Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Stiff Whiskers Press » Reviews
Browse Categories
ACC [BUNDLE]
ACC [BUNDLE]
$242.32 $200.00













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Dark Trails RPG - Bootleg Edition
by Daniel P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2020 00:30:51

I've read this and watched a bit of a play through, and I'm really excited! I was just introduced to DCC RPG and I think this is going to fall right in line with the fun of that! My only feedback is that I hope that more examples of the rules are included in the complete book. There were a few paragraphs in this quick start I had to reread carefully just so I could understand how the mechanic works.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Trails RPG - Bootleg Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Dark Trails RPG - Bootleg Edition
by Kurt R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2020 01:39:41

I have been fortunate enough to play in two of David Baity's (creator) Dark Trails adventures, as well as one of John Watson's, "Hell Train". All were immensely enjoyable and memorable events, so I was very excited to be able to get the quick start rules and to begin creating my own world for Dark Trails. Although having the DCC rulebook will help you, mostly by increasing the amount of spells for Dark Trails spell casters like the Occultist and Revelator, you could run games with just this quick start. I can remember some of the class abilities and powers from my convention play testing, that are not in the quick start, but I have found that they are not yet needed for the lower level of play that I have been running. The system's defining rules on character Path (alignment), Boons and Hexes, and the Gun Deck are enjoyable, easy to employ, and provide distiction from the rest of the DCC family. Like DCC and its kin, there is the 0 level funnel, birth signs, and cool crit and fumble tables - all are assets to Dark Trails as they are to DCC and MCC. Myself and others are already brewing up ideas for cross genre senarios. I have, and am currently, running a 0 level funnel and a 2-3rd level adventure, once at a live convention, and again on an online convention, with plans to run and refine these throughout the summer. You'll find you can do the same with the quick start - any gaps in the currently available material are an opportunity to utilize your own creations. I tend to tinker with any system I run, and Dark Trails has the breadth and depth to allow you to do this without "breaking" the game. If you missed the Kickstarter, you can still preorder the full rules set. You can also check out David Baity's "Carnival of the Damned", a DCC adventure I was fortunate to play in at GaryCon VII or VIII. Join "Dark Trails RPG" on Facebook for its growing community's ideas, inspirations, events, advice, and feedback.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Trails RPG - Bootleg Edition
by Lexington T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2020 12:40:40

Pretty disapponited in this after all the hype. I have to say that much of the content is outstanding, it's just that his really needs to be it's own game, not a modification of an existing rule system. If you love DCC, espeically it's "rules light" quality, then you will not be happy with this. It seems to have forgotten that "rules light" is a big part of what makes DCC what it is.

Anybody who has been gaming for very long has surely run into these system modifications that, by their nature of being a modification, make things much more awkward and difficult than if they just started from scratch and wrote a system that would work smoothly for their game. That's what happened here. I'm sure it started out as a weird west source for DCC games but has become entirely it's own creature, and sadly, it's pretty broken IMO. The classes are great, the spells and items are mostly good, but there's a few mechanics that are just unnecessary and would be dumped from my games, though I don't suspect I'll be running it. The first two that come to mind are the crazy gun deck and the alignment system. I understand the gun deck is a tool to simulate wear and tear on a gun and drive the need to clean it, but with a limited deck it's pretty easy to count cards and know if you are due for a critical hit soon. By cleaning your gun you may actually reduce your chances for a critical hit, or bring a critical fail card to the top of the deck for your very next shot. Not to mention requiring a deck of cards for each player at the table (though David will happily sell you some cards with his brand on them). And the alignment system, well, sounds interesting in theory but I can't imagine actually using it in play due to the general "fiddliness" of it. Those are just two examples of mechanics that strike me as diametircally opposed to the DCC philosophy of keeping the rules simple so play flows smoothly.

My two star rating is based upon some of the great content and artwork involved, but I just can't go higher than that when I read through and thinki "I can't imagine running this game". I'll stick with my Dark Trails Call of Cthulhu system, thank you.

I would certainly not recommend buying two levels of play for the listed price regardless of how many pages and how much content is involved. I'd hold out for the full rules and see how the reviews look. At this point, that could be a long hold out as the final package was scheduled for delivery two months ago, at which time the creator was still writing spells, at least according to one of the very few updates that actually update anything about the project. Most of the updates we get are just pushing more junk to buy - dice, dice bags, playing cards, etc. - or pushing unrelated contests and updates on the creator's personal life. What we are hearing is "I'm really busy at work, doing the best I can, but I swear it's going to be done in 2020." During the campaign there was tons of excitement and regular communication, since then it's like our money is gone and the project is dead (from our point of view) with nothing coming out except "trust me I'm doing the best I can but this is hard".

Based upon the reliability of past updates, I wouldnt count on 2020 as a solid delivery date. Again, it's been in playtesting for 5 years but yet still writing content after the original projected delivery date? David clearly bit off more than he can chew and seems to be getting bad advice about how to manage his communication with backers. He gets upset anytime anyone asks "where's my stuff?", despite us all having shelled out $80+ to back the project a year ago. But hey, at least we got pictures of his birthday party.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Trails RPG - Bootleg Edition
by Bradley S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2020 15:32:28

Made of sterner stuff than other RPGs of its ilk. Lots of character classes choose from and set in the weirdest of wests. You can be sure to chill the saddle weary bones of any player who dares to venture into its eerie world.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Trails RPG - Bootleg Edition
by Tom W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2020 15:16:06

Fantasitc game! If you're in any way a fan of westerns, you gotta give this a try. Based on the DCC core rule set, but uniquely expanded and enchanced for the setting, this game has a flavor unlike any other RPG. From the inventive rules for the use of firearms, to the diverse and creative character classes, to the phenominal background and setting, this game is a must for horror and western fans alike!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Trails RPG - Bootleg Edition
by Marlene W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/23/2020 13:51:16

I love this RPG. As a huge fan of Dungeon Crawl Classics, I love to see the imaginative places the game is taken in the hands of the hugely creative community. Dark Trails gives the player the opportunity to delve into many new classes including gunslingers, luchadors, and alchemists. It also gives GMs the chance to terrify their players with tons of unknown monsters, patrons, and deities. As a Kickstarter backer, I'm waiting patiently for the book to drop, but meanwhile I'm delighted to have access to this fully playable Bootleg Edition. This is a purchase you won't regret.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Trails RPG - Bootleg Edition
by Cody H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2020 22:18:22

Dark Trails oozes style! I've been fortunate enough to play through a couple of different modules at conventions and have never been disappointed! It's a gritty escape into a weird and macabe wild west that will leave you wanting more!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Trails RPG - Bootleg Edition
by Kevin K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2020 14:03:34

Dark Trails is Fantastic! First off, its based on the Dungeon Crawl Classics Roleplaying Game which is also fantastic. Then, you take the Wacky West and put it into the zaney DCC system...nothing can go wrong there!

Seriously though, if you are a fan of Deadlands or any other creative enterprise in the Ol' West then Dark Trails is perfect for you.

Some favorite mechanics: The Gun Deck, using a deck of cards to simulate gun action ractchets up the tension! Boons and Hexes using poker chips are a fast and loose system for destiny and fate to intervene when needed!

You should check this out!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Trails RPG - Bootleg Edition
by Mike C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/05/2020 14:10:47

It's what it says on the tin. Weird West based on the DCC ruleset. DCC core book not needed, but it doesn't hurt.

The Good: The art in this is great. The rules are complete and playable with some interesting additions to the DCC base rules. Playing cards are involved in gun fights which adds a lovely old west feel. All the classes are represented with a taste of poweres and spells. Just as with DCC there is a lot of support from third party products for this genre already with zines and adventures (and don't forget whole game lines that used this genre as their playground you can borrow ideas from). Rumor has it Gongfarmers Almanac 2020 will be filled with a bunch of Dark Trails inspired goodness.

The Bad: This is not the finished game yet. There are complete rules and class offerings but they stop at level 2. This is more than a quickstart, say akin to D&D Basic Boxed set where you had enough to get going and play for several sessions before making stuff up on your own. Some may baulk at paying $12 for a starter set and they should wait for the finished project. For those hungerin for a DCC Weird West it's here and waiting.

The Ugly: Not a finished product yet so I'll hold off saying what doesn't look like it'll work (I've not run it, just read it). Though the incluided funnel seems particularly deadly and looks like it could take several sessions to fully get through (long time to be at zero level).

Face it, it's the Weird West, it's DCC, it's pretty as anything. You know you want it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Hey Mike! Thank you so much for the time you took to leave a review. I'd really love to hear more of your thoughts on the things you don't have a taste for, as I'll be taking feedback all the way up til I send the book to the printers! I may have missed something you've spotted, so drop me a line at DarkTrailsRPG@gmail.com Thanks, Dave
Dark Trails RPG - Bootleg Edition
by James M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/02/2020 11:08:57

This is a pretty cool idea. I love the idea of a weird west theme based on the Dungeon Crawl Classics ruleset. I haven't had time to play it yet, but I know this will hit my table soon. This is a pretty beefy preview and worth every penny.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Trails RPG - Bootleg Edition
by Stefan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/02/2020 07:46:13

I had the opportunity to play this game at a convention while the Kickstarter was running and was immediately hooked. I backed the Kickstarter and read over the Bootleg Edition as soon as I got the PDF. The rules are great and well balanced. I love the easy implementation of banes and boons via poker chips to represent luck (or lack thereof). Plus, it's really great how playing cards are used for bonuses and crit success/fails to gunfights. Both can easily removed from the game, though I think you'd lose some great flavor by doing that. Just wanted to note that in case anyone is not wanting to use anythign except dice.

This is the system that does the weird west genre the best for me. That genre difference is also what allowed me to easily get my normal gaming group to agree to try it and we were able to play something that isn't D&D. This is a big recommendation from me for anyone who wants either of those things.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Trails RPG - Bootleg Edition
by Brandon F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/02/2020 02:23:30

Oh, where to begin? It feels like DCC and Deadlands (Classic) skipped merrily over the border, hand in hand, and that's a good thing. I really was not expecting it to be so good for what I wanted out of it.

It brings a lot to the game table, having a bit of something for most playstiles. All the way from blowing things up, to mixing potions, to being dead, and then throwing down for a smackdown, it's suprisingly all in there. Walking the Path helps with keeping an eye on how the player's are doing morally and Boon/Hexes have a nice feel to them for 'luck' (though I'm still trying to figure out how, or even if, the party's supposed to be shaking those Hexes. I might have missed it somewhere, but I'm still not quite sure how/when those go away or refresh).

It's certainly worth a look if you enjoy the likes of DCC and Deadlands.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Trails RPG - Bootleg Edition
by Sarah E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/01/2020 13:24:52

This "shortened" bootleg edition, leaves you hungry for more, but in the "It tastes so good that I want more" way. Packed with fantastic art, cool character classes, and interesting game mechanics, this can be a stand alone book to get you started down dark trails for your home game. The art will help players visualize the weird west setting and the types of characters and monsters that live in this setting. The GM and players will have everything they need to gather the posse and head west.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Trails RPG - Bootleg Edition
by Chris Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2020 13:05:59

Weird Wild West + Horror + DCC rules set = Awesome in a lot of ways

I supported the Dark Trails kickstarter a while ago and as part of it the Dark Trails Bootleg edition has been released. I love it. I have played Dark Trails before and I even ran a funnel adventure for it at Gary Con in 2019. Ever since I tried Dark Trails I enjoyed it. Its different than your standard DCC in that it is a Weird West setting. It has horror elements to it. I was hooked on reading this book since I got it because I wanted to see what Mr. David Baity has been doing with the system since I last checked it out. He has been working hard on it. In this book, you will find everything you need to start a Dark Trails game (except for players, and some dice, and playing card decks). The system has eleven new classes. Each have a great feel to them and I like a lot of them. Mr. Baity gives us a taste of what the game will be like by presenting two levels of each class. So you can start your Dark Trails campaign with the funnel adventure in the book (Great idea by the way) and then can advance the character you have survived to level one characters. There is a whole new mecurial magic chart relatable to Dark Trails. We are presented with rules for firearms which play a huge role for most characters. Dark Trails presents a new system for alignment and I enjoy it. Intoxication (chasing the worm) rules are really a great idea for a game like this. Fear and Madness rules are discussed and its a dangerous times out there so this makes sense. There is a system that is in addition to the normal luck rules called Boons and Hexes. This is interesting and I like it. It fits well with Dark Trails.

Overall, I told Mr. Baity, this Bootleg Edition made me want to run a Dark Trails game even though the full game is not 100% complete yet. Its great. I hope this review might help you out if you were considering purchasing the book or pdf. Its a great introduction to Dark Trails RPG.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Trails RPG - Bootleg Edition
by Matt C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2020 19:08:21

This here be a rootin', tootin', gunslingin', gamblin', hustlin', rustlin' Lovecraftn', Fan-the-Hammerin', Occultn', tome of AWESOME and on Helluva good time!

Do yer self a favor Cowpoke and grab yer boots and spurs for a rough riding time of hellfire and tarnation after the seven days of night!

Giddyup and YEE-HAAAW!!!!!!!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Hey Matt! Thank you for taking the time to leave some positive vibes on the upcoming game! Please reach out to me at DarkTrailsRPG@gmail.com as soon as you can! D
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 26 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG