Quick Find
 Categories
     Sister sites
     Information
    See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

    Having Problems?
    • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
    • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
    • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

    Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to !

    Our Latest Newsletter
    Product Reviews
    Privacy Policy
    How to Sell on
    Convention Support Program


    RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
    Back
    Other comments left for this publisher:
    You must be logged in to rate this
    Myth & Magic Player's Guide
    by Andrew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2019 12:30:05

    The game is excellent as an updating of the 2nd Edition AD&D rules. It is NOT a clone. It is a reimagining of the original game with a more modern sensibility in terms of mechanics. If you are familiar with 2nd Edition this will be easy and comfortable to pick up. The nice thing is that the designer took all the best stuff from the Complete Class guides and the Player's Options books and added them in a non-obtrusive way that is completely optional.

    Combat is quick and exciting. A grid or miniatures is completely optional. The rules are simple enough that very little has to be referenced at the table. I've run battles with 8 PC's and about 20 opponents that ran quickly without bogging down.

    My only gripe is that the game is incomplete. The Gamemaster's Guide is not a finished product and there is no bestiary other than a few monsters in the GMG. Of course, the original 2nd Edition monsters are very easily hacked to Myth and Magic but it'd be nice if those conversions were done.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Myth & Magic Player's Guide
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Myth & Magic Game Master's Starter Guide
    by Brian C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2018 16:16:45

    While this guide looks awesome, it probably is out of date. It needs to be updated to the latest version. Along with the Myth & Magic Players Core Rulebook I.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Myth & Magic Game Master's Starter Guide
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Myth & Magic Player's Starter Guide
    by Brian C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2018 16:15:54

    While this guide looks awesome, it probably is out of date. It needs to be updated to the latest version. Along with the Myth & Magic Players Core Rulebook I.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Myth & Magic Player's Starter Guide
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Myth & Magic Player's Starter Guide
    by Jose M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/29/2014 05:27:23

    I was inspired to create a character with these rules in within the first 15min of reading. Very nostalgic but refreshing take on the 2E rules.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Myth & Magic Player's Guide
    by Michael P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2014 13:26:44

    I'm QUITE torn. The game itself, the book, all gorgeous. It's a great updated to AD&D2e. In fact pretty much everything I could want out of such a thing. I got the PDF by being a backer of the kickstarter.

    The torn part though, is that I only got the PDF. I backed at a level for physical books and it's been over a year of assurances that all of the books have been shipped. Meanwhile very, very few backers seem to have gottten anything. Every now and then the fellow comes back on, promises that he's really sent them all to everyone, only to be silent again for months. (Meanwhile, even less on the Gamemaster Guide Book, which never even got to the PDF level.)

    It's quite sad, because it's a really great product. Just be aware that in purchasing this you're supporting someone that ripped off their kickstarter backers, and has repeatedly lied to them. If that part doesn't bug you, it IS a great game.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Myth & Magic Player's Guide
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Myth & Magic Player's Starter Guide
    by JOHAN K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2013 09:11:59

    This is great fun. There is a bunch of old school, dungeons & dragons type games out there. I think this is my favorite. It does take some time to generate characters, but once that is done, the game flows really well. Since you are reading this, you are obviously thinking about trying the game. Think no more. Do it.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Myth & Magic Player's Starter Guide
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Myth & Magic Game Master's Starter Guide
    by Timothy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2013 00:43:48

    Overall, a nice combination of 2e feel while introducing some more modern mechanics. For example, the first "meaty" chapter starts off with hiring NPCs -- something that's downplayed or virtually absent from some modern FRPGs, but was much more prevalent in 2e. Yet this comes after laying out XP budgets for encounters -- the balanced encounter being introduced in 3e and improved upon in 4e (if I remember correctly).

    Monster entries are compact and streamlined, while having about a quarter page dedicated to "fluff." A nice balance, although I did like the 2e Monstrous Compendium's full-page treatment of monsters. Monsters have an XP value assigned to them, helping to build balanced encounters.

    Magic items seem more common than I remember in 2e, and generally don't seem to have a lot of personality. I'm not sure if assumptions about magic weapons and armor are baked into the combat system as characters level, or not. There's a decent list of cursed items as well -- yet another feature that I haven't seen much of in more recent editions.

    I wouldn't call this a 2e retro-clone, but I recognize a lot of 2e's "DNA" in this. If you enjoy 2e-style play, it's worth checking out.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Myth & Magic Game Master's Starter Guide
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Myth & Magic Player's Guide
    by Mike M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2013 20:38:12

    Ran into this by chance while it was on sale. Really impressed with it. I think the overall production value was what got me to start with, but as I read through the rules the 'feel' for a 2e game was kept my interest. Most of all, I've started a campaign using the rules and it's got just the right touch for my players to have a 'new' feel to it but still be firmly rooted in the old game it's intended to remind us of. Looking forward to the Game Master's Guide!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Myth & Magic Player's Guide
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Myth & Magic Player's Guide
    by John S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2012 06:31:51

    I stumbled across Myth and Magic about 2 years ago, right about the tail end of the initial round of public testing. The team at New Haven Games were awesome in taking in community feedback and incorporating a good number of the better suggestions from community into the game - several of the Thief abilities, Influence table for Charisma, even the Holy Weapon feature of the Paladin. I have played this system pretty regularly since it's discovery and can honestly, for me, that this is the direction I would've loved to see DnD turn when 2E was discarded by Wizards. The system incorporates many current mechanics in way that stays true to its 2E roots...some modern ideas being ascending ACs, Base-to-Hit (BtH, very BAB-like), bonus spells for exceptional attributes, Fort/Ref/Will saves; some 2E/old school ideas brought forward being multi-classing (advance in 2 classes simultaneously at the expense of needing to require greater XP), return of Weapon Proficiencies and Nonweapon Proficiencies, the removal of the ever escalating numbers of 3E/d20 games. It really does fuse the old school game with the new school approach. I've also had the ability to watch gamers with experience as far back as the 80s and those from 2000 and up pick up the mechanics of the game quite easily. This system hits the bulls eye for me in so many ways. It is definately worth the money.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Myth & Magic Player's Guide
    by John S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2012 00:45:54

    After following this project for neigh on three years (and participating in the multiple betas), I can say that this game meets my idea of the ultimate merging of old school and new school D&D by way of a 2e core with a 21st century polish. If you played 2e (or even 1e or Basic) this game will feel very familiar but also fresh and new, this would also be true if you played any later editions. The cool thing is many of the different features are entirely optional, just like 2e, but they can be turned "off" without causing problems in the game- you can make it very simple or a bit crunchy (just a bit).

    If you have any AD&D material this game will run it with minimal tinkering (on the fly). Newer generations of players will not stumble on the mechanics either as they might with roll low/roll high, matrixes or thac0. As C&C is to 1e, Pathfinder is to 3.5, Myth & Magic is to 2e.

    Modern mechanics, flexible playstyles, compatible with older material, options for players, grid 100% optional. Maybe Wotc should hire these guys :p

    The free Starter Guides can give you a taste and spin.

    Cheers



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Myth & Magic Game Master's Starter Guide
    by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2012 08:25:27

    The much needed Game Master's Guide. Nicely olde school and brought up to date for today.

    Can't wait to see the final product.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Myth & Magic Game Master's Starter Guide
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Myth & Magic Player's Starter Guide
    by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2012 08:23:01

    A great mixture of ye olde D&D with a modern day touch. Well recommended.

    Newhaven's website is worth joining for updates, news, etc.

    Grab it now; you won't be disappointed.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Myth & Magic Player's Starter Guide
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Myth & Magic Player's Starter Guide
    by Ronald W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2012 11:18:22

    If you liked AD&D 2e then you will like this Myth & Magic. If you like the basic mechanics of 3e then you will like it as well. I really like where this game is going and can' wait to see the games final appearance. This edition gives you the basic classes & races and advancement to 10th level.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Myth & Magic Player's Starter Guide
    by loic g. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/18/2012 11:01:34

    Top game. A very good mix of old school Spirit and modern design. If you want the taste of your old AD&D with clean and modern design this is the game you need !



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Last Tomb: Expert Series 1
    by Benton W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2009 16:01:54

    Is there a reason why this is no longer available for free download? I grabbed it a while back for free and now I'm confused.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    The Last Tomb: Expert Series 1
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Creator Reply:
    Hi Benton, I slashed the price to 0 during one of RPGNow's promotions. After the promotion, the price went to 3.99. Sorry for the confusion. Tom
    Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
    0 items
     Hottest Titles
    There are currently no reviews for this product