Little Wars
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Brave Halfling Publishing » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Dagger: A Toolkit for Fantasy Gaming with Kids
by CJ T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2019 12:53:00

I am an avid player and DM of 5e D&D and my younger siblings and cousins were interested in the games I play. Some were a bit too young to grasp the mechanics of 5e so I looked for a simpler ruleset for them. I immediately was a fan of the dagger ruleset as it is similar enough that it took me little time to understand and was easy for me to adapt my 5e settings and adventures to the Dagger ruleset. I have had a great time running games for them and regularly DM groups with children as young as 4 years old. The system is easy enough for them to understand but has enough structure to give them ideas on how to play. It has also been great for getting them to practice their reading and basic addition with dice. I strongly reccommend this system for anyone who wants to run games with children who are not able to learn the mechanics of 5e yet.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dagger: A Toolkit for Fantasy Gaming with Kids
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Alien & Robot Class Design
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2017 17:05:25

At 7 pages, 5 are the content. The PDF is in two parts. Pages 1-2 are the alien class design. Pages 4-6 are the robot design. Very good for OSR sci-fi. At 0.99p/$1.28, it's well worth the purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Alien & Robot Class Design
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Appendix N Adventures #2: "The Vile Worm"
by Tamas I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2016 03:04:06

The Vile Worm introduces a cool background and an interesting villain, then throws them out of the window right at the beginning of the adventure in favor of a short and linear sidetrek that lacks challenge and originality.

See my full review here.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Appendix N Adventures #2: "The Vile Worm"
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Appendix N Adventures #1: "The Ruins of Ramat"
by Tamas I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2016 17:24:27

While the handouts and the map are amazing the content is mediocre at best with lazy writing. There is nothing original, interesting, evocative about the adventure. It needs more work from the Judge to become memorable.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Appendix N Adventures #1: "The Ruins of Ramat"
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

X-plorers RPG
by Adam B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2016 13:59:09

Love it, read the whole book in two days and love the way its set out. SU Systems and the ships, aliens, SONIC weapons, its just fantastic! Its also very very simple which is why this is the game ill be teaching to those that are new to roleplaying games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
X-plorers RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Appendix N Adventures #4: "The Witch of Wydfield"
by Joshua O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2016 14:14:49

Disappointing to my players as the adventure was not dangerous enough S written to be used as a character funnel. No deaths until the last scene, and even then I had to double the boss' hit points. Triple all the enemies and you will have a funnel... But plot wise it's also really thin. Which is okay I guess as it works for a session. I do think some flavor text would have really helped, given this seems to style itself a pick up and play product. I'd run one of their games again, because they're simple, not over written, and seem good As low prep adventures, but I'd expect to have to do some prep to get it ready.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Appendix N Adventures #4: "The Witch of Wydfield"
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

X-plorers Digest Character Sheets
by James L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2015 16:29:19

I like this character sheet FAR MORE than the one included in the rules. Very clean and elegant design, just like the rules themselves!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
X-plorers Digest Character Sheets
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

X-plorers RPG
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2015 13:08:21

The PDF is 40 pages, 37 are the content. X-xplorers gives an 'old school' feel to this simple D20 sci-fi RPG. Character creation: 3d6: Agility, Intelligence, Physique, Presence.

The equipment list (P10 & 11) could be more (try Dragonstar & Star Frontiers) for ideas. Primarily Star Frontiers.

There are a few supplements (BD Games do 3).

With White Star out, this appears 'swept under the table'; but, as a slightly 'rules light-ish' OSR d20 sci-fi RPG, I think it still holds OK. X-plorers doesn't appear to be in Lulu's list any more as POD (or any other format).

For £3.15 it's good. Worth the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
X-plorers RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

X-plorers Printable Player's Guide
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/15/2015 13:20:00

Read my full review here: http://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/2015/05/review-x-plorers.html

This is everything the play needs to get their characters from cool concept to play. Best yet, print it out and give copies to your players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
X-plorers Printable Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

X-plorers RPG (FREE No Art Version)
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/15/2015 13:14:16

X-plorers is somewhere in the middle of Starships & Spacemen and White Star. Both thematically and in terms of rules. There is a more of an old school vibe of this one. So to continue my analogies to the point of breaking, X-plorers is more Buck Rogers, the old serials and 50s sci-fi movies.

The book itself is 41 pages. This includes cover, title page, ogl page and a trademark license. The trademark license is nice. You can make content that is "X-Plorers Compatible" as long as you abide by the license. Yes other games do this too.

Characters have class, hit points, and levels just like most OSR books. The characters in X-Plorers though only have 4 attributes; Agility, Intelligence, Physique and Presence. They are still ranked 3-18. There are also four classes; Scientist, Soldier, Scouts and Technicians. Personally I think some sort of Royalty or Ambassador class might have been a nice inclusion as well. There are some multi-classing rules too which are nice to see.

Equipment is covered next. The basic unit of commerce is the credit (cr). It functions largely the same way the gold piece does. Gear and weapons are covered, but also vehicles and robots. Near the end we cover skills as well.

Chapter 3 covers running the game. This includes saves, combat and skill checks. All similar territory to other games.

Chapter 4 details Space. This covers ships, buying and outfitting with crew as well as combat. Each phase of combat is discussed, so the gunner, engineer, pilot and so on. This reminds me of some the of old school Naval ship battles. Ship repair is also covered.

This is followed by a referee's section. This covers creating a game and running one. There is a small section on Aliens and Planets. NPCs, Allies and Monsters are featured in the next section. I would have liked more, but again, these are easy to take from any fantasy game.

Chapter X is an adventure/background piece on Roswell. There are even stats for the Greys, whic is really cool to be honest. Chapter Y covers psionics and pyschic characters. This is also pretty cool.

We end with some sheets for characters and ships.

X-plorers is a light game and designed to emulate the games of the 70s. So in that respect it does the job well. Some people will want more, but there is still a lot here. Rule-wise it reminds me more of White Box Swords & Wizardry, in fact you could use S&W as the rules and the rest as add-on.

This is the same as the full featured version, only no art.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
X-plorers RPG (FREE No Art Version)
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

X-plorers RPG
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/15/2015 13:05:57

X-plorers is somewhere in the middle of Starships & Spacemen and White Star. Both thematically and in terms of rules. There is a more of an old school vibe of this one. So to continue my analogies to the point of breaking, X-plorers is more Buck Rogers, the old serials and 50s sci-fi movies.

The book itself is 41 pages. This includes cover, title page, ogl page and a trademark license. The trademark license is nice. You can make content that is "X-Plorers Compatible" as long as you abide by the license. Yes other games do this too.

Characters have class, hit points, and levels just like most OSR books. The characters in X-Plorers though only have 4 attributes; Agility, Intelligence, Physique and Presence. They are still ranked 3-18. There are also four classes; Scientist, Soldier, Scouts and Technicians. Personally I think some sort of Royalty or Ambassador class might have been a nice inclusion as well. There are some multi-classing rules too which are nice to see.

Equipment is covered next. The basic unit of commerce is the credit (cr). It functions largely the same way the gold piece does. Gear and weapons are covered, but also vehicles and robots. Near the end we cover skills as well.

Chapter 3 covers running the game. This includes saves, combat and skill checks. All similar territory to other games.

Chapter 4 details Space. This covers ships, buying and outfitting with crew as well as combat. Each phase of combat is discussed, so the gunner, engineer, pilot and so on. This reminds me of some the of old school Naval ship battles. Ship repair is also covered.

This is followed by a referee's section. This covers creating a game and running one. There is a small section on Aliens and Planets. NPCs, Allies and Monsters are featured in the next section. I would have liked more, but again, these are easy to take from any fantasy game.

Chapter X is an adventure/background piece on Roswell. There are even stats for the Greys, whic is really cool to be honest. Chapter Y covers psionics and pyschic characters. This is also pretty cool.

We end with some sheets for characters and ships.

X-plorers is a light game and designed to emulate the games of the 70s. So in that respect it does the job well. Some people will want more, but there is still a lot here. Rule-wise it reminds me more of White Box Swords & Wizardry, in fact you could use S&W as the rules and the rest as add-on.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
X-plorers RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Haldo's House Rules for Labyrinth Lord
by Vik S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2014 14:10:28

I give this 3 stars because I think it's great that you published your house rules. I have done the same, although I never thought to put it on Drivethru. The formatting is easy to look at and the material is simple and clear. I wish you had elaborated a bit more on using rituals in place of higher level spells.

That said, These house rules create a very specific sort of game. I don't think I would use any of them, with the exception of granting an additional HP as a reward for adventures completed (up to the maximum allowed). It is a brilliant way to both award active characters and also increase their ability to survive without the arbitrary "just use max hp".

I will keep an eye out for a ritual magic system based on the higher level spells.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Haldo's House Rules for Labyrinth Lord
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Dagger for Kids (Free Version): Supplemental Rules for Classic Role-playing with Kids
by Jarrett P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2014 07:11:39

A marvelous little product that can get anyone new to the hobby up and running in minutes. I've used Dagger to introduce over 30 public school kids to their first table top RPG experience.

Kids who are used to the fast, low requirement entry of console gaming aren't chased off by the extremely brief and simple rules ("You mean we have to READ something BEFORE we play?").

The rules invite tinkering and modifying to taste, but don't require it in any way and as players are ready for more options in the future they'll have minimal difficulty moving to Dungeon Crawl Classics, Labyrinth Lord, vintage D&D reprints, or D&D Next, since those products share the same gaming "DNA" (class, level, monster, to hit, saving throw, etc.).

Finally, and in my opinion most importantly, Dagger provides so simple and clear a framework that I've been able to use it to get about five brave kids to start designing and running their own adventures for their peers! New players are one thing, but new GMs/DMs are another! Dagger can get kids comfortable making rulings and developing confidence (vs the game stalling as they dig through a rulebook) right from the start.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dagger for Kids (Free Version): Supplemental Rules for Classic Role-playing with Kids
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Cleopatra Station
by Jonas M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2014 05:55:01

Sort of dry and uninspired adventure, this is the sort of material anyone can come up with. This adventure might be useful if you are in hurry and anything goes.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Cleopatra Station
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Appendix N Adventures #1: "The Ruins of Ramat"
by Richard K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2014 22:05:09

This module already has a nice review that is "spot on", so I'll just cover a couple of things quick and dirty: the module text is DM friendly (italicized sections to be read to players), has a nice background and quick player hook, B/W art and player handouts. It doesn't have pre-geberated characters, which is just as well. I've never been a fan of 0-level characters, so we'll probably just roll some 1st level ones. The "jury is out" on two possible issues though. The pages look tall enough to be legal-sized, so I'm not sure if I'm going to have trouble printing this adventure out. Also, while the map looks amazing with not a single space wasted (B/W art), I'm not sure I'm going to have trouble or not reading it during gaming due to all the decorative art.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Appendix N Adventures #1: "The Ruins of Ramat"
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 77 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG