RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Narrow Results
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Basic Game
 

This product is no longer available from RPGNow.com

Average Rating:4.2 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
46 24
14 16
7 7
3 5
2 4
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Basic Game
Click to view
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Basic Game
Publisher: Margaret Weis Productions
by Michael L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/23/2012 21:00:20
I am a big fan of superhero systems, and I was really looking forward to this game. My first impression was that it would be a quick and unique narrative experience, but after some playtesting I came away a bit disappointed. The rules are a bit clunky to read through but the actual gameplay is easy to understand and pick up. Just keep in mind this is a narrative style game meant for short term events, not long term campaigns with strong character growth and progression. Powers are just descriptive benchmarks and die codes, so don't expect extensive rules on how they work. At best it seems a short term beer and pretzel game. If you are looking for depth and crunch, look elsewhere.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Basic Game
Publisher: Margaret Weis Productions
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/21/2012 22:08:37
I love this game, pure and simple. The mechanics took a bit of getting used to but I saw people I ran this for just come alive. Once you get used to making dice pools the rounds don't take too long. I LIKE the character creation rules. In this game it's ok to have Thor and Black Widow on the same team, because they will both be useful. Yes, Thor is not in the book. He was dead when Breakout was going on. he gets better though and he will show up...and it's not like it's tough to make your own :) I have enjoyed all 8 sessions of this I have run so far and I will enjoy more I am sure :)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Basic Game
Publisher: Margaret Weis Productions
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 04/19/2012 16:57:23
I have now had Marvel Heroic Roleplaying now for about a month. I have read it. Re-read it. Watched games, read reviews and even detailed some characters. Here are my thoughts.

I have to be honest, I am still and probably always be a DC fan foremost. I "dabbled" in Marvel back in the 80's like others. I enjoyed the X-Men, loved Spider-Man, enjoyed Doctor Strange and Ghost Rider...and that was about it. I didn't have any dislike for Marvel, I just like DC better. I enjoyed the old TSR Marvel game, but I also liked DC Heroes from Mayfair and Villains and Vigilantes.

Ok. So there are a lot of reviews out for this now, and there is really nothing new I can add to all of that. Here is though less of a review and more of a bunch of my opinions and insights on the game.

The most notable feature of this game is there is nothing in the way of comparing ability to ability really. Yes there are things like "combat expert" and there levels of that, but nothing along the lines of Strength vs. Strength So there is no way to tell really who would win in an arm wrestling Thor or Thing. But the deal is that this not something that is likely to happen UNLESS it was part of the plot, then the winner is decided by other things.

MHR is more of a game where the players are providing the framework. You need to create your character with the other characters and players in mind. Maybe not as much as Smallville or Leverage, but still. It is also a game where the main drama is about heroes, not really supers. It really is a "comic book" RPG, not a cartoon, supers or even super hero movie RPG. This game is about building characters, the relationships between them and the drama. Which, if you think about it, is kinda what Marvel Comics is about.

The game moves well from what I have seen in play and after working with your character you get the hang of the game quickly.

The book itself is great to look at, but I was expecting more to be honest. Compare to Green Ronin's DC book. The DCA is overflowing with art. Everywhere. MHR has art, but it seems to use it more sparingly. Plus I swear it was the same characters over and over. I could easily name dozens of character I didn't see, but that is not the point, I would have liked some others.
I would have liked to Dr. Strange or some other magical/mystical types since that is my favorite part of any game and Marvel in particular. Strange at least is important enough that he should be included in the Basic rules.

Will I play this game?
That is really the only question right? Yes, I love to try it out with the right group. To me the right group would be people who are willing to invest in their characters and be able to "play the drama". So yes, with the right group of people.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Basic Game
Publisher: Margaret Weis Productions
by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/18/2012 03:51:01
There seems to be a tradition, from previous iterations of Marvel superhero RPGs, towards using funky, modern systems. The original TSR version had it's FEATS system and Universal Table; the mid-90s saw a card based SAGA system being used, and now we have a Indie style Cortex Plus system to digest.

All these systems have the dubious distinction of confusing the hell out of me, but I can't deny they are innovative. What we get here is a pretty complete, full color package with A+ production standards that you'd expect from a major license. Lots of familiar Heroes and Villains are outlined in the rules, and I've no doubt more will be added. There are rules towards designing your own heroes (thankfully) but it doesn't seem to be a major drive in the game unlike other RPGs (like Champions, primarily). It'll no doubt be successful - with The Avengers movie just round the corner - and should compete well against DC Heroes for the forceable future. But then, looking at the sales already, you probably knew that already!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Basic Game
Publisher: Margaret Weis Productions
by Chuck C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/31/2012 16:54:27
This book delivers. Following in the footsteps of the classic Marvel game from TSR back in the day, written by much of the same team that produced the monumental Dresden Files game, and using lots of dice in fun and tactical ways, this game promises to deliver a wallop. Worth the price in interesting ideas alone.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Basic Game
Publisher: Margaret Weis Productions
by Tony G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/31/2012 09:24:15
I was counting down the minutes until this game came out! I had played The DC game, as well as many other "Hero" type games. I have to say this was a complete disapointment. Some of the heroes power levels make no sense. The "starter" mission is just a playthrough of a comic run? I don't know, they really dropped the ball. I just hope that another company buys the rights and makes a different game. I would love it if they had the DC/Mutants and mastermind system used- instaead of the modified- hahaha "Leverage" system... really people?

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Basic Game
Publisher: Margaret Weis Productions
by Ian F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/24/2012 17:37:03
The game is solid. The rules help you mirror superheroic role-playing, and as basic rules without the Marvel content, they are fantastic. The book is easy to follow, looks great as an ebook and flows well. There are a few places where the information could be presented clearer (a basic chart showing the different outcomes of actions would work great), and the selection of Heroes in the book should have included more iconic Marvel Heroes (no Hulk? no Thor? really?).

But I'm going to be playing this Marvel game for a long, long time. It has knocked every other super hero RPG off of my shelf, and it will be joined by the upcoming supplements that detail the major Marvel events. I have been reccomending it to all of my friends, and have found teaching it easy and straigtforward.

Most importantly, it's tons of fun to play.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Basic Game
Publisher: Margaret Weis Productions
by Eric A. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 03/22/2012 14:41:22
This game is okay if you want to inject some roleplay into your Marvel Heroes miniatures game, but as a stand alone system it is a bit too cumbersome. The dice mechanic is okay but not snappy like comic book action should be.

Also, the lack of character gen rules is glaring. Playing the Avengers is cool and all, but without being able to inject your own ideas and characters into it, it just seems very masturbatory. I do not want to play a hero fan-fic.

I am not a fan of established IP hero games and this one reenforces that.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Basic Game
Publisher: Margaret Weis Productions
by Mark M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2012 23:55:58
The book is beautiful and looks and feels like a trade paperback. The game is extremely fun and fast. The rules are easy to read and easy to understand. The mechanics are not your usual fare and take some getting used to, but after working through a few scenes really becomes easy to play. It captures the "comic book" feel and running the game is pretty streamlined for the "Watcher". The dice pools work fantastic and it is really run to watch the odds escalate against the heroes as the "Doom Pool" grows. If you dont feel like being an established Marvel hero or villain, make up your own with an easy and simple character generation system.

Its lots of fun and worth the price. So as for me....MAKE MINE MARVEL:)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Basic Game
Publisher: Margaret Weis Productions
by Antonio E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2012 11:21:02
I had high expectations, but sadly this game did not satisfy me. For starters, I am not a Marvel comics expert, though I enjoy reading a comic every now and then, or watching a movie. But this game has absolutely zero background. I was also expecting something fast-moving and quick (as advertised), much like the old beloved Marvel TSR FASERIP game, instead we get tens of pages of rules just to solve conflicts. Between forming a dice pool, rolling the dice, sorting them, comparing with a reaction roll (which involves more or less the same steps as before) then adjudicating the effects; it takes a LONG time (literally minutes.)
On the good side the character writeups are nice (though absolutely incomplete: no Thor, no Hulk just to name two ICONS of the Marvel universe,) and in general the game is very light on stats. If it weren't for the dice-rolling method, this could have been a blast. Then I compare this with my old Marvel RPG revised basic set, and frankly I feel ripped :(

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Basic Game
Publisher: Margaret Weis Productions
by Gilles B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/16/2012 13:49:16
I got the pdf of this game while waiting for the paperback because i was curious what kind of mechanics they would use after playing Smallville, which was an interesting take on the genre.

I'm not going to repeat what others have already said about the basics of this game, read the reviews and you will get the info you need.

I gave it an average score basically because i feel the die pool mechanic central to the game can be too easily abused : create a character with initial die codes for stats, powers and specialties into the d10s, get 2 power sets (1 more die to roll each time), systematically use distinctions to get PPs early, use those PPs to keep extra die for your result, trying to get a +5 or +10 extraordinary success that will step up your effect die (which will more than probably be a d10 since its all you're rolling) or use another PP to activate an SFX that does just that, hopefully going over the d12 range, netting you an instant win over any opposition!! (and i'm not even talking about using your own stress die in your pool). Someone else commented that this game is far too in favour of the PCs, and i fear they might be quite right.

This game demands mature gamers who will be more interested in the storyline being comicbook-like than winning or being the biggest badass around.

My other letdown was the character creation. I don't mind so much having to piecemeal or reverse engineer powers, sfx and milestones (although no game should basically left you on your own in such a critical area), but i need to have more examples to work with if you're not going to give me exact rules on how to do it. Marvel Heroic Roleplaying has only around 65 characters to look up, many with the same SFX, and only 45 powers, including 25 SFX. By comparison, the old Basic Marvel Super Heroes had around 85 characters and 90 powers, while the Advanced MSH had about the same amount of characters (going up to 135 if you count the basic animals, aliens and ordinary foes also included - something also left out in MHR) and 120 powers.

I understand that lots more are coming in the Events books scheduled for later, but i'm not too keen in the meantime on having to either copy/paste parts of other heroes or villains to come up with something that just resemble the hero/villain i have in mind, or spend over an hour trying to convert someone from another system without much guidelines in using SFX or creating Milestones (which are the two most difficult parts to get right IMHO, although in fairness i must say that, strangely, creating a hero or villain out of nowhere would probably be easier than an established one - for example, while making a hero who can become a shadow i had to "simulate" that power with Invisibility, Intangibility and Stretching - not exactly intuitive. There was also a question about the necessity of Flight for a hero with Gravity Control and Teleportation).

I also feel that the 13 specialities in the book (vs 20 in the Basic MSH and 40 in the Advanced MSH) do not cover everything, or, like a lot of things in this game, must be either taken for granted/included in something else or plainly not important enough to note, which in turn leads to a feeling of "sameness" from lack of sufficiently distinctive details (and i'm not advocating using MnM or Champion here either).

Nevertheless i'm hoping the gaming itself will prove fun after all, and we can finally reset our old Marvel/VnV campaign into high gear ;)

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Basic Game
Publisher: Margaret Weis Productions
by Scott A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/15/2012 10:46:25
This is the most Fantastic comic book role playing game I've ever played. The Amazing mechanics allow players to really get into their characters and visualize playing in the comics. It's Unearthly how good this game is at depicting the Marvel Universe. It would be Monstrous not to check it out.

Seriously go buy this game it is so much fun.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Basic Game
Publisher: Margaret Weis Productions
by Gary M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/10/2012 14:24:22
Well this product is one I have been waiting for with a lot of trepidation. Superheros and roleplaying? Whats not to like. Unfortunatly quite a bit in the Marvel Heroic Roleplaying game. MWP have a habit (or as we say in the uk, they have "Form") for acqquiring high profile IP, releasing in a glut of publicity a initial couple of books and then letting the product drop like a stone. They are also known for shoe horning any IP to fit the inhouse system.
The issue with this is first its not really a roleplaying game in its fullest sense, as their are no charachter generation rules, reducing it to nothing more than a glorified super hero battle game. Ok there are guidlines for creating your own "Data files" but its really just info on converting existing charachters from existing comics. Not only that but there is absolutely no background info on the marvel universe, assuming that you have encyclopedic knowledge of the milieu, I mean you have the main universe, the ultimate and then the cinematic universe, where do you start
And then there is the game system. I have no issues with the cortex system, I think it suited Serenity, Galactica and Supernatural very well. The version seen in Leverage is also well suited to the cinematic style of play required by its subject matter. However here it just does not seem to work and comes a across as needlesly complex when really it should be easy. Personally I feel a bit cheated. I have no doubt that a series of add ons will follow filling in the cracks or rather, gaping chasms, in the systems and (lack) of background. I feel a bit cheated. You would be better of downloading the free 4 Colour system, and any number of fan sites that still support it

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Basic Game
Publisher: Margaret Weis Productions
by Berin K. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 03/10/2012 12:38:43
I really like the mechanic, where you build a die pool based on circumstance rather than just raw power, and the way bad die rolls become both later advantages for the player and resources for the gamemaster. Incredibly clever. The overall layout is easy to follow, the illustrated examples make the game easy to learn, and the who thing is just made for maximum fun.

One caveat: If you already like Cortex, this is... different. In a good way. Set aside expectations of how Cortex works and be ready for something new.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Basic Game
Publisher: Margaret Weis Productions
by Devon K. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 03/08/2012 20:56:56
When you grab this game (and you really should) be prepared for an adventure-filled ride! This game lets you play your favorite Marvel heroes and fight against the worst Marvel villains. That has been something that I have wanted to do, every now and then.

This game uses the Cortex Plus system, which continues to mature as presented in this book. This system flows much more quickly than in the previous Cortex Plus games I've experienced. The system also has quite a few dice tricks that players can mess around with, during the game, tweaking their chance of success and the degree of said success. It's very fun and engages the player that much more. It adds a bit of strategy to your attacks that I haven't seen in the other Cortex Plus games.

When you snag this book, be prepared to read and re-read the rules sections, as the rules presentation hits fast and hard. I couldn't help but think that the system was being downloaded to me as I read through each section. The rules are separated and presented in a way that I believe will be easy for most people to understand, but it does move from one rule to the next with little time for you to absorb what you've just seen. So, yes, you'll likely want to read the rules section, then go back and skim over it again. However, this isn't a big chore, since only about half the book touches on the rules.

This book is over 200 pages, yes, but the system is only about 120 of those. The rest is the introductory Event along with quite a few character Datafiles. This makes me happy on two different fronts. One, I love rules systems that don't drone on and on. And the second part, all the datafiles for the Marvel characters, lets me read up on all those wonderful heroes, without having to go out and buy comics. I finally understand what my comic-book-fan friends are talking about!

I did have a couple of complaints with this book. The first was the section on character generation. This book assumes you'll be playing one of Marvel's characters through the Events. While they do present rules to make you own, they're more of a suggested guideline and there is no discussion, that I saw, of how to incorporate your characters in the Marvel universe.

My second complaint was at how large and complicated the Event creation process is, as presented in the book. Creating an Event, as they suggest you do it, seems like it's going to take about as long as creating a stereotypical fantasy campaign. I will say that, while you're reading that section, it'll be easy for you to distill the essential elements of the Event and dramatically shorten the process, but I think it would have been good to have more of that discussed in the book, as well.

All in all, this is another great Cortex Plus game from the awesome team at MWP. Thanks, guys!

http://podcast.sharkbonegames.com

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 16 to 30 (of 56 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG