Quick Find
 Categories
     Sister sites
     Information
    See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

    Having Problems?
    • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
    • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
    • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

    Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to !

    Our Latest Newsletter
    Product Reviews
    Privacy Policy
    How to Sell on
    Convention Support Program


    RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
    Back
    Other comments left for this publisher:
    You must be logged in to rate this
    Pip System QuickStart
    by Zachery N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/08/2021 15:22:03

    The quickstart gives you everything you need to run a scenario for the Pip System except for the dice. The rules   are easy to follow and laid out in way that I would fell comfortable teaching' players unfamiliar to the system. It includes a ready to run scenario with enough pregenerated characters for up to six players. This quick start keeps things simple allowing for the Game Guide and the players to add their own personal touches. I would recommend it to anyone interested in checking out new system.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Pip System QuickStart
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Pip System Corebook
    by Jeffrey Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2021 17:39:28

    This article originally appeared in the November/December 2020 issue of Freelance Traveller, and as such is written from a Traveller perspective.

    The Pip System is designed to be simple enough to use to introduce children to role-playing games, but with the ability to “scale up” for adults. In this, it succeeds well; the basic rules are easy to understand and you can get started quickly. Pip System games will tend to focus on role-playing, not mechanics, and there isn’t a lot of “crunchy” detail to worry about – much that would be detailed differences in many other systems is left as cosmetic information that doesn’t actually affect play.

    The fundamental mechanic of the Pip System is, for all intents and purposes, an “opposed d2” task system (even though d6 are used): The Game Guide (Pip’s term for the Referee) defines the relevant skills and qualities that the player-character would need to succeed at the task, and a “challenge rating” for such opposing factors as armor, environment, opponents, and so on. The player then rolls a number of “white” dice for the skills and qualities, and a number of “black” dice for the challenge rating. A roll of 4+ on a die is a “success”; the player-character succeeds at the task if the number of “white” successes is equal to or greater than the number of “black” successes.

    Characters are created and advanced using a point-buy system; you start with an Archetype (which defines your Hits and basic skills) and purchase Skills and Qualities using Build Points. You can later advance your character by spending Progress Points, awarded by the Game Guide after each session.

    The standard game rules specify a grand total of fourteen Skills, each with three Qualities, but these are generic enough to handle most situations in most game genres. (A Quality is like a specialization of a Skill. If a Skill is useful for a task, it gives the player “white” dice to the skill level; if a particular Quality is useful, it can add “white” dice to a maximum of the Quality level.) There is a section of the book that discusses creating your own Archetypes, Skills, and Qualities; while a particular genre/setting might suggest different Archetypes from those listed in this volume, it’s unlikely that you’ll really need to add or change Skills or Qualities.

    As with the character, so too with the ‘gear’ – gear is Stuff That Makes A Difference, and it, too, has Qualities that can affect the number and color of dice you – or an opponent – roll. You don’t worry about the differences between pistols and rifles, or between calibers in a weapon; it’s simply a Ranged Weapon with qualities such as Powerful or Accurate (to go with Skills like “Aim” and Qualities like “Sharpshooter”).

    The result is a game that can move quickly, without the need for repeatedly consulting tables – the Game Guide assigns ratings to the various components of a task, you roll, you count successes. If the roll indicates a marginal success, or an epic success or failure, it’s up to the Game Guide to narrate the results on the fly, to fit the situation.

    No, it doesn’t seem like you should need 145 pages for that, does it? Well, you get plenty of examples, elaboration, explanation, and additional rules, plus general explanation of what roleplaying is, what the Game Guide does, how you can introduce children to roleplaying and the Pip System (and some behaviors to watch out for), and even some rules to simplify the system even more. It’s all relatively light reading, as RPGs go, and it really won’t take that long to get enough of a handle on the system to start playing. While saying that one could easily do a Traveller “conversion” wouldn’t be quite accurate, it probably wouldn’t be difficult to come up with a Traveller-esque setting and develop appropriate Archetypes.

    Perhaps the Pip System isn’t a replacement for a Traveller ruleset, and there really isn’t much that could be grafted on, but there is certainly some potential for using it for quick ‘pick-up’ games, or perhaps low-prep fill-ins at a convention.



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Pip System Corebook
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Pip System Corebook
    by Edward K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2020 10:27:41

    Ring Side Report-RPG Review of Pip System Corebook

    Originally posted at www.throatpunchgames.com, a new idea every day!

    Product- Pip System Corebook System- Pip System Producer- Third Eye Games Price- $14.99 here https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/216645/Pip-System-Coreboo?affiliate_id=658618 TL; DR- The Cypher system and Shadowrun had a baby! 93%

    Basics- What do you want to play? The Pip system book is a generic system book that focuses on the mechanics of the pip system and all the different worlds you can play in. Let’s dig in.

    Basics-This is SOLIDLY a skill based system. Everything you do is based on how many skill dice you have and EVERYTHING is a d6. Basically you take however many ranks you have in a skill plus your quality ranks (think specializations that may count for some activities) and roll that many six sided dice, counting 4s, 5s, and 6s as successes. These are called your white dice. Then you or the GG (game guide, the GM for this system) roll a number of dice equal to the challenge rating of whatever you're up against and counts 4s, 5s, and 6s. These are the black dice If you get more white successes than black, you succeed.

    Combat, AC, and the rest- We don’t really do that here. You have hit points, but as a skill system you basically tell the GM how it goes down. You just dodge the hit, then you roll athletics to dodge, but you might say I roll stealth to hide and avoid or survive to get out of the way into cover. You succeed on the dodge, you don’t take the hit. You attack with different traits as well,and damage is just difference in hits if you succeed on the attack.

    Gear and Character Building- Character building is quick too. You choose a basic archetype that gives you some mental and physical hit points, basic starting skills, an ability, and a hindrance to roleplay. Then you spend build points buying skills, quality ranks (specializations in a part of a skill), and advanced qualities (feats you have to meet prerequisites for). Gear is the same way. You spend other build points buying different gear. It’s all generic to help you build a character for any setting that you might want to pay.

    Fortune- Magic cheaty points! Fortune is how you can control your rolls. Everyone wants rerolls, HP, and other things so you can control the action a bit, and Fortune is that thing. Roleplay well, do cool things, and play nice and you get fortune tokens.

    Ok, what do I think of all this?

    Mechanics or Crunch- For the crunch here, you have to ask yourself one of two very important questions-”Do I like the cypher system, but want a tad more crunch?” or “Do I like Shadowrun but could use a bit more speed?”. If yes, you will love this. It’s a simple system where you make lots of choices and control a lot without having too many rules in the way. That also means that players can have a HORRIBLE time if the GG and they just don’t work well, so it’s got that OSR vibe of the system flexes a lot for fun, but your GM can ruin your experience. Overall, the base mechanic running EVERYTHING is amazing to me. You do need to coordinate with your GG to make sure your awesome character isn’t completely built against what he/she is thinking so your game time won’t be an issue. Solid quick mechanics make this a good system to learn and get into. 4.75/5

    Theme or Fluff- It’s always hard to review a generic system without a world. There are some splashes of places to play, but mostly this book is how to play and check out the other stuff we got for specific places to play. It’s got good intros so I like what I see. The book does go a bit more fantasy than modern or future, even though it supports everything. Good intro to a gateway to several new worlds. 4.5/5

    Execution- PDF? YEP! Hyperlinked? YES! Solid execution here, but a few issues that hurt it a bit. Text is easy to read. Pictures break up the flow, and I like a lot of the toys on offer. However, I would like a few more examples of actual play. Tell me how numbers happen. That's the big issue here. It's a generic system, so as the GG I need more guidance on what to throw at my players and how my players make the dice pools. Overall, it's decent, but if it were to provide a bit more walkthrough of a game and a combat scene, I would love this more. 4.75/5

    Summary- Well, I’m in. This is a fun system that I can get my players running in about 10 minutes after they select pregens or 20 minutes if they have to build people. It's quick, easy, and negotiable. Players have control, but with all negotiable systems, dialogue will be key. Make sure everyone is on the same page, and players will enjoy this game. I like Sci-fi, so I want a bit more of that in the base book. But, what’s here is good. As for the physical build of the book, it’s done well. I still need more examples, but I think I can run my first game well enough. I like what I’ve found in this one. If you want some quick d6 gaming in any universe, this is worth a look. 93%



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Sins of the Father Companion
    by Nicolas S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/11/2020 19:49:43

    A solid compendium to the core game. The additional rules are well written and provide color to various parts of the setting. I particularly enjoyed the Soul Master's tools, which are ready go-tos for games. I haven't run one yet, but the possibilities for alternate style games (e.g. post-apocalyptic) are enticing and well laid out.

    If you like SotF and are looking for additional material to run it with, this compendium has it.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Sins of the Father Companion
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Sins of the Father
    by Nicolas S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/11/2020 19:32:39

    I love the premise of the game and how the mechanics feed into the gameplay. A wholly satsifying way to spend an RPG session talking about dark powers and what you do with them. Extra shout out for it's inventive way of using a standard deck of card in lieu of dice and designing the game around it in a meaningful way.

    All around fun game.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Sins of the Father
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Part-Time Gods
    by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2020 14:57:42

    That's a great modern-day setting! That's what I wanted Scion to be. I like this game (in this edition) better, though!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Part-Time Gods
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    The Ninja Crusade 2nd Edition
    by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/05/2020 11:00:34

    FINAL THOUGHTS

    • I still love the aesthetic. I like the fantasy ninja stuff here, and only became a bigger fan in the years since the first edition was released.
    • The system feels more dynamic and free flowing than the first edition, which was kind of the point.
    • That said, I feel like the game could seriously use a handout for all the combat options (not a criticism...lots of games benefit from it. I love Savage Worlds, but we always use one there).
    • I normally hate big skill lists but, as I've noted in past reviews, that exception is when they are also the only real "stats" being used. I also like how the Chakra System encourages you to experiment with (and justify) skill combos.
    • The lifepath style character generation is a vast improvement to me, mostly because it's more interesting and contextual. My only complaint is that there's not a set of random tables for me to roll on (not that I couldn't make one up).
    • The Jutsu selection is very cool, has paths that match up with a lot of character concepts, and sometimes overlaps, but in distinctive ways.
    • For me, the setting is detailed just about as much as I REALLY want...maybe I could do with a few more examples.
    • There's a lot of crunch to the system, and a lot going on with the character sheet, but it's all still mechanically in the realm of what I don't mind managing.
    • As noted in the body of the review, the bestiary is a vast improvement.
    • I'd like to see the actual system in play, but it feels more intuitive than the original DGS-powered Wu Xing, and other bits (like character creation and the bestiary) are substantial improvements.
    • In other words, I'd happily run this.

    For my full review, please visit https://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2020/02/tommys-take-on-ninja-crusade-2nd-edition.html



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Ninja Crusade 2nd Edition
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    H. P. Lovecraft Preparatory Academy
    by Jarrod S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2019 00:01:01

    First, to be completely forthcoming, I was part of the Kickstarter for this book. But, I’m not letting that color my review. In fact, there were some serious delays in the final finished product. But, I’m only going to discuss the product itself. So, what’s the verdict?

    I’m extremely happy with this game and they did an AMAZING job with it. I’m a big fan of the Prose Descriptive Quality (PDQ) system and I own every PDQ game there is. Some are great and some… not so much. This one is definitely up near, or at, the top. It’s the longest PDQ game to date and there is a TON of information packed in there. Each student type (see below) has an entire chapter devoted to how their powers work with a plethora of examples.

    For those familiar with the PDQ system, they’ve made some rules tweaks that really make the game their own. The two biggest changes are as follows: #1) Instead of having damage lower your Qualities, you now have a damage track. This was done so that physical and mental damage could be tracked separately. Which is a must considering the setting’s heaving Cthulhu vibe. Big rule change #2 is, instead of making up your own Qualities, you have a predetermined set to choose from. They are geared to the setting and well done. This will help players who can’t decide what Qualities to give their characters.

    The blurb describes the setting as basically Scooby Doo with real monsters, but I think a more accurate description would be “what if Harry Potter was written by H.P. Lovecraft.” But HPL Prep doesn’t just teach would-be wizards and witches. It is also home to mad scientists, kids with monster pets (Pokemon with actual scary monsters), mutants (more Lovecraft than Marvel), kids who can enter, and manipulate, your dreams, and even plain ol’ regular kids (who are nicely balanced against the “powered” ones). I think with minimal work, you could also run this game at a college level, because let’s face it, not everybody is going to want to play a 13 year old kid.

    I’m super happy with this game and, despite a somewhat frustrating Kickstarter, I’m very glad I backed this. If you’re a fan of the PDQ system, don’t hesitate to get this game. Between the rule changes, the setting, and the plethora of power examples, there’s going to be something you’ll like – even if it’s just to borrow for a different PDQ game. If you’re not familiar with the PDQ system, this game is a great place to start. It has kept the best parts of PDQ and turned the “less good” bits into something more user friendly. This game is also recommended to fans of The Laundry novels, the Locke & Key comics, the Hellboy comics, the Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children novels, and the Monsters & Other Childish Things rpg.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    H. P. Lovecraft Preparatory Academy
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Pip System Corebook
    by HAMILTON R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/05/2018 22:50:45

    12/5/2018 Review = PIP core rules. / I purchased this in early 2018

    Easy to understand? – The PIP System core rulebook - and the rules themselves - are easy to understand, even with a cursory, initial 30-minute scan of the text. The layout of the book is your standard "this is what it is - this is how to make characters - this is how to roll for actions - these are other elements of the game - this is how to GM" design. The artwork is balanced: not too much design, so as not to overwhelm you, but there was enough detail and color on the pages and in the artwork to hold my interest. I think PIP uses stock art for its decoration, but that is not a bad thing.

    Fun to play? – PIP is fun to play, but be aware that it is a multi-dice rolling system. The advantage of such a system is a detailed dice roll, where someone with a vivid imagination can run wild with "what happened" on that roll. Others might be put-off by the sheer amount of dice to roll and may get bogged down in counting the correct number of dice to roll - BUT this game quality is not overbearing and works well with the game mechanics presented. I found a lot of fun in creating the characters for PIP: it has a detailed yet easy-flow system for creating wonderfully colorful characters with unique traits and abilities. You even roll for items and special qualities, which is a mechanic not found in many other RPGs that seek to keep things simple.

    Built to last? – As much fun as PIP seems to play, with me and my group, rolling a bunch of dice tends to bog down game action and overall interest. The system holds well in character creation - it is extremely good for that! - however, in my opinion, if you do a lot of dice-rolling in your games, you may be in for a lot of dice counting. This is not a bad thing; it's just something I don't prefer. I find that this particular type of game races quickly out of the box, but it looses steam in the long race (because, we just get tired of counting and rolling dice all the time). Still, this is not a game-breaking issue, not even for me.

    One more note: the printed book that I received was printed on an inkjet printer, so not the best print quality... but, not bad, either.

    Worth the money? – PIP is worth the money at about $12-$15 (2018). You can also order a hard-copy, which I did (both PDF and HC); that is always a bonus. To me, being able to get a hard copy of the game is always worth an extra +1 star or a few bonus percentage points in the rating column.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Pip System Corebook
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Part-Time Gods Second Edition
    by Ed S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2018 14:42:09

    This is my current favorite RPG and have just started a new campaign. The setting, though not necessarily unique, is intriguing as presented. The game system is simple to understand though the manifestation and attachment components takes time to grasp. Being creative really helps and increases the enjoyability. I highly recommend this game for people who are looking for a narrative style game as just rolling dice to resolve actions doesn't do this game justice.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Part-Time Gods Second Edition
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Part-Time Gods Second Edition
    by Karl E. L. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2018 19:22:45

    This might be as close to a magnum opus as i have ever seen Eloy Lasanta and Third Eye games come before it. This game is without a doubt my favorite rpg of all time, and it has had a near and dear spot in my heart. I loved first edition but i recognized that the game was a bit unpolished in certain areas and could need to expand some concepts....I am extactic to say that the polish has come of and there has certainly been done some expansions. You have here one of the best Urban Fantasy games i have ever seen, and without a doubt this is the best God Rpg i have ever encountered. This game is what Scion back in first edition wished that it could be.

    The Premise of Part Time Gods is simple, you play humans who have become gods in the modern day. You are the inheritors of the legacy of the old pantheons like the hindu gods, the norse gods and the greek gods and so on. You carry their divine spark within you and you are the next generaiton of gods. However you unlike your ancient predecessors live alongside humanity rather than separate from it. So in this game you do divine schennanigans as well as dealing with your daily life...and intermingle the two. you gather worshippers as well as go to be apart of your dnd group and you sometimes have to keep an eye on divine stuff while trying to have fun with your dnd friends. You have great power but also bills to pay and friends and family to deal with. therefore you are part time gods rather than full time ones

    So what are the highlights of this game for those who would wonder:

    1. A tight balance between mortal and god: The Gods of Today are not like the unbeatable Titans that preceeded them. They don't live on paralell worlds larger than earth itself, ruling over tens of thousands of worshippers, they don't comand ever facet of their dominions and they aren't perfectly immortal and invincible. The Gods of Today live alongside humanity as they were once humans themselves, they are the god of tea who have to do 3 minimum wage jobs to keep the lights on, they are the child who by accident has become the patron god of cannibals...who has to make sure that their divine nature does not rub off on others...while also being terrified of themselves and the influence they excude. They are the old pensionists and spoiled rich kids who have family obligations and friends they love. This game has mechanics to ensure that the Gods have to keep ties with their previous mortal existence, but they must also attend to their divine duties. It utilizes a clever system by making Free Time a measurable commodity and it has bonds veyr much akin to touchstones in games like Vampire the Requiem, V5, Changeling the Lost and Wraith the Oblivion.

    2. Diversified powers: You can be a traditional sort of god who has control over Winter or Lightning or you could be the god of paperclips, anvils, babysitters, mall cops or you could control something so Broad as Time. The only real options that aren't feasible are gods of "everything" or the god of "gods", but pretty much everything besides that is fair game. This Reviewer have seen gods of: Cannibals, Paper, Nerds, Storms, Time, Lightening, Death, Ravens, Tyranny, Rock Music, Needlework, Kindness, Light, Whispers and Hate. The different aspects of focus on of each dominion is also noteable, which means that you can have gods with the same dominion but wiith widely different abillities due to different focuses. The level of variety is almost if not completely Equal to Mage the Ascension

    3. Interesting Splats: This game has a very cool way of giving you interesting splats, every character has several splat layers. Their Dominion, Their Archetype((a reflection of their personality)), Their Mortal Occupation and Their Theology((basically a specific god ideology)). All of these can be mixed and matched to make up very interesting characters. You could be a god of babysitters who has become a member of the order of Meskhenet: An Aristorcracy of Gods who help groom whom they consider worthy to be gods, they have fast cars and loads of cash...but with that comes an obligation to the order. Or maybe you are a member of the Chaotic Puck Eaters who also work as Journalist, your hunger is not just for the latest scoop but for the flesh of monsters and greater gods...I could rant on but trust me there is a lot of diversity and depth here.

    4. Territory: The game implements a very handy map feature called the territory grid, where the players put out various points of interests connected to their characters. The territory grid is also tied to the free time system that has been mentioned earlier, moving over the map requires spending free time to reflect the time spent traveling. The second cool aspect about territory is that your god's nature impacts the territory. If you are a god of death then death would make itself more known in your territory, more people will die, more morbid thoughts will be spread and more ghosts will find their way there and more urns and undertakers will find their way into the territory. A Pantheon of Gods(the player group) will have their dominions affect their shared territory and link each effect, if a god of liqour and orphans joined the pantheon of the aforementioned death god. Then the deaths caused by more people drinking alochol creates more orphans. Or the orphans become morbid and afraid of death and therefore starts drinking alcohol.

    5 Antagonists: The book has excellent antagonist rules that can be used to easily reflect an animal or a legion of zombies or a hydra or a internet personality and everything in between. These antagonists serves as opponents for mental, social and physical struggles ranging from petty douchebags to machiavellian masterminds and inhuman beasts. So you can much more easily have your character fight large groups without getting to cluttered and you can have individual threats.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Affiliation Guide: Nā 'Aumākua (for AMP: Year Two)
    by Karl L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2018 09:43:03

    Nā ‘Aumākua is definitely one of the more interesting factions AMP has to offer. You can play it as utopian faction of AMP/SAP cooperation, or a corrupt cabal of crazy vigilantes. This supplement really sets them up nicely for play. In addition to the pure faction information, it has some new powers and a nice scenario which fits the faction very well.

    I miss a bit more tips and advice for the GM, and the product leans heavily on AMP: Year Two to make sense.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Affiliation Guide: Nā 'Aumākua (for AMP: Year Two)
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    AMP: Year Two
    by Karl L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2018 00:44:48

    AMP has the feel of a 90s RPG, and continues to be supported with awesome supplements since its initial release. This supplement brigs the stories timeline one year further. Together with a section about how the AMP revolution have affected individual states in the US and some countries around the world, this is the biggest chunk of the book.

    The themes of year seems to be paranoia and responsibility. The dust has settled from the AMPs initial emergence, and the government and other group is now responding, often hostile. The game has a political slant, but it is surprisingly open-minded and balanced. There are a few “odd moments” where the writing could have been better, but mostly it was amazingly creative and full of ideas.

    There are four new factions, fitting the year’s theme. You can play government agencies that fight AMPs, or AMP groups that has taken a deeper responsibility, either by cooperating with humanity or pushing back.

    There are several new powers, the most important being gadgeteer, which can be used by humans. It is now possible to play a human character, and still hold your own to the AMPs.

    If you purely want mechanics, this book might disappoint you. If you appreciate the setting, this is a highly enjoyable read, and will give you a ton of ideas on how to continue your own game.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    AMP: Year Two
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Apocalypse Prevention, Inc. 2nd Edition
    by Jeffrey D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2018 09:38:37

    I got the opportunity to review API2E for Knights of the Dinner Table (mag) last year. I'm including a few snippets of that review below:

    Apocalypse Prevention Inc., 2nd Edition is an interesting RPG. The setting is modern day. The player characters will be asserting the role of earth saving, hero agents. This RPG is custom made to follow either a Hell Boy or Men in Black sort of game experience. Apocalypse Prevention Inc., 2E has is a lot of character options, as well as a robust combat system. A bit of a critique here is that horror is mentioned as a theme, but beyond character choices, I didn’t see enough in the writing for running a horror themed RPG. You probably could, but the horror elements aren't supported enough (my opinoin). Looking for something in line with Hell Boy or Men in Black? This is the RPG you should pick up.

    The full review is on my blog here: https://withinthedungeon.blogspot.com/2018/01/apocalypse-prevention-inc-2nd-edition.html#gpluscomments



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Apocalypse Prevention, Inc. 2nd Edition
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Wu Xing: The Ninja Crusade
    by Ronald B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/31/2017 18:15:29

    One of my favorite features is there’s no metaplot, just the setup. There are no secrets, which only the game master may know--another Good Thing(TM). The end result is players can read this book, cover-to-cover, and their understanding and enjoyment of the game can only be enhanced by doing so.

    The core mechanic of the game is simple--roll d20, add modifiers, beat target number. A deft GM could easily roll in the additional mechanics as needed, to a crunch-shy group.

    I have two issues with this book: 1) It seems to me a game about a war should include mass combat rules. I know ninja battles are showcased as one-on-on events in anime and manga, but larger-scale skirmishes and battles are mentioned; so they should be represented by rules. 2) The editing in this book leaves much to be desired. There are times where I laughed for all the wrong reasons when I was reading.

    If you’re looking for a blow-by-blow replacement for Legend of the Five Rings, you may be disappointed by Wu Xing. Further, avoid it if you weren’t excited about my description of initiative and combat. But if you love martial arts action, and authentic Eastern culture is a tough sell at your game table, this is a must buy. Heck, if you saw Avatar: The Last Airbender and loved it, go directly to your FLGS or Third Eye Games' store or RPGNow--do not pass go; do not collect $200.

    Full review at http://ronblessing.blogspot.com/2012/01/read-thru-wu-xing-ninja-crusade.html



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Wu Xing: The Ninja Crusade
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Displaying 1 to 15 (of 103 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
    0 items
    There are currently no reviews for this product