RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Pipeline: A Call of Cthulhu Scenario for the 1980s
by Antonis T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/16/2019 04:49:06

An excellent scenario!! Survival horror at it's best!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Pipeline: A Call of Cthulhu Scenario for the 1980s
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Parsonsville Horror
by Rickey J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2019 15:45:10

I really enjoy this scenario for two major reasons. One is its fine balance between enough information to run it competently, but leaving more than enough room to tweak it how I like or adjust my own mental image of how I want the adventure to play out. The second reason is how well it captures the atmosphere for the DM as well as the players.

The layout is informative and well structured. The handouts described scenes with emotion and detail that gives me a feel for the NPCs, which lends well to role-playing as well as giving me an extra angle to engage with the players.

Really well done look forward to more from the author!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Parsonsville Horror
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Nephilim Character Dossiers
by Bjørn K. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2019 05:14:27

I have edited my original review

The new version of the pdf here makes my original review irrelevant.

I already own the physical product but decided to purchase this pdf verion so I wouldn't have to bother scanning the dead tree version.

That is a good choice as the pdf here is of a quality I would be hard pressed to reproduce from my ancient dead-tree scrolls of lore.

I love the Nephilim setting and it's source material, all of which I am the happy owner!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Nephilim Character Dossiers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Pipeline: A Call of Cthulhu Scenario for the 1980s
by Perry T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2019 14:32:02

Just recieved my printed copy today and I cannot commend the quality high enough. Like the previous reviewer said you are not just getting another scenario but also a great suppliment that will help to improve any cold weather scenario. Highly recomended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Pipeline: A Call of Cthulhu Scenario for the 1980s
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition Conversion Guidelines
by Rick G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/05/2019 13:27:45

i have used this to convert all my older titles, only wish there was just some smaller A5 cheat sheets



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition Conversion Guidelines
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Call of Cthulhu Investigator Handbook 7th Edition
by Monica G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/26/2019 11:24:23

Call of Cthulhu is one of the all-time greatest of role-playing games, and the Investigator's Handbook makes the standard game even better. This book is full of useful supplemental information that extends the rules of Call of Cthulhu, and adds background to the game, especially if you are playing a game set in the 1920s. Given that the 1920s are now nearly 100 years in the past with the publishing of the current edition of Call of Cthulhu, this book is indespensible as a source of information for running a game in that era. The book starts off with an overview of gameplay, and a retelling of the classic H. P. Lovecraft tale 'The Dunwich Horror'. From there it goes into the character creation process, from a walkthrough of how to roll for stats, to details such as a list of period-appropriate names. This provides a nice extention on the character creation rules of the core rulebook. As well, the book dedicates an entire chapter to character occupations that goes way beyond the brief list provided in the core rules. It offers many more options and much more depth for each option, sometimes including alternate rules and background information for 1920s vs modern games. Next we come to the chapter on skills, which is largely in line with what you get from the core rules in terms of rules and skill descriptions. The important difference is that the Investigator's Handbook offers some details on how our modern concepts of skills differed from those in the 20s. Sciences that are central to the game, such as psychiatry and forensics were very different in that era, and being aware of those differences can make a huge impact in your game. There are several chapters that help both keepers and players develop their setting and the characters in it. There is an entire chapter dedicated to organizations that invesigators may belong to, or perhaps cross paths with in the course of a campaign. This is useful for keepers who may need a reason to bring players together. There is also a chapter on sample characters, which is useful for players who need examples for ideas of what to play, and for keepers who may need an extra NPC on the fly. Perhaps the best part is the chapter on the roaring 20s, which includes lots of historical information to add context to your game. It has a nice timeline of events, descriptions of daily life that include things like speed limits, firearm laws, and common technologies. There are some very useful lists of vehicles of the time, as well as a detailed and illustrated list of firearms of the era. There are also some brief biographies of many famous people from the 1920s, in case you want your players to catch one of Houdini's performances, or perhaps bring their newly-discovered lightning gun to Nicola Tesla. The last chapter of the book also has lots lots of useful information for pretty much anything you might need in the game, from distance charts, to prices for items and services both in the 20s and in modern times. As well, it features a section on converting rules from previous editions of Call of Cthulhu. And there is a very useful chapter just for players that gives advice on playing the game. This includes things like general good role-playing etiquitte, but also tips more unique to Call of Cthulhu, such as not relying on firepower to take down monsters and how to plan ahead for when you inevitably have to replace a dead character. Overall, there is something for everyone in this book whether you are a game keeper or a player. If you are running a game set in the 1920s and want to keep any sort of accuracy in your game, this book is a must-have, unless you plan to spend hours doing historical research on your own. Even when running games in other settings, this book has plenty to offer anyone running or playing Call of Cthulhu.

Read our full review and ratings on this book at GeeksAGogo.com!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Call of Cthulhu Investigator Handbook 7th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Book of Sires
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2019 01:18:41

A singular and impressive work which expands and complements the homeland options and family histories of player-knights in the Early Period of the Great Pendragon Campaign. The Family History Tables now take into account homelands other than Salisbury and regions other than southern Logres, bringing them into line with the broader options elucidated in the Book Of Knights And Ladies. A truly brilliant stroke is the possibility that player-knight's families may be displaced from their homelands by the major events of King Arthur Pendragon's particular pseudo-history: invasions, conquests, civil wars, and so on. A player-knight whose ancestral homeland was that of the Cantii tribe might first follow his family's exile to Brittany in the wake of the Saxon invasion of Kent, and later see them return to Logres with the sons of Constantin to oust the tyrant Vortigern. Book Of Sires provides a vast array of additional detail for players and gamemasters alike, as well as an extensive bibliography for those seeking to delve even further into KAP's Arthurian milieu.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Sires
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Gatsby and the Great Race
by Cory W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2019 19:02:46

I felt compelled to write a review with some counterpoints to the last one. I cannot say enough about this scenario being entirely awesome and players LOVE it. What Michael says is true - it is a convention scenario, and it is by no means easy to get set up with the Con folks - it's quite a task to pull off and getting dedicated Keepers to put on this performance, as that is what it is (although a LARP, it is not), arrange for tables in separate spaces and get the special table in another location where isolation makes it all the better. However, pulling this event off locally WOWS people - I'd suggest at least three tables of 4 players (and a Keeper per table), and you then need the escort Keepers to for the players between tables. It is a fresh and incredible experience, and people are interacting and their brains are craning to figure out what is going on - it is AWESOME.

There is a lot of great info in the book and great tips - it doesn't cover every scenario as it's very Keeper-centric - go with a theme and throw in cool weirdness, red herrings and Lovecraftian (or other) staples to keep everybody guessing. They are truly solving a mystery in across many tables, and players LOVE it. Blindfolidng is kinda creepy, but we've found blacked out "granny sunglasses" work great and don't overly stress people, and but using them is a HUGE boon for the players - it's different and a novel new scenario additon. If anybody is interested in more detail, I can provide more information. We're currently running a little circuit of Gatsby and the Great Race at Gary Con and Gamehole Con in the Wisconsin area - if this sounds of interest and you'd like to have the experience, we'd love to see you there!

Gatsby and the Great Race has an incredibly well tuned scenario with lots of great mechanics (it's 6th Edition Call of Cthulhu - we've converted them to 7th), huge backstory and the open and creative leeway for players to have an >experience< - with the effort and coordination between Keepers to make every table interesting and different, players are blown away by Gatsby and the Great Race. If you pull off a multi-table session with dedicated Keepers, your players will have an incredible time and awesome mystery to behold.

Ha - that review was 8 years ago... This is a lovely ancient gem - I can't say enough about how great this scenario is - enjoy!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gatsby and the Great Race
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mizuumi no bakemono
by Godo T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2019 16:14:01

この作品は少人数で遊ぶことに長けており、日本の一般的な情景を想像しながら遊ぶことができます。 登場人物や目的地も少ないため、キーパーの負担も軽く、気軽に日本を舞台としてプレイすることができます。 日本の妖怪である『河童』を題材にすることでより日本らしいクトゥルフ神話を再現しています。

ただ、ANNEX 2: CREATING INVESTIGATORSのランダム表が偏見に満ちた内容になっているので注意が必要。ゲームとして、ジョークとして遊べば日本人でも大盛り上がりするはずです。 少ない欠点を上げるのならSUIJIN SHRINEについての情報が少ないことです。クトゥルフ神話に詳しいプレイヤーなら真っ先に調べる箇所なのに何もわかりません。



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mizuumi no bakemono
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Alone Against the Tide
by Alexander B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2018 01:52:24

There were way too many arbitrary decisions that if you failed them you would immediately die. Furthermore, many situations have easily conceivable alternative methods of solving the problem but are not presented to you which in my opinion shows a lack of forethought concerning some of the decision points in the game .



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Alone Against the Tide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Isle of Madness
by Jackson M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2018 20:03:57

A very fun pulp adventure well worth the small price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Isle of Madness
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Casting Call of Cthulhu
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/06/2018 15:46:50

The Call of Cthulhu monograph series varies tremendously in quality, and Casting Call of Cthulhu is one of the best. It contains dozens of NPCs for use in modern-day Call of Cthulhu games as people who might be informants or provide specialized assistance to the investigators.

A key element of why the Casting Call of Cthulhu is so effective is its organization. The NPCs are listed by the "field" they are in - art, crime, law enforcement, media - meaning that when the players suddenly, out of nowhere, want to go to the press (for example), you have several to choose from. The characters presented are diverse, and each are given fully humanizing qualities - you never know what characters the players will seize on as appealing, so having a solid background, goal, and personality helps bring them quickly to life.

Call of Cthulhu isn't a game that lives or dies by its recurring NPCs - this is a tremendous first step towards filling out a setting that can otherwise feel empty and isolating as the horror genre tends to be.

The missteps in the piece involve some typos (a problem throughout the monographs) and some archaic terms that don't reflect how best to describe a diverse set of peoples. (C'mon, "Oriental"? I get that Gary Gygax used it but Said published Orientalism in 1978. Can't we have caught up by now?)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Casting Call of Cthulhu
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Moonglow
by Konrad R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2018 01:27:36

Well written and complete with everything you need to just read it and start playing almost immediatly.

  • Handouts (maps, NPC lists for the PC)
  • 4 Character sheets (every character can be male or female) + 1 blank sheet
  • Complete scenario, perfect for one evening
  • Inspired by Lovecraft works but in futuristic setting

I will certainly try with the CoC rules as well as a Dread game. It's a perfect fit :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Moonglow
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Great Pendragon Campaign
by Mattias S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/05/2018 10:26:32

Im sure the content of the book is good but the quality of the print is bad. The paper is thin and feels cheap. The pictures look faded and looks like its printed with a old home printer running out of ink. The paper is so thin you can almost read the text on the other side through the pages.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Great Pendragon Campaign
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

RuneQuest Quickstart
by Jorge J. V [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2018 20:50:02

The text was poorly edited, the combat rules are wrong and can't be followed as written. It needs a better copyeditor or line editor.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
RuneQuest Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 363 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG