Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Free League Publishing » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Coriolis: Third Horizon Phrasebook
by Nathan R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2021 09:49:58

An excellent product. It is pretty short clocking in at 4 pages, of which 2 pages having content on. That being said, when you are playing a game, learning a new language isn't generally on the cards and a few phrases just help set the scene and draw everyone into the atmosphere.

Very well put together.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Coriolis: Third Horizon Phrasebook
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Mörk Borg English
by Curse o. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2021 11:58:47

Mörk Borg (@MorkBorg)

This is my shorter version of the full review I plan to dive into another time, but I wanted to share my excitement in my last review of 2020.

CW: Grimdark, Adult, Violent Themes and images, Ableism , Self Harm

Mörk Borg is a lemon sherbet. Bright yellow, sweet and sour on its hard outside. It’s filled with tart, fizzy death. It’ll rot and break your teeth, but you’ll love every minute of it. Grimdark enough to make the Imperium of Warhammer’s 41st Millennium seem like a wonderful place for Mörk the Borg to sojourn.

Full Review on my ko-fi because of formatting nightmares: https://t.co/WnKS6TPiQr?amp=1

Credits Game Design: Pelle Nilsson Graphic Design and Art: Johan Nohr (@JohanNohr) and dead people Creative Consultation and English Writing: Patrick Stuart Örtmästare Games & Stockholm Kartell PLAYTESTING Adrian Madden, Christian Sahlén, Dan Algstrand, Elin Hedström, Felix Dester Hultgren, Gunnar Landqvist, Karl Stjernberg, Markus Linderum, Nina Åkesson, Simon Perstrand, Stefan Hedström and Tobias Tarnvik-Laesker. PROOFREADING/EDITING Christian Sahlén, Dan Algstrand, Fiona Maeve Geist (MRC), Jarrett Crader (MRC), Johan Eriksson, Levi Huntsman and Skander Fanni. ORIGINAL TRANSLATION Johan Nohr THANKS TO Calle Niblaeus, Christian Plogfors, Christian Sahlén, Dan Algstrand, Domkraft, Fredrik Jarl, Gunnar Landqvist, Heimat der Katastrophe, Helene Rothstein Sylvesten, Jim Magnusson, Joakim Malmquist, Johan Eriksson, Jonas Stattin, Karl Druid, Karl Stjernberg, Niklas Wistedt, Simon Perstrand, Sof i e Nohr, Tiina Pyykkö Nilsson, Tomas Härenstam and all our backers, fans and haters. MUSIC THAT HELPED Ash Borer. Batushka. Bell Witch. Belzebong. Black Tremor. Bongripper. Bongzilla. Cathedral. Conan. Dark Buddha Rising. Darkthrone. Domkraft. Dragged Into Sunlight. Dödsrit. Earth. Electric Wizard. Eyehategod. Gnoll. Godspeed You! Black Emperor. KTL. Mammoth Weed Wizard Bastard. Mayhem. Mephorash. Monolord. Morbid. Murg. Phurpa. Primitive Man. Profetus. Shadowmaster. Sleep. Slomatics. Sunn 0))). The Body. This Gift Is A Curse. Thou. Tiamat. Ufomammut. Urfaust. Weedeater. With the Dead.

My affiliate link: https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/295910/Mork-Borg-English?affiliate_id=1507682

If you are interested in more Mörk Borg there is a hell of a lot of awesome stuff on their website: MÖRK BORG (morkborg.com) There’s also so much awesomeness on itch.io, including the monumental Album Crawl: https://tahmasian.itch.io/album-crawl organised by Michael Tahmasian (@ItsNotTasmanian) and Owen McGauley (https://owenmcg.itch.io/), which I will definitely be getting into another time!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mörk Borg English
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Fear the Evenfall - A Vaesen Mystery
by Eric L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2021 20:28:06

Quality free content, anyone playing Vaesen should download it. There is so much in here that it can be a little daunting. I prefer simpler mysteries leaving more room for improvisation and player input, but I will use many elements in my game. Thanks.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fear the Evenfall - A Vaesen Mystery
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Coriolis: The Last Cyclade
by Arnaud P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/01/2021 10:43:49

This is an excellent adventure book, that improves on the rather linear first episode (though Emissary Lost already featured some content that allowed the GM to expend on the primary story and re-use locations for their own stories).

As always with Coriolis products, the presentation is excellent : wonderful and evocative art, lots of game aids, well-made references, table of content and indexes.

The Last Cyclade continues the Mercy of the Icons campaign with two big scenarios and four mini-adventures and locations, but also provides the GM with a lot of material and background to design their own adventures around the major intrigues. All of this content supports a very fluid second act of the campaign, giving the players the options to travel to many different locations, associate with different factions, betray them and pursue their own objectives. I feel like this can also be used to make up your own campaign revolving around some of the major secrets of the setting.

It seems that the Last Cyclade gets a lot of backlash for its third act. Personnaly, i think it leads to an interesting climax, which will move the story in an unexpected way for the players and precipitate the resolution of events, despite its railroaded and traumatic nature. If you hate it, I feel like the book provides more than enough material and details on the background to help you alter it, give options to the players to prevent it and take the story in another direction.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Coriolis: The Last Cyclade
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Forbidden Hero
by COREY M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2020 09:50:13

I was actually a bit skeptical when I first read through this book. When I read the rules for combat with a solo PC, they didn't sound fun at all...

THEN I ACTUALLY PLAYED... This is a FANTASTIC resource for playing solo Forbidden Lands. Although I don't use the oracles in the book (I use Rory's Story Cubes and the Mythic Gamemaster Emulator, which are actually very similar to what is recommended), I HIGHLY recommend using all of the other resources provided (yes, even the suggestions for solo combat--play and you'll agree).

My favorite parts: CHARACTER CREATION - The recommended boost to Talents was especially helpful for a Sorcerer just starting out, and the suggestion to start with NPC allies provided both help and story ideas.

ADVENTURE SITES - Good info about how to handle a big part of Forbidden Lands--the Adventure Sites. I found this info useful for both randomly generated and pre-written sites.

JOURNALING - I went so far as to buy a journal to record my adventure and it is a big part of the OSR feel for me. Good suggestion.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forbidden Hero
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

MUTANT: Year Zero - Roleplaying At The End Of Days
by Rasmus R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2020 06:25:21

fun and eazy game pla that can turn in to dark horror in any sector



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MUTANT: Year Zero - Roleplaying At The End Of Days
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Dipperdeep
by Rasmus R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2020 06:19:06

a truly fanastik fun version of dungeoncrawling. lots of fun oppertuetus to rp and explore with out cmbat but still the option to fight.

and also all the names and eastereggs



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dipperdeep
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Vaesen - Nordic Horror Roleplaying
by Seamus C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/23/2020 13:33:03

"Vaesen’s got heft where it counts, and after reading I fully understand why I was seeing the game on so many superlative year-end lists. Just enough mechanics combined with solid writing and solid genre awareness may just make Vaesen my go-to for playing neo-Victorian monster hunters who work out of a gloomy castle. That might sound very specific, but if Vaesen learned one thing from D&D, it’s that a narrow concept works. I highly recommend giving this narrow concept a chance; your inner monster hunter and inner Scandinavian will thank you." - Aaron Marks

Read the full CHG review here: http://cannibalhalflinggaming.com/2020/12/23/vaesen-review/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vaesen - Nordic Horror Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Satanic Witchcraft: A Supplement for the Vaesen RPG
by Ray C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/23/2020 02:09:20

Edited review: a great little supplement introducing a character that'll be fun to play, and a vaesen to add some variety to your games. The first download was missing a tiny detail but that was amended and resolved very quickly by the writer.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Satanic Witchcraft: A Supplement for the Vaesen RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Ray, thanks for checking out the product! I'm not quite sure what happened, but the Talents are described - I will re-upload a new version with the talents and what they do, but if you'd like them now, just send me a message and I'll describe them for you! Thanks for letting me know - no one had mentioned this otherwise!
Coriolis: The Last Cyclade
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2020 21:26:09

Roses: a. Art quality b. Excellent binding c. Quite a bit of useful content when it comes to certain star systems, unlocked background secrets, and additional options. d. A substatial portion of the adventure is pretty solid/builds on what was established in MOI1.

Thorns: a. The ending. This book absolutely fails to stick the landing with its ending. What starts off with great promise goes down a road I honestly can't think will be satsfying to many groups. Players are railroaded, have zero agency, and the overall outcome is a classic example of wasted potential, closing out what could have been dozens of very exciting plotlines with edge for edge sake. I honestly won't be buying anymore Coriolis books until I read trusted reviews first.

Overall, I think this one might make a decent PDF purchase for the additional world material, but loses a few stars due to what might be the most poorly written third act i've ever seen.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Coriolis: The Last Cyclade
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Vaesen - Nordic Horror Roleplaying
by Henrik J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/10/2020 04:02:32

I've made a video review of the game here: https://youtu.be/_zWmqoZiA4U



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vaesen - Nordic Horror Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Mörk Borg English
by Davide C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2020 15:53:28

The book that made me buy a physical copy after years of strictly keeping to digital content. It's not just awesome to behold, though, it's a game that knows how it wants to be played.

Not for everyone, but its coherence and dedication in keeping true to its nature without looking to appeal to everyone make this game a jem worth having.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mörk Borg English
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Coriolis The Third Horizon - Quickstart
by Davide C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2020 15:41:51

A beautiful book, with a wonderful setting and dynamic set up. The Third Horizon is definitely an awesome collection of worlds to explore.

For whatever reason, though, the Icons are looking askew at me, the more dice I roll, the less successes I gather...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Coriolis The Third Horizon - Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Tales of High Adventure - Sword & Sorcery in the Forbidden Lands
by Fernando S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2020 13:53:30

These rulesets are fire. They cleverly use structures within the core engine of FL to bring a 'Conan heroic feel'. A MUST for anyone one who wants to bring the Robert E. Howard vibe to their FL game. Thumbs up!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tales of High Adventure - Sword & Sorcery in the Forbidden Lands
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Tales of High Adventure - Sword & Sorcery in the Forbidden Lands
by David R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2020 03:22:18

This is a quite intersting supplement of Forbidden Lands for playing with friends. I have started playing Forbidden Lands recently and the gameplay is fantastic. These additional rules and characters are solid and the art is amazing. I highly recomend this book. Well done!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 158 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG