RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition: Customizable GM's Screen Inserts
by Dario T. N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2019 18:38:16

I really like this one. Not only the four landscape pages of inserts are just right for my 4 panel customizable screen, but there are ten, whole page, pictures of scenes from the rulebook, for different settings, so that you can change them as you want. The information is very useful too, including the new uses for Bennies and the guide for interludes just where I need them on the table. If you are curious about the changes of the new edition of Savage Worlds, I wrote a review here



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition: Customizable GM's Screen Inserts
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Worlds Adventure Edition: Combat & Chase Quick Reference Chart
by Dario T. N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2019 18:28:31

This is a good summary for quick use at the table. Its four pages of content makes them just right to print and have on the table. Considering that chases are two of those pages, it's even better, since you can store what you are not using. If you are curious about the new edition of Savage Worlds, I wrote a review here



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition: Combat & Chase Quick Reference Chart
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Worlds Adventure Edition: Status Tokens
by Dario T. N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2019 17:32:05

This is another free, useful (if you play with minis) thing from Pinnacle. Usually, when I have played with minis, we used a grid whiteboard to sketch the map and whatever miniatures we could get, and used markers to signal who was hurt and so on. For players I would use the status cards, but for the host of enemies this is far better. Nonetheless, I would have separated them in blocks and different pages, so I could combine them as I needed, instead of all of them in the same page. This time I see a use for the On Hold token - something I didn't in the cards - because I can imagine a group of mooks with some of them acting, some of them on hold. Since they're sharing the initiative card, status tokens are better. If you want to read a review of the new edition of Savage Worlds, I posted one here



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition: Status Tokens
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Worlds Adventure Edition: Bookmarks
by Dario T. N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2019 17:24:26

Besides the images - my favourite is Red in the bike - that are a fair sample of what level of art you can find in the book, there are summaries of the most usual statuses and combat options. It is useful, but I think that at the table a single paper sheet with that kind of data might be better. If you are curious about the new edition of savage worlds, you can read a review here



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition: Bookmarks
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Worlds Adventure Edition: Status Cards
by Dario T. N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2019 17:16:57

The status cards are a good idea to help keep tracking of who's how, including fatigue, damage, shaken and other statuses with its effects. Once printed (in A4) and cut, they fit sleeved poker cards nicely, and the pictures are a good touch. However, I think there is room for improvement: For instance, there are statuses that include other statuses, such as entangled and bound. It would be best if, besides saying they include those statuses, they would also include the description of their effects. Of course, that's solvable by adding the corresponding status card. Another thing is that pages have mixed cards. I get that there will be more need of wounds and fatigue than shakens, but instead of one page combining two each of stunned, hold, aim and defend, I would find more useful to have each pages having eight instances of the same card, so I can print them depending on my number of players or even what I expect to happen in the campaign. Maybe even having a single card per page, poker-sized, and use the "print X pages per sheet" function of the printer. By the way, I think that the "On Hold" status is not needed as a card, considering the player still has their initiative card. I got these as part of the Kickstarter rewards and I will probably use them, but I'm also considering making my own, even if I have to dispense with the pictures. If you are curious about the new edition of the rules, there's a review of them here



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition: Status Cards
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Worlds Adventure Edition: Adventure Deck
by Dario T. N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2019 12:00:29

This is not a vital item for Savage Worlds, but it adds another weapon to characters, another reward to experience and I have already seen a few interesting twists thanks to the improvisation due to player use of these cards It is compatible with the Deluxe Edition, as Adventurer Edition is. If you are interested in reading a review of the Adventurer Edition, there's one here



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition: Adventure Deck
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Worlds Adventure Edition: Action Deck
by Dario T. N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2019 12:53:44

I like what they have done with Savage Worlds (as you can read here), but I can't get excited about this item. It was included in the Kickstarter stretch goals, but it is a normal poker deck with the figures as multi setting characters.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition: Action Deck
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Worlds Adventure Edition
by Dario T. N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2019 11:08:33

I really like this edition and am happy of having contributed to its Kickstarter. Most of the rules changes are minor tweaks, but some of them were needed and are welcomed, while the new chases system is more seamless than the previous one. I think it is worth this price to update Deluxe Edition, and a definitely good price if you haven't it. I wrote a longer review here.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Expanded Wealth
by Matt P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2019 13:40:03

Great little expansion of the SWADE Wealth rules - well-thought out and provides some good guidelines for GMs who want to use the abstract Wealth system but would like guidance beyond what the core rules provide. The "Lifestyle" rules for codifying how quickly the Wealth die returns to normal after a purchase or loss are particularly helpful. This is well worth the asking price for any GM who wants to use the Wealth system!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Expanded Wealth
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Expanded Wealth
by NATHAN C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/16/2019 22:12:59

Quick, clean, and efficient. A professional product. I was looking for something like this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Scribus SWAG Template
by Kirk B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2019 17:38:28

This is a great template for those of us who want to get into SWAG without Word or InDesign! However, you didn't include a lot of the assets used in the document—all of the images and fonts that the document was designed around were not included. It might be a good idea to update the .zip file with those assets, but even without it's a fantastic starting point.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Scribus SWAG Template
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the recommendation. I uploaded another Zip file that contains the assets ("Collect for Output.." menu item in Scribus). Hopefully, this works out and I appreciate that you found the template useful.
Deadlands Reloaded: Lone Killers of the Southwest
by WHITE J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/12/2019 11:18:35
  • Are you running a Deadlands campaign set in the south-west?
  • Do you want some REAL-LIFE antagonists?
  • Should they have a high Shooting score and lots of combat Edges?

If the answer to ALL of the above is "Yes", then this product is for you! If not, it isn't.

On a more serious note, I love that Pinnacle have produced a purely historical book for Deadlands and I wish they would do this more. I also love the small price tag and don't mind that its only 5 characters - it seems a fair price.

But I wish it had been "Lone Killers of the West" and covered all of the main areas that posses can adventure in. As it is, its utility is limited. For some reason, I find it far easier to have a fictional character (like, say, Mina Devlin) pop up in Kansas than a real character that I know only terrorised Arizona!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Reloaded: Lone Killers of the Southwest
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deadlands Reloaded: Grim Prairie Trails
by WHITE J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/12/2019 09:20:11

This book gives a collection of new monsters for Deadlands, each with a short, straightforward adventure. In this respect it is very much like the old Ravenloft "Children of the Night" books and, indeed, the book gave me quite a 90s feel.

Because this is a book with lots of elements at play, every GM will have their own favourites and things they dislike. In some cases I liked the monster but not the associated adventure (e.g. the Weaver), in some cases I thought the adventure did a good job with a boring monster (javeranha). In a few cases, everything comes together (e.g. the lyncher, the Raven Mocker, Swarm Man). But these are my opinions only. I think that the only real dud is the Squatpump Gang.

I do think that everything in this book - monsters and adventures - are best used sparingly to avoid your Deadlands campaign becoming a generic horror game.

Production values are great throughout.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Reloaded: Grim Prairie Trails
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

First Responders, A Savage Worlds Superhero One Sheet
by Greg B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2019 20:52:53

First Responders is an fascinating one sheet for Savage Worlds. Providing a unique framework for a superhero setting, This one sheet provides a lot of bang for your buck, with an interesting setting and tables to provide you with an intersting night of gaming. Definitely worth a look.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
First Responders, A Savage Worlds Superhero One Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deadlands Reloaded: Blood Drive 1-Bad Times on the Goodnight
by WHITE J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2019 18:24:09

I bought this because it promised a bit more "west" and a bit less "weird". I was not disappointed.

Blood Drive puts a lot of emphasis on just being cowboys - rounding up cows, riding broncos etc. There are supernatural encounters but they are used sparingly. The book generally goes into just the right amount of detail (except for omitting a map for the climactic encounter).

It is well-written and illustrated throughout.

All of the encounters in themselves are good. The final half of the story, where the party take on an outlaw in the Disputed Territories, is excellent. It really embraces the mayhem of Deadlands and showcases the fast combat system of Savage Worlds (you can even use Mass Battle rules if you like).

However, I don't think that I would use the whole book as written - it's just too linear! I also dislike it's emphasis on following certain core NPCs. Whilst Sutter the herd-owner is likably written, I think that most players will start to object to having an uber-competent NPC who alternately orders them around then needs rescuing annoying after about 2 sessions. Instead, I would use Blood Drive as an opener into a more supernatural adventure (like Coffin Rock) or as a source of inspiration for day-to-day cowboy shenanigans.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Reloaded: Blood Drive 1-Bad Times on the Goodnight
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 749 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG