Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Gallant Knight Games » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Lost in the Fantasy World (Pamphlet Edition)
by Ian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2020 13:26:37

My kids adore this, and I adore playing it with them. The fact that it is modelled on the original D&D cartoon gives me the nostalgia vibe. It's so simple my children can easily access. Have the full hardback ordered ready to use with students when I go back to teach in September. Brilliant stuff.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lost in the Fantasy World (Pamphlet Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Tiny Supers
by Mario R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2020 10:22:51

This was the first game we played irl in months. I ran a one shot. Everyone had a fantastic time, the rules are simple, but provide enough guidance that I never ran into a situation where I was stuck. Character creation was the best aspect. Each player gave me a comic character they wanted to emulate powerset, i created 5 characters in 20 minutes. If I had structured the campaign for anything other than a one shot, the experience rules are the most robust of any of the "tiny" rulesets. Great game for those who want a supers game without needing to read 10 pages on how to break a door down.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Supers
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

The Hero's Journey: Second Edition
by Ryan B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/11/2020 22:15:39

I'm a huge Tolkien fan, and grew up playing RPGs. I've played MERP, AD&D 2e, I'm reading Adventure in Middle-Earth for 5e (among other tabletop RPGs), and I'm running a campaign with Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures. This is an amazing fusion of Tolkien's ethos and the fun and quirkiness of old-school D&D. That said, there are some fantastic twists and original takes that takes The Hero's Journey: Second Edition way beyond a mere retro-clone or a Middle-earth (with the serial numbers filed off) setting. Even without a campaign setting as such, in every aspect of the mechanics of the game - from character creation to combat and magic systems - Spahn captures the moral and spiritual vision of The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings. The world is dangerous, dark, and adventurers risk despair and corruption; at the same time, hope is a real quality - heroes are really heroes, and there is a buoyant quality to writing and the spirit of The Hero's Journey.

Mechanically, THJ adapts the familiar ability scores, changing both the names and meanings - for instance, Wisdom and Constitution essentially fuse into "Resistance," while Intelligence and Wisdom (in another way) become "Insight." "Weal" rounds out the ability scores, bringing doom/fate/luck into the core of character creation. Characters will also feature professions, lineages (races), and archetypes (classes). Some of these are classic and familiar, some bring fresh ideas, like the Changeling lineage, which gives players the option to play a character who is out of step with the world around them, even to the point that NPCs will fail to notice or will come to lose track of a changeling who isn't trying to be seen! Another variant allow players to create characters who come to the adventure from our world, like Susan or Edmund from The Chronicles of Narnia!

Spellcasting and combat also innovate over the Swords & Wizardry and Tolkien roots, featuring spells with core ideas that give rise to options for a character to choose when the spell is cast, and the use of damage reduction in addition to basic hit-and-damage mechanics. Hope and despair (and corruption) are baked into every aspect of the game - characters have options for supporting and encouraging one another in combat and around the campfire, and they run the risk of despair when dealing with the evils of the world.

This doesn't even cover the array of creatures designed for THJ and the direction given to designing adventures, settings, or the ways characters can develop heirlooms and potent equipment over time. As for the book itself, the artwork is beautiful and captures the spirit of the game, evoking down-to-earth and adventurous characters. I do wish that this book featured the kind of full-color treatment the first edition had, but a different artistic vision was chosen. The artwork is fantastic, but I miss the color!

If you want something gritty or grimdark, this isn't likely to be your cup of tea. However, if you love the adventurous spirit of early D&D and the joyfully serious (or seriously joyful?) quality of Tolkien's work, Spahn has produced that in spades. I am eager to see the adventures and the Hero's Companion that he is working on, putting more flesh and vision into an already hefty offering!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Hero's Journey: Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Cold Shadows
by Jason A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2020 12:54:37

There's a lot of good material in here and I love the concept behind this system. We're developing a pilot session of a show for my Twitch channel using this but it's REALLY hard to recommend it to others for one single reason... the rulebook.

I've had to basically rewrite the rules for my players to understand the game. There are numerous grammatical errors, references to sections and chapters that don't exist, concepts (ex. Compel) that are simply not explained in depth at all...

The book reads like a crib sheet or a module of how to play House of the Blooded / Blood & Honor in a different setting instead of being a stand alone rulebook. I had to reread the source material to fully understand how this game is supposed to be played, and even then had to homebrew a mashup of the two for it to flow.

Great idea, poorly executed. Hoping there's a second, HEAVILY revised edition in the future.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Cold Shadows
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

TinyZine: Issue 10
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2020 18:10:18

Druid covens, yes, fine, good.

Drawback Traits, those are awesome, this is a big step forward for the game, and you need to pick this issue up just to get these.

Setting a camp, this is really interesting, really want to try this. Nice work.

Teamwork rules, intuitive, concise, and immediately useful. Excellent.

PATRICK TRACY'S SWORDS AGAINST DEVILTRY IS THE BEST TD2e MICROSETTING YET PUBLISHED. Ladies and gentlemen, that sound you hear is the bar being lifted. Wow. Just... wow.

GET THIS.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TinyZine: Issue 10
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

TinyZine: Issue 9
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2020 18:03:20

Shorter TinyZine, but solid.

The Roll-and-Play feature is all about Cities, and although these columns are supposed to help you quickly generate random crap on the fly, I honestly think you could use this one to build your own Lankhmar, Camorr, or Ankh-Morpork. Definitely worth your time.

There are three new heritages as well: Gnome, Halfling, and Fungoid.

Some people hate Gnomes, some people adore them--personally I can take them or leave them. I like the Creative Heritage Trait (which reminds me in fun ways of the Gadgeteer/Inventor Trait from Tiny Supers) but my favorite part of this Heritage is that the flavor text says Gnomes hate pointy hats, which is what the guy in the illustration is wearing.

Fungoids. "They're mushroom people. They're weird." Agreed. Not sure anybody was begging to play one of these, but... sure! Why not?

The next article revises the Brawler and Martial Artist Traits. I think those worked well as they were, but apparently this is how it's going to be from now on. So if you play an unarmed fighter, you should pick this up.

The Bard Trait Tree is the last thing in the Zine, and I have some mixed feelings. I agree that this has been missing from Tiny Dungeon, and I really like the idea of magical music being primarily useful to alter moods and influence emotions. Very cool! I also like the idea of powerful magical songs (aka Song Traits), but the four Song Traits listed are a bit underwhelming, especially you're basically spending a whole Trait to get a single spell. Archmage seems like a much better deal. On the other hand, there is the promise here that future Tiny Zines will have more songs, so I'll just look forward to checking those out when they come out.

Bottom line: Not a must-have IMHO, but still a good issue-- especially the first three articles.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
TinyZine: Issue 9
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Tiny Frontiers: Mecha and Monsters
by David R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2020 17:16:17

I am a big fan of the Tiny series and this one is my favorite due to my love of kaiju and super robots. I highly recommend it



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Frontiers: Mecha and Monsters
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Tiny Supers
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2020 13:19:17

I collect superhero games, fully knowing I'm never going to play most of them. This one, on the other hand? Pretty sure it's going to be my go-to going forward! Easy to learn, easy to teach, super quick chargen. What's not to like?!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Supers
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
by Curtis L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2020 12:31:47

TinyD6 has quickly become our "go to" for gaming, and Tiny Dungeons is somewhat of the backbone for this.

The TinyD6 engine, in and of itself, is very rules light - if you want a crunchy system, this may not be the one for you - but it has a number of options that allow the crunchiness to be ramped up a bit without losing the simplicity. In fact, the simplicity of the engine means rules can be tweaked and house rules employed without any real danger of "breaking" the system. This, and the pervasiveness of Tiny settings makes it easy to grab a favorite thing from someplace else and port it into Tiny Dungeons. It's also easy to use with other settings from other systems (such as "the world's most popular role playing game", which we've done).

Tiny Dungeons recreates classic fantasy roleplaying without a lot of mechanical things to get bogged down with (although, as stated earlier, if you want more crunch and grit, some options are there to make it so). The focus is largely on story telling, but unlike many other "story telling" games, there aren't a lot of rules and mechanics on HOW to tell the story - just enough is there to give your imagination a springboard to adventure.

The front end of the book breaks down the game mechanics, and then jumps into character creation. The PDF is bookmarked well, so even if you need to jump around to some of the optional rules, it's easy enough to go there and back again. TinyD6 isn't a level or class-based system, and character creation is open-ended (meaning, if you can imagine it, you can likely build it). There are a number of Heritages available (some of the usual, like Humans and Dwarves, and others that are more unique to the Tiny multiverse), each one generally having something to make it unique while leaving room for customization.

The middle section gives you the optional rules, like expanding magic, or using sailing ships for example.

The back end of the book is dedicated to a variety of settings (or what they refer to as "microsettings" since they're generally the bare bones of a setting for GMs to build on). If you have your own setting you want to run, you may think this is a waste of space, but it's a great showcase of settings by some long-standing writers in the RPG industry, displaying the versatility of Tiny Dungeons for world building. None of the setting examples and possibilities are entirely "generic" which means they're a great way to fire up the imagination if nothing else, and some offer a few extra options for the rules.

In short, I highly recommend Tiny Dungeons to anyone wanting to get back to casual, fun gaming.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Tiny Frontiers: Revised
by Joe M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2020 11:40:55

Quite honestly, TinyD6 (especially Frontiers) has turned into my go-to game system for quick one night sessions and Zoom-based gaming experiences.

For the sake of ease of teaching and the robustness of what you can do with it, i'm absolutely a huge fan of all the potential that Frontiers (the system i've started on) has presented with giving me accessible, fun gaming sessions with groups of varying levels of familiarity with Pen and Paper RPGs.

I have since purchased hardcovers of Dungeons, Wastelands, Supers, Pirates, Gunslingers and will be gladly supporting Gallant Knight Games through all their additional endeavors in the future.

Very recommended for anybody looking for a game system that gives you the flexibility to do what you need quickly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Frontiers: Revised
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
by Mitchell B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2020 00:21:32

I'd like to start by saying that the tiny d6 system is good and I like it a lot. Unfortunately, I have found a few things that are very disappointing.

First, the book is in black & white and I noticed the majority of images are used several times throughout it. For example, the knight image is used five times. When I do a price comparison of this book to the Player's Handbook for Dungeons & Dragons which uses full-size pages with many full-color images, this book doesn't even come close. It's actually a bit more expensive with the hardcover version being $34.99 + tax/shipping.

Second, the physical book construction is not good. The binding is glue-bound, many pages are slightly warped, and the front/back covers will not stay completely closed. I just received my book two days ago... Also, in regards to the layout and content, it only has 86 pages of substantial character/game creation content while the rest is microsettings. That's 121 pages covering 20 different microsettings. I feel the microsettings would be a neat feature if they contained more useful information instead of adventure hooks. For example, some random tables or additional traits/characters/races/monsters would be great, maybe even a sample list of spells and how a game master would implement spell use. I ultimately feel the microsettings are a collection of filler/fluff and most people probably won't even use them.

In conclusion, this book is VERY overpriced. You're paying $35 for an 8 1/2" x 5" large-print book that re-uses black & white art images. I feel the best deal would be to get the PDF; although, charging $17.99 + tax for a digital file that will just sit on your computer is also overpriced. There are many rules-light systems that are worth the price, but this just isn't one of them.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Tiny Frontiers: Mecha and Monsters
by JACOB L M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2020 08:11:25

Tiny Frontiers: mecha Vs monster, gives you everything you expect from tinyd6 title- easy to run rules, quick character setup and lots of room to add your personal flavor/style.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Frontiers: Mecha and Monsters
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Sentry Force Prime: Issue #0
by Mari M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/29/2020 11:05:50

I’ve been a fan of Alan Bahr for a few years now. He’s an excellent writer with an attention to detail that makes all his projects phenomenal. Sentry Force Prime is his first foray into comics, and he does the new medium justice! Sentry Force Prime #0 is an action-packed springboard into Sentry City’s superhero force. Taking cues from famous superhero teams like the Avengers or the X-Men, it has an exciting cast of diverse characters that we feel like we know within only a few frames. Thanks to Bahr’s effectual storytelling and Nicolas Giacondino’s amazing illustration, we get to see these heroes work together to kick a ton of ass, covering lots of ground in just one issue. And as a gamer, I found an RPG one-shot adventure tucked inside pretty awesome. I’m excited to see the series delve into the characters further, and I hope series gets the issues to craft an amazing story. Overall, dynamite issue 0.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sentry Force Prime: Issue #0
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Fallen Justice: A Tiny Supers City Book
by Jarrod S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2020 15:14:09

Want to run a Batman, Arrow, Watchmen, or Sin City type of superhero game? This supplement has you covered. Inside its pages, you get:

  • 10 New Archetypes to choose from, none of which are allowed to have super powers, but each with their own unique advantages.
  • Equipment Kits allow non-powered heroes to emulate certain super powers. For example, take the Disguise Kit and gain the benefits of the Shapeshifting power.
  • Utility Belts allow the characters to carry various kinds of useful gear and gizmos. Change out your gear to carry whatever you feel like for the adventure.
  • Vehicle rules, which allow you to customize your ride.
  • Drugs and their effects. But not standard “real world” drugs. These drugs emulate Traits or powers.
  • A guide to Haven City, a city of grit, grime, and shades of gray.
  • Iconic heroes and villains of Haven City.

Highly recommended and an enjoyable read. Great new options for any Tiny Supers game. You could also easily lift everything from this supplement and drop it in a regular Tiny Supers game, for more options.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fallen Justice: A Tiny Supers City Book
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Tiny Supers
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2020 19:05:59

I love this simple and adaptable supers system. I love the TinyD6 line, but this is my favorite of them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Supers
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 301 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG