RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Artifacts of the Wastelands
by Jonathan M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2019 14:11:23

Artifacts of the Wastelands offers GMs a grab-bag of oddities adventurers might find.

"Cloaks" serves as a catch-all for different kinds of outwear including stealth/camoflauge gear and environmental protection.

"Virtual Matter Projecters" are essentially "hard" holograms. Instead of simply creating a visual and/or auditory sensation, virtual matter is solid and can be interacted with just like any other object. Glove-like projectors create simple tools while more advanced projectors can create self-contained environments.

"Anti-Technology Weapons" are specifically designed to defeat other hi-tech toys and robots.

"Formulae" is easily the most adaptable section of the book. Essentially, they are a collection of "recipes" combining pre- and post-apocalypse technologies. Experimentation is encouraged.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Artifacts of the Wastelands
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Earth Dog (A Monster for 5th Edition)
by tina h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2019 20:08:06

Great elemental addition! I loved the write-up but imagined I'd never have a use for it. 1 week later LIGHTNING STRIKES and I had the perfect use for it. He was a great surprise to my players who were on a month-long cavern crawl and kept seeing "two strange amber jewels" appear in the cavern walls and just as quickly disappear.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Earth Dog (A Monster for 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Living Building
by Jason A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2018 09:13:21

I was not expecting to get as much as I did from this book, buying it just for the novelty. But there is so much material in this book, each room giving detail and source for new items to be brought into my Gamma game, and room by room an easy way to organize the info. Imagine a structure growing from the ground, encroaching on a location, but with such wonders for your post apoc group, except something is wrong, it keeps growing and there are dangers the original builders never thought would be a worry to the original owners, but as a post apoc group, the things inside are strange and deadly. Good tables too, new mutations, and interesting monsters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Living Building
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Cthulhu Conspiracy
by Jason A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/14/2018 00:59:43

Hahaha, I was not prepared for that. Good story & great art



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Cthulhu Conspiracy
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Christmas Inn
by Jason A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/14/2018 00:56:55

An interesting tale, well told and right for this season. Descriptions and a great seed for an adventure if you so choose to run this as a statted encounter



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Christmas Inn
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

One Starry Night (Cthulhu Live)
by Monica G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/10/2018 23:15:20

One Starry Night is a lightweight scenario for Cthulhu Live set in modern times, which can be run for Call of Cthulhu as well. It's a fairly short, simple scenario that takes little prep time when run for Call of Cthulhu. Of course, when running for Cthulhu Live, the live-action Cthulhu role-playing game, it takes quite a bit more preparation, including some costumes, props, and arrangements for locations. In either system, however, this is a relatively simple adventure to run.

SPOILERS: As for the adventure itself, the general story is that a professor at Miskatonic University has had an artifact stolen from him. He's pretty sure that it was taken by a promising student who has suffered a mental breakdown. Concerned that the police won't know how to properly handle the artifact, he has turned to some friends (the players) to help him retrieve it. The student in question has taken the item, and is using it to summon an alien horror, that the players will have to contend with at the end of the adventure. This is farily typical stuff for a Call of Cthulhu scenario, and that makes it a great entry point to the game.

There are only a few caveats with running this adventure. One is that this is a modern-day scenario, and many gamers like to play Call of Cthulhu set in the 1920s, and it is certainly possible to convert this to a 1920s scenario with a bit of work and possibly some research. For example, part of the adventure takes place in a storage unit, and the storage rental industry wasn't around in the 1920s. Game keepers who are sticklers for historical accuracy might have to get creative for this detail. There may be other possible anachronisms, but the book gives good tips on avoiding anachronisms in a number of places. As well, this scenario involves reasearching the ancient evil tome, the Necronomicon. This is one of the most powerful books in the Chthulhu mythos, so as a game keeper, you may wish to keep your players from delving too far into the book and learning some powerful spells beyond the scope of the adventure. Perhaps they'll want to keep their players from learning any magic in the short amount of time that this scenario takes place to keep things more in line with the rules for magic in the Call of Cthulhu core rulebook.

Overall, the scenario in One Starry Night is a nice, brief, and easy to run adventure that can be wrapped up in a few hours. It is compelling enough to hook new players into the game and keep them interested. This book works great as a first adventure, an interlude in a longer running campaign, or even just a pick-up game.

Check out this and other RPG reviews in our weekly tabletop review column at geeksagogo.com!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Starry Night (Cthulhu Live)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Monstrous Hybrids: Three Halfbreed Character Races
by Jason A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2018 22:26:04

Ooooo, this was a fun read. The style of writing, the in-depth rational as to why these things would exist, and how they live, was really great. Actually makes me want to roll up a Half-Ghoul, which is an oddity compared to my usual, stale, elf rangers. Good for play, well statted, and a cool chart to add a stigma, especially cool if you play a hunter of such things, or are running a game with hidden halfbreeds to route out. A Good buy, especially for the price, keep em coming



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monstrous Hybrids: Three Halfbreed Character Races
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Sex Cult of Cthulhu (Cardstock Characters™)
by JEROME M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/19/2018 11:34:52

If you recently picked up the Cthulhu Mythos for Pathfinder book and have started implementing its sinister secrets and cults into your campaign, then there's a good chance that you can yse this set of cardstock characters. Those culty people love having dark ceremonies filled with sex and sacrifice and unless you're holding on to a rusty set of Ral Partha miniatures from 1981, you'll have a hard time finding the appropriate figures to put on the board.

Just print these pages out and follow the directions to assemble them. You'll have your evil cult up and dirty dancing in no time!

They could use a couple male figures as well, just to balance it out, but I'm not complaining. That might make for a good follow up set.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sex Cult of Cthulhu (Cardstock Characters™)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Age of Night (Volume 1: Business Between Brigands)
by Penny S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2018 22:23:34

Engagng characters and a great story! Read it in a single sitting. Can't wait for Volume 2.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Age of Night (Volume 1: Business Between Brigands)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Age of Night (Volume 1: Business Between Brigands)
by Richard P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2018 14:59:00

Wonderful publication! I was so engrossed in this that I lost track of time and nearly forgot to review it. The art is amazing, anyone who has seen Amanda's other work for Skirmisher will already know what to expect - I've always loved the illustraions of Paros & co in the Necropolis and other Kos-related productions.

The story itself is very engaging, don't want to give anything away but it's a fascinating read with its own mythology that is thoughtfully explained in the appendix. The characters are very likeable and very realistic, there's a good mixture of humour and emotion. However, much as I like the people it's the background and scenary details that I absolutely love. So much thought and care has gone into the world we see, I want to have adventurtes there!

Great read, thoroughly recommend it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Age of Night (Volume 1: Business Between Brigands)
by Jason A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2018 06:51:00

I really enjoyed this!. Great intersecting stories, funny, clever, and a neat underlying mythology. I dont think I could run a game as well as this story flows, and every character feels fully fleshed out, but with secrets that hopefully will be revealed in the next volume. Also, I really like the art, deep inking, great line work, the facial expressions and transformations are well developed and clear, adding even more than the dialogue. All and All, a good read, worth getting a print of it too if available



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Chaotic Mutation
by Tom H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2018 01:02:02

Another great value item on the 100 Oddities list from Skirmisher. Need a little Chaos in your campaign? This has you covered with the usual 100 Oddities generation tables and a fleshed out system for chaotic features and mutations. At 30 pages this is a great deal with some cool ideas to create something horrible to throw at, or grow on, your player characters. Pick it up and add it to your GM library. Check out the other Skirmisher titles in this line up too. They are all awesome.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Chaotic Mutation
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

100 Oddities for a Chaotic Mutation
by Richard N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2018 11:03:00

This is a meaty supplement, with lots of interesting options presented in it. Probably the best part is the detailed system for applying the chaotic mutations to creatures in play. Well worth the price, and then some.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Chaotic Mutation
by Richard P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2018 06:35:54

I have every Oddity in the series, so I knew what to expect from this publication and Skirmisher do not disappoint. I love all the tables in this product, not just the 100(+) oddities themselves, for instance - there are tables for random animals and creatures that have been affected. These tables are jam-packed with inspiration for DMs to come up with challenges for their parties. As I read through the lists, my mind came up with a dozen springboards for adventure just based on the creatures themselves. So many wonderful ways to use this product; I can see new bad wild magic effects, botched potion results, boons and curses from dark patrons as well as the warping effect of chaotic magic itself. It's such good value for money. If you have any of the other oddities, you know how good this will be, and if you don't - what are you waiting for?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Coldblooded: A Player's Guide to Lizardfolk (Pathfinder Roleplaying Game)
by Monica G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/17/2018 21:49:40

Coldblooded-A Player's Guide to Lizardfolk is a very short supplement for the Pathfinder role-playing game, coming in at only 4 pages of game-relvent content. The book offers rules for playing lizardfolk--a race that is treated as an enemy in most fantasy RPG settings. In fact, the Pathfinder Advanced Race Guide has partial rules for playing lizardfolk toward the back of the book, despite offering detailed rules for dozens of races. There definitely is a need for lizardfolk options for players, and this book does a good job of providing them.

This book gives lizardfolk the treatment that all the basic races get in Pathfinder--a writeup describing their people, including physical appearance, society, etc. As well, it includes rules for playing them--racial traits, including stat bonuses and penalties, bonus features for their race, and languages spoken. It also includes some alternative racial traits--which is where this book really shines. Lizard are interesting creatures with abilities that vary from species to species. This book does a great job of reflecting that variation, and at the same time incorporating it into balanced rules for Pathfinder. Among the alternative traits are color-changing chameleon scales that give stealth and disguise bonuses, bulging eyes that improve perception, and the option for swimming like a marine lizard. As well, this book features a nice alternate class archetype--dragon priest, which, as you might guess, is a cleric that worships a type of dragon and has dragon-related abilities.

The book closes out with some equipment common among lizardfolk, such as the 'macana', which is a bladed club that can inflict bleeding damage, and a bodypaint that masks the wearer's smell, making them harder to track by scent. These are some items that can bring something interesting or challenging to a game. Though, I can't help but think that the book could benefit from some magic spells or items that could give further depth to the lizardfolk, thus the book falls a bit short in providing all the options it could. As well, it's certainly not much to look at given it's simplistic design. However, if you're looking to do something out of the ordinary with lizardfolk in your Pathfinder game, this book is definitely for you.

Read the whole review and more at Geeksagogo.com!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Coldblooded: A Player's Guide to Lizardfolk (Pathfinder Roleplaying Game)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 439 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG