Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Palladium Books » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Palladium Fantasy RPG® Interactive Character Sheet
by Eric K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2019 13:49:09

An amazing first step -- I can't imagine how long this must have taken. Still a bit rough around the edges (esp. in terms of skills and, at times, weapons), but it shows huge promise, and is well worth the price!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Palladium Fantasy RPG® Interactive Character Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Palladium Fantasy RPG® Interactive Character Sheet
by Allan M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2019 20:59:29

I'm an excel geek and have built multiple character designers for RPGs. This by far exceeds them all. I can't imagine the countless hours it took to build. Brilliant work!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Rifter® #63 Sneak Preview
by Carlos S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2019 21:11:11

Kevin Simbieda garbage. Palladium walked off with my $$$ on Kickstarter



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Rifter® #63 Sneak Preview
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Splicers®
by Monica G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/04/2019 11:58:35

Splicers is a game from Palladium Books that offers one of the most unique, interesting, and perhaps disturbing settings of any role-playing game that I have played. It is part of Palladium's megaverse--a shared universe of games that you can port characters between. Other such games include 'After the Bomb', 'Dead Reign', 'Rifts', the game of interdimensional adventures that is best known for tying the megaverse together. Splicers is set in a post-apocalyptic world in a far-off future perhaps on earth or on a human colony on another planet (no one is quite sure). Humanity struggles against an advanced computer intelligence known as NEXUS, that has conquered the world with its army of robots. Fairly standard sci-fi stuff so far--but with a few unique twists. The computer has unleashed a plague of nano-bots on the world that has infected all non-precious metals, it lies dormant, ready to infect and kill any human that even touches metal. Humans, being left without their standard metal-based weapons, turned to alien bio-engineering technologies to manufacture weapons to fight the robotic threat. Such weapons are grown by the so-called 'engineers' and 'librarians'--creatures that are part-human, part alien brain-shaped tentacle monsters connected to a 'gene pool'--a chemical bath that they use to engineer new life forms.

Human society is organized into houses run by powerful warlords that maintain armies to fight the robotic threat. Players in Splicers play a warrior in one of the human armies. They fight against the robotic threat in one of three ways: with the use of bio-engineered weapons, by modifying their own bodies to make themselves into powerful bio-weapons, or in a few cases, by being one of the lucky few who are immune to the nano-bot plague and using the robots' own weapons against them. The first group of warriors includes occupational character classes (called OCC's) that wear living suits of armor that give them incredible abilities. This includes archangels, who wear light armor that gives them the power of flight, roughnecks--who serve as the infantry of the human armies, and dreadguard--heavily armed and armored troops. The self- modified classes include bionics--societal outcasts turned into living weapons. Then we have some of the weirder OCCs that help make this game really interesting: skinjobs--stealth experts who have volunteered to be flayed and have their skin replaced with skin like that of a chamelon. There are the scarecrows--powerful enforcers who drink the librarians' brain fluid to gain incredible power of speed, strength, and near-invulnerability. Then there the game's healing class, saints. Not your typical healers, saints have volunteered to have their abdomens torn out and replaced with an alien brain monster that will some day grow into a librarian. Like I said, this is not your typical sci-fi RPG. And to round out the OCC list, there are also the technojackers--humans immune to the nanobot plague who wield traditional, metal-based technology.

The character creation process is rather involved in this game. Palladium games have a mostly universal system for the character creation process, which has a detailed list of specialized skills that players can pick from. Splicers has this as well, but with the addition of skill 'profiles' by which players choose a set of core skills relevant to their character, before picking individual skills. This can make character creation a bit easier. Though, the process does take time and preparation, it lends itself well to making characters for longer campaigns, with a well fleshed-out background. Characters wearing bio-armor suits in Splicers also experience the unique process of creating suits of living armor--a process that is highly customizable and lets your imagination run wild. Those with OCCs such as Dreadguard are able to create a suit of armor with a pool of bio-energy points with a wide range of options for combat, movement, defense, sensory, survival, etc. Ever want a suit of armor with hooved feet and tentacles that shoots webs, with echo-location and electric resistance? This is the game for you. You can even give it some tiger stripes for a few extra bio-energy points. Overall, Splicers is one of the craziest and most interesting games I've ever played. It does a great job of building a rich and original world with minimal detail that leaves the game master a lot of flexibility to add their own touch. This is a great game for a long campaign, and it is well worth the investment of time that character creation takes. If you're looking for a game that's more sophisticated and creative than the typical fantasy or sci-fi setting, Splicers is something to take a look at. Though the rules are a bit more sophisticated and in-depth than the simpler systems we see these days, it is a truly unique and rewarding role-playing experience.

Read the full review at Geeksagogo.com!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Splicers®
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Rifts® Paper Miniatures: Practitioners of Magic
by James S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/18/2019 07:07:57

Been using these in my own Savage Rifts® campaign and they're great!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rifts® Paper Miniatures: Practitioners of Magic
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Beyond the Supernatural™ RPG, 2nd Edition
by Nick H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2019 13:20:31

I have to admit to having more of a soft spot for the original but blimey this is fun. It's just great to read let alone play and is flexible enought to support the RAW player who struggles to come up with their own worlds, or the smush player who likes to blend games and ideas together. It's huge, has some gorgreously evocative art and a more handmade artisn feel that's more in keeping with the subject matter than any of the super glossy current crop of supernatural RPG's. Highly recommended...a true classic



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beyond the Supernatural™ RPG, 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Rifts® Ultimate Edition RPG
by Robert H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2018 11:20:05

GREAT PDF of the original book. Nice to have it on computer/laptop for easy access.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rifts® Ultimate Edition RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Rifts® Coalition Wars® Book 4: Cyber-Knights
by STEPHANE M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2018 18:13:15

I purchase a lot of Palladium Books in PDF format through RPGNow.com (DriveThruRPG.com) and I noticed that books one through six of the Coalition Wars as well as Aftermath were scanned VERY poorly compared to other PDF releases from Palladium Books. They are not marked as "PDF Edition" in the covers and are barely legible. Is there a time-frame on when these seven books will be re-scanned properly to match the quality of other Palladium Books PDF releases so that I can re-download them from RPGNow.com? Until they are re-scanned properly, I am only giving them a 1-Star Rating. Thanks.

UPDATE 09-28-2018: I received a response from Wayne Smith at Palladium Books in regards to the quality of the PDF releases for Coalition Wars. He said that Palladium Books has plans to re-scan and upload higher quality scans of these books and will try to release them as soon as they can. I love Palladium Books - excellent customer service! I have updated my review and rating accordingly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rifts® Coalition Wars® Book 4: Cyber-Knights
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Rifts® Coalition Wars® Book 2: Coalition Overkill
by STEPHANE M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/25/2018 18:40:15

I purchase a lot of Palladium Books in PDF format through RPGNow.com (DriveThruRPG.com) and I noticed that books one through six of the Coalition Wars as well as Aftermath were scanned VERY poorly compared to other PDF releases from Palladium Books. They are not marked as "PDF Edition" in the covers and are barely legible. Is there a time-frame on when these seven books will be re-scanned properly to match the quality of other Palladium Books PDF releases so that I can re-download them from RPGNow.com? Until they are re-scanned properly, I am only giving them a 1-Star Rating. Thanks.

UPDATE 09-25-2018: I received a response from Wayne Smith at Palladium Books in regards to the quality of the PDF releases for Coalition Wars. He said that Palladium Books has plans to re-scan and upload higher quality scans of these books and will try to release them as soon as they can. I love Palladium Books - excellent customer service! I have updated my review and rating accordingly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rifts® Coalition Wars® Book 2: Coalition Overkill
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Rifts® Coalition Wars® Book 1: Sedition
by STEPHANE M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2018 20:45:42

I purchase a lot of Palladium Books in PDF format through RPGNow.com (DriveThruRPG.com) and I noticed that books one through six of the Coalition Wars as well as Aftermath were scanned VERY poorly compared to other PDF releases from Palladium Books. They are not marked as "PDF Edition" in the covers and are barely legible. Is there a time-frame on when these seven books will be re-scanned properly to match the quality of other Palladium Books PDF releases so that I can re-download them from RPGNow.com? Until they are re-scanned properly, I am only giving them a 1-Star Rating. Thanks.

UPDATE 09-24-2018: I received a response from Wayne Smith at Palladium Books in regards to the quality of the PDF releases for Coalition Wars. He said that Palladium Books has plans to re-scan and upload higher quality scans of these books and will try to release them as soon as they can. I love Palladium Books - excellent customer service! I have updated my review and rating accordingly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rifts® Coalition Wars® Book 1: Sedition
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Rifts® Aftermath
by STEPHANE M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/05/2018 21:19:02

I purchase a lot of Palladium Books in PDF format through RPGNow.com (DriveThruRPG.com) and I noticed that books one through six of the Coalition Wars as well as Aftermath were scanned VERY poorly compared to other PDF releases from Palladium Books. They are not marked as "PDF Edition" in the covers and are barely legible. Is there a time-frame on when these seven books will be re-scanned properly to match the quality of other Palladium Books PDF releases so that I can re-download them from RPGNow.com? Until they are re-scanned properly, I am only giving them a 1-Star Rating. Thanks.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Rifts® Aftermath
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Rifts® Coalition Wars® Book 6: Final Siege
by STEPHANE M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/05/2018 21:18:47

I purchase a lot of Palladium Books in PDF format through RPGNow.com (DriveThruRPG.com) and I noticed that books one through six of the Coalition Wars as well as Aftermath were scanned VERY poorly compared to other PDF releases from Palladium Books. They are not marked as "PDF Edition" in the covers and are barely legible. Is there a time-frame on when these seven books will be re-scanned properly to match the quality of other Palladium Books PDF releases so that I can re-download them from RPGNow.com? Until they are re-scanned properly, I am only giving them a 1-Star Rating. Thanks.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Rifts® Coalition Wars® Book 6: Final Siege
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Rifts® Coalition Wars® Book 5: Shadows of Evil
by STEPHANE M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/05/2018 21:18:35

I purchase a lot of Palladium Books in PDF format through RPGNow.com (DriveThruRPG.com) and I noticed that books one through six of the Coalition Wars as well as Aftermath were scanned VERY poorly compared to other PDF releases from Palladium Books. They are not marked as "PDF Edition" in the covers and are barely legible. Is there a time-frame on when these seven books will be re-scanned properly to match the quality of other Palladium Books PDF releases so that I can re-download them from RPGNow.com? Until they are re-scanned properly, I am only giving them a 1-Star Rating. Thanks.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Rifts® Coalition Wars® Book 5: Shadows of Evil
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Rifts® Coalition Wars® Book 3: Sorcerers' Revenge
by STEPHANE M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/05/2018 21:18:06

I purchase a lot of Palladium Books in PDF format through RPGNow.com (DriveThruRPG.com) and I noticed that books one through six of the Coalition Wars as well as Aftermath were scanned VERY poorly compared to other PDF releases from Palladium Books. They are not marked as "PDF Edition" in the covers and are barely legible. Is there a time-frame on when these seven books will be re-scanned properly to match the quality of other Palladium Books PDF releases so that I can re-download them from RPGNow.com? Until they are re-scanned properly, I am only giving them a 1-Star Rating. Thanks.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Rifts® Coalition Wars® Book 3: Sorcerers' Revenge
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

After the Bomb® RPG
by Brion L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/28/2018 20:48:03

Yet another of the fantastic settings from Palladium Books, hobbled by their insistence on using the archaic and clunky Palladium RPG system.

However, the great setting and ideas for creating mutant animals make up for it. The BIO-E system for mutation point costs is well thought out, and seems to play well. These mutant animals have also appeared in Heroes Unlimited and probably had a big influence on the Rifts Dog Boys.

It's too bad they couldn't reprint the original Teenage Mutant Turtles & Other Strangeness RPG, Transdimensional TMNT, or TMNT Guide to the Universe because those had some really great stuff too.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
After the Bomb® RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 120 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG