Little Wars
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Rowan, Rook & Decard » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Spire
by Joseph C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2019 21:02:47
Spire is hands down my favorite RPG to date. The rules are simple and based very much in a story-forward type of style. It's easy to learn and master. However, the world, the art, the whole book, it is all dripping in personality and depth. Spire perfectly subverts the narratives that have plagued the drow for most of DnD history. Instead you are meant to humanize them, be one of them, and fight for them. This game is also willing to not pull any punches when it comes to the depiction of colonialism and revolution. Each character class is evocative, steeped in the lore of Spire. It makes it easy to get into and not just be a "generic fighter". Instead you are a Knight of the North Docks, a swashbuckling knight who uses bravado and quests to further their goals. That is just one class of the many that this book contains. Cons wise, there are very few. The main issues are the equipment tags, which can feel very bloated at times, and possibly the Azurite class. That class felt somewhat generic compared to the rest of the amazing options. This book is beautiful, and reading the entire thing is quite a treat. I recommend it whole heartedly to anyone who plays RPGS.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spire
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Honey Heist
by Johnathan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/22/2019 11:11:53

A gamee that shows that an RPG does not have to be complex to be enjoyable. I have run this game twice now, and it has been alot of fun both times. Character creation is very simple and easy. This is a great distraction for a group wanting something different during a large campaign, or just looking to have a few hours of fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Honey Heist
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Pride & Extreme Prejudice
by Ryan M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/10/2018 14:07:44

We played a mini campaign with this and had a great time. It's a remarkably efficient piece of game design that has just enough mechanic to make it feel like a game and to shape the play to emulate Austen. We used different colored note cards for each of the sisters to declare their actions so that it was clear when we were trying to blindly determine order. That the same mechanic is used to resolve mech combat and social maneuvering works very well. Well done!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pride & Extreme Prejudice
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

One Last Job
by Frederic H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2018 07:47:31

Sadly the entire PDF is poorly layouted. Looks like MS Word. :(



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
One Last Job
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Codex of the Deep Spire
by Andy R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/03/2018 13:31:35

Happy with my purchase. It's a little lean - but the content is solid. Introduces several weird and unsettling elements for use with the Spire. There's several pieces of fiction, hints of spooky stuff, and some stuff that will make excellent handouts. I might have preferred a little more crunch, but what there is (in the form of some new extra advances) is good quality. The Katakos Delver in particular has a lot of potential - if anything I'd have been interested to see more about this concept and the robotic husks it introduces.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Codex of the Deep Spire
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Honey Heist
by John H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2018 16:28:06

We were given a copy of this game to play at PAX when we had too many players for the Indie RPG Showcase. I was the Game Master, and our crew was ready to perform the heist within minutes of sitting at a table. Rolling up characters only took a minute or two, as the game's rule system was very simple. A few randomly determined character traits, two attributes and maybe a total of 6 die rolls for the GM to set the scene.

If you're going to play this game, it helps a lot to have a player, or players who can carry play forward, as there is not much structure and it's very freeform. After waiting a few minutes for me to sketch out the location for Honeycon, the players stared at each other blankly until one person took the initiative and kicked things off.

After that, we rolled on for almost three hours, laughing at the ridiculous things we were all up to. Fiasco comes to mind a bit, as our crew barely made it to the end through all kinds of mischief.

The atmosphere of the game depends a bit on the GM, but mostly on the players. We had some hard-bitten bears who vowed to never forget "Be(a)rlin," as well as some more wacky bears who just wanted to cause some mayhem and get some honey.

In short, the game works. If you have a funny crew, or want to get your family to play an RPG without the overhead of traditional RPGs, that can be as lighthearted as you want, I would choose this one.

Also, as the GM- definitely take a minute to plan out Honeycon a bit, it does wonders. Create a few characters, or even a convention schedule so that the decisions the players make have more to effect. For example, my players waited until halfway through the day to even get to the con- they missed out on a LOT of free honey. But don't worry, they made up for it in the end.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Honey Heist
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Spire
by Kyle W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2018 07:20:28

Disclaimer: I backed Spire’s Kickstarter campaign.

Spire is a fantasy-punk (for lack of a better genre) roleplaying game designed by Grant Howitt and Christopher Taylor. The game is beautifully dark, focusing on cadres of drow forming resistance cells against high elf (aelfir) authoritarians ruling the titular Spire.

Ultimately, some of the difficulty of adequately reviewing Spire is the complexity of its narrative and the problem with putting it into words without stripping away the wonder and joy of a first experience with the setting. Spire’s setting is wonderfully complex, a thinking person’s setting with both massive systemic struggles between authority and resistance and small personal battles on every front.

Every part of the world feels interconnected, but each has its own distinctive feel to it. Reality around Spire is warped and distorted, and the world’s pantheons are innumerable. The result is a setting with surreal elements that does not overwhelm. Familiar tropes and conventions are played with, ignored, subverted, deconstructed, and played straight in ways that encourage explorers of Spire to find themselves in sublime and beautiful places.

All of this happens in a world that feels so deep you will have a hard time believing that Spire is as short a document as it is (and plans for future content are out there). Character creation builds the setting; characters are tied into their struggle with the choice of durance, a sort of indentured labor to the aelfir. The advancement is class-based, but the experience is far different from what you would find with D&D.

Rather, classes advance largely in a narrative fashion. Advance occur when characters accomplish acts of changing the world (for better or for worse; unintended consequences are a pivotal point in the game). Each advancement can come with a direct impact on the character’s attributes, but almost all come with more significant story-related consequences.

The core mechanic is complicated enough to allow characters to feel quite diverse; a player rolls a number of d10’s based on how skilled they are (minus a penalty for very difficult action), and want to receive the highest result possible to avoid taking stress.

The result is a system that feels incredibly natural and smooth to play. Not only is success instantly recognized (without having to consult any references to tables or mathematics), the system actively creates a healthy amount of risk to any dangerous action.

This is a game that’s fun to play, easy to learn, and gets out of the way of the storytelling when it needs to. The writing is sublime, and the art creates a mood and tone that is, to my knowledge, unrivaled in any other tabletop roleplaying game. The designers suggest looking to Fallen London or Sunless Sea for inspiration, but I feel that Spire has surpassed its inspirations and source material.

This game is a work of art. I have reviewed hundreds of games, and only rarely have I been able to make that statement wholeheartedly. It is one of very few games I can suggest without reservation. It is worth every cent of its price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spire
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Spire
by Nick P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2018 01:57:59

Excellent game! Beautiful writing and solid game design.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Last Job
by Misha H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2016 18:53:59

This game is quick, it's easy to learn, there's just enough mechanical heft to it for there to be both thematic and mechanical choices for the players (without having many rules they have to learn), and the game's style is brilliant. Best of all, character creation is a part of emergent gameplay, so there's no early step as everyone tries to familiarize themselves with their sheet and abilities.

One of the best one-shot systems I've ever seen.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Last Job
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG