Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Underground Oracle Publishing » Reviews
Browse Categories
Militant Death Squad
Militant Death Squad
Pay What You Want













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Firstdawn: The Festival of Spirit
by Curse o. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/24/2020 05:59:53

Walking in a Underground Oracle Wonderland

I reviewed a bunch of the Underground Oracle winter and festive wonders here: https://ko-fi.com/post/SebsReviews-Walking-in-Underground-Oracle-Wonderl-M4M831293

https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/297530/Extraordinary-Locations-Ice-Hall?affiliate_id=1507682



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Firstdawn: The Festival of Spirit
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Otherworldly Patron: The Snow Weaver
by Curse o. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/24/2020 05:59:12

Walking in a Underground Oracle Wonderland

I reviewed a bunch of the Underground Oracle winter and festive wonders here: https://ko-fi.com/post/SebsReviews-Walking-in-Underground-Oracle-Wonderl-M4M831293

https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/338328/Otherworldly-Patron-The-Snow-Weaver?affiliate_id=1507682



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Otherworldly Patron: The Snow Weaver
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Underground Map Packs: The Winter Path
by Curse o. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/24/2020 05:58:25

Walking in a Underground Oracle WonderlandI reviewed a bunch of the Underground Oracle winter and festive wonders here:

https://ko-fi.com/post/SebsReviews-Walking-in-Underground-Oracle-Wonderl-M4M831293

My Affiliate Link:https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/340360/Underground-Map-Packs-The-Winter-Path?affiliate_id=1507682



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Underground Map Packs: The Winter Path
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

The Cantrip Cantina: Holiday Libations
by Ray V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2020 17:27:02

Clocks in at 7 pages and only has 1.5 pages with any real material written. Good idea but add some effort and more content.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Cantrip Cantina: Holiday Libations
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Hi Ray! I'm really sorry you were dissatisfied with our supplement. The Cantrip Cantina series are periodicals that build off of one another (and the extra pages are to thank our patrons). They can be used on their own, but they are much better together. Looking at the product description, I can see that I didn't include the number of new cantrips and extraordinary liquors that you get in this supplement. If you'd like to send me an email at contact [at] undergroundoracle.com, I'll send you a few of the others to make up for it. Thanks again for your time and purchase.
Creaturecopia: Acooska
by Jake A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/31/2020 16:35:12

Another strong release by Underground Oracle Publishing. Another well written creature that you can drop into your campaign or adopt for your use!

Check out their patreon to get content like this on a regular basis.

www . patreon . com / undergroundoracle.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creaturecopia: Acooska
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Hi, Jake! Thank you so much for your review and for plugging our Patreon. We really appreciate the support and we're ecstatic that you love our little critter.
The Cantrip Cantina: Spirits of Pallowen
by Scott C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/28/2020 09:04:40

This has already been useful in my campaign. Why? First, who doesn't love new cantrips? Every spellcaster goes bonkers for them. Second, booze is a staple problem/solution in every universe, dimension, world, and setting. You know, because “You meet at the tavern…” Plus, I've bought many Underground Oracle products. They're always high quality, and this is no exception.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Cantrip Cantina: Spirits of Pallowen
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Hi, Scott! Thanks so much for your purchase and your review. We're overjoyed that you're enjoying this one. The Cantrip Cantina series is also one of our favorites and the spooky-theme was incredibly fun to work with. :)
Spooktober 1 [BUNDLE]
by Curse o. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2020 18:48:18

My Review of Underground Oracle’s (@UOPublishing) Spooktober 1 [BUNDLE] on DriveThruRPG (@DriveThruRPG)

What can I say other than this is the most positively spooktacular and spoopy bundle of goresomeness of top quality Six Feet Underground Horroracle supplements!

There is something for everyone with bone chilling cults and subclasses, creatures to bring terror to the table and a festival celebrating this auspicious and awesome all Pallow’s Eve of it all! You’ll laugh, you’ll cry, you’ll scream, you’ll die!

In all seriousness this is a seriously impressive bundle of great stuff that will enhance the pumpkin-spiced season of spoops, while actually remaining relevant, fun and inspiring the whole year round.

This is a seriously ridiculous deal! I have had the pleasure of getting to play with a bunch of these subclasses and factions in a number of games, and feel so incredibly torn by how cool the Cult of Broken Bone is and a few my recent character’s swearing allegiance to the Order of the Sentinels, diligently shining the Sentinel’s Light on the face of evil and otherworldly corruption!

Credits Jess Pendley (@JessPendley) Keith Pendley (@UO_Keith)

My Affiliate Link: https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/329545/Spooktober-1-BUNDLE?affiliate_id=1507682



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spooktober 1 [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Druid Circle: Circle of Scavengers
by Curse o. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2020 14:54:08

Circle of Scavengers by The Underground Oracle (@UOPublishing)

Content Warning: Body Horror, Carrion, the Eating, and flesh sculpting of said carrion (in the subclass) and Excessively and Gratuitously playing with these concepts (in my review)

“From the creatures that have fallen, I shall grow my power. As they replenish the earth, so shall they replenish me.”

Sharvall Cidd, Druid of the Underlands

The moment I saw this I was overwhelmed with intrigue, but then I peeped inside and what I saw was awesome, ridiculous, and ridiculously awesome! This something entirely new and, while not necessarily fresh or savoury in some ways, it is most definitely funky!

Circle of Scavengers introduces some body horror, augmentation/ mutation abilities and waste not want not attitude, that would make David Cronenberg pause and make John Carpenter rolling up stats and composing epic theme music for this nightmare of nature!

“Druids of the Circle of Scavengers bear witness to the cycles of nature and thrive in the areas that most avoid. Using the carcasses and remains of the beasts around them, these druids create scavenger sculpts that they use to clad themselves and transform their bodies, taking power from the energies that these creatures leave behind.” These druids are the rite of roadkill, the cult of the carcass, and rotting body modification missionaries!

Druids can finally edge out Warlocks as by far the most metal class there is!

“Although they may seem like a strange group to those removed from the natural world, druids of the Circle of Scavengers are highly regarded among their earthen peers.” Nature is brutal, nature is metal, and the wildfire punks and swamp scene kids know that game recognises game!

Cycle’s Harvest

You get to scrounge up, keep hold, gain nourishment and more from carrion! I don’t eat myself, but I wholeheartedly endorse this and if I had the ability I would do so too. I have the cast iron stomach for it from being a student and drunkenly ‘cooking’ so many fry ups late at night in my younger days that were disconcertingly cold and sloppy.

Scavenger Sculpt

Eating dead possums (I’m so sorry Sarah and Jess) is fun and all, but this is the meat of this subclass.

Scavenger Druids “are able to use the energy of [their] Wild Shape to repurpose the carcasses that animals leave behind to empower [themself].”

So that’s literally augmenting yourself with bits of animals for mutations and effects like a flesh cyborg (fleshborg?). Fleshborg! Petition to rename this Circle of the Fleshborg!

These bonuses come in the form of added armour, terrifying claws, super vision, SPIKY BODY, speedy pack tactics (I finally felt a bit icky about the term “Scavenger’s Tendons” - Tendon is such a visceral word!)

There is also a sidebar discussing how personal the Scavenger Sculpts are to each Scavenger Druid, “reflecting their background and aesthetic as much as any other article of personal wear.” Expanding on this that, while they are all made out of dead beastie bits and bobs, the individual Druid’s steez could be anything from the “avant-garde to the whimsical to the truly bizarre.” I have so many glorious, disgusting, and mind-bending images in my head and want to get this into the hands of as many artists as I can to see what they come up with!

This is the ultimate melee Druid! So, would be really, really, really cool for the Ultimate Melee Druid to get at 6th level? An Extra Attack while Sculpted! Hell-freaking-yeah!

At higher levels there are new Sculpts to obtain, including fleshy flippers for swimming, clippity cloppity hooves for just clattering into enemies full tilt, literally getting a gob that is bigger, scarier more teeth, sinewy pinions to take to the ait in big, meaty flaps of flesh.

Ultimately Scavenger Druids “Master the Cycle” gaining extra activated Sculpts and even getting to change them on the fly, effectively giving them access to a wise super flesh Shield spell, only better and with more veins and sinew!

I’m sure you can tell I love this! This is by far the most original and inspiring thing I’ve seen with regard to player options, let alone subclasses or Druids...ever! I’m speechless and truly wish I could art to save my life. I need so many vastly different of these weird and wonderful druids. A half-hag one who is just a terrifying willowy frame, bird boned and loping like a sloth, but with hug, sagging folds of skin hanging down and dragging behind – truly terrifying and adorable! You can go the other way with this too, and I can’t help but think of the Gods of Chaos from Warhammer and the unique and wonderful creations you could make to the principles of each of the gods, with a Slaaneshi Scavenger, either being to lewd to even consider bringing to the table or, and this could work for a really pious Druid attached to a worshippers of Helm or Ilmater (Ermagherd! Just imagine those fellows!) that are all about physical perfection and their Scavengers (maybe the truth of them – the grizzlier bits - kept secret from the flock), going from meek little folx, but using their abilities to come out the other side looking like WWE Superstars...The Ultimate Warrior, but the tassels are made of real skin!!!

As you can see this has really whipped up my imagination and I’m already thinking of more Sculpts and greater specificity of what parts are harvested from what and how they affect the Sculpts. There is so much awesome here and even more room to play with. I

Just look at the beautifully creepy and alluringly unsettling art by Anderson Maia (https://www.artstation.com/anderson_maia)! Nice Abs, cool skulls, nice outfit...wait, those horns are interesting on what looks like a hu...what are you doing with those terrifying, bloody fingers? T-talons. Why does it smell of offal in here? Are you c-cooking? Oh, you’re having me for dinner? That’s so kind of you. aaaaaaaaaaaAAAARARRHRGRHRGHRh!

Credits

Written by Keith Pendley (@UO_Keith) and Jess Pendley (@JessPendley)

Designed by Jess Pendley and Keith Pendley

Art by Anderson Maia (https://www.artstation.com/anderson_maia)

Editing by Jess Pendley

My Affiliate Link:https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/327010/Druid-Circle-Circle-of-Scavengers?affiliate_id=1507682



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Druid Circle: Circle of Scavengers
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Another amazingly thorough review! You got exactly what we were trying to convey. We're so happy that you enjoyed this one.
The Ceaseless Caravan: Arona's Battle Busters
by Nicole S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/21/2020 12:24:39

Arona’s Battle Busters will surely add some boom to your parties next encounter! They have a wide variety of some really creative effects!

I'm really excited to use these



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Ceaseless Caravan: Arona's Battle Busters
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
We're pumped you like them, Nicole! Hopefully, you have a blast with them in your games. :)
Realms of The Underground: Underground Oracle Quarterly Vol. 2
by Nicole S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/21/2020 12:14:56

This Supplement is packed full of great content! Everything is very well thought out, presented and explained cleanly with no guesswork needed. It's all ready to be inserted into your game and played. The writing is imaginative and polished Plot Hooks are interesting and engaging It’s just overall awesome!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Realms of The Underground: Underground Oracle Quarterly Vol. 2
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for your review, Nicole! We're psyched you liked it!
Extraordinary Locations: Drumeplaw
by Curse o. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/30/2020 11:59:37

Extraordinary Locations: Drumeplaw from The Underground Oracle (@UOPublishing)

“One’s garbage is another’s treasure, but many’s garbage is a village.” — Drumeplaw town motto

Drumeplaw is an inspired little spot, despite being nought but a wee hamlet laying in the space between two large cities. Still this sparkling second-hand silverware of a suburb is definitely a diamond in the rough. “Drumeplaw – which roughly translates to “junk” in orcish” is a little, odd please “with the energy and atmosphere of a flea market.”

Natural and Recycled Beauty

The surrounding lands and their beauty given sumptuous descriptions, but it’s Drumeplaw with its ‘peasant brick’ roads made from a variety of ‘leftover stones and bricks from the cities that flank it”. The very soul of the village can be felt in this peasant brick, “a perfect representation of the ethos of Drumeplaw”; Recycilstion Nation.

New Lives from Old Things

Kerndan McKeel, a ruggedly handsome older half-orc, saw the tired, poor, huddled masses yearning to breathe free and built a new colossus. McKeel aided the humanoid detritus cast out and rejected by the shining ridge cities, collecting things the cities threw away and teaching any who would listen how to fashion them into new wonders.

The Monument of Junk

Welcoming folx to Drumeplaw is an 18-foot statue made from all manner of discarded and broken objects, setting the tone for this reclaimed marvel.

The Porthole & Kerndan McKeel

This repurposed houseboat is the home and business of Kerndan McKeel, town elder, founder and leader of the caravans to collect more items for Drumeplaw to salvage.

The Iron Cauldron & Old Ryndalla

A place of good grub, grog and company with a speciality “warthog and white bean chilli” and some off menu alchemicals of the salty, sweet and spicy varieties run by an intriguing proprietor who does nothing to quell the rumours of their witchcraft.

Slightly Used Weapons and Armor & Yurgan and Yurgon Millstone

A well-stocked weapons and armour emporium run by two lively, jocular dwarves.

The Misplaced Writ & Garland Ray

You would be surprised the things that can be learnt from discarded books and paper, Garland Ray on the other hand is well aware. She is the information broker and proprietor of the apotheosis of second-hand bookshops. (I need to visit! There was a place in Chichester I just loved exploring that was a pale reflection of this!)

The Lottery and Auction House

The heart of Drumeplaw, aside from McKeel, is its one air auction house, which brings in folx from all around to see the eclectic treasures on show. A weekly lottery for the locals is an end of week tradition with all manner of prizes chosen by McKeel

Rumors and Plot Hooks

Five inspiring hooks are included for adventures within Drumeplaw or including Drumeplaw in your game, from illegal trafficking to a band of thieves stealing the lottery prize. All wonderful jumping off or in points for this extraordinary location!

Drumeplaw is a sensational and inspired settlement absolutely brimming with life, flavour and character. It’s like Bitsa (a kid’s TV show I’ve just been absolutely blasted into the past thinking of and feel so old! https://youtu.be/0A80BPJ8r-M) and Scrapheap Challenge came together and became and fantasy town! The locations, lore and NPCs are vivid and tangible, even in their fantasy larger-than-life nature.

Each NPC comes with background information and full personality traits, and each location is rich in its description, with a number of fascinating text boxes with additional information, as with the ‘Off Menu Menu’.

I absolutely love the ethos and that the half-orc people even reclaimed the derogatory name given to them my orcs for their home. The aesthetic, mien and soul of Drumeplaw speaks to me on a serious level and I thoroughly look forward to working it into my own world, Obaith.

The Underground Oracle continue to release spectacular supplements, each one giving us a peak at their wonderful world and rich worldbuilding. This is up there with the best of their offerings! It’s a crime than such value and wealth of lore and flavour is on offer at such a low price!

Credits

Written by Keith Pendley (@UO_Keith) and Jess Pendley (@JessPendley) Designed by Keith Pendley and Jess Pendley Art by Yorsy Hernandez (@YorsyHernandez) Editing by Jess Pendley

My Affiliate Link https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/320755/Extraordinary-Locations-Drumeplaw?affiliate_id=1507682



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Extraordinary Locations: Drumeplaw
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Extraordinary Locations: Drumeplaw
by Matthew F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/21/2020 09:47:36

This EXTRAORDINARY Location makes me want to play a whole game in the world of The Underground Orale. I need more! Give me all the locations! This location has so much character, it's as if the city itself is a character. The NPC's are so thought out and well written. The plot hooks flow perfectly. I have no complaints at all. Buy this! Add it to your world. You won't regret it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks, Matt! This one of many coming, so we're glad you like what we're doing! :)
Druid Circle: Circle of the Unseely
by Curse o. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2020 16:56:36

Circle of the Unseely by The Underground Oracle (@UOPublishing)

“Their willingness to give themselves fully to forces of darkness, natural or otherwise, have left them twisted and lost. They are the antithesis of what we as druids strive for. They are abominations.” —AarriannaKahn, High Druid

These Druids might not make a lot of friends with their peers, giving themselves entirely to members of the Gloaming Courts of the Feywild with dreams of true ascendancy without care for the morals or nature of fey from which they draw their power.

Circle Spells

The spells granted by the Unseely are unsurprisingly as mercurial and selfish as their source, bestowing upon their druids a slice of the eldritch and arcane with which they can cloak themselves from prying eyes, curse their enemies and bewitch the senses. Without getting onto specifics, this is one of the most perfectly appropriate expanded spells I’ve seen on a subclass.

Unseely Ichor

The very essence of Unseely nature exudes from your pores, coming in three flavours that can be used to sear enemies with acid, reduce damage or trap foes against you like flies in your Web. Few things are more creepy cool and show your Unseely side than tactical goo. Noone expects tactical goo!

Shadow Dance

This ability causes the shadows of any number of enemies within range to turn on them, fighting at the whim of the druid for a number of rounds or until the shadow can be wrangled. Imagine if Peter Pan was even more Unseely...

Courtly Seeming

With this ability you can actually assume the guide of a lord of the fey to enthral and terrify at your own whim. Makes you a lot of fun at parties.

Embrace the Gloam

At this point you are one with the Unseely and they are one with you! Laugh in the face of the scary and suggestive. Shrug at mundane arms and bamf between shadows at to your hearts content. You are the shadow fey now; Unseely and everything else is unseemly.

There are good, great and super-duper subclasses, but some manage to be all of the above, while tapping so perfectly into the concept they are bringing to life. This is the apotheosis is an Unseely pitch, which would make a gloriously fun and flavourful player character, as well as acting as a bloody brilliant foil for your PCs, being the perfect link and inspiration for Unseely NPCs and adventures.

I’m in love with the flavour, use of existing spell and new abilities, combined with that Underground Oracle style and the gorgeous Anderson Maia art! This is what happens when the lore, mechanics, writing, art and vision come together to truly make something awesome!

Don’t forget to check out the Unseely Fey [BUNDLE] for more Underground Oracle Unseely Fey goodness! https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/319690/Unseely-Fey-BUNDLE?affiliate_id=1507682

Credits Written By ~ Jess Pendley (@JessPendley) Designed By ~ Jess Pendley & Keith Pendley (@UO_Keith) Art By ~ Anderson Maia (artstation.com/anderson_maia) Editing By ~ Jess Pendley

https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/295334/Druid-Circle-Circle-of-the-Unseely?affiliate_id=1507682



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Druid Circle: Circle of the Unseely
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for your incredibly thorough reviews, Sebs. A creator could not ask for more. :)
Remarkable Races: Awakened Familiar
by Randall S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2020 11:46:03

This is a wonderful document. It is creative and informative. Not only does it allow the option for different Awakened Familiars, it provides wonderful ideas to build the character. I love the degree of challenge added with the lower Hit Dice than usual; it will make for an interesting game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Remarkable Races: Awakened Familiar
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks so much for your review, Randall! We're incredibly happy that you're enjoying the supplement. We're pretty close to silver at the moment, so you should be seeing an update with a few more options very soon. :)
Arcane Tradition: School of Cruormancy
by Matthew F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2020 09:03:43

Jess and Keith hit another home run with this Arcane Tradition. Blood magic has always been an elusive type of arcane power in my setting. Between this and "Esoteric Texts: Spells of Cruormancy" it has become almost effortless to introduce the new type of magic to my world. The spells and subclass are very well balanced in my opinion and I would 100% let any of my players pull spells from it or use this tradition. Underground Oracle is the 1st third party publisher I go to when looking for something new to introduce into my world, and they never disappoint.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arcane Tradition: School of Cruormancy
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks so much, Matt! We worked very hard on our Cruromancy options or a while, so we're absolutely psyched to hear that it paid off. Glad you've enjoyed them!
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 82 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG