Quick Find
 Categories
     Sister sites
     Information
    See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

    Having Problems?
    • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
    • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
    • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

    Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to !

    Our Latest Newsletter
    Product Reviews
    Privacy Policy
    How to Sell on
    Convention Support Program


    RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
    Back
    Other comments left for this publisher:
    You must be logged in to rate this
    Roots of Legend
    by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2021 22:56:29

    The Tabletop Gaming Club got the opportunity to playtest the product a couple of months before its release. We can't say enough good things about this product. The author dug deep into myth and literature for many of the wonderful Flora and Fauna that appear within the tome's pages. We really loved the Hospitalitree which was enspired by L. Frank Baums work Ozma of Oz.

    Everything in this book helps bring the magical world of Changeling to life. WE STRONGLY RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT TO EVERYONE. Even game masters of other world of darkness lines or even other game systems can make use of materials presented in Encylopedica Magica chapter of this book.

    A+ product.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Roots of Legend
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Bordeaux by Night - Storytellers Guide
    by Rissa D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2021 19:49:07

    I was really excited to crack into this product, since it got good reviews and came highly reccomended by the author. However, what I saw very much did not live up to the hype.

    The book is very poorly edited. I know English is not the author's first language, but it badly needs to be read over by someone more fluent. Some parts are fine, but others are borderline unreadable. Formatting is also not great, with third- to half-pages regularly left blank and wide margins inflating the page count unnecessarily.

    History section is probably the most useful bit; I got some ideas there for certain.

    The section on local folklore and important dates is lacking. There's nothing wrong with the details themselves, but the focus is all wrong for a Vampire chronicle. Bank holidays and when school children go on their lunch breaks are cool, but they're not useful to an average game at all. The Player's Guide is better in this regard, but I shouldn't have to buy two separate books just to get basic info about the city. I'm also not sure what the logic is between what of this info got into the Player's Guide and what got into this book.

    Most of the rest of the book is NPCs. And they're... not good. Many of them are quite bland, with generic backstories and one-note personalities. "I am a racist and don't like minorities", "I am a serial killing creep", "I am an all-around nice guy", etc. A few others feel very unlikely - Lyle, Claudia, and Victor in particular border on the rediculous in one regard or another.

    On the bright side, I like the idea of the surface vs hidden Nosferatu, as well as the detailing of a few important ghouls and of some of the local other supernaturals - a good call for STs who might want to focus on that sort of thing. There was a few NPCs I liked as well.

    Coterie breakdowns are fine, a bit oddly formatted and suffering from the same problems as the NPCs that make them up. The story hooks are OK, but many of them lack depth. I'd like to see a bit more complex stories suggested - there's really only one or two that work as a major chronicle plot, rather than a sidequest.

    The influence explanations at the end are good and helpful, as is the timeline. The table of contents is linked to the sections it references which is really nice, although for some reason it's at the end of the book?

    The biggest problem here, though, is the pricing. This book costs $20 US, or it's availible as part of a bundle with the Player's Guide for $35. This is the same price as a meaty V20 suppliment like Lore of the Clans. I understand pricing it up a little bit because they likely will sell fewer copies than "official" work and you want to get actual return on your time investment, but considering that the ST Guide alone is around twice the price of the official By Night sourcebooks, with less content, it's very underwhelming.

    Overall, there was a few interesting ideas in here, but if I hadn't gotten it on a good sale, I'd feel like I wasted my money.



    Rating:
    [2 of 5 Stars!]
    Bordeaux by Night - Storytellers Guide
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Creator Reply:
    Hi! Thank you for having taken the time to review my book, and I'll fully take the "English is my third language" criticism. I suck at prose :') I'm sorry you didn't feel like it was all that good to you, and especially about the characters, I'm sorry you thought they were bland or unrealistic, but considering I'm working with a franchise which has Totentaz and Enkidu, I can only invite you to re-read them and try to see why they're "a racist" and "a serial killing creep", what's their potential roles to the players, and what is rooted in their motivations. They're not just that, and that's the problem. I won't comment on what's a matter of pure opinion, however I would like to talk about some of the elements you've pointed out: - The margins. They're the official margins of official templates, using the official fonts with the official spacing between lines, paragraphs and so on. I did not modify anything about text placement and columns in the official template (I only changed the original frame to my vine one). You may call it page inflation if you'd like but it is White Wolf's doing, not mine. - Partly blank pages. That's page breaks, which is a common practice to avoid crammed content. I chose to insert a page break for each character, as they can be used as PCs and as such, need to be printed/extracted without elements of another's background in the page. It also allows for better accessibility of the contents, and it's more consistent. - The Table of contents. It's at the end because it's the full ToC, while the one with just the first two levels is at the beginning (that's the Summary). Using a whole bunch of pages at the beginning with the full display of all title levels is useless, hence why it's with the index. This is a very common practice in many publications which are meant to be referenced. - The price: I believe you miswrote your "$35", as the bundle (before the addition of the Revised of this ST guide) was $25, not $35. I will not argue with you on pricing politics in TTRPGs, but you're comparing a fully crowdfunded book with a whole lot of preorders with someone doing everything out of pocket, and I do not think that comparison is fair to either party. - Long games. It's a sandbox setting where the PCs are the missing piece. The long-campaign type of games will happen from there, and from the domino effects caused by the first few elements they find out. There's no "side quests", but everything meshes into one big story: the PCs' story. I'd also like to point out that this book is a By Night, not a Campaign/Chronicle. Feel free to contact me on social media so I can send you a review copy of the revised version of this book, perhaps you'll find the organization more relevant to your interests and I believe I fixed most of the poorly written moments. Thanks again for having taken the time to share your thoughts, they're appreciated. Take care!
    Roots of Legend
    by Aaron A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2021 03:07:09

    An Immaculate and Enchanting stroll into the mysteries of the deep fae woods and what lies in the Garden when you aren't looking, I highly recommend Roots of Legend to any storyteller as there is some many things you could find use for inside its pages. I can't wait to incorporate this in my current Changeling game!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Roots of Legend
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    A Musical Interlude: Victorian Age Jumpstart
    by Mathieu R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2021 14:21:58

    Sorry but it is very poor. A plot, some NPCs and go for it! If at least some nice pictures from this era were added to build the intended atmosphere. Unfortunately, the material provided remains very empty.



    Rating:
    [1 of 5 Stars!]
    A Musical Interlude: Victorian Age Jumpstart
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Miami by Night: The Miami Food Chain
    by Matt B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2021 16:26:05

    I'd have rated 3.5 if I could - but went with 4.

    This book does not have Geography, History, or a Storytelling section that you'd expect to see in a By Night book.

    This book does have plenty of Character Folios (NPCs). They are good quality, well written, and very usable characters - for Miami or anywhere you wanted to use them.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Miami by Night: The Miami Food Chain
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Sprites
    by Andrew D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2021 17:49:22

    Super interesting approach to a Kith evolving to fit the 21st Century! I really love how it opens up new ways of looking at the relationship between the Dreaming and advanced technology, and that it gives some options for new factions/setting material with the Church of Isadore. Great work!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Sprites
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    The Seduction of Goratrix
    by Don F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/01/2021 17:44:42

    The Warning is an understatement! The Tremere of a significant part of this this book are pre-Vampire, i.e. the House Tremere of Ars Magica. I have difficulty imagining this House in this way. Nor can I easily imagine this as the secret, underlying culture of the Clan Tremere in the modern nights. That being said... to each his own. But I would warn buyers to take the Warning seriously.



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    The Seduction of Goratrix
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Creator Reply:
    "The secret, underlying culture of House and Clan Tremere has always been sex with Gargoyles. I don't know what you're talking about." -Etrius
    Demon Players Guide
    by Derek W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/01/2021 09:43:17

    Great quality reproduction, almost as good as the original!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Demon Players Guide
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    SotM's Ladies of Darkness Ghouls and Vampires
    by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/29/2021 11:09:40

    Ladies of Darkness Ghouls & Vampires is accumalation of the author's Ladies in Darkness Series. This book takes the characters introduced as mortals in those other products and now presents them as ghouls and vampires. The product first represents these characters with roleplaying notes. In the second chapter this product ppresents these characters as ghouls with an updated background of how they they meet their dominator. (The author uses existing characters from other books as the various dominators). The third chapter of this product, presents these characters as vampires with updated backgrounds of how their sires chose them. One of the great things about this product is the different way the same base character is protrayed... for example the character of Axel Lamer is presented as both a Assamite Ghoul and a Ventrue Vampire. Aother great thing about this product is the variation they give to each character based on who is their dominator or sire, with each giving different bonuses to the base characters. This allows players or storytellers to take any character presented to be modifed differently based on who they want to be their sires or dominators.... which gives a ton of options.

    The Tabletop Gaming Club loved this product. We strongly recommend this product to players and storytellers.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    SotM's Ladies of Darkness Ghouls and Vampires
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    50 Desperate Desires
    by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/29/2021 10:17:00

    50 Desperate Desire is basically a table of possible goals that a vampire can work for during heir waking hours. The ideas on the table can really spark some creativity, and give a player or storyteller some concepts to run with. That being said, rolling dice to chose a result from this table doesn't feel all that useful, as most players i don't think would want to randomly determine what their character would do, and as a storyteller randomly chosing one of these goals would be difficult as some of them are ideas that entire story arc can be set around, while others are pretty much can be accomplished in 5 mins of game play.

    The tabletop gaming club found this product useful as inspiration, and some of the stuff on the table would make great campaigns. We recommend checking it.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    50 Desperate Desires
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Kings Under the Channel
    by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2021 12:14:32

    The section about the Trail of Kings beneath the channel is great. The general idea of Kindred establishing an Elysium with several services open to all is brilliant, the fact that they exploit human misery to secure sustenance in the form of the Saunterers is pure WoD The general services provided in the Trail can be used to move a chronicle there without much issue, at least for a few sessions.

    The second part of the book is also very good, at the beginning we disliked the idea of another "sect whitin the sect" but the author manage the get us invested in the history of the Confrérie and the ralationship with stablished VtM canon.

    The Tabletop Gaming Club recommends this product, its a great city book for a truly unique city.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Kings Under the Channel
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    The Nine Spheres
    by Zachery N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2021 16:11:44

    As a new mage player I found this chart to be very helpful. Not only is it a good refrence but it spurred on new ideas to impliment. Highly reccomeneded.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Nine Spheres
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Roots of Legend
    by Lisa K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2021 14:56:34

    Ok I picked this up yesterday and have been blazing through it. 10/10, please make more material.

    The only real complaint have with the entire thing, it didn't come with bookmarks. Thats it.

    This felt like a main line finished and polished product. Art 10/10 Consistent through the entire book. Writing 10/10 Consistent and clean.

    New Art, Interesting without being game breaking. Same for the new skills and treasures and merits! I have enjoyed this so much Im going to have it printed in color and bound.

    PLEASE Make more C20 Material!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Roots of Legend
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Creator Reply:
    Don't worry, there is more in the works!
    50 Chrysalis Manifestations
    by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2021 16:19:04

    50 Chrysalis Manifestations is a short product that basically exists of a table with various short descriptions of chrysalis manifestions to be used in a changeling campaign.

    The Tabletop Gaming club found this product useful for ideas to use when a changeling first awakens to their fae nature.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    50 Chrysalis Manifestations
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    50 Disturbing Drones
    by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2021 16:15:15

    50 Distrubing Drones is a short product that basically exists of a table with various short descriptions of disturbing drones to be used in a campaign.

    The Tabletop Gaming club found this product useful when we needed a quick scene for a campaign.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    50 Disturbing Drones
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Displaying 1 to 15 (of 3006 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
    0 items
     Hottest Titles
    There are currently no reviews for this product