Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Machine Age Productions » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
#iHunt: The RPG
by Irene B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2020 00:10:56

This book is written by millennials, for millennials and it is powerd by FATE CORE. The core premise of the adventure is that the players are a group of monster hunters who use the #iHunt app to hunt down monsters in a gig economy. Think Uber or Lyft, but with a dash of Supernatural/Buffy/whatever Monster of the Week TV show you watched growing up. Its layout is easy to read and beautifully well done. It translates very well on to a mobile screen, which cannot be said about a lot of other PDFs that were not designed specifically for mobile screens.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

#iHunt: The RPG
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/17/2020 09:39:22

I haven't had a chance to play yet, but I am working on getting a group together for that purpose. Having gone through the rules though, it seems like a strong game with a lot to say, and a bit of poignant commentary thrown in to really give you a sense of what this is about. It is shamelessly and unapologetically direct about the world in which the game is set (and about the world in which we live) and through that tone is able to give a strong sense of why iHunt really is a necessary addition to the large pantheon of RPGs.

They say that gaming is for everyone, and while that is "true" the reality is that for so long marginalized groups have been given the short end of the stick, be it through outdated depictions and representations or through interactions with GMs and other players. As a personal experience being LGBTQ, there is always a struggle of whether it is safe to come out to any given table. While that is always a risk no matter what is played, iHunt's themes really set things up in such a way as to make those within marginalized groups feel that they are welcome by the very nature of the game itself. That is not to say that the game is only enjoyable to people with those experiences, but there is something special about a game that focuses on those (for lack of a better word) categories, rather than just including them as some sort of diversity checkbox.

To keep this review from going on longer, I will just say this: I haven't been this excited to play something in a very long time.

Also, you should check out the iHunt novels. While not necessary for playing the game, they are a fantastic read and can give quite a bit of inspiration.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2020 14:25:57

Look, this is a game book that realizes half the crap in a game book are completely unneeded. It starts in the middle of the action, with fiction pieces that hit like trucks, and a street up view of life in poverty. Olivia Hill gets it.. #iHunt gets the struggle. You're not the hero, you're poor schlub getting paid to do the crap work no one wants to handle, for practically nothing. You're the Uber driver mopping vomit off your car seats, except it's werewolf blood, zombie vomit and pixie shit, and instead of your car seat, it's your face and clothes. Even if you look past the setting fluff, the rules are solid and narratively driven.

The Fate System, which is flexible and functional at every level, allows for improvisation, and genre savvy theatrics without much preparation. The list of skills are expansive, and while there is some broad overlapping among them, each ability feels distinct and useful. The four "kinks" are each unique and valuable, but not reliant upon each other, unlike other systems where a "balanced" team is absolutely essential for survival. Stunts, skill tricks and role based powers, are incredibly powerful, and thus beyond valuable.

As I said, the fluff of this book is fantastic, and the the book itself is an easy read. I consumed all 335 pages at a run, laughing at the realistic, and unabashedly honest language. Inclusivity is outright stated as a goal, while fascists are outright being given the boot; a design choice that I applaud. Seriously, if you're debating buying this book, get off the fence and buy it; you won't regret it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2020 19:20:21

This game accurately represents the terror of looking at your bank account while using vampires to represent the blood-sucking soul-lessness of capitalism.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: Killing Monsters in the Gig Economy
by Curse o. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2020 20:01:09
iHunt Killing Monsters in the Gig Economy by Olivia Hill (@machineiv)

I've been ridiculously excited to get a taste of Hill's #iHunt world since I first saw previews for the #iHunt roleplaying game, which has been on my play and review list, the Spreadsheet of Many, which has taken some serious knocks over the past year, for too long, but I'm hoping to get to play soon! So, when I saw Hill's #iHunt Pandemic Free offer I could not download this novel fast enough or be more thankful now than I did!

Unfortunately, my partner and I are both in the at-risk group for Corvid, so when they developed a cough after visiting family not a few weeks before the UK lockdown it meant solo isolation. Solo isolation for two disabled people who are each other's carer fucking sucks. My partner was in the bedroom and I was sleeping on couch cushions with a sleeping bag in the spare room, doing everything around the house to keep us going and seriously worrying about their health. It was hell, but I was so incredibly grateful to have this book to look forward to every night. Every night I would read until I could not stay awake, unwilling and unable to stop reading until my body made the decision for me. I was given countless contusions from dropping my tablet on my face because I was absolutely captivated and could not put it down until it dropped from my hands. I am sure I would have broken my nose and lost teeth if not for the protection afforded by my sleep apnoea mask!

The point I am making is this book actually helped me through a genuinely awful time. I will always be unbelievably thankful to Hill for that.

Despite being about hunting vampires and the wider supernatural world adjacent to our own, this is the most honest and true reflection of the life as I know it and you are almost certainly living. Hill’s writing style is infectious, Lana is a captivating character painted with warts and all, and I genuinely felt every emotion on this wild ride. I cannot express how vindicating and heartening (and depressing, but that’s the world’s fault not Hill’s) it was to see the world I live in and see it discussed so candidly.

The tea here is absolutely scalding and I am here for it!

In a world filled with countless vampire properties, it is so refreshing to have a story that is not trying to take the monster away from the abusive and…well monstrous things vampires are and represent. The vampires for the most part are adjacent to the story anyway. This is Lana’s story. This is her world and her difficult job she has trained for and dedicated her life to. It comes with huge risks, expenditures and uncertainty, which I see many parallels to the life of a creator in this age of the gig economy and the lack of support for the arts. I know a book is something special when I have already ordered the next one less than halfway through! I cannot express how excited this makes me to play the roleplaying game and devoured the novel series!

While comparison’s can be drawn to True Blood, Supernatural and Buffy the Vampire Slayer (more on that in The Chosen One), I believe that is only seeing the set dressing and supernatural markers, doing an incredible disservice to the world Hill has created with #iHunt. I think the core of Lana’s tale is far more akin to Breaking Bad, Better Call Saul and The Wire; brutally honest, if extreme, stories of the lives many are forced or feel the need to lead in our absurd and cruel society.

This truly was not like anything I had read before and, honestly, I was not expecting it of a novel tied to a roleplaying game, but I am absolutely thrilled to be wrong!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: Killing Monsters in the Gig Economy
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

#iHunt: The RPG
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/19/2020 20:44:07

A very well produced present day monster hunter setting for FATE. My group is having a lot of fun in our ongoing playtests. iHunt makes some clever additions to the system - an Edge mechanic makes enemies more lethal until the PCs wrest it away from them, for example, and characters are advanced with Selfies.

I found the layout a bit distracting, but I'm a grognard who grew up with much drier and less colorful/dynamic RPG books, so consider the source. There's also no Index at the end, which I always look for. The writing is conversational and occasionally fierce, and takes a hard look at our present day world through the filter of hunters struggling to survive the monster of capitalism. More conservative players won't appreciate it. I did.

Overall I think it's a fine example of art imitating life. I'm not exactly the target audience for it, but I feel I can appreciate what it sets out to accomplish, and recognize that it does so.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Flatpack: Fix the Future
by Sandro G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/08/2020 07:29:48

Besides this game brings a innovative proposal to the gametable, seems to me his system has very little or no playtest at all. I GMed the introdutory adventure yesterday to a group of friends and at passing the third scene we decided to end the game. Not because of the proposal or the setting, we had a lot of fun with those, but the idea of the game system seems to be "fail, fail, fail to have any chance of success" and so much fails got boring real quick. I don't recommend this game, sadly.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Flatpack: Fix the Future
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

#iHunt: The RPG
by Steven B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/31/2020 21:23:21

If you played Chronicles of Darkness's game, Hunter: the Vigil, this is the 2019 update to it. This game takes a very hard look at the working lives of millenials, late stage capitalism and adds the supernatural into the mix. The game is all about the class of overworked, underpaid individuals who barely scraping by (if at all). They do their day job(s) and take out contracts to kill monsters.

What I do like about it is, how it focuses on the story, rather than the dice rolls. It's all about 'living on the edge' in the worst conditions. It's not a matter of if your character 'retires' from #iHunt. More accurately, it's a matter of when your character finally encounters a 'fair fight.' The monster always wins in a 'fair fight.'

Well worth trying something radically different from many urban fantasy RPGs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

#iHunt: The RPG
by Seamus C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2020 08:38:26

"iHunt makes Fate work for horror ... the core mechanics that enable character competencies allow characters to get to where the horror is taking place, instead of letting them bypass it. I’d recommend this game to anyone interested in horror RPGs, not just because it’s good (it is), but because it’s modern. In a medium where Call of Cthulhu gets rehashed every Tuesday, we need a game based on dread from the 2020s instead of dread from the 1920s."

Read the full CHG review here: https://cannibalhalflinggaming.com/2020/01/22/ihunt-review/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
by Jose L. A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2019 04:50:20

This game makes me laugh and shiver at the same time: the writing is both funny and so sadly real about the world we live in...

You need to read #iHunt, seriously. Interesting premise, funny writing and the achievement of being super-realistic even with vampires, werewolves and such in stage. Just thanks for making this game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
by Kate G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2019 10:28:21

This is a game of monster hunting in the cyberpunk dystopia of late stage capitalism. It is very pretty and at various points clever, funny, revealing, and distressing. The game uses a solid version of the fate core system, but I think this setting could be used pretty easily with whatever system you like for the monster hunting genre.

Game books set in the modern world, i think, tend to skip over discussing what life is like here and now. After all, we are supposed to know that for ourselves. But the modern world is changing faster and faster, and situations are not evenly distributed. This game essentially treats the present as an unfamiliar new setting and i think that approach is not just interesting, but it is a pretty good approach for a fun game.

i also like the tone of this game overall. it doesnt just feel like it is about the future we are living in, it feels like it is from there. It kind of reminds me of watching the X-Files way back. See, one day everyone in the real world got cell phones, and it changed all sorts of things about the way we lived. but the characters in TV dramas didnt have cell phones yet, for some reason. they were stuck in the past somehow. even when they got cell phones, they didnt really use them the way we were using them. When Mulder and Scully started to actually use their phones, there was a feeling that fiction was catching up with us at last. Reading iHunt gave me a similar feeling of recognition.

im looking forward to seeing this play out at my table. so more of this, please.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
by Federico S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/24/2019 11:27:59

There aren't many genres as relevant to our times as economic horror, and the TTRPG environment is severely lacking in quality and quantity in that department.

iHunt is set to change that.

This game boasts thematic strength in spades. Late stage capitalism and its woes resonate with so many of us, especially those of us coming from marginalized communities. #iHunt channels that with heaps of realness. While a lot of TTRPGs with heavy themes struggle to connect emotionally, #iHunt succeeds thanks to the relevance of its subject matter and the amazing way in which it's all conveyed.

And it ain't just the content that is easy to connect with. The no-bullshit, straight-to-the-point writing is not just refreshing, but completely apt for the current, nerve-wracking times we get to live in. Yay.

Yet #iHunt isn't some bleak misery tour of the worst face of our society. It knows when to laugh in the face of true horror, and it has your back by providing proper, violent escapism when you most need it. It understands humor is a necessary weapon against crippling monetary insecurity, and boy does it wield it good.

The use of the FATE system seems very appropriate and the system itself is really well explained. The mix of survival tips and advice, rules and fiction is expertly organized and presented; there was never a point in which I was like "oook I'm tired of this" or whatever. And I have to hammer this down again: in a time in which most TTRPGs end up being coffee table books or as glorified bookshelf filler, this being a more entertaining, engaging and overall just plain fun read than most of the big titles out there makes it an amazing purchase that I can't wait to take to the actual gaming table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
by Secrets o. t. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/24/2019 10:33:38

Honestly this is such a pleasure to read, it's engaging, well-worded, fun, layout and art are neat, easy to reference... A great, unapologetic engaged work that carries its message both through content and world building, but also in mechanics. Will give a full playthrough ASAP :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
by Eero R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/22/2019 07:27:12

I am very much NOT the target audience. I am straight white male living comfortably middle-class life in an actually functioning welfare state.

That being said, this is the most authentic and thought-provoking roleplaying game I have read in the twenty years I have been involved in the hobby.

It is raw, somewhat unpolished, very angry but it just has so much heart and soul and it has important things to say. Ignorance is bliss as they say, and the sections describing what life is actually like for underprivileged workers struggling in gig economy is honestly disturbing and infuriating. Suddenly it makes sense why someone would try to machete a vampire in a car parking lot for cash.

I am unlikely to ever get to play this, but I have been reading it in the evening for several days in a row now. It just oozes atmosphere.

Great stuff.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
by Keith S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2019 20:41:48

I've said this in other places, but I want to leave a review here, too. I've played a lot of Fate games, I've run a lot of Fate games, I've written plenty of hacked material for Fate games; #iHunt is a great iteration of Fate rules. They're well explained here, in terms that should be familiar to even new players.

The book is an easy read, unlike many RPG books. It wears its heart on its sleeve, be it while giving a no-nonsense rundown of the poverty that drives people into the gig economy or while mocking the tried and true (and stilted) "here's how you make a character!" section of every RPG book ever. The layout is crisp, the colors are vivid, and the art fits the ad-copy style of the fictional app the game centers around. If a magazine, blog, twitter feed, and RPG book had a kid and that kid decided it wanted hunt monsters and punch fascists, this book would be that kid.

This game is easily in my top three iterations of Fate. I haven't run it yet, but it's going to have a solid chance at being my top iteration once I do.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 39 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG