Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » BPB Games » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Book of Spiders for Savage Worlds
by Mike C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2019 23:08:56

This is one of my favorite RPG purchases in quite a while. My players were creeped out long before they met the spiders. I gave them every clue: Webs in the path, movement in the shadows, egg sacks in the foliage... and they were utterly unprepared for the special horror of a spider type I chose from this book. Each type is creepy and deadly and probably requires a different combat strategy. But mostly, each is completely fresh and not at all what your players are expecting.

There are eight spider types, and two particularly strange ones are illustrated. I wish they all were illustrated, but this is worth every penny as-is.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Spiders for Savage Worlds
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Savage Worlds Wargaming
by Joseph H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/08/2019 22:56:39

I ran this as a wargame for 2, with custom small unit rules (1 Squad of hand picked extras, 1 hand picked Wild Card) for myself and a newbie to the savage worlds system at a local game store.

Though my lack of pre-game setup and the amount of talking we did about various systems and campaigns and settings (OSR and classic TTRPGs mostly) made it take about 45 minutes to set up (Most of that was the conversation), I believe that we could have been ready in as little as 10 minutes, and the game lasted about 35 with small unit rules.

Everything worked very well (A credit to two things: The fact it layered itself over the top of the already great Savage Worlds rules minimalistically and with a light touch only where needed, and to the quality of the pre-generated units), and we had a really fun time. The best part is, he's that much more likely to join my future campaigns, because by using the Savage Worlds rules for a wargame, I had the perfect icebreaker to get people interested in the system for RPG play.

I have very little complaints about the product, especially given the Pay What You Want pricing scheme. The product is worth $2-$5 to me and I plan on chipping in as soon as I can afford to do so, likely next month.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Wargaming
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

StarStreamers: Rescue Mission One Sheet
by Sophia T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/08/2019 18:26:49

Wonderful product from a wonderful group. Always a pleasure to see another product from BPB Games!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
StarStreamers: Rescue Mission One Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

pntr.exe, a Tragic Boss for Savage Worlds
by Kevin K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2019 18:54:41

creating an invincible boss monster that players fear is simple enough; all you need is to create a monster that can take billion damage. Though 'memorable', most players would likely to opt out of such encounters if only to avoid the tedium. A boss monster that players look forward to fighting, not because of loot or easy difficulty but for the sake of experiencing it, is something else entirely; a proverbial itch that this module scratches. It not only covers emphesis on mobility, turn economy, and damage mitigation, but it also saves room for indirect NPC assistance and non-combat actions. Being able to contribute to the fight regardless of 'optimal build' is surprisingly underrated and sought after, by those who had the fortune of experiencing it



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pntr.exe, a Tragic Boss for Savage Worlds
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

New NPCS: The Lovers (Savage Worlds)
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2019 19:51:32

Cool story, cool statblocks, and super gay, all for a very reasonable price. 10/10



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
New NPCS: The Lovers (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

New NPCS: The Lovers (Savage Worlds)
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2019 16:57:12

I've have wanted to run a Lich encounter like this for sometime but never could make up a story to best explain how it wasn't a corrupt evil creature other than "He just isn't or a God did it".

It's also quite heart warming to see what two people in love with one another not have to have it twisted or bend in order for drama/conflict with player characters. If done right the players can come off as the villians against the pair and the other NPC that could know the duo.

Thank you and I'm looking forward to trying this out on my players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Tokusatsu: Kaiju, Mechs, and Heroes for Savage Worlds
by Justin M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2019 22:10:37

Savage Tokusatsu is unique in that it represent an under utalized genre in the sphere of Tabletop RPGs. Using the savage worlds mehchanics and setting rules allows for it to follow or break genre conventions in an interesting manner.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Tokusatsu: Kaiju, Mechs, and Heroes for Savage Worlds
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Savage Tokusatsu: Kaiju, Mechs, and Heroes for Savage Worlds
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2019 15:42:14

This is a fantastic book for lovers of Power Rangers, to Sailor Moon, to Godzilla. It has great cartoony artwork in a layout that is both easy to read and look at and not obtrusive. Its additions, mechanics, and everything else are all wonderfully done and include everything you would need to plug and play and have a Sentai game going for a one short or short campaign in little to no time!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
StarStreamers: World Killer One Sheet
by Kevin K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2019 21:01:53

I was told this would be a one-sheet. there's two

the creators lied to me

5/5



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
StarStreamers: World Killer One Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

StarStreamers: Cryo-Waken One Sheet
by Greg B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2019 20:50:52

With a unique concept like StarStreamers, adventures are needed that allow you to get a feel of how the game is played. Cryo-Waken does a great job of giving readers a feel for how a game of StarStreamers works, and can provide an interesting means of introcueing this system to your players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
StarStreamers: Cryo-Waken One Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

StarStreamers: A Science Fantasy Game of Social Media Fame (for Savage Worlds)
by Greg B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2019 20:46:36

StarStreamers does a great job providing a unique setting for Savage Worlds. Using the theming of being a streamer can provide unique adventures for your players to play in. There's also new species, edges, and items to further customize your character. Seeing the game in action by watching their stream shows that the system works, and with the right people can produce a fun, unique game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
StarStreamers: A Science Fantasy Game of Social Media Fame (for Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

StarStreamers: Dance 'Til You're Dead One Sheet
by Kevin K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2019 19:53:14

ever thought to yourself 'Boy I sure wish I can dance at this BBEG to death'? Well even if you haven't, this adventure opens up opportunities for your players to explore this unique world. If you planned a scenario where the players get mugged by breakdancers, this is a unique adventure that caters to exactly that



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
StarStreamers: Dance 'Til You're Dead One Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

StarStreamers: A Science Fantasy Game of Social Media Fame (for Savage Worlds)
by justin m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2019 22:42:29

With rapidly moving technology and the burst of streamed Tabletop campaign it's interesting to see it incorporated into the mechanics and world of a game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
StarStreamers: A Science Fantasy Game of Social Media Fame (for Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

StarStreamers: A Science Fantasy Game of Social Media Fame (for Savage Worlds)
by Kevin K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2019 19:28:32

Fantastically imaginative!

While designed to be used in conjunction with streaming platform, it should function just as well for home. The idea of 'guest character' keeps the players guessing without invalidating their actions.

The weapons and equipments are appropriately powered for what they do; the weapons' constraints feel appropriate without taking away from overall flamboyance or theatrical

great addition for sci-fi campaign that needs lot of action in a short amount of time



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Croaking Sirocco (Genesys Fantasy Adventure)
by Brady C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2018 13:32:31

As previously mentioned, there is a strong D&D feel to this adventure. Having said that, what fantasy game has not been influenced by "the most popular RPG in human history" (or something like that)? The hooks are there, the locations are good and the boss fight is par for the course. As it stands I would not be able to run it because there isn't enought to do.

But...

The locations are pretty cool. With a little fleshing out they would make for some great encounters. The NPC's seem very rich and motivated, plus there is a political backstory which bears further investigation. I would recommend this for any experienced GM who is looking for a plot point adventure game.

I'm gratified that there is Genesys fan-content being made. I look forward to more from this author.

p.s. there is a thread on the FFG forums debating the legality of this adventure being published on dtrpg: https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/topic/275783-any-other-pre-made-adventures-for-genesys-fantasy/

Since it hasn't been pulled, all must be well.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Croaking Sirocco (Genesys Fantasy Adventure)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 19 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG