Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Andrews McMeel Publishing » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Revised Core Rulebook (Phone PDF + Digital PDF)
by Brendan G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2019 11:35:03

This works on a d100 system and it has a dark and gritty atmosphere - there was a lot of roleplaying flavour in character creation too. The class system was really interesting and reminded me of sword of mana for gba.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Revised Core Rulebook (Phone PDF + Digital PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Official Character Sheets
by Marc F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2019 23:34:52

So... they somehow made the new character sheet worse than the old one. Mainly the first page- rather than bringing us more of the things we need all the time into easy view, they took up a quarter of the first page with fluff, and put a DM's tool (the difficulty chart) where they should have put the Damage Track. Seriously, character description stuff is needed when you make the character and when you introduce them to the group, and then it's kinda done, from a bookkeeping point of view. Or easy to flip to if it comes up. Taking up a line or two on the first page is fine for identifying which character sheet it is, but this paragraph is just... bad. /facepalm



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Official Character Sheets
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Revised Core Rulebook (Phone PDF + Digital PDF)
by Marc F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2019 15:31:17

It's great that there's some competition to the other big d100 grim rpg, but this one is written by people who don't understand good RPG rules. If you want fluff and loose system, it's OK. If you want a good ruleset that stands up to any kind of scrutiny, move along.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Revised Core Rulebook (Phone PDF + Digital PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

MAIN GAUCHE Grim & Perilous Supplement
by Joseph C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/27/2019 20:02:52

Zwiehander is AWESOME. Main Gauche is NOT. The biggest weaknesses of the core rules are:

  1. The Fluff that separates over-lapping classes.
  2. Weapons (seriously weird selection) Main Gauche doubles down on these weaknesses, HARD. Many of the professions are way out of step with the tone of the setting, many other professions present ludicrously racially specific fluff which again, just doesn't fit with the tone at all. The expanded weapon selections are just weird and off-putting. Please explain to me how exactly Claymores and Great-Swords don't qualify as Zweihanders from the core book? Or how about the plethora of pole-arms that are introduced to a core system which extensively mocked AD&D's obsession with different types of polearms, to the point of stating that "people engage in Gygaxian musings" about different sorts of pike? On top of this, Main Gauche goes way out of it's way to include a bunch of special "not-magic abilities" and "not-magic materials" to a low-fantasy setting which just come across as irritating.

This isn't the worst possible add-on to the system but everything it accomplishes could be better handled with house rules that don't make it impossible to avoid the fact that Zwiehander as a whole is a direct rip-off of Warhammer Fantasy (seriously, Blitzballers? WTF, does GPG want to get sued by GDubs?)



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
MAIN GAUCHE Grim & Perilous Supplement
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Revised Core Rulebook (Phone PDF + Digital PDF)
by Ricardo M. A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2019 12:24:33

I've liked the book very much. The love and care of the Authors is overflowing, the descriptions are witty and the illustrations are awesome.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Revised Core Rulebook (Phone PDF + Digital PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Sorry to hear you had that experience, Ricardo. As a rule, our company doesn't log in on the weekends to respond to customers requests. That being said, I believe we now have you taken care of. If you feel there is something else we could do, please email me direct: daniel@grimandperilous.com
MAIN GAUCHE Grim & Perilous Supplement
by Eric R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2019 04:24:41

This book adds a ton of options and provides useful tools. I recommend it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MAIN GAUCHE Grim & Perilous Supplement
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Revised Core Rulebook (Phone PDF + Digital PDF)
by Douglas G P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2019 15:44:12

This is abviously a labour of love, and it shows. the detail is incredible and the art direction is fun and evokative; it is very reminicent of 80's rpgs. The system though is robust yet easily accessible upon first reading. It may look daunting but it is not. There are so many nods to rpgs and gaming from the past and present that it keeps us looking for easter eggs. I am extreemly happy with my purchase. As an aside, the book sets out to be inclusive, intentionally using "they/them" for he/her, I believe that this is an amazing editorial decision and one we, as a community, should applaud, for we should be looking to grow the community of RPGers and not alienate.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Revised Core Rulebook (Phone PDF + Digital PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Revised Core Rulebook (Phone PDF + Digital PDF)
by Mark M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2019 10:27:27

Im sure this is a good game, Im sure its written decently.

I liked the stories at the beginning.

But then I got to this :

GENDER NEUTRALITY Throughout this book, you’ll note that we use the singular ‘they’ (along with its inflected forms like them or their) for indeterminate gender. However, our play examples will typically reference the gendered pronoun appropriate to the gender of the player or their Character.

Why does this have to be in the book? Why does this diversity BS have to find its way into RPGS?

This is a fantasy world. I dont want real life, or SJW BS in my games. Come to my table, have fun, leave the real world out of it.

So I give it 3 stars, and probably will never play it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
MAIN GAUCHE Grim & Perilous Supplement
by Mateusz C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/23/2019 19:08:01

So far I only skimmed, it but from the look of it: new profession, news skills, new spells and new rules. So far so good, nothing new... wait, this all stuff is crazy. I never knew I needed zeppelins and steampunk motorcycles in my dark fantasy gaming, but I did.

This supplement has well thought out stuff that's not obvious to have, and this is it's best selling point - this stuff is fresh



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MAIN GAUCHE Grim & Perilous Supplement
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

MAIN GAUCHE Grim & Perilous Supplement
by kourrie r. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2019 10:53:42

An awesome expansion on an already awesome game. Massive character classes/weapons/vehicles additions. I would say the most interesting is how "Daemon's" can be accepted as your god of choice, and gain powers in return by doing their bidding. "You want to RP a chaotic and evil villain? that's fine, we'll throw in some incentives as well!". Also the community for G&P are very helpful for any questions that may arise at any point.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Revised Core Rulebook (Phone PDF + Digital PDF)
by kourrie r. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2019 10:38:06

A friend had GM'ed a sesh with G&P: Zwei, and fell in love instantly with how it plays. There is a massive system for character class customization, and then more with expansions. Battles are also very high tension and entertaining as well, with bleeding and injurys being a very real threat, but not just physical, but also mental threats as well. I would also say that G&P:Zwei is very flexible for GM's and players. I highly suggest G&P:Zwei to anyone who is a fan of pen & paper RPGS, and that if someone needs help with G&P:Zwei, the community is very helpful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Revised Core Rulebook (Phone PDF + Digital PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Gamemaster Screen
by Alina O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2019 10:55:47

Really nice illustration, good overview on the other side



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Gamemaster Screen
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Character Folio
by Taylre G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2018 22:31:26

"Form Fillable" PDfs are locked and unable to be filled. Concerns have been raised in the discussions, nothing has been done about. Still advertised as form fillable.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Character Folio
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Early Access
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/22/2018 12:03:14

War Hammer FRG with a twist and a d100 system. Solid work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHANDER Grim & Perilous RPG: Early Access
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

DARK ASTRAL Grim & Perilous Chapbook
by Todd S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2018 07:17:25

The included sample setting, or "campaign seed" as it's called, is clearly a riff on 40k. But criticizing a sci-fi supplement for a Warhammer Fantasy heartbreaker for being too much like the sci-fi version of Warhammer Fantasy is missing the point. And besides, the included setting is just a sample. Just like Zweihander itself, you use this information to make your own world.

The bulk of the material is weapons and armor and other gear like cybernetics. There are included rules for things like automatic weapons and corruption gained form cybernetic implants. Some of the terminilogy was cumbersome, like weapon modes of Semi, Semi-Auto, Full-Auto should have been Semi-Auto, Burst, Full-Auto to keep them more in line with not only the real world but with the terminology you'll find in other games, but that might be bordering on the pedantic. There are a few pages of examples of turning existing Zweihander professions into their Dark Astral equivalents, but I would have liked to see a few more (though they covered most of the 40k equivalents). There is some black and white sketch art throughout the book that evokes that 40k/grimdark feel quite well. There are a handful of typos, but nothing that prohibits comprehension. I'd love to see it expanded to a full product, but what we have here is enough for any GM who's already comfortable with running a Zweihander campaign to run a grimdark sci-fi campaign.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DARK ASTRAL Grim & Perilous Chapbook
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 59 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG