Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Dias Ex Machina Games » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Ultramodern5 REDUX (5th Edition)
by Nicolas W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2020 10:57:54

Really cool, Dnd5e but for a sci-fi setting. The stuff in that book are generic enough to use it for space op, hard sci fi, etc which is awesome ! There is also a cool random weapon generator called "Loot & Shoot", really cool stuff. It can emulate a "Borderland" style of gameplay. ^^ One last thing: there is no hacker class and no rules for hacking in that book, just sayin'... Not that it is a major issue, get your own hacking rules set, there are plenty of them in other source book for the d20 system. But if you aim to use that system for a cyberpunk session, this will work really fine but you'll have to find rules for hacking somewhere else.

You love Dnd5e, you want some sci-fi rpg in your life ? Buy that book.

Edit: For the hacking rules, you might want to check Neuro-spasta from the same publisher. ^^ ==> https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/204048/NeuroSpasta-5E



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ultramodern5 REDUX (5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Ultramodern5 REDUX (5th Edition)
by Nigel S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2020 17:32:21

Between the fact that the creator keeps actively updating it and the beautiful artwork, you are looking at one of the best 5e supplements out there. Truly amazing mechanics make this a joy to play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultramodern5 REDUX (5th Edition)
by Rion S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2020 14:29:34

There's a ton of options in this book. If you are looking to recreate some of the classic RPG settings with 5E rules, this book is essential for your DM toolkit.

Settings I can see being able to create with the tools here:

  • Shadowrun
  • Cyberpunk
  • TMNT (The Animyst race is ready made for this setting, and the Martial Artist class and Ladders are so versatile you can go anywhere you want with it)
  • Alien (or any Space Marine game, ie Starcraft, Halo, etc)
  • Star Frontiers
  • Steampunk (or any retropunk game, really)
  • Robotech (and similar)
  • Cthulhupunk (and similar)
  • X-Com

The list could go on.

Some things to keep in mind: It's a labor of love, so you'll see some typos and such. Some rules could be a little more clearly presented. You'll also need to tweak the rules to fit your table, but the book assumes this and speaks to it.

There are a lot of rules, but think of this as an opportunity to try new things in new ways. I feel like there's a good chance this book has some rules that will inspire you, or provide a mechanic you may like as is. If you like homebrewing, this book has ton of inspiration to offer. Also, as a homebrewer, you'll probably be wanting to make your own player doc anyway, so just adjust the things you want to fiddle with while making your new document.

If you and your table like to try new rules out, the book also includes settings ready to roll to try out every kitchen sink in this book. Throw together a demo game, and try it all out! If your group feels like D&D5 is too rules lite, check out some of the options here. There are so many mini-powers you can collect during your character build your character can come out feeling much closer to a Pathfinder style character. If classic D&D5 doesn't feel tactical enough as a rulebase, this book is worth checking out for the tactical aspects alone. If you want a grittier feel, the UltraMax rules are there for you too.

Also, and this can't be said enough, the art in this book is utterly fantastic. For me, each picture inspires numerous game worlds and suggests setting tones and feels that I would love to try to convey to players. This looks very professional and well done.

I'm working on a Space Marine style setting myself, having run a couple games with the prior UM5 ruleset. This book is an upgrade across the board. Kudos to DEM here!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultramodern5 REDUX (5th Edition)
by Lance M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/16/2020 12:44:46

This book gives you EVERYTHING you need for tech options in 5th edition. Want space ships? got it.. firearms.. yup.. mutant alien wizards? Covered... GET THIS BOOK



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultramodern5 REDUX (5th Edition)
by Nicole W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/16/2020 03:03:59

Love everything about this book. There's so much content and detail. Had no issues downloading the file and I can't wait until my GM brings this to the table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultramodern5 REDUX (5th Edition)
by Therese M L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/14/2020 21:54:58

Totally impressed with the whole look of it, so much detail



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultramodern5 REDUX (5th Edition)
by William M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/14/2020 17:34:07

Never before have I been so excited about being a GM. This rule set which is incredibly easy to follow has given me complete freedom in running any kind of campaign in any world imaginable. Ever wanted to make giant macros like mecha battle it out with giant sand worms look no further, this is the book for you. 10/10 would subject my players to all the weird ADHD driven ideas again. thanks Dias Ex Machina Games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultramodern5 REDUX (5th Edition)
by wesley g. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/14/2020 17:09:29

My wife and I have been GMs for 30+ years. UM5 is fantastic for your Modern/Futures needs. This Redux edition is an outstanding overhaul of the original UM5. You can do so much with this set of rules, it's clean and very flexible.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultramodern5 REDUX (5th Edition)
by 4342561968714659 P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/14/2020 15:10:51

I cannot download this file on my ipad. I tested it with other files and they work fine. Will change my review when the problem is fixed.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Hey. Saw you were having trouble. Sorry about that. We're going to re-render the whole thing the moment I get back into town and this will hopefully fix the issue.
Ultramodern5 REDUX (5th Edition)
by David A. N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/14/2020 09:03:55

Now I'm able to run just about any Palladium game with this and 40K, It's heresy, but I love it. Thank you Mr. Dias



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultramodern5 (5th Edition)
by Paul L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/02/2019 10:22:16

I enjoy getting into modern d&d. The rules are a little fiddly but its fun getting a heavy weapon, calling it bertha and making your own doors with it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ultramodern5 (5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Ultramodern5 (5th Edition)
by Logan M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2019 18:59:13

The game is intuitive, fun, high-power (something I love in my RPGs) and more important than all, dripping with flavour. Everytime I read a class, ladder, archetype or lifepath i noticed something interesting or a fun interaction and i think this small, but effective rules package Chris Dias has written is well worth your money.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultramodern5 (5th Edition)
by Paul L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/22/2018 22:09:41

This book transformers D&D 5e into a proper shooter



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultramodern5 (5th Edition)
by jackson f. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2018 15:02:10

Full of very lose and overpowered character options/rules. Only if you feel like tweaking it for 4 hours you might make something with it.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Apex (5E version)
by Cody M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2017 00:21:22

As someone who has been a GM for a variety of genre of role playing groups (primarily 5e) the amount of content outside of swords and scorcery is few and far between. As per request I had looked into "Super Hero DND" concepts and had colaberated with some other homebrew content in attempt to create my own. Upon finding Apex I deleted all of those files. Apex allows for simple, fun and personal RPG experience for both new and experienced players. For newer players it is much easier to remember a list of personally selected abilities and powers vs a large kit of premade class ablities and features. The experienced player will find that very few character ideas are out of reach with the fun list of talents and combinations. If you are fan of Sci Fi or comic books pick this up!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Apex (5E version)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Awesome, thanks for the comments!
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 67 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG