Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Earl of Fife Games » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
The Helm of Radiance - Adventure for 5E
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2020 21:10:35

The Cavern of Whispers is said to be haunted by malevolent, restless souls that jealously guard an artifact known as the Helm of Radiance. Many have dared to brave the cave in the hopes of riches and power, none has succeeded. Will your PCs succeed where others have failed? Find out in this six-page, 5e sidetrek/expanded encounter for 1st and 2nd level from Earl of Fife Games.

I can’t give much away without spoiling the adventure’s central twist, but it’s imaginative, fun, and gets huge kudos for playing against expectations. Also, of note, one can overcome the final challenge in a number of ways, perhaps excluding combat – a nice change of pace.

While a couple of head scratching plot points need addressing by the GM, they are easy enough to correct and don’t detract from the overall experience.

The Helm of Radiance may not suit the tastes of those who like gritty or grim gaming, but younger players in particular should enjoy the experience.

Editing and formatting are very good and the pdf sports nice full-color artwork.

Cody Leigh has delivered a rather enjoyable side trek that serves as a change of pace. It demonstrates a grasp of 5e rules, some interesting twists, and is inexpensive. Worth looking at for an hour or so of gaming.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Helm of Radiance - Adventure for 5E
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Heroes and Hardships Quickstart Guide
by Cody L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2020 21:40:01

I playtested this game through several one shots and a campaign. I can comfortably say that this is one of the more comprehensive RPGs I've ever played. The roll-keep format creates compelling results, the skills allow players to cover every potential interaction within multiple settings and combat system is fluid. Heroes and Hardships has a place at any table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes and Hardships Quickstart Guide
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Heroes and Hardships Quickstart Guide
by Peter H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2020 13:09:58

I took part in the playtest of this game and really enjoyed it (you'll see from the reviews that everyone did). It's on the grittier, more simulationist end of the scale when it comes to combat, but runs a lot faster than something like Rolemaster. I particularly liked the character creation system, which gives enough options to meaningfully shape your character but not enough to cause confusion. I'm looking forward to seeing the wider range of options in the full book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes and Hardships Quickstart Guide
by sim 1. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2020 13:00:22

Had the pleasure of playtesting the system multiple times. Its going to be a great toolbox for players and gm's who want to step away from the heroic and into the gritty. Mistakes will kill your pc's and victories will taste much sweeter with this system.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes and Hardships Quickstart Guide
by Kurtis M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2020 12:11:47

Spectacular. I had the pleasure of playtesting and the system is brilliant. Every fight has tension and anything is possilbe. The level of effort put into this is clear the from the moment you open the book!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes and Hardships Quickstart Guide
by Jarrod W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2020 09:53:11

The Quickstart Guide itself is immense. Nearly 100 pages and an index? And great art? As Elaine Benes would say, "Get outta here!"

I've had the chance to play H&H several times, first in a Western-themed campaign and second in a cyberpunk-esque one shot. The system handled both settings well and is easily customizeable.

Combat can be brutal, dangerous, and add real weight to your roleplay. I have it to thank for my character's rapid promotion from deputy to sheriff ;)

The full game will be something special.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes and Hardships Quickstart Guide
by Walter P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2020 09:41:25

Every fight you go into has a chance of death if the dice gods disfavor you. This pleases me.

With this game I can finally say someone from Colordao has done something of note.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes and Hardships Quickstart Guide
by Heather M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2020 18:52:21

I was able to playtest this system a few times and loved it. It's very versatile in terms of setting. From feudal Japan to the western frontier, Heroes and Hardships can adapt. The dice system may take a few tries to get used to, but once you do, it is fast-paced and easy to use. The AP system allows everyone to engage in combat easily without waiting half an hour for their turn. The layout of the book is intuitive, and anything you need to know can be readily found.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes and Hardships Quickstart Guide
by ysabeau1 W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2020 22:01:15

I was a playtester for this system. If you are paging through and thinking "this is nothing like D20", you are correct. The rules are original and therefore take a bit of mental effort to absorb. However, I highly recommend putting in that effort and giving it a go. I think this system results in more realistic play, and combat is SO much more engaging than what you are probably accostomed to! Tracking Action Points requires more keeping up with than 5e initiative, but the flow is quick and allows for very cinematic feeling encounters. It has been designed with all genres and settings in mind, and I look forward to playing through the more advanced rules as they are released.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG