Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Skirmisher Publishing » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Gebb 57 – Nickname Veto
by Amanda K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2019 10:21:03

The buildup of this joke is great! It looks like the Nietzsche clone is going to be an entertaining character (even if you don't really go in for Nietzsche!)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gebb 57 – Nickname Veto
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Gebb 55 – Exits Galore
by Amanda K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2019 10:17:02

The dark humor in this one is great. Joyce's antics are always good for a sick or grim laugh!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gebb 55 – Exits Galore
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Aegean Regional Map (Swords of Kos Fantasy Campaign Setting)
by John A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/26/2019 19:24:51

This map was poorly printed and blurry above and beyond a low resolution. It was also wrinkled and did not appear new. Very disappointed.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Aegean Regional Map (Swords of Kos Fantasy Campaign Setting)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Gebb 49 – Every Ant-Like Alien Has Her Breaking Point
by Amanda K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2019 10:12:52

I love when Ed gets a chance to shine! This strip is great for her character.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gebb 49 – Every Ant-Like Alien Has Her Breaking Point
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Gebb 47 – Animal Lover
by Amanda K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2019 10:08:13

Joyce is a great character as always! KMO handles the tonal shift between an actually sad, reflective moment to a very in-character joke at the end really well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gebb 47 – Animal Lover
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Gebb 44 – Internal Composition
by Amanda K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2019 10:03:34

The story's taking a really interesting turn here! This strip definitely has me curious for what comes next. (The last line is pretty hilarious, too!)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gebb 44 – Internal Composition
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

City Builder [BUNDLE]
by Sean C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2019 18:17:56

Overall: great product with in depth study and thought on every subject. The only reason I am not giving it 5 stars is the file name format. Volume 1-6 dont have the same unified naming theme as Volume 7-11. If they were all on the same naming format then I would have no complaints.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
City Builder [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

CQB: Futuristic Skirmish Miniatures Rules
by Calvin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2019 17:32:23

Really generic wargame, nothing particularly special that isnt done better by other games. Would rate 3/5 if it wasnt a LIGHT version of a ruleset that is, in theory, coming down the pipes.

Not the worst way to spend 3 dollars, but those 3 dollars could be spent towards a much better product.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
CQB: Futuristic Skirmish Miniatures Rules
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Mythos Society Guide to New England
by Monica G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/20/2019 12:53:44

The Mythos Society Guide to New England is a sourcebook that doesn't contain any actual rules or adventures, but is well suited for use with the Call of Cthulhu and Cthulhu Live roleplaying games. The book primarily gives historical information about New England, of course--New England being the primary setting of the works of H. P. Lovecraft, creator of the Cthulhu Mythos, on which Call of Cthulhu and Cthulhu Live are based. The focus is on the myths and legends of supernatural or strange happenings in New England--the sort of things that would form the basis of a great Call of Cthulhu adventure.

A note for those who aren't familiar with it, Call of Cthulhu is a horror role-playing game published by Chaosium, that has been around since the 1980s. It is based on the work of H. P. Lovecraft, who wrote about evil alien monsters and black magic. Cthulhu Live is a live-action role-playing game based on Lovecraft's writings, in which players dress up in costume and act out their characters. Most of H. P. Lovecraft's stories were set in New England, thus this book is a useful aide for writing adventures based on Lovecraftian horror. Though, I should note that the book offers nothing specific to Call of Cthulhu. It's completely rules-agnostic, and usable in other role-playing games as an aide for writing adventures, or it may even be usable for authors writing short stories.

As for the contents of the book, it has a lot of great information on the six states of New England. The beginning features a nice overview of everything from the climate to the economy. Chapter 2 goes into the history of New England, with a focus on the period between WW1 and WW2. This includes a nice timeline of historical events through the 20s and 30s, the period in which most Call of Cthulhu games are set. This is followed by chapters that provide some early histoy of the region--largely about historical theories about the earliest of settlers and natives, as well as a great deal of information about native tribes. The last three chapters are probably of the most use to those looking for scenario ideas. Chapter 5 covers legends of monsters of New England, such as sea serpents and demonic whales. There are no stats or rules for these monsters, but ideas of monsters that could be adapted to any game with some work. Chapter 6, of course, covers witchcraft--which is a subject that Lovecraft explored in several stories. There is a nice overview of the subject and a list of individual witches that might fit into a scenario. The last chapter rounds out the book with a lengthy list of legends associated with each state. The authors of this review recognized a lot of what was in the list, but we felt there could have been a few other local legends included. The book still does a good job of covering most of the main legends in a good amount of detail. This is a great jumping-off point for writing up horror scenarios set in this region, with dozens of ideas that could form the basis of an adventure.

Overall, this is a nice book to have if you're a keeper for Cthulhu Live or Call of Cthulhu, or a game master in another horror role-playing game. It would even be useful for non-horror settings that take place in the 1920s or 1930s, such as the RPG Capers or even some Savage Worlds settings, and has some nice reference material for games set in the Prohibition or Depression era. Using the book to its full potential requires some creativity and effort on the part of a game keepr, but it can certainy plant the seed of a great adventure.

Check out our full review at GeeksAGogo.com



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythos Society Guide to New England
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Gebb 40 – The Ideal Workforce
by Amanda K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2019 20:28:27

I like that we're teasing a little more backstory for Steve. KMO does a good job revealing information in natural exchanges, rather than awkward exposition chunks. This strip has an easy-flowing conversation but still delivers new info to enrich the world of Gebb.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gebb 40 – The Ideal Workforce
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Gebb 36 – Mr. By the Book
by Amanda K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2019 20:22:11

This one is a good turning point in the story! The reveal is well set up as both a dramatic turn and a fun punchilne for the strip. Well done!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gebb 36 – Mr. By the Book
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Gebb 34 – Passing Notes
by Amanda K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2019 20:19:19

This is another great strip that will give anyone who's dealt with corporate nonsense a good laugh. The dynamic between Joyce and Derek really shines here. KMO does a great job letting them riff off each other and build the joke up through their interaction.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gebb 34 – Passing Notes
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Gebb 31 – Just Spitballing
by Amanda K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2019 20:12:42

This one will definitely get a chuckle out of anyone who has had to deal with a terrible boss. As always, Joyce says the things we wish we could!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gebb 31 – Just Spitballing
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Cooper’s Compendium of Corrected Creatures: [BUNDLE]
by William V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2019 11:04:48

The books in this series (Cooper’s Compendium of Corrected Creatures) were very helpful in bring my D&D 3.5 Edition Monster Manual up to standard with the d20 System from which it originates. Cooper's books should not have had to been made if Wizards of the Coast were studious about their own creations. This project reveals how badly WotC edited and policed their own writers and developers, a behavior that continued through re-release of the 3.5 Core Rulebooks and throughout the Fourth Edition run of D&D.

Cooper’s Compendium of Corrected Creatures makes me feel confident I am running my encounters/monsters with their proper skill and feats applied. At some point, I will compare Cooper's work to Paizo's Pathfinder Bestiary for my own piece-of-mind (and amusement).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cooper’s Compendium of Corrected Creatures:  [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Cooper’s Compendium of Corrected Creatures: OGL Monster Stats T - Z (Tarrasque - Zombie), Along with the Appendices on Animals and Vermin
by William V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2019 11:04:31

The books in this series (Cooper’s Compendium of Corrected Creatures) were very helpful in bring my D&D 3.5 Edition Monster Manual up to standard with the d20 System from which it originates. Cooper's books should not have had to been made if Wizards of the Coast were studious about their own creations. This project reveals how badly WotC edited and policed their own writers and developers, a behavior that continued through re-release of the 3.5 Core Rulebooks and throughout the Fourth Edition run of D&D.

Cooper’s Compendium of Corrected Creatures makes me feel confident I am running my encounters/monsters with their proper skill and feats applied. At some point, I will compare Cooper's work to Paizo's Pathfinder Bestiary for my own piece-of-mind (and amusement).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cooper’s Compendium of Corrected Creatures: OGL Monster Stats T - Z (Tarrasque - Zombie), Along with the Appendices on Animals and Vermin
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 479 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG