RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Comrades: A Revolutionary RPG
by Matthew K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/01/2019 18:17:37

I backed this on Kickstarter, and I'm very pleased by it. The art is good, the rules are straightforward, and I can't wait to play it with my friends. Revolution is good and fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Comrades: A Revolutionary RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Comrades: A Revolutionary RPG
by Blaine W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2019 00:03:19

A flexible, dramatic, and entertaining PBtA game.

I'm genuinely impressed by the obvious effort that went into this game. I, for one, appreciate the portions of the rulebook that are focused on the customization of the setting and rules.

Looking forward to toppling tyrants of all stripes with my comrades.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Comrades: A Revolutionary RPG
by Oliver K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/29/2019 16:17:08

Kickstarter was handled excellently, pdfs were sent out within a super short time after it concluded. The system also looks solid, and very thematic. Good work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Comrades: A Revolutionary RPG
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/29/2019 16:10:56

Personally, I run hot and cold on ptbA games. I love the simplicity of the system and the clarity of design that a good execution of pbtA enforces. But Apocalypse World 1e had some rough edges and some fuzziness about its version of the wasteland that made it hard for me to see how I'd ever play it. Dungeon World is alright, but if you want to have high fantasy adventures, why not just play D&D, or 13th Age, the best version of D&D? And while Night Witches is absolute masterpiece of design, I'm never going to find another person to play it with. Comrades is the antidote to my all my problems with pbtA.

Comrades distills both pbtA and revolution down to their essences, and what remains is as close to a utopian ideal of an RPG as I can imagine. This is a game about your revolutionary vanguard, about a small band of comrades who are willing to dare everything to bring about a better world. You'll throw down with thugs from across the political spectrum, out-manuever splinter factions in your own movement, suffer under the oppressive tactics of the secret police, hear a dying comrade's last words, raise a mob, and strike a blow for revolution.

The moves and playbooks are wonderfully calibrated to revolutionary action: I especially appreciate the inclusion of a universal Start Something move to incite a mob, and the perceptive list of questions on the What's Going On Here? move to read a situation. The GM advice helps develop the ideology of the comrades, and put them under pressure from adversarial fronts, which work through a series of steps that cause the world to crumble. I particularly like the Pathway Moves, end of session rolls which describe how the comrades are advancing towards revolution on five tracks, ranging from a democratic victory at the ballot box to assassinating the head of state.

Nearly a decade on from the release of Apocalypse World, designers have a good sense of how pbtA works. W. M. Akers has written one of the best examples of the ruleset, perfectly calibrated for telling a thrilling tale of revolution, with plenty of examples on how to make the game the your own. Comrades includes a fully-fleshed out setting for Khresht 1915, a fictional country inspired mostly by the Russian revolution, and thumbnails settings for New York 1776 and Callisto 2219. You also get 10 playbooks for comrades from Artist to Worker, and great advice on running the game, and building your revolution. The visual design is spare and evocative, with well-chosen black-and-white prints standing out against a red and yellow color scheme. Comrades is inspired by the radical leftists of the 19th and 20th century, but there's not a set ideological stance in the game. This game is about anybody who is willing to die for their ideals, to fight bravely for a better world, and bring down the evil SOBs in charge.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Comrades: A Revolutionary RPG
by Bradley F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/29/2019 16:09:52

I like the flexibility and simplicity of this RPG. Straightforward and intuative, it's quick to pick up and place and easy enough to modify for any type of setting neccesary!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadball: Baseball With Dice
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/05/2019 18:02:08

The best way to experience baseball short of grabbing a glove.

Baseball has a great many things going for it—it's tense, it's exciting, and it's a strategy game. Few sports so completely mix strategic and tactical planning with needing genuine physical activity to carry those plans out. On the other hand, those things make up perhaps ten minutes of a ninety-minute game. The rest involves watching people stand in a field and sweat.

Baseball With Dice gives you all the tense excitement of wondering if the home-town boys will convert on a double, with the speed and efficiency of Yahtzee, and that's just the start.

Then you get into making your own teams, and growing to love these imaginary people in the same way that you might love your RPG characters, or your little plastic men in a wargaming army. Then you get into deciding who's better, the 1908 Tigers with Ty Cobb leading the way, or the 1927 Yankees, sporting Lou Gehrig and Babe Ruth. And you realize that I wasn't mincing words above: I'm not talking about the best way to play a single game of baseball. I'm talking about the best way to experience baseball.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadball: Baseball With Dice
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deadball: Baseball With Dice
by Paul G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2018 19:31:50

I wasn't sure about the game when I first saw it. I put it off until Deadball II was out on Kickstarter. I have a buddy who's a huge baseball fan (I'm a fan, but he puts me to shame) and I thought this would be a good game for him for those off-season days when he needs something to entertain him. And while I was at it I got myself a copy.

Possibly the best thing about it is the fact you can easily play solo and not lose anything. While some might argue it's more fun with two players because of the way it's designed (no hidden cards, no secrecy at all - just like a regular baseball game) you can easily simulate two different managers/styles by yourself. The rules are easy to follow, and you don't need anything more than a standard set of gaming dice to play. I was pleasantly surprised that it mimicked the feel of the game - too many sports board/card/dice games just fall flat on that front. Do you bring in a reliever or hope that your starter can get the #8 hitter out and you can get a fresh arm in for the inevitable pinch hitter the opposition is going to put in for their pitcher? Do you try a squeeze play, or let your .300 hitter swing away?

The only negative I have found: I waited and lost far too many months of playing before I actually cracked open the rule book and played my first game. Seriously - this sat on my shelf for a good month before I decided to give it a shot.

I haven't explored anything beyond the basic rules yet but those are plenty enough to keep me coming back for more. I keep lying to myself that I'll just play "one more game". I have been playing so much I finally broke down and laminated a blank scoresheet with heavy laminate so I could just use dry erase markers instead of going through sheet after sheet of paper.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadball: Year II
by Mark D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/10/2018 10:10:50

Highly recommended dice rolling baseball game! If you are familiar with the prior offerings, Year II is just what you need if you are craving more! Year II sets up a great story line right as those last days of summer fade into autumn and the pennant race gets moving.

This game is perfect for those who like RPGs but need a break from Orcs, Knights, Clerics, Wizards, etc. It also can be played "lite" if your opponent only understands the basic rules of baseball. The small footprint allows it to be portable, and game play can be short (15-20 mins) or long (60-90+ mins) depending on how creative or advanced you want your experience to be. The rules allow for many variations from solo, to 1 v 1, to multiple players handling the pitching and batting duties. I find the quick short games to be pleasurable and generally there is enough excitement that both players will feel engaged.

For advanced play, Year II provides a deeper dive into gameplay rules. Playing dirty, player development, among other things are added to the game to enrich the experience. For me, these are more so for longer game play, and players who are familiar with the Deadball core rules.

Year II features a franchise builder which allows you focus in on granular details of your created team. One or two wrong dice rolls and your club might be from the middle of nowhere with an anthropomorphic biscuit as the mascot. This is also where Deadball Year II becomes an RPG and sets itself apart from other dice rollers. Options for both ancient and modern parks are outlined. Those finite details are where Year II pulls me in. Play some old timey turn of the century music as you construct your franchise. I do!

Year II also compiles the final match ups for the 2018 and 1910 seasons, picking up where Deadball 1909 left off. It puts you the reader/player in the driver's seat. Player scores will be collected and updated in the next installment Deadball. If you are like me, Deadball Year II is a must have.

The period specific photographs and the essays keep the flavor going. Deadball is an excellent document of the Great American Pastime.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadball: Year II
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deadball: Year II
by Josh B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2018 14:06:57

Are you a Mets fan? Would you like to see the Mets have a chance at winning? Then you need this game!!!!

A few of years ago I was in search of the best (statistically) baseball dice game that I could find. I wanted a system I only had to buy once (not sets of yearly updated cards for every team). Sadly, when I was searching for the perfect game, the original Deadball game didn't exist yet, so I had to settle for something else. I was unaware that the orignal Deadball existed until it had already been in print for about a year. Once I found Deadball I instantly jumped on board for the kickstarter of this new edition, Year 2! The game is great and has so many options so you can control almost every aspect of you team from one game to a whole season. I love that the rules allow for any team, or any player EVER! It's simple and quick, but can be as challenging as you want it to be. It's also a very mod-able game so you can pick and choose or even alter the rules a bit to fit your needs. I think this is up there as one of the base Baseball games ever.

The only drawback for realism with this game...the Mets will probably be able to win the World Series in this game, yet not in real life...oh well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadball Quick Start
by John C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2018 17:28:01

It is as promised a neat way to play baseball across generations. I played the 27 Yankees versus the 54 Indiands . Early Wynn and his bullpen was too much for the famed Yankees to deal with . I am so going to play it again .



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadball Quick Start
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deadball: 1909
by Tony J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2018 04:42:00

Excellent tabletop baseball game! It's a quick play game but it has lots of depth to it, which allows it to produce realistic stats. But more importantly it's alot of fun! It also shows you how to rate your own players, fictional or real life. It even includes details on running your own fictional universe like the one in Robert Coover's book, The Universal Baseball Association. Great gzme, great fun!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadball: 1909
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deadball: Baseball With Dice
by Beau C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2017 01:00:41

I agree with all the five star reviews... this is a great game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadball: Baseball With Dice
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deadball: Baseball With Dice
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2017 20:59:24

I will preface my review by saying I played both Dungeons and Dragons and Brett Ball (a baseball board game endorsed by George Brett) in the 80s, to give you an idea of my background. I bought this game based on the reviews, and the hopes that I could have a fun baseball simulation to tide me over in the off-season. Thanks to the ease of adapting rosters, I played my first game between the 1927 Yankees (possibly the greatest team of all time) against the 1985 Braves (one of the worst teams of all time). I knew I had a fantastic game when the Braves managed to get Rafael Ramirez (a lifetime .230 hitter, maybe) to third, only to get him thrown out at home on a botched bunt by Rick Mahler. Babe Ruth managed to strike out twice and go 0-4 with a walk in the game, despite his .358 average. Dale Murphy (the Braves All-Star and 2-time MVP) managed 0-5 despite his .300 average and league-leading 37 homers. My starters got tired, my relievers struck out the side, and a few players hit into double plays. In short, it felt like a real baseball game with all of the ebbs-and-flows without any of the "gimmicks" you find in video game simulations of baseball. I highly recommend this game for anyone with RPG experience (and a set of dice) who loves the history of baseball.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadball: 1909
by Terri C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/08/2017 12:42:47

Eerily realistic baseball simulation. This game moves a little slower than the base game, DEADBALL, but that's a pretty great thing. It's easy to get started with either the provided teams/players or with actual teams/players. This is fun, quick, and mentally engaging. Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadball: 1909
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deadball: Baseball With Dice
by Jason T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2017 17:13:05

It really is crazy how you can feel like you are playing baseball with some dice, paper, and pencil but Deadball really puts you in there. Such a great game and really easy to learn.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadball: Baseball With Dice
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 20 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG