Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Chaosium » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Nameless Horrors
by Trevor H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2019 21:29:59

Do you love playing Call of Cthulhu but are sick of all that Mythos Mythos Mythos? Me too. Thankfully we have this wonderful set of scenarios written by the Good Friends of Jackson Elias. (that is a podcast) The hosts of that esteemed show combined to put forth what I consider to be their best effort. I have actually played THREE of these. (played one, ran two) That is the most gaming I have ever got from a single supplement. The cool thing is that this is just weird horror with no reference to the Lovecraft stuff.

I am just a normal guy. I like these type of games, and especially Call of Cthulhu. The problem with CoC is that it can be harder to run than a dungeon style game... what with clues and handouts and all that.... it takes a bit extra from the GM.

But this is pretty easy to jump into. It helps that the scenarios are interesting. You will read this and then pester people constantly to come and play until they do. Then they will be pestering you to run some more of this stuff.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Nameless Horrors
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Legs
by chris s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2019 14:58:03

I really enjoyed this adventure. it's my go to for running call of cthulhu at conventions



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legs
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Bloody Misadventures: Dramatic Battles on the High Seas
by Lord S. E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2019 20:49:16

Ship battles are at the heart of every piratical adventure, and many swashbuckling ones as well. Bloody Misadventures seeks to expand and enhance these rules, and succeeds in doing so. It starts with a quick explanation on the why and how, then goes into a little more detail on ship classes and size. The core of this expansion is broken down into four sections: RUN OUT THE GUNS, Ship-to-Ship Engagements. The author starts by laying out the nuances of sea battles by defining ranges, supporting roles, the crew and the anatomy of a ship. But the Maneuvers section is where the wind meets the sails (and the section I have used the most)! The breakdown of types of maneuvers, both complex and basic, give both flavor and action. These are a much-needed addition to the ship rules outlined in the core books. The rest of this section covers the effects of battles on the ship and crew. With a nice selection opportunities and consequences. SHIP HO! Chases on the High Seas. Sea chases can be boring… I must admit, I’ve only dabbled with these rules. But the author has made some valuable points on how to make the chase an adventure rather than a long drawn out series of actions. THE PRIZE! The Spoils of Battle. LISTS! I’m a sucker for a list of things. Anytime I see a “Big List of (Insert Your Idea Here) for Your Game” I get all giddy. Cargo, wealth, passengers, livestock and some more things to plunder from your adversaries, and a ship too… TROUBLED WATERS! Danger on the High Seas. I have used these rules almost as much as the maneuvers rules. Storms, tides, and even forts (did I forget to mention that monsters are listed in the “SHIP HO!” section?).

The supplement is peppered with good story examples and finished off with a “Game Master Reference”.

Well worth the price.

~I’m Lord Skudley, and that’s my opinion.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bloody Misadventures: Dramatic Battles on the High Seas
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Zgrozy: Pasterz Ciem
by Witold K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/08/2019 05:45:16

Moja ulubiona przygoda do Zewu - świetna atmosfera i wybory. (disclaimer - pracowałem przy angielskim wydaniu Pasterza)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Zgrozy: Pasterz Ciem
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

The Camping Trip
by Gerald M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2019 21:07:58

Thanks for writing "The Camping Trip." I just re-read it and plan to run it as a one-shot for Call of Cthulhu newbies around Halloween. I can't wait! Such a well-written adventure. Please continue writing more, okay?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Camping Trip
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Shadows of Yog-Sothoth
by James B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/30/2019 14:24:28

This book is an excellent framework upon which to build an incredible campaign - with a lot of work to fill in the gaps.

However, the printed copies I have recieved from DriveThruRPG have all been fuzzy and hard to read. I have received multiple re-prints via support and they all have the same problem. As such, I can't recommend buying the printed version.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Shadows of Yog-Sothoth
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Rapier's Edge: Adventures in Théah (Swashbuckling Adventures)
by Lord S. E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2019 02:35:31

Dance on the Edge of the Rapier I originally wrote this review in April 28, 2005

Between these colorful covers you will find a complete set of rules and a campaign for a Live Action game, four adventures, over 100 plot hooks, and a time-line that brings us up another five years! And I must point out it is all duel stats {both R&K, and d20}! As I have said before, I played in this LARP at the 2003 SoCal GenCon. It was awesome. The point system they use to control the "action" in the game is simple and effective. It uses a combination of stats and "hero points" {a rough equivalent of Drama Dice} you can raise your abilities with the hero points and you can earn more for daring deeds {a side note for those who play in Skudley's Saturday game; at GenCon they used the same tokens for their Hero Points as I do in my game. Hmmm, great minds...}. The adventure, "Giovanni Villanova's Grand Ball", is not a simple affair. The players are "guests" or "gate crashers" at the birthday celebration for Giovanni Villanova. Of course, where the Villanovas are, intrigue, foul play, dirty politics and dastardly deeds follow. This adventure plays like an elaborate session of "Host a Mystery". It requires a large group, several GMs, the appropriate setting, and plenty of preparation.

The four adventures follow in chapter two. "The Tower of Faith" is set in Eisen in the year 1668. A plot involving the death of the Hierophant, a Montaigne officer, a cardinal, and love... Great plot if you are running a 7th Sea Hero campaign, but most d20 players lean toward the "dark side" and the scenario needs a bit of tweaking to work there. However, this adventure does offer chase rules and an encounter table! Something missing from the Swashbuckling Adventures™ Book, and this alone is worth the price of admission. "Four `n Twenty Black Birds" is, by far, the best of the four. This adventure takes a page from the popular television series "24 Hours" and inserts the Villanovas, a Vestin or two, a jeweled rose, and love, to make a daring adventure that spans a time of twenty-four hours. And here is the kicker, it's written so that the game time and play time coincide to make an adventure that lasts twenty-four hours {I don't know about you, but as a GM I could get at least three to four sessions out of that}. My only complaint is that this adventure needs a cast list that defines the rolls at a glance; I had to take notes to keep up! "Fischler's Rescue" takes us to the small town of Seeufer in Eisen and involves the town Eisenfürst {Eisen for "mayor"}, his advisor, Heinzelmännchen {Eisen gnomes}, Kobolds, and love {it's a Swashbuckley thing; think of all the Swashbuckling movies you've ever seen, yep, love}. I enjoyed the plot, and it has a good background story, a GM could use it as filler and to give the players some new contacts in Eisen. In the last adventure "Adventure in Puerto Grande" we find ourselves in the Midnight Archipelago. This escapade involves an opera house, a fire, pirates and {you guessed it} revenge. This venture comes in a close second. It works for both Light Heroes and Dark ones, no tweaking necessary.

Chapter three offers us plot seeds and adventure hooks, in fact that's the title of chapter three: Plot Seeds and Adventure Hooks. The first offering is more of an adventure sapling than a plot seed. In fact, it offers a story to follow and several asides to fill in the blanks. The rest of the chapter is dedicated to ideas for adventures in all the lands of Théah and several of the secret societies. More ideas than found in villain's bag of tricks.

And finally, we come to the additions to the timeline 1670-1675 and more. My oh my, what they do to Avalon, the church... Best not to say, I don't want to spoil it for you. I am, though, quite intrigued...



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Rapier's Edge: Adventures in Théah (Swashbuckling Adventures)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

50 Unexpected Events
by Lord S. E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2019 01:39:13

50 Unexpected Events

I’m a sucker for a list of things. I just can’t resist. Anytime I see a “Big List of (Insert Your Idea Here) for Your Game” I just have to buy it. And this one caught my eye.

50 Unexpected Events

It’s a fun set of strange, exciting and odds things to throw at the Heroes. I especially like # 5) “People are talk…” you know I can’t tell you what they are talking about, but it will definitely find its way into my game. I also like #10 but who doesn’t like… and # 43 will find its way into my games. I plan on using some of these events in other games and settings as well…

~I’m Lord Skudley, and that’s my opinion.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
50 Unexpected Events
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

50 Family Foibles
by Lord S. E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2019 01:38:35

50 Family Foibles I’m a sucker for a list of things. I just can’t resist. Anytime I see a “Big List of (Insert Your Idea Here) for Your Game” I just have to buy it.

50 Family Foibles is one of those lists.

Families can be frustrating and fun! As a GM I love to use them for and against the players. And I plan to use these for all their worth. Some honorable mention: 8, but I’m allergic… 31 this one just makes me giggle, and 37 Yep, that’s happened to me.

I plan on using some of these events in other games and settings as well…

~I’m Lord Skudley, and that’s my opinion.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
50 Family Foibles
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

50 Story Starters
by Lord S. E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2019 01:37:42

50 Story Starters

I’m a sucker for a list of things. I just can’t resist. Anytime I see a “Big List of (Insert Your Idea Here) for Your Game” I just have to buy it.

So, I purchased 50 Story Starters.

It offers a good start for the Heroes’ Stories. I like 9, 34 (I ran something like this in 7th Sea 1st Edition) and 45… Reminds me of another story. These work as plot devises as well. I plan on using some of these events in other games and settings as well…

~I’m Lord Skudley, and that’s my opinion.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
50 Story Starters
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Young Heroics
by Lord S. E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2019 17:25:12

In the interest of full transparency, I also wrote a supplement for playing children in the 7th Sea, as such, I will avoid comparing the two.

First off this is a very good-looking supplement, almost pretty. The author has a flair for a good-looking product.

It starts out with a short story that intermittently peppers the supplement, adding a flair to the concept. The rules proceed in the same order as building a Hero in the core book:

  • Step 0: Concept, he adds a series of questions intended to set up how to approach playing a Young Hero.
  • Step 1: Traits, a few minor adjustments to reflect experience and age.
  • Step 2: Nation. nothing new here.
  • Step 3: Background, the author gives you an optional Background “Young Heroic Adventurer” and explains the concept of core Backgrounds for a Young Hero.
  • Step 4: Skills, more adjustments reflecting experience and age.
  • Step 5: Advantages, here we get into the crunchy bits for Young Heroes. The author gives us 30 new Advantages that add good flavor to a Young Hero. “Found It Under The Couch” and “Oops, I shouldn’t have touched that” being my two favorites.
  • Step 6: Arcana, here he gives us three new Arcanas just for the Young and young at heart.
  • Step 7: Stories & Story Starters, just like the Core Book, but the author adds some great suggestions for a Young Heroic story.

He ends with a word on Children and Violence, giving tools on how to handle those awkward moments.

If you plan on playing Young Heroes, this is a solid set of rules to do so.

~I’m Lord Skudley and that’s my opinion.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Young Heroics
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Berlin - The Wicked City
by Rainy M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2019 12:52:03

Berlin is an amazing addition to a Call of Cthulhu toolset. The book embraces this unique place and time with an immense number of historical roots, real places, and real events to make every terrifying story more real. I love that there is a balance between otherworldly and mundane horrors. Also any book that lets me roll for a random cabaret is perfection. The art, maps, and handouts are beautiful and very usable.

For a Keeper, the book works well for helping flesh out the region in your own game or as a set of scenarios with tons of support to make them come to life. The scenarios are gnarly and wonderful. Run them. ...But also check with your players to have the right safety tools available because they have some pretty raw elements (in the best way, but still).

For a Player, the book provides so many opportunities to build a rich character from Berlin or living in Berlin. You have details of all the regions, of real places, and of peoples of inhabit these places.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Berlin - The Wicked City
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

too close to home
by keith m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2019 11:35:41

The story created by Ben has all the elements you’d expect in a one-shot investigation. There is a mystery to solve that is well laid out in a concise, yet colorful fashion. The key locations are nicely detailed and everything seems to click and work.

Although the scenario is linear, it is by no means a complete investigator “railroad”; he also includes ways to spice it up a little and a resourceful Keeper will be able to adapt scenes on the fly. At the end of the day, there is an endpoint that must be reached.

Without a doubt Too Close to Home is worth picking up! With Too Close to Home's linear nature, I think it would be great for in-store and convention one-shots.

You can read my full review over on Rolling Boxcars



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
too close to home
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

When the Light Goes Out
by Mike P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2019 13:42:03

This is an awesome one-shot for those looking for a solid night of modern horror. My group is new to Call of Cthulhu, so I can't say if it's "the best Call of Cthulhu scenario ever, but I can say that it was one of the best one-shots I've ever run, that I loved prepping for it, and that my players had an excellent time. If your group is particularly heavy on dialogue and roleplaying, this might take you two nights (we ran it in three hours, but I had to cut some content, and everyone felt like it would have been better stretched to a two sessions (say, six hours) - take this with a grain of salt. My group is talky as a Tarantino flick).

The pregens are great, though you may have to doctor them a bit to ensure that all of the necessary skills are present with your group (I had to get my author to amp up his occult skill to make sure the players weren't totally in the dark about what was going on). But this is a minor quibble, as it's easy to fix.

I recommend that new Keepers take the time to listen to the author's (Megan Tolentino) podcast of her session running "When the Light Goes Out" to help you familiarize yourself with directions the game could go. I took that time, and it proved invaluable in terms of my retention of narrative points.

If you're looking for a cool old school soundtrack, I advise using some tracks from John Carpenter's The Fog and Prince of Darkness to set the mood.

In short, this is an excellent scenario, and I'd love to see more modern horror from Megan Tolentino!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
When the Light Goes Out
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you so much! I'm so glad your group had a great time with it. I'm working on my next idea now.
7th Sea Map Pack
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/22/2019 21:49:10

Just redownloaded these and they are fixed. No issues with the fonts, and the maps are beautiful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 586 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG