RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
A Star Once Fallen
by Dyer R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2017 22:18:23

Never been one for modules, but this was alot of fun and conveyed everything well. Also OpenLegend is amazing!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Star Once Fallen
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

A Star Once Fallen
by Chris K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/05/2016 04:59:29

An excellent adventure which also does a very good job introducing the system. Full review here.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Star Once Fallen
by Josh S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/31/2016 17:03:50

NICE START, CURIOUS TO SEE WHERE THEY GO FROM HERE



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Star Once Fallen
by Joel H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2016 14:07:31

For years I've been searching for a table-top RPG rule set with a very shallow learning curve which also eliminates a lot of my pet peeves concerning traditional d20 systems (complex inventory management, outlandish magic item economies, loot grinding, etc.) I think Open Legend may finally be the RPG game I've been searching for! No more class restrictions! No more endless spell lists!

The character creation mechanic for Open Legend is a delightfully painless exercise that even novice players can master in a matter of minutes. The Bane / Boon character trait mechanic allows for a magic system which treats spells more like superpowers that are only limited by the player's imagination and the luck of the dice roll.

Speaking of dice rolls, Open Legend's "exploding" dice mechanic brings an additional layer of fun to rolling dice. Each max die rolled "explodes" by allowing the die to be re-rolled and added to the final tally. Players will learn celebrate each and every max die rolled, not just the elusive Natural 20.

This introductory adventure module walks you through how to play and game-master Open Legend. A steal at any price!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Star Once Fallen
by Mitch B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2016 13:33:02

This innaugural Open Legend module is a dual-achievement: it serves as an accessible and exciting introduction to an innovative new game system, and provides all the production quality veteran tabletop gamers want out of their modular content. As modular story, "A Star Once Fallen" balances the depth/detail and flexibility required to serve both new and seasoned GMs. As a learn-by-play walkthrough of Open Legend's rules, it does a great job of pacing the adventure so as to gradually teach players new concepts while never sacrificing the story's momentum or excitement.

Looking forward to seeing future Open Legend modules that really push the genre-boundaries of a really cool new system.

-Mitch



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Star Once Fallen
by Sydney S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2016 01:21:48

This is probably one of the most nube-friendly games I've ever played but it is also extremely fun for those who have surpassed nube status. The first time I played this game was live on EncounterRoleplay's stream and I was very nervous to play a game I was unfamiliar with while having so many people watch but it was incredibly easy to cath onto. It is also very open to any character concept that one could possibly imagine. The character I created in this game was a farm girl who had a bow-shaped tumor on her head that she used as a weapon. I don't think there is another game in the world that would allow one to play such an odd character and still be successful in progressing through the story. I showed this to the D&D club at my school and they absolutely loved it and are die-hard Open Legend fans now, as am I. Highly reccomend, much game very fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Star Once Fallen
by Bruce M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2016 12:45:22

While I admit I am relatively new to the world of RPGs I found this module and system extremely enjoyable to play. It's very intuitive and allows the game to move at a nice, steady pace. I play with seasoned players and new adventurers and we all have a tons of fun. I highly recommend you give it a try.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Star Once Fallen
by Will J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2016 01:51:59

I'm Will, the Host of EncounterRoleplay where we played A Star Once Fallen before it's Official release now!

The game was fun, explorative, action-packed, and filled with opportunities for Roleplay. The Module at once challenges and encourages beginners to Open Legend and roleplaying to think for themselves and is one of the best introductions to a TTRPG that I have played. If you're looking to get new players excited to play an RPG, A Star Once Fallen is a stellar example.

Open Legend is an incredible and innovative system which I highly recommend you try playing. This PDF allows you to run an introductory adventure without committing to any of your hard earned money, and indeed Open Legend is Open Source (ITS FREE) so really there's no excuse to give it a shot!

I hope you enjoy the game as much as I did!

-Will, EncounterRoleplay



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Star Once Fallen
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2016 00:32:59

Open Legend is by far my favourite my favourite gaming system. For me it has the perfect balance between the crunch of a good game mechanic, with the flexibility to give players plenty of narrative flavour and control. Something that’s missing in many of the more popular RPGs. What’s more, the core rules are available for free online. Who can argue with that?

The module itself is great in two ways. Firstly, it guides you through the Open Legend rules set gradually, helping you get to know the systems concepts bit at a time in a way that makes sense as you play. Secondly, as a standalone adventure, A Star Once Fallen is well written with an engaging plot, interesting characters, with a great mix of combat as well as roleplaying opportunities.

All in all this is a top notch product, and well deserving of a five star rating. I’d encourage everyone to give the module and the gaming system a go. You won’t regret it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Star Once Fallen
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2016 12:46:08

a great system that has the right amount of crunch but also allows the players the creative freedom to do what they want. Excited to see where it goes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Star Once Fallen
by Peter F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2016 07:15:17

Great for new GMs to Open Legend, I've horrible with new rule systems and they take both the GM and the Players step by step throughout the rules while playing the adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG