Quick Find
 Categories
     Sister sites
     Information
    See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

    Having Problems?
    • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
    • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
    • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

    Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to !

    Our Latest Newsletter
    Product Reviews
    Privacy Policy
    How to Sell on
    Convention Support Program


    RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
    Back
    Other comments left for this publisher:
    You must be logged in to rate this
    Somnium Mundus: Audio Enhancements
    by David C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/10/2020 10:08:52

    this and the tileset is mostly useful for VTT systems, which I don't use. While the voice acting if good, there isn't the ability for players to interrupt the speakers and ask questions - which would be the case if the GM role-played the scenese instead of just playing the audio.



    Rating:
    [2 of 5 Stars!]
    Somnium Mundus: Audio Enhancements
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Into the Star
    by Sean S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/25/2019 06:59:14

    My review is basically what Mike G. wrote over 6 years ago (see below), but the publisher still hasn't corrected / updated. I'd give it 2 stars for the unresolved technical issues which makes it largely unreadable, but it was free, so it gets a 3.



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Into the Star
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Into the Star
    by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/02/2018 03:56:23

    An Endzeitgeist.com review

    This adventure clocks in at 32 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial/ToC, leaving us with 30 pages of content, so let’s take a look!

    Now, first things first: This acts as an introductory adventure for the Twilight Sector and also as a solo-adventure – not “solo”, as one GM and player, but as “choose your own adventure”-solo!

    The pdf assumes the use of the Mutant Creation rules – you can play a Mod SIM (scientifically induced mutation, weak social standing -1) or a Natural mutant (NM, weak social standing -2); with Resis Capra, we get a sample pregen for your use if you don’t have the time or inclination to make one yourself. A d66 table for negative and positive mutations is provided, including the respective descriptions.

    Upon reading these, you will, alas, notice that this was, obviously, the freshman offering of the company: The white borders around images have not been cropped, partially making text jumbled or overlapping it. E.g. the number for entry #6 is, annoyingly, hidden by an artwork. Also slightly annoying - #49 is basically: Try again! That could be in the respective failure conditions right there sans flipping pages. Entry number 50 is also completely obscured by the b/w-map. And no, I will not tell you what this adventure is about – it makes no sense to cover its details, considering that any coverage would SPOIL the adventure for the only person who’d undertake it. Suffice to say, there is some mystery set up for future scenarios…

    Conclusion:

    Editing and formatting are okay, if not perfect – particularly the images overlapping text is annoying indeed. Cartography and interior artworks are b/w and nice. Layout adheres to a 1-column b/w-standard and the pdf internally hyperlinked – clicking on “go to #X” will put you at the respective entry.

    Michael J Cross and Matthew Hope deliver a per se nice, unpretentious solo-adventure here; while it’s not exactly mind-boggling, it makes for a solid form of entertainment for a while. That being said, the overlay issues are really grating and drag down the experience a bit. At the same time, this is FREE. And honestly, as a FREE supplement, this is worth checking out if you need your RPG-fix and are in the mood for some scifi/space opera action. Hence, my final verdict will clock in at 3 stars.

    Endzeitgeist out.



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Tinker, Spacer, Psion, Spy
    by Peter P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2017 17:00:07

    If you are a Traveller rules purist, this product isn't for you. However if you like alternate rules that add something to the game this product is for you. I love the alternate character generation rules presented in this book. I don't like everything, but that doesn't mean it is bad. A couple of things just don't fit well in my game, but they might in yours. Now that said, the flavor of the book is geared towards the Twilight Sector camapign and not traditional Traveller. You can still use the alternate rules but you will have to do a little extra work to fit it to your Traveller universe. I give this product overall high marks.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Tinker, Spacer, Psion, Spy
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Ancient Trails: So It Begins
    by kara s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2015 11:45:33

    Not much more than an adventure hook and a couple side encounters that have some flimsy railroading to them.

    There's imediatly a test on how well and how detailed players secure cargo. Then an encounter with tons of fluff on why it's not viable to solve nonviolently or bother with following up on. Then the cargo is broken anyways with no explination. I feel this gets me into an awkward spot as a dm where there's no place for me to take this adventure if pcs would look into things like this. There is, but it's in no way looked into here.

    Then if you get past there there's another thing that the pcs would probably only find through investigation that would've shaken an earlier part of the mission, and this thing isnt even tangently relateted to the mission so far.

    Also another unrelated location in there between a couple things with no explination.

    It's good for a few ideas, but for an adventure start it has potential to back the type of dm who would use a boxxed adventure like is presented here into a corner of improv when players dont follow blindly along.



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Ancient Trails:  So It Begins
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Techbook: Chrome
    by P-O B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/25/2013 07:31:48

    Classic Traveller is inspired by Science Fiction before cyber-technology started to appear (with a few exceptions) in Science Fiction. So, in Classic Traveller there are no rules for cybertech.

    There was a short article series in JTAS #02, #03 and #04 that talked about the differences between robots, cyborgs, androids, etc. We had to wait until the book 2300 AD Earth/Cybertech Sourcebook for 2300AD before GDW produced any good rules for cybertech, But this was for another RPG and not for Traveller and only 13 pages of that book was about different types of cybertech.

    Cybertech might not fit well (if it is common) in the OTU. But for an ATU that needs a more modern feel, rules for cybertech are needed. Terra/Sol Games has produced a book that fills the gap; Techbook: Chrome.

    Techbook: ChromeChrome is a well-known cyberpunk term, known from William Gibson’s Burning Chrome. It’s clever title for this book.

    The contents in the book are just what you expect, and more. There are rules covering Cybernetic Replacements and Biologicals and Accessories and Cyborgs and Cyrgeware.

    Cybernetic Replacements is just what you expect it is. Biologicals is the same but these replacement are grown from organic tissue. You can buy biological upgrades and combine it with the cybertech. This can make your setting really feel like Bladerunner.

    The Accessories section of the book are about improvements or additions of the body to add a function that a normal person doesn’t have. These can be both Cybernetic and Biological additions.

    The Cyborg section of the book is about cyborgs. A cyborg is defined as an individual whose brain (and possibly other organs) have been placed in a robotic shell. This section of the book discusses lots of aspects of being a cyborg, including braincase, “food” and combat.

    The section called Cyrgeware is about the ability to be able to change something (a function or appearance) within your body.

    Most of the illustrations in the book are in grayscale and are really good. There are a few in color but only one (showing a sexy cyborg) except the cover is worth mentioning.

    An alternative for this book would be 2300 AD Earth/Cybertech Sourcebook for 2300AD or Supplement 8: Cybernetics from Mongoose. But in my opinion, Techbook: Chrome is more interesting. It would be very useful in an ATU where you want cybertech to be more prominent.

    The review is also posted at the Zhodani base blog: http://wp.me/p2o79h-Ty



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Techbook: Chrome
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Ancient Trails, Witness to History
    by Mark G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/19/2013 13:07:30

    An excellent construct of the "Ancient Trail" series. It continues where the first adventure leaves off and has adventurers find evidence of the Ancients and follows its trail. I RECOMMEND IT.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Ancient Trails, Witness to History
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Into the Star
    by Mark G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/01/2013 11:01:44

    It is a very good intro to the Twilight Sector of space but some errors have been made in its publishing. Page 14 has an image overshadowing some words that can be easily fixed. However, the final page the Map not only overshadows but blocks the final entry (#50) as well as the Epilogue. This map should be on a separate page as well as a map legend and description.



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Into the Star
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Techbook: Chrome
    by Harry S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2013 23:41:53

    Not really a review but definitely high praise for this most excellent supplement! I am a sucker for anything 'cybernetic' and this book has those in spades! I particularly liked the chapter on Cyrgeware, a fine blending of nanotech, advanced materials and optimization choices galore! I wholeheartedly recommend this Terra-Sol offering to anyone running a scifi game using cybernetics; 5 stars and well deserved!

    On a side note, I noticed in the text that they are working on a new book detailing A.I.s. If it is anything like Techbook: Chrome, I WILL be buying!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Techbook: Chrome
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Somnium Mundus Adventure Bundle [BUNDLE]
    by Brian H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2013 14:30:55

    I got this as part of the Somnium Mundus bundle. What I was looking for was sci-fi maps and tiles on my search. What I stumbled on here was a nice little sci-fi mini-adventure with some nice looking tile sets and for an added bonus, some audio clips of the adventure, sound effects and a little music for the club scene. I pulled this up while searching for maps and these tiles will come in handy in any sci-fi campaign but this was made for the Traveller universe. The adventure is done quite well and the added audio only enhances it. This is superb for a free product. This could probably be adapted to just about any sci-fi setting though, who knows maybe my GM will use it in one of our Traveller sessions.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Somnium Mundus Adventure Bundle [BUNDLE]
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Somnium Mundus: Audio Enhancements
    by Brian H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2013 14:30:21

    I got this as part of the Somnium Mundus bundle. What I was looking for was sci-fi maps and tiles on my search. What I stumbled on here was a nice little sci-fi mini-adventure with some nice looking tile sets and for an added bonus, some audio clips of the adventure, sound effects and a little music for the club scene. I pulled this up while searching for maps and these tiles will come in handy in any sci-fi campaign but this was made for the Traveller universe. The adventure is done quite well and the added audio only enhances it. This is superb for a free product. This could probably be adapted to just about any sci-fi setting though, who knows maybe my GM will use it in one of our Traveller sessions.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Somnium Mundus: Audio Enhancements
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Somnium Mundus: Tileset Pack
    by Brian H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2013 14:29:32

    I got this as part of the Somnium Mundus bundle. What I was looking for was sci-fi maps and tiles on my search. What I stumbled on here was a nice little sci-fi mini-adventure with some nice looking tile sets and for an added bonus, some audio clips of the adventure, sound effects and a little music for the club scene. I pulled this up while searching for maps and these tiles will come in handy in any sci-fi campaign but this was made for the Traveller universe. The adventure is done quite well and the added audio only enhances it. This is superb for a free product. This could probably be adapted to just about any sci-fi setting though, who knows maybe my GM will use it in one of our Traveller sessions.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Somnium Mundus: Tileset Pack
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Somnium Mundus
    by Brian H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2013 14:28:02

    I got this as part of the Somnium Mundus bundle. What I was looking for was sci-fi maps and tiles on my search. What I stumbled on here was a nice little sci-fi mini-adventure with some nice looking tile sets and for an added bonus, some audio clips of the adventure, sound effects and a little music for the club scene. I pulled this up while searching for maps and these tiles will come in handy in any sci-fi campaign but this was made for the Traveller universe. The adventure is done quite well and the added audio only enhances it. This is superb for a free product. This could probably be adapted to just about any sci-fi setting though, who knows maybe my GM will use it in one of our Traveller sessions.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Somnium Mundus
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Ancient Trails: So It Begins
    by Kevin C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2012 21:44:37

    It sucks. The pages will not display in any usable format. Cute bells and whistles give you a choice: zoom in so you can read the text but no how, no way can you display the whole page, for that, you have to zoom out so far that the text is unreadable. THE PRICE IS RIGHT: YOUR MATERIALS ARE WORTHLESS.



    Rating:
    [1 of 5 Stars!]
    Ancient Trails:  So It Begins
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Creator Reply:
    It's a PDF. It works fine as a PDF. I have it on my computer and have no problems whatsoever. You may want to check your machine or perhaps invest some time to learn the intricacies of PDFs.
    Techbook: Chrome
    by Richard H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2012 13:40:43

    Techbook: Chrome is an OGL supplement for the Mongoose version of the Traveller RPG published by Terra/Sol Games, the producers of the Twilight Sector setting book. The book is written by John D. Lees with interior art by Emel Akiah, John Lees and Jeff Uryasz; and the cover art by Phillip Simpson. As the book states, it is “An alternative take on cybernetics, with rules for bionics and other bio-replacements, cyborgs and cyrgeware thrown in for good measure.” Interestingly enough, on the back cover, in one place, the book is referred to as “Techbook: Implants”. The artwork is primarily black and white pencil drawings with some simple computer-generated color artwork by John Lees. The color artwork is a bit jarring, both in its simplicity and that fact that these six pictures are the only color art in the entire book, but overall, the art does a good job of illustrating the text it is tied to and continues the semi-Space Opera feel of the Twilight Sector setting. Texbook: Chrome is in many ways similar to Mongoose Publishing’s Supplement 8: Cybernetics. However, I feel that the options provided in Chrome are better organized and better thought out than the information provided in Cybernetics. Both books cover a wide range of cybernetic implants, but where Cybernetics handled biological/bionics with a few sentences, Chrome spends thirteen pages discussing biological replacements and bionic upgrades. Chrome spends quite a bit of time discussing the advantages and disadvantages of cyber vs. biological implants. This reasoning makes sense and provides both players and referees with in-game reasons for selecting either cyber or biological replacements or upgrades. Additionally, Chrome provides several “packages”, that are groups of upgrades that work together to provide a certain desired result. Sample packages are the “sportsman” and the “allure” packages. The drawback to this excellent chapter is that there were no rules or guidelines for Referees to develop their own packages. One of the complaints of Cybernetics when it came out was that the costs were out of alignment with the costs listed in the core rulebook. In a side-by-side comparison of the three books, I found that the costs between Chrome and the Traveller Rulebook were close on some things (skills and vision) but very different on others (characteristic upgrades and subdermal armor). Chrome was much cheaper on limb replacement than was Cybernetics and I personally agreed with the Chrome values. The last area where Chrome is different from Cybernetics is the discussion of ‘cyrgeware’. Cyrgeware is a high tech way for characters to slowly alter their physical forms. In game terms, a character can vary the physical characteristics, and appearance, of their character on an ‘as needed’ basis. It isn’t cheap and it isn’t perfect, but it is a way for a character to grow an extra limb when needed, or add a tail for a while. Overall, I felt that Textbook: Chrome presented the material of cybernetic and biological augmentation in a much easier to read format and covered each topic a bit more in-depth that the material covered in Mongoose’s Book 8: Cybernetics. I also felt that the ideas within Textbook: Chrome were better integrated with each other than those of Book 8: Cybernetics. Rating: 4 out of 5 Stars



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Techbook: Chrome
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Displaying 1 to 15 (of 43 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
    0 items
    There are currently no reviews for this product