Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Chaosium » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
LEGION
by Frank M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2020 11:29:37

Man, broo! One of the quintessential Gloranthan baddies. This well-laid out book (it's a solid 90 pages) is full of the wide depth and breadth of chaotic variety that one can encounter with these creatures. And it's not just the usual stuff. There's tons of new chaos features, new diseases (at least nine, including the intimidating Wakboth's Eye), new items sprinkled throughout, new all sorts of stuff for any broo-lover and broo-hater to enjoy. There is even a very handy breakdown by cult of who follows which dangerous deity from Cults of Terror and Lords of Terror. Gamemasters can quickly find over a dozen Malliants and nearly 2 dozen followers of Thed, not to mention an insane sorceror, some shamans, and other nasty broo, including a follower of Vivamort! And for those large-scale battles against chaos, there are about 50 lay member broo detailed as well, fleshed-out enough to throw into a battle at a moment's notice, very handy for a gamemaster. I say about 50 because it seems there are a couple missing here and there if you go by the numbers. But you have to expect some chaos when dealing with broo. For those gamemasters out there, Legion is an invaluable source of inspiration for any type of broo encounter you are planning. And for the players, it's worth purchasing this supplement just to get an idea of what might be coming your way!

I can't go on without mentioning the artwork. The illustrations really bring the Broo to life. You no longer have to imagine what a shroom-covered broo looks like, or a heavy into the spirit world kind of broo who kills himself because he knows he can come back to kill you looks like, or all sorts of other chaos is in our blood broo look like because they live right there on the pages for your eyes to feast on! So if your adventurers are wondering what the bad guy looks like, you can show them! Creatures, items and diseases all get their visual dues.

The new additions to the orginal version of this release (like the broo name generator and the waystation) fit in perfectly and allow for a deeper level of gameplay for both players and gamemaster. Where the original version of Legion focused on the broo themselves, the waystation gives a location for you to test out these nasty creatures. The author gives several helpful examples of how to use Legion broo with the waystation location. Depending on how one use's it (and there are many excellent suggestions given), the former lunar outpost can become a potential base of operations, or something even more. Definitely a few evening's worth of gameplay! Exterior views and a map are included of course, as well as suggested locations for the waystation in Glorantha and gameplay hints.

Highly recommended and I look forward to the next release by Neil Gibson. Kudos!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
LEGION
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

The Strange Case of Mr Cardew
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2020 07:29:02

I like this scenario a lot. I have read Raphael's two novels and this being in a similar vein does not dissapoint. What you get is a solid story which is easy to digest and present to your players. I like how it lays out early on for the Keeper what is actually going on and the most useful skills and types of character . There are also a wide variety of aproaches that have been considered and plenty of attention given to red hearings and what happens if the players poke their noses in unwelcome places. Plenty of investigation, action and mystery to appeal to any Cthulhu fan with no small amount of humour thrown in. I also like the fact it is concise a mere 10 pages including the front page image and hand outs and that's a good thing. It does not feel like you are being short changed but more like effort has gone into keeping it to the point whilst not missing out anything pertinenet.

What can I tell you about the Strange Case of Mr Cardew without giving anytthing away? Well I would say it's an unusual who dunnit with Graveside humour.

Why not 5 stars? Well as it is paid for by contributions you can't expect the artwork (you only get the cover) and I would like to have seen character portraits for the main cast.

Download it. You will enjoy it and bung the guy a dollar or two whilst you are it. We need to encourage writers like Raphael.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Strange Case of Mr Cardew
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

LEGION
by Jonathan W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2020 04:52:36

So that is that then – Now I have Legion, I never need to roll up any more broo stats!

Legion is a lovingly written sourcebook full of horrendously wonderful baddies to be set against a party of RuneQuest adventurers. Not only does it include legions of these horrors (from rune masters down to lay members) but there are also some great extras, including new diseases (I love the Dermal Glue art – yuk!) but also now a free adventure that I am looking forward to running.

Well written with great art and a good sharp feel to its layout, I thoroughly recommend this publication.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
LEGION
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

[Polish] Shellshock - Nieopisane lata ’20
by Arkadiusz G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2020 03:12:14

Bardzo inspirujący i dobrze napisany scenariusz. Postacie z krwi i kości oraz dobry plot gwarantują świetną przygodę dla badaczy. Dwie linie czasowe są zabiegiem ciekawym i dobrze wpływającym na imersję oraz swoistą " filmowość". Serdecznie polecam. Prowadźcie z głową bo szkoda zniweczyć tak dobry scenariusz :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[Polish] Shellshock - Nieopisane lata ’20
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Secrets of Dorastor
by Paul R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2020 04:27:22

Bought this a while back and have been digesting it. Full disclosure, I was one of the authors early victims in RQ, but if I didn't love the product I wouldn't rate it, just politely ignore it. The book is not ready to play, and that is a strength. instead the author provides information on creatures, personalities and items, together with scenario hooks that any decent gm would be able to see possibilities in. i knew a few things here already, as I had used them in my campaigns having seen how interesting they were (the spirit warriors are a boon to the time strapped gm). Open the book at random to any page (well amost , i just did it and got a full page picture) and you will have interesting details on something, together with clever scenario ideas, many of which are laugh out loud funny in the deviousness. Dorastor is an awful place. Enjoy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Secrets of Dorastor
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review, Paul. I am pleased that you were not too scarred by your experiences in Dorastor.
The Pendulum & The Pit
by Diana P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2020 04:03:18

Whether you will like this depends entirely on your sense of humour. Spoilers begin about here.

It's a hilarious horror story, and anyone who has ever loved or hated family gatherings will know what it means.

The Pendulum and the Pit is very Gloranthan, but might not fit into your Glorantha. If it does not, then there are plenty of things to steal. As a free issue, it's worth picking up to try, and reviews and comments will help the author to decide whether to go further.

As a multi-possibility multi-thread game, the book is well designed and set out, although it probably needs a couple of reads to get all of the details. It's done about as well as it could be.

In weak points, the countdown rescues seem rushed, even for countdown rescues. They are not my kind of thing, so I may be looking at them wrong, but I'd have to run them repeatedly to find out. You WILL meet with Triumph or Disaster - but with the timing as it is, a lot seems to depends on PCs not behaving like every adventurer party ever.

It would need a group that trusts their GM on Loyalties, or is prepared to take 'magic' as an explanation. Fortunately this is mostly covered by the core rulebook, but contrarian players might footstamp, so GMs will want to think about how to explain what is going on in terms of the PCs being overcome by magic. That should not be hard, but could potentially be explained better.

I felt there was too much loot. While the household is rich - and while most of the loot probably falls into a giant pit - there is still too much chance to have a campaign be flooded with gold. It looks like this was written according to older RQG rules. My solution when running would be to have 1/10 of the value on most things, and have many (but not all) magical items be keyed to members of the Dread Family. It's not a problem, but it did throw me a bit.

The understanding of the West and the Invisible God may be changing when the books on such things come out from Chaosium. I'm a new-school Gloranthan and unconvinced that the word 'saint' will hang around. That said, it's what we currently have, people who know the game already will be familiar with it, and who cares if your mileage varies?

I wanted more art, but then again, this is a free book. Someone should tell Innes how to make backgrounds transparent. Me. I should tell him. Hey, Innes? Catch me if you want a bit of art help. You can make backgrounds transparent! (I think he might know that, but oh well.)

The strong parts: It was both funny as a concept and entertaining to read. The comparisons of harmony and disorder, and the likelyhood of getting both so the players can enjoy them too, are fantastic. Reading the Disordered descriptions was my favourite part.

It was definitely tragic too, and horrific. It is nothing I would ever have thought of, and is very, very Gloranthan. The magic holds up. The logic holds up. There's a giant murderous woodpecker and that's just one of those things, right? Of course giant murderous woodpeckers live in underground tunnel complexes. Don't you know anything? Even if it doesn't fit your game it's a great one-off.

I'm probably holding off on running this until at least I know what 'The West' means, but I'm glad I didn't hold back on reading it. It was hilarious and wince-worthy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Pendulum & The Pit
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Mythos Explorers #1 - Door to the Sky (Pamphlet Adventure)
by Carl M. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2020 17:27:21

This is an interesting product and a new idea for me. I never imagined that I would read a Call of Cthulhu adventure in a few minutes and play with my weekly group - I am used to reading adventures with dozens of pages.

What I liked most was the simple format: the text goes straight to the point and tells what is happening and what clues can be found. The rest of the scene, I imagined and improvised, and it worked well. It's all on one page, so it's easy to refer to during the game. The price the author is charging on the product is worth the idea.

I missed some handouts to give to my players, but I made a text from a diary and a page from the mythos book that the adventure refers to. It was not difficult, but I understand that it is not the purpose of this supplement.

The character sheets of the four Investigators accompanying the product are also practical and compact. I think each investigator's list of skills could be longer (Fábio Silva used 10 skills for each Investigator, and I preferred to add some more). There is no space on the sheet for the background details, but we could write these details on a separate peace of paper. The sheet has all the basic information for the player to start playing without making calculations (all Characteristics and Skills have the value for common, hard, and extreme success), damage bonus, build, dodge, etc.

In short: it is a complete adventure is a sheet of paper. It is well organized, and the layout is beautiful. It has the option of printing black and white and color. This adventure was useful for my group and me, and we had fun for a few hours. It was worth the amount I paid. I hope the author releases new adventures in that format.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythos Explorers #1 - Door to the Sky (Pamphlet Adventure)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Six Seasons in Sartar
by Samy C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2020 15:05:37

Outstanding. Highly recommended. I'm french. I bought Runequest in the late 80s when it came out in France. Back then, I felt overwhelmed by the whole Glorantha thing : the timeline, the gods, the magic... Where do I start? How do I handle a campaign? I gave up.

30 years later, Runequest, Roleplaying in Glorantha came out... And I decided to give it another try. The game is absolutely awesome. Still the same questions arouse : where do I start? How to handle a campaign with players who have no knowledge both of Glorantha and BRP? Someone on social media suggested Six Seasons in Sartar. I decided to give it a try. And I never regretted it. It's a great campaign, but it's much more than that : it's a piece of art. It has a soul. The story is both simple and straightforward, yet deep and well thought out. I appreciate a lot the(I'm not sure of the word), modularity? You can pick what you want in the story, you can make it grim and dark or lighter and full of hope (even though it's a tragedy). The author pieces of advice throughout the book are very helpful.

Now I think I get it. Now I think I can handle a Runequest campaign. Thank You.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Six Seasons in Sartar
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Six Seasons in Sartar
by Samy C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2020 15:05:37

I'm french. I bought Runequest in the late 80s when it came out in France. Back then, I felt overwhelmed by the whole Glorantha thing : the timeline, the gods, the magic... Where do I start? How do I handle a campaign? I gave up.

30 years later, Runequest, Roleplaying in Glorantha came out... And I decided to give it another try. The game is absolutely awesome. Still the same questions arouse : where do I start? How to handle a campaign with players who have no knowledge both of Glorantha and BRP? Someone on social media suggested Six Seasons in Sartar. I decided to give it a try. And I never regretted it. It's a great campaign, but it's much more than that : it's a piece of art. It has a soul. The story is both simple and straightforward, yet deep and well thought out. I appreciate a lot the(I'm not sure of the word), modularity? You can pick what you want in the story, you can make it grim and dark or lighter and full of hope (even though it's a tragedy). The author pieces of advice throughout the book are very helpful.

Now I think I get it. Now I think I can handle a Runequest campaign. Thank You.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Armies and Enemies of Dragon Pass
by Mikko R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/08/2020 14:13:07

I absolutely love it. This treatise does justice to the work of Greg Stafford and those who have contributed and followed where he led.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Armies and Enemies of Dragon Pass
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you.
A Rough Guide to Glamour
by Matthew T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/08/2020 06:05:50

O. M. G(s).

This marvelous book raises the bar for fan produced content. Writing, iluustration, layout are all top notch. (I have a couple of typographical quibbles that are too small to worry a review with.) Do you need it? Probably not Do you want it? Yes indeedy It is I think best described as a collection of essays and ephemera by ancient and respected grognards in the fan community, some of whom have since gone to "like [Runequest] so much [they] bought the company." The topic in question is as much the Lunar culture as it is the Lunar cit. So even if you never plan to visit its a compelling, and humourous, read. I love in particular the rumor boxes, with a hand truth rating... the rating system itself is worth a chuckle.

Some of the art id GORGEOUS!

Also is a rare ciommunity content title in that you can buy it POD. And I am impressed by the quality of the first POD product I have ever bough from drivethru



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Rough Guide to Glamour
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

LEGION
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2020 13:59:21

This is a splendid book which demonstrates how Glorantha’s own magic can transform even its basic « canon fodder monster » into something deliciously horrifying and incredibly diverse. Any of these horrendous creatures is a terrible story hook to stick into your PCs’ flesh and soul and drag them kicking and screaming into Adventure !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
LEGION
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review Vivian! I'd love to hear which broo you choose to inflict upon your players!.
In a Merry Green Vale
by Nick B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2020 08:59:44

If you like detailed backgrounds for Sartarite clans, you’ll love the latest Jonstown Compendium release: Vivien Prigent’s In A Merry Green Vale. This 165-page systemless sourcebook centres on the Lysang clan, whose ancestors settled the titular Arfritha Vale before the kingdom of Sartar was founded. Living between the Colymar, Malani and Cinsina tribes, they form a bridge between two areas previously detailed for HeroQuestWorldWars: the Colymar of Sartar: Kingdom of Heroes and the Cinsina of the Red Cow books.

The sourcebook is set in the Lunar Occupation period, with an innovative campaign premise that kicks off in 1614: the adventurers are the children of exiles, returning under an amnesty to a homeland they’ve never known, so the players can discover details of the setting alongside their characters. The pages that follow are packed with accounts of compromised clan leaders, local troublemakers and all-too-fanatical resistance to oppression.

As well as thoroughly detailing the history and politics of the Lysang clan, with personal profiles that set out the ambitions of every member of the clan ring and family head, there are short writeups for every neighbouring clan; descriptions of clan treasures; a fully fleshed-out heroquest (The Seduction of Gwyncariad) and hints of others; and local representatives of the Lunar Empire’s interests: religious, military and mercantile.

A gazetteer details ancient and modern landmarks throughout the Vale, many with fascinating local features and myths (and many with “eye-splitting Celtic names”). The book closes with six pages of Rumours and a nine-page “who’s who” indexing the name, tribe, clan, cult, faction and function of every named character in the region. This is essentially a gigantic bag of plot-hooks and thwarted ambitions, with complications aplenty for any sandbox campaign.

The author promises to follow up with a Lysang Scenario Pack holding three scenarios in this setting. “All three scenarios have been written with the objective to kick-start long-term campaign dynamics: none of them allows for perfect solutions since the best campaigns are woven from scenario loose ends.” I’m not sure that’s true – some of the best campaigns grow out of sourcebooks like this.

It's well worth a look, even if the period (1615-ish) and systemless / stat-free nature of the book aren’t entirely your cup of tea.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In a Merry Green Vale
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

[Polish] Fabryka Marzeń - Nieopisane lata ’20
by Piotr C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/27/2020 12:00:32

Bardzo dobry krótki scenariusz, świetnie się nadający na jednostrzał, również ze względu na nietypowy pomysł grania postaciami dzieci. Kilkanaście scen, z jasnym wskazaniem funkcji, jakie każda z nich ma pełnić. To, co mi się szczególnie podobało, to nastawienie na wolność graczy. To od ich wyborów będzie zależało, jak się potoczy akcja i jakie będzie zakończenie. Konsekwencje są jasno opisane i nie ma jednej ścieżki, którą trzeba rozegrać.

Przedstawiona sytuacja jest pomysłowa i oryginalna. Dobrze się wpisuje w mitologię Cthulhu, a jednocześnie w prawdziwe problemy lat dwudziestych XX wieku. Zagranie w ten scenariusz może dać dużo satysfakcji.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[Polish] Fabryka Marzeń - Nieopisane lata ’20
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

[Polish] Fabryka Marzeń - Nieopisane lata ’20
by Marta S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/25/2020 15:38:21

I had an enormous pleasure to serve as a guinea pig of the scenario, and I've been waiting to read the whole story...well, impetiently to say the least :D I was DYING to finally discover everything I haven't as a player and I 've expected nothing less than a big WOW after reading...and I was right! It was absolutely great! If you like dark, emotional adventures capturing your feelings- that's a must- have.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 818 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG