Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Amazing Tales » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Amazing Tales, complete kids' RPG
by Trevor K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2018 11:45:34

I will first admit that we haven't played an "actual" game yet, but my 3 year old daughter loves helping to tell bedtime stories (with lots of advice from this book) so I feel like I have gotten my money's worth before we even roll for an outcome. This is an outstanding first RPG/story-telling resource for young kids and I'm glad that I bought a physical copy to put on our shelf (even though you wont 'need' it physically to play) I will be recommending this to my friends with little ones.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing Tales, complete kids' RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Amazing Tales, complete kids' RPG
by Jesse B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2018 17:27:53

I grabbed the pdf to play with my 5-year old son and after one game I already feel I got my money's worth. Nothing earth shattering inside as expected, just some super simple rules, some nice art, and some good advice/tips on how to run a very free-form story that a young kid will enjoy. I particularly liked the section about avoiding saying 'No' and getting in the habit of saying 'Yes, and...'. Also contains some story ideas in case you're struggling that can help get creative juices flowing just by reading through them before starting. During character creation, reading off the list of 'skills' a robot might be good at helped us get the ball rolling on the skills my son ultimately picked, and following the advise to ask a lot of questions questions about 'What is space like in this story?' (Are there aliens? Are they good or bad or both? Do you have a ship?) quickly got us started on a random adventure we made up on the spot about him buying his ship and traveling to a friend robot.

FWIW, I was debating the pdf vs a book and I'm glad I just got the pdf. You won't need it to reference anything at all during game play, and the story ideas/art can all be read/shown from a tablet or phone very easily. Save a tree and money and maybe get the coloring book instead if your kid really enjoys the art.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing Tales, complete kids' RPG
by Joshua R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2018 14:53:35

Amazing Tales is THE best way to start playing table top RPG'S with your children. Firstly there are examples on what to expect and how to play with young kids. One example, dont plan a big campaign. It's moment to moment story telling and roleplaying. The dice mechanics are simple to learn and characters just have 4 skills. No attribute scores, inventory, or hit points to worry about. With the tips in the book your kids will learn to make fun and creative characters. I recomend the PDF as it will not take you very long to read it front to back. You will not need to refernce the book for skills or monsters. There are 4 sections for settings which have sugjestions but most can be noted for when you play. The best part is children can take any show or books they love and be or create a character for that setting.

My daughters game is centered around a Pirate that can shape shift (so over powered but thats OK and part of why this system works). Most importantly she says that this is her favorite game. We get to spend more time together and enjoying a hobby. It's like being able to tap back into a childs imagination and let go of the what is or is not possible. Have fun and I hope you try Amazing Tales.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing Tales, complete kids' RPG
by Carrie R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2018 00:18:27

I ordered two copies of the standard hardcover for my children and my niece for Christmas, but now that I've seen them in person I don't think I can wait that long. The illustrations are absolutely beautiful! I've read through the instructions, they're very easy to understand and seem to cover everything. I love how the focus is on the children's creativity and creating a story with them; it seems like the perfect introduction to RPGs.

If possible, I'll update my review once we actually have a chance to play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing Tales, complete kids' RPG
by Marc P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/13/2018 12:25:22

Hard Cover copy is beautiful. This is a wonderful gateway book for young ones. Looking forward to playing this with my son when he's a wee bit older (only 17 months old).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing Tales, complete kids' RPG
by Graham W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2018 15:54:35

Amazing Tales is a fantastic game. I've played two sessions with my three year old son and he loves it. Both times he's made dinosaur characters and usually finds a nonviolent way to resolve conflicts and help the NPCs we create together. Last time he even created a sidekick character in the middle of the story so we added some more dice and he played two characters. The coolest thing about Amazing Tales is that you can create literally any character you can imagine in a matter of five minutes. Amazing Tales is super fun and I recommend it wholeheartedly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing Tales, complete kids' RPG
by Michael V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2018 16:09:29

i have been in search for the perfect RPG to play wth my kids (6, 6, 8 and 10). I've played a bunch of them—No Thank You Evil!, Tiny Dungeon: Hatchling Edition, Hero Kids, and now Amazing Tales. They all have pros and cons, and sometime I'll have to write up a comparison, but as much as I like NTYE and the others, Amazing Tales is now my go to for my two youngest. I have yet to try it with my two older kids, buy I think they will like it (though they are capable of understanding more rules than Amazing Tales requires.)

I'm pretty new to DMing, and this has helped get more confident improvising. Of all the games I mentioned, this one requires the least prep—not just in terms of character creation, but in feeling empowered to sit down without a plan and create a story together. It was very easy to understand, while also FINALLY providing a fun way for my kids to use polyhedral dice (all the others use either single d6 rolls, or various d6 dice pools. They work well, but I've been looking for a simple game to get my kids used to the polyhedrals.) Amazing Tales can be played with only d6s, but typically uses a d6, d8, d10 and d12, one for each "proficiency"

Highly recommended. While I still encourage any parent to get NTYE, and I think NTYE does a better job explaining how to play an RPG to a family who has never ever played one (and has fun game pieces to use), I'd recommend Amazing Tales over it for parents of 4-8 year olds in most situations, as a starter RPG and then trying any of these others if they liked it.

(for anyone who's intested, I'd say Tiny Dungeon feels like micro (and I mean really rules lite) D&D done theater of the mind (and you have to bring the story), and Hero Kids feels like an RPG with a board game feel, but very little prep needed as the adventures you can buy have lots of boxed text and every enemy and obstacle accounted for. NTYE has very open character generation, and rules to support that variety, and very fun kid friendly adventures). Amazing Tales feels like structured story time with the kiddos.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing Tales, complete kids' RPG
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2018 18:14:17

Tried it with my 5yo daughter. Several sessions so far. The game tottaly does everything it's up to. It's very easy to pick and to explain, but it's flexible and it can deal with any situation or your kid's idea. And the book is short (which is good for me)

To create a character you ask the player what their PC can do. Settle the names for those (my daughter first said 'command', but changed her mind in favor of a broader 'be a queen') Then ask the player, what is PC best at? Repeat 3 more times.

The roll mechanics is easy. Each ability assigned a dice (d12, d10, d8, d6). The player rolls it - 2- means a failure, 3+ means a success (we used a slightly advanced mechanics)

K.I.S.S. principle at its finest

Also the book holds a bunch of good advice on the subject and some great adventure seeds. I love it



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing Tales, complete kids' RPG
by Leif C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/27/2018 18:51:11

My three and a half year old son has recently gotten into family game night, and he has enjoyed some classic board games. But, he is very creative and loves story time, so I thought that Amazing Tales would be a great addition to our game nights. I ordered the premium hardback edition, and it arrived a few days later. It is a gorgeous book, and we enjoy leafing through the pictures as well. I wasn't sure if my son had the attention span for the game yet, but the structure of the game makes it appropriate for all ages. While not a RPG veteran myself, I've always wanted to get into them. This is just that game! I love that the book encourages your child to incorporate toys and props into the gameplay. It certainly helped keep my son's attention. The four unique worlds introduced in the book are excellent, and will surely present options for your kids no matter their particular interests. And, the rules make it easy to adapt to any IP you wish: Star Wars, Comic Book Superheroes, etc. Imagine a Genesys style RPG, but for kids and their parents. I highly recommend it for everyone, as it is a lot of fun for children and adults alike!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing Tales, complete kids' RPG
by Lisa W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2018 07:38:16

I bought the pdf last week to play with my seven year old son. We've played several games already and he is entranced! This game presents a marvelous format for creative collaborative storytelling. The core game mechanic is simple and easily understood by young children.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing Tales, complete kids' RPG
by Richard T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/09/2018 04:49:36

A simple game to introduce young children (4 and up) to RPGs. The rules are basic enough to only take one page and general enough to cover most situations. Gameplay is easy and only requires D6, D8, D10 and D12 (there are rules for only using D6, but I think they would make the game harder.)

The book explains the game, simple character generation and gives 4 example settings for playing, with adventure seeds for each of them. The book is nicely illustrated and the illustrations themselves could be used as adventure seeds.

The book is printed in quite large text (I like this, I'm tired of squinting at tiny text in RPGs!)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG