked the stuff on the Underworld, raksha, and the Sidereals in all of it.

I think there are a couple criticisms. I still don't quite understand the discussion on why the Guild doesn't do long-term stuff instead of breaking a region's back wiht swing-monopolies (the paragraph seems almost to cut-off, but I might be misreading it). The secretary who used to be dream-eaten has to of risen really fast in just five years to get to her job if it was a Defiler that gave her a soul back. And I was sort of surprised to see Bren Marst downgraded from hierarch. I also am a bit confused as to whether hierarchs are actually replaced or not. The section on elections and their validity implied to e that sometimes they are, sometimes they aren't.

Still, very solid book, and something to get me amped to run Exalted again, which is always something that I think a good book needs to do. Creation-Ruling Mandate is also very useful seeming and I have to do some playtesting and organization-sketching with it one of these days, I think.

And stuff.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Masters of Jade
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Compass of Celestial Directions, Vol. VI - Autochthonia [SUBSCRIPTION]
Publisher: White Wolf
by Richard J. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/12/2011 01:11:33
Very solid book. Probably the best PDF-first book for the line so far and one of the best Compass books. There's a lot of care so far to make sure the themes of the setting are covered, we get good idea of life in the bizarre place, and adventure hooks all over ot play in it.

To boot, it looks pretty (good cover, good comic), with no recycled art and a good design asthetic to make it unique. Its clearly written and well done. It feels like very much of the wording is clean, clear, and able to say a lot without dragging things out.

Really liking it. Glad I got the whole set and love to see what else is coming up for it!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Compass of Celestial Directions, Vol. VI - Autochthonia [SUBSCRIPTION]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Broken-Winged Crane
Publisher: White Wolf
by Richard J. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/10/2010 22:09:45
A very solid product. Filled with many useful game elements, ranging from hearthstones, a Background that helps Infernals play like they feel like Rock Stars and of course, a wide range of Charms to flesh-out, distinguish and customize one's own character.

The Charms themselves continue on the high note that is the Infernal Charmset mechanically adn thematically. In addition, adding Kimbery and Heretical Charms gives characters more room to grow in new, interesting directions and help STs create interesting and frightening antagonists.

Its also very well-done. The way it looks on the screen surprised me, and I like the use of filters, coloring, and appropriate (albeit recycled0 artwork for the various scenes. Very solid work ashtetically and including a B&W version for printing purposes was also a very good design choice.

Its worth the five bucks. I think WHite Wolf has shown to be quite awesome on their eBooks and I'm glad with each one I buy.

And stuff.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Broken-Winged Crane
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Thousand Correct Actions
Publisher: White Wolf
by Richard J. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/05/2010 00:33:02
This book got me hooked on the first two paragraphs of the Preface and kept me reading through from there. The first half is very flavorful, itneresting and will add a pile of plot hooks and great setting elements to flesh-out Exalted characters and games I feel.

The second half continues this with a compilation of great errata, lots of cool new Charms which give the Dragon-Blooded a solid Charmset and very coherent and interesting theme.

And it all looks good, with the easy to read and Spartan ficitonal bits to the very nicely laid-out and color Charms. Really highly recommended and required for anything for Terrestrial Exalted in a Second Edition game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Thousand Correct Actions
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Glories of the Most High: The Maidens of Destiny
Publisher: White Wolf
by Richard J. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/05/2009 21:50:23
Great resource for Sidereal fans. Their patrons, new Sidereal Charms (yay!), three new Martial Arts, a great tying of the goddesses into teh setting. Very useful and full of plot hooks.

Only gripe may be that I could of liked more Sidereal Charms and errata. But awesome otherwise.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Glories of the Most High: The Maidens of Destiny
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Glories of the Most High: Luna
Publisher: White Wolf
by Richard J. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/05/2009 21:48:59
The best of the set. Luna is very interesting and now feels part of the setting. Gaia gets coverage we never thought we'd get. The Moon itself seems like a great place ot try and visit for games. New Charms and Knacks are awesome. White Reaper Style is great.

Main gripe is recycled artwork and I noticed a couple layout errors with bolding or font, but those are minor quibbles. Excellent product.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Glories of the Most High: Luna
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Glories of the Most High: The Unconquered Sun
Publisher: White Wolf
by Richard J. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/05/2009 21:47:27
The Sun is quite awesome, tons of new Solar Charms, new Artifact sand even some cool misc. stuff.

My main gripe is the lack of Charms for some specific Abilities, namely, no Charms at all for Archery, Thrown, War, Larceny and Sail. But what we get for other Abilities is a lot of good and great stuff to take into account for balancing custom Charms. Still very worth the five stars, though.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Glories of the Most High: The Unconquered Sun
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Lost Arts of the Dead
Publisher: White Wolf
by Richard J. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/05/2009 21:45:10
Arcanoi themselves are just not well-balanced, poorly playtested if at all, speed-bump ridden and not well thought-out. Pretty much needed to run ghosts, but I think they build issues with the actual Roll of Glorious Divinity II Arcanoi still prevail.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Lost Arts of the Dead
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Imperfect Lotus
Publisher: White Wolf
by Richard J. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/05/2009 21:43:45
The styles are cool, but some seem to not be as well-balanced as they can be a few years after. Still, I think the Virtue styles are some of the better ones in Second Edition, the fluff is cool and I would suggest it strongly.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Imperfect Lotus
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Daughter of Nexus (Exalted)
Publisher: White Wolf
by Richard J. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/05/2009 21:42:08
Its a module for Exalted, and so you have to do some railreading to get it to work. But I think with some modifictions and a liberal use of what's here, its a great cournal to start a game with.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Daughter of Nexus (Exalted)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG