RPGNow.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Murders & Acquisitions Pre-Gen Characters
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2018 16:00:48

I'm not sure who went through the pages for this game and marked all of the free resources with a 3 star rating, but is seems wholly undeserved.

Having Pre-Gen Characters in a seperate file without having to go through the PDF and track them down is immensly helpful and time-saving.

Not only that, but these can be edited and altered from within your browser or any pdf reader, so if you need to create new NPCs or update the existing ones, doing so is super easy.

That ALONE should constitute a 5 star rating! I cannot tell you how many times in games I wish such a resource existed, and for free no less!

If you plan on running Murders & Acquisitions, get these character sheets. They will save you a TON of time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Murders & Acquisitions Pre-Gen Characters
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Murders & Acquisitions Quick-Start Guide
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2018 15:51:28

This quick start guide is literally everything you need in order to get started playing Murders & Acquisitions. It gives you all the basic rules, sample characters, and a brief scenario allowing you to get a taste for the system and the setting of the game. I've played a few games using these rules, and given the fact that this supplement is free I don't see why you would rate this anything other than 5 stars. I've played a lot of different RPG systems over the years, and most of them don't put a quick start guide as well put together and comprehensive as this.

With this supplement alone, you should know whether or not to buy the full product based on how it runs. This could potentially save you money if you found it not to your liking (though you probably will because the rules are very intuitive and the setting is hilarious).

If you're looking for a different RPG to give a try, I highly recommend this one. I plan on running it at future conventions, and I expect it to be one of the more popular indie games I run.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Murders & Acquisitions Quick-Start Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Murders & Acquisitions Character Sheet
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2018 15:45:25

This is a basic character sheet for the Murders & Acquisitions game. It is in PDF format. It does everything that it needs to in terms of providing you with the resources that you need in order to create a character.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Murders & Acquisitions Character Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Murders & Acquisitions RPG
by larry h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/19/2018 18:26:57

A really nice take on the corporate world, one that lets you do those impulsive and career threatening actions with the bold taking what they want and the meek crushed underfoot! Not mortal combat style but through subterfuge, misdirection, and skill will you frame your competition and leapfrog up the ladder passing by those too timid or weak to keep up with you. A fun, easily graspable game that lets anyone take on the rat race and see how far they can get up the top of the business food chain.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Murders & Acquisitions RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CAPERS RPG
by larry h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/19/2018 18:21:35

First off, the visuals in this book nail the feel of the 1920's and gangsters, G men and the the look of the cities. The terminology lingo of the time is another touch that helps bring the feel into the game. The powers are varied and allow plenty of customization. The card mechanic works well in the game and is a cool fresh approach. Take on the roles of Capers, for good or ill, and begin your adventures in the era of Prohibition, corruption, and the rare untouchable lawperson!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CAPERS RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CAPERS RPG
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/27/2018 19:41:01

I highly recommend this game for a good number of reasons. From the art to the layout, to the setting and the rules Capers is a game that is a delight to play and really clever in how it marries the source material to the actual gameplay and mechanics of the game itself.

In terms of gameplay mechanics, rather than having the player role dice, players each use a deck of standard playing cards to resolve actions. The number you have for an ability is how many cards you can draw to try and get the best possible result for a check. Higher numbers are better, and certain suits are more favorable than others in terms of the results. I feel like this mechanic has a nice risk vs rewards to it. Do you stick with the first card you get, succeding the check but not having the best possible outcome, or do you try and risk it to get a better card and suite for the best result possible? In some ways I like this better than just rolling dice, in that even if the first card you draw is garbage, you're not stuck with the result.

The setting is an alternate reality version of the 1920's prohibition era where people suddenly started manifesting super powers. As a setting, it is an extremely vibrant and fun. A good number of major U.S. cities are represented here, which allows for a good number of settings and backdrops to choose from in terms of where you set your game. Players can choose to either work for famous gangsters from real history such as Al Capone and Lucky Luciano or work on behalf of law enforcement and bring these dangerous super-powered criminals to justice. A

Which leads us to the powers. You get a wide variety of powers and abilities to choose from, everything from super strength and speed to probability manipulation and teleportation. Powers make the characters feel powerful, but not broken. Powers have limits in terms of their strength. Sure you can teleport, but only within line of sight for example.

The layout in the book is goregous, oozing with a 1920's art deco style that really makes the pages pop. This is one of the few RPG games where given the choice between getting the hardcover copy of the book and getting the pdf...I got both. These are full color pages with lots of goregous pictures throughout the book. The artist Beth Varni added a lot of nice little visual touches to things, like the burnt edges of the map for the city of Chicago (because of the Great Chicago Fire).

From a Game Master perspective, the book gives you everything you need and nothing you don't. It doesn't tell you how to be a GM, but it gives you all the things a GM wants to have when they get ready to run a game. There are optional settings, NPCs and equipment if you want to run your Capers game in a more futuristic setting, or a more dystopian setting. There are full stat blocks for every kind of NPC you could want to put in your game as well as all the major players in each of the big cities like New York, Chicago and Atlantic City. The back of the book includes helpful rules summaries which you can hand out to your players and blank character sheets, or you can also download those sepeartely from Drive-Thru along with random encounter tables and a power trigger sheet if you'd like to get into how the characters developed powers in the first place.

I Kickstarted this game as soon as I heard about it, and have ran the Preview Edition at several conventions this year. Players always have a blast playing this game. I know I always have a lot of fun running it for people. I highly recommend it for anyone who enjoys role-playing games, and for someone who's never played the rules are very easy to get into after only a session or two. DEFINTELY pick up a copy of this game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Murders & Acquisitions Adventure - Farewell, George Bertram
by James I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2017 19:12:35

This adventure is a great introduction to the M&A system. It's a tight story, but open so the characters can choose their own path. Comes with amazing, well-defined, and clear pregens. I love the M&A system. If you're thinking about jumping in and don't know where to start, this is it. You will have a blast!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Murders & Acquisitions Adventure - Farewell, George Bertram
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Murders & Acquisitions RPG
by andrew m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2017 09:53:33

How many have wanted to bludgeon the co-worker who burns microwave popcorn? You are certain there is a cosmic horror in the HVAC stinking up the whole floor, but that blasted super won't do anything. Bill from accounting is such a suck-up to the boss, and he's always stealing your yugurt from the fridge. Solution: Kill them all, laugh at their corpses, get an awesome annual review for taking initiative!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Murders & Acquisitions RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Murders & Acquisitions RPG
by James I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2017 19:48:47

An elegant game from a great designer. This one is super fun! The rules are well-written and easy to understand. As a bonus the book is written like an employee manual which actually makes it more fun to read, since it's in keeping with the theme of the game.

The skill system is familiar to anyone who's played an RPG before with a lot of delightful twists with botches, mini-boons, and synergy points that make it play out in a unique and fun way.

If you've ever been in the corporate rat race, or if you've been lucky enough to avoid it, you should play Murders & Acquisitions. It's just dang good fun!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Murders & Acquisitions RPG
by Matthew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2017 17:57:06

Brilliant game! Enjoyed an adventure at a recent family trip and everybody loved playing. Perfect for noobies to RPG. Highly recommend!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG